The W
Views: 99962716
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
@820 .beats
The W - Music - Your opinion on... (Page 2)
This thread has 21 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: Prev 1 2(2744 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (32 total)
witeoutaddict
Cotechino








Since: 25.7.02
From: a more brightly colored message board

Since last post: 3664 days
Last activity: 3659 days
AIM:  
#21 Posted on
I like this new group of bands. I probably like Stroke & The Hives the best. Guitar World and MTV are calling it "nu-garage" which is just stupid. I dont think it'll kill new metal, though. Nu-metal, hopefully, will choke on it's on vomit, not be killed off by a newer trend. The White Stripes I havent been able to make myself like though. Mabye it's their lack of bass. The Doors did without bass fine, but that's because they had Jim Morrision. The White Stripes DO NOT. Nor do they have a similar frontman. Bass supports the entire band people. Without it, your just not the same.

(edited by witeoutaddict on 26.7.02 0936)

(edited by witeoutaddict on 26.7.02 0936)

(edited by witeoutaddict on 26.7.02 0936)
Grimis
Scrapple








Since: 11.7.02
From: MD

Since last post: 1269 days
Last activity: 1066 days
#22 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.09
Enh...there are a lot of bands that have bass players that suck. Might as well be a few good ones who don't have a bass.
Slestak
Salami








Since: 2.1.02
From: Oklahoma City

Since last post: 4430 days
Last activity: 4363 days
#23 Posted on
    Originally posted by witeoutaddict
    The Doors did without bass fine, but that's because they had Jim Morrision. The White Stripes DO NOT. Nor do they have a similar frontman. Bass supports the entire band people. Without it, your just not the same.
Ray Manzarek played bass for The Doors.

(edited by Slestak on 26.7.02 1636)

Eatin' fruit and bein' cool
IPCRivalSchools
Loukanika








Since: 14.1.02
From: England

Since last post: 4471 days
Last activity: 4460 days
#24 Posted on
Along the minimalist 'garage style' bands, the Hives probably stand out the most, due mainly to their look/style - even though they sound almost exactly like the Stooges.

John Spencer Blues Explosion are kinda cool, but BRMC sound too like the Jesus and Mary Chain for my tastes.

I also thoroughly recommend Danko Jones,the song 'Sound of Love' fits in with the stripped down sound, and has a gloriously sleazy quality to it as well.

Ian



'Mary had a little lamb and punk rock isn't dead'
witeoutaddict
Cotechino








Since: 25.7.02
From: a more brightly colored message board

Since last post: 3664 days
Last activity: 3659 days
AIM:  
#25 Posted on
    Originally posted by Slestak
      Originally posted by witeoutaddict
      The Doors did without bass fine, but that's because they had Jim Morrision. The White Stripes DO NOT. Nor do they have a similar frontman. Bass supports the entire band people. Without it, your just not the same.
    Ray Manzarek played bass for The Doors.

    (edited by Slestak on 26.7.02 1636)



Well, shit. My bad. Yeah there are a lot of bands with shitty bass players. But really, when you get a fantastic bass player (Flea, Les Claypool, Roger Waters) you notice it even more. I just dont like White Stripes. It may be the lack of bass, it may be that they suck. I dont know. I just know I prefere The Strokes, hands down.

Justin Chancellor should probably also be on that list, as Tool improved greatly when he joined. Those 8 minute long songs are just so much more interesting with him.

(edited by witeoutaddict on 26.7.02 1812)
Saruman
Salami








Since: 25.1.02
From: Kirksville, MO

Since last post: 4455 days
Last activity: 4426 days
AIM:  
#26 Posted on
Ray Manzarek played keyboards for the Doors by the way, as they didn't have a regular bassist. Actually, they didn't have a bassist period, did they?
In either case, I sort of like this genre, but it wears really thin really quickly. Bands, no matter how talented, need to vary the sounds on a given album, and not just use the same 4 or 5 chords over and over again.
Plus, fantastic bands like Kill Hannah and Movies With Heroes are still getting ignored. When/if they become popular, wake me back up to pop music.




"I'm bi a lot of things, but lingual's not one of them."

Jubuki
Kolbasz








Since: 16.7.02

Since last post: 4392 days
Last activity: 4376 days
#27 Posted on
The Doors never had a bassist. Maybe Krieger's guitar had bass pickups, but they never had an official bassist. Which might explain why I never gave a shit about them. I'd have to agree with witeout, except I'd take it a step further and say you can't hide a shitty drummer, either.



Chris
The AIR RAID CRASH
witeoutaddict
Cotechino








Since: 25.7.02
From: a more brightly colored message board

Since last post: 3664 days
Last activity: 3659 days
AIM:  
#28 Posted on
I didnt think The Doors had a bassist. No, you cant hide a shitty anything in a band. Not even in a punk band.

(edited by witeoutaddict on 28.7.02 1216)
Vishnu
Longanisa








Since: 9.7.02
From: The heartland of America

Since last post: 4366 days
Last activity: 4366 days
#29 Posted on
What I've heard of all these bands is in the okay-ish range (but my brother swears by the Stripes, and an old roomate with great taste really digs the Hives). None of them can hold a candle to their counterparts from the mid-90s: New Bomb Turks, the Rip-Offs, Teengenerate, the Didjits, and the Devil Dogs. And none of them were as good as the Lyres, the Real Kids, or Cheap Trick. Who weren't as good as the Stooges, MC5, New York Dolls, Ramones, Flamin Groovies, or Modern Lovers. And really, they were just riding on the coattails of the Sonics, Seeds, Remains, Standells, Shadows of Knight, Velvet Underground and Thirteenth Floor Elevators.

So I guess it's a good thing for rock and roll, for no other reason than the fact it pushes some the crap off the air. But really, it's all been diminishing returns since about 1966 anyway, with occasional spikes (1976-9, 1984-6, 1991-3).



Baby, the world ain't round, it's square
WyldeWolf1
Boerewors








Since: 20.6.02
From: Florida

Since last post: 4432 days
Last activity: 4431 days
#30 Posted on

    Originally posted by Saruman
    Bands, no matter how talented, need to vary the sounds on a given album, and not just use the same 4 or 5 chords over and over again.


That could be a problem. I'm not sure the musicians actually know any more chords. Hell, even the Stone Temple Pilots used odd chord structures that were fun to play. I even remember when guitarists on the radio were better than me (I was a small tyke at the time)! Now I hear this stuff and think, "Didn't I play that as I was tuning my guitar? Where's the song?"



WyldeWolf1
The Man of 1,007 holds, making him 3 holds better than Chris Jericho!
Slestak
Salami








Since: 2.1.02
From: Oklahoma City

Since last post: 4430 days
Last activity: 4363 days
#31 Posted on
My statement was:

"Ray Manzarek played bass for The Doors."

This is true. Manarek played bass on his keyboard. The Doors did not have a bass guitarist.

witeoutaddict's statement was:

" The White Stripes I havent been able to make myself like though. Mabye it's their lack of bass. The Doors did without bass fine, but that's because they had Jim Morrision.

The Doors did not "do without bass". There are easily distinguishable bass lines in most Doors tunes.

Not having a bass guitarist doesn't mean you don't have bass. The Dandy Warhols use a similar set-up, but with two guitarists.

Most rap artists don't have bass guitarists backing them. Would you say that Eminem or Jay Z "do without bass"?

There are many other bass instruments besides guitars, and the Doors utilized one of them. The White Stripes have no bass instruments in their songs, at least not in the ones I've heard. That was the point I was trying to make.



Eatin' fruit and bein' cool
BigWhalebony
Bauerwurst








Since: 26.7.02
From: SALEM

Since last post: 3712 days
Last activity: 2674 days
#32 Posted on

It's all absolute crap. Another weak-ass trend.

Best album of the year: Down II.
It's a new sound, not some bullshit bubblegum rock.
Southern Swamp Metal



Don't Tread On Me,
Whalebony Express
Pages: Prev 1 2
Pages: Prev 1 2Thread ahead: peroxwhy?gen
Next thread: Entwhistle's Death Cocaine Related
Previous thread: Tom Petty Rocks
(2744 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
iTunes Top Downloads -- March 14, 2010 This is a moment in time snapshot of the current top downloads from iTunes. We take a snapshot each week at the same time and post it here. To preview the songs, click on a link.
- The-W iTMS Affiliate, iTunes Top Downloads -- March 14, 2010 (2010)
The W - Music - Your opinion on... (Page 2)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.143 seconds.