The W
July 23, 2007 - graveyardzeitgeist.jpg
Views: 182249701
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
21.6.24 0713
The W - Baseball - Santana unanimous winner for Cy Young.
This thread has 7 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 6.49
Pages: 1
(618 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Post (1 total)
JimBob Skeeter

Since: 2.1.02
From: MN

Since last post: 1763 days
Last activity: 1722 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.49
Santana unanimous choice for Cy Young Award

Johan Santana won the AL Cy Young Award on Thursday for the second time in three years, and the Minnesota Twins' ace was a unanimous choice once again.

Santana received all 28 first-place votes for a perfect total of 140 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Chien-Ming Wang of the New York Yankees finished a distant second with 15 second-place votes and 51 points. Toronto's Roy Halladay was third with 48 points.

Santana separated himself from all others during a dominant season, going 19-6 with a 2.77 ERA and 245 strikeouts to lead Minnesota to the AL Central title. The left-hander tied Wang for most wins in the majors and led the AL in ERA, strikeouts and innings pitched (233 2-3).

Forget the Triple Crown -- it was the pitching version of a Quadruple Crown.

Santana also was a unanimous winner in 2004, when he was 20-6 with a 2.61 ERA and 265 strikeouts. He is the fifth pitcher to win the Cy Young Award unanimously at least twice, joining Roger Clemens, Pedro Martinez, Greg Maddux and Hall of Famer Sandy Koufax, who did it three times.

The award was established 50 years ago, and there was only one selection from both leagues from 1956-66.

Arizona's Brandon Webb won the NL Cy Young Award on Tuesday.

Thanks to his huge season on the mound, Santana could be a contender for another trophy, too. But he has much stiffer competition for AL MVP, which will be announced next Tuesday.

For winning the Cy Young Award, the 27-year-old Santana receives a $100,000 bonus.

Wang was the second consecutive runner-up from the Yankees. Star closer Mariano Rivera finished second to Bartolo Colon of the Los Angeles Angels last year.

The only other Twins pitchers to win were Frank Viola in 1988 and Jim Perry in 1970.

By Mike Fitzpatrick, AP Baseball Writer

Congratulations, Johan! Here's to the many great memories this year watching him pitch. Can't wait for next year!
Promote this thread!
Thread rated: 6.49
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Cubs sign Alfonso Soriano
Next thread: Verlander, Ramirez win ROY Awards
Previous thread: Girardi and Leyland named Managers of the Year
(618 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Except that Griffey would...maybe...sell tickets, I'd take Nevin over him in a heartbeat. Now that I've said this, of course, Junior will win the MVP as the Reds win the '03 Series.
- PeterStork, Nevin blocks trade for Griffey (2002)
Related threads: Twins make MLB history. - worst weekend ever - Kirby Puckett in Critical Condition After Stroke - More...
The W - Baseball - Santana unanimous winner for Cy Young.Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

©2001-2024 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.056 seconds.