The W
Views: 108660564
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
1.12.15 1238
The W - Music - Your opinion on these bands (Page 2)
This thread has 9 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: Prev 1 2(2974 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Post (28 total)

Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 14 hours
#21 Posted on

    Originally posted by WhoBettahThanDeion
    No, the whole "Dave" movement has made it's wat a bit further south than that. It's moved to Columbus, down through Dayton, in the Ohio's for sure. I know, I've been there.

    As for my opinion on them, I just never really got into their sound. Not my style. Even though when you go to College everyone seems to like them, just not my style. I'm more of a G. Love man. If there are any others, please speak up.

    As for Linkin Park, they can go back where they came from, back with those guys that sing "I feel so alive." I don't know, it seems as if those bands all popped up at the same time, and it's almost as if they're imitating someone or something, I just can't figure out what.

Yeah, I *heart* G. Love & Special Sauce. 'Specially Philadelphonic... love the bluesy stuff mixed with Philly soul.
Potato korv

Since: 17.6.02
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Since last post: 3106 days
Last activity: 3056 days
#22 Posted on

    Originally posted by WhoBettahThanDeion
    G. Love deserves all the respect in the world for giving Jack Johnson his first national exposure.

    Really? I'd never listened to Jack Johnson's solo stuff. So, I guess when that big fat paycheck I get rolling in for doing nothing and loaning my roommates money rolls in, I'll have to give it a listen. Wha tother songs has he done with G. other than "Rodeo Clowns" if anything, I remember him saying his name, but I never took the time to look at the credits once I lost the case and book.

As far as I know, it's the only song, the only one on Philadelphonic, the only G. Love album I own, anyways.

But it was the lead single(at least, the only song I heard off the radio), and Johnson's solo album is just brilliant.

"You can save the planet, I'll save your seat"- Uncle Kracker, Better Days
"Confucious say: Man with hand in pocket feel cocky all day!"- Crank Yankers

Since: 11.1.02
From: Brunswick, GA

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 2 min.
#23 Posted on
Love, love, love DMB. Can't wait for the other albums. Thed other three... not so into or not familiar with.

Andy Online... I wanna talk about me

Since: 13.2.02
From: Back in the Heart of Hali

Since last post: 74 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#24 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.46

I have to interject that the whole ``Dave'' phenomenon was in full swing in Virginia in 1994. My freshman roommate had one of those ``tape suitcase'' things almost full of DMB bootlegs from shows around the South (mostly). Dave & Co. were just making the jump from frat parties to arena shows (Remember Two Things came out partway through that year) and everyone on my campus was falling over themselves talking about the guy; even then the whole band was generally referred to as `Dave'.

I appreciate the monstrous talent in that group of musicians, but I don't own any albums or anything. Part of that might be that I remember the original arrangements of a lot of those songs and don't so much like the ones appearing on Under the Table and Dreaming and subsequent albums. And yes, I'm aware that in a lot of ways the earlier arrangements are more `poppy'; I just happen to like them, that's all.

As for OLP, TRUST Company, and Linkin Park:

I'm Canadian, so I'm not actually allowed to dislike OLP. I agree that they're somewhat pretentious, but no more so than a ton of other bands (Smashing Pumpkins comes to mind). So I'm not offended by OLP, but I own none of their stuff. I don't need to, living here.

That guy in Linkin Park sure can scream. I give his voice two years. I don't mind hearing their music, but again, I own none of their albums.

TRUST Company. Who?

I'm a disturbed and bitter herb, like salt water and parsley... -- Cleofis Randolph the Patriarch

Since: 25.1.02
From: Kirksville, MO

Since last post: 4859 days
Last activity: 4830 days
#25 Posted on
OLB: Bland generic band.
Whatever #2 was: I don't know, don't care.
DMB: Overplayed all their decent stuff to the point where I can't stand it anymore. They try to much "Music Theory" type stuff and not enough "Hey, I like that, let's do something with it" stuff. In other words, their new stuff seems way to forced and like they're not enjoying it in the least.
Linkin Park: ALright, I will defend this band. It's easily the best pre-fab type hyped band since the Beatles (and yes, that's how they started, though don't read into any comparison; Beatles these guys ain't.) Anyhoo, they have pretty decent lyrics, the lead vocals are hit and miss, but they hit more than they miss. And they generally seem to be enjoying themselves and seem like they like the music they play. Personally, I think they have potential far greater than the other three bands. Of course, they need a competent drummer first.

"I'm bi a lot of things, but lingual's not one of them."


Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 day
#26 Posted on
I'll agree with the Linkin defenders. The album is amazing, but they are not the best live band. The lead singer's voice fails him several times, and he doesn't have the sense to stop trying so hard.

As for DMB: I am down with their songs, but I only own one album and I am not really a fan. I also hate "Crash Into Me" and "Satellite." My favorite songs from "Dave" are "Crush" and "So Much To Say."

"Oh would you stop being all stealthy and just get in the truck"- Tom Servo
Scott Summets

Since: 27.6.02

Since last post: 4309 days
Last activity: 4278 days
#27 Posted on
    Originally posted by Saruman
    DMB: Overplayed all their decent stuff to the point where I can't stand it anymore. They try to much "Music Theory" type stuff and not enough "Hey, I like that, let's do something with it" stuff. In other words, their new stuff seems way to forced and like they're not enjoying it in the least.


    It's weird that a lot of people said the same thing about Everyday, but on tour they had a ton of fun playing their new stuff.

    (edited by Scott Summets on 9.7.02 1646)

    I'm gonna get me an oversized guitar, gain 40 pounds, and become the next D!

Since: 2.1.02
From: Houston, TX

Since last post: 949 days
Last activity: 949 days
#28 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
The only thing I say about Everyday is that it just wasn't very good. =)

Subversia - We [heart] Puff Mario
Pages: Prev 1 2
Pages: Prev 1 2Thread ahead: Guilty Pleasures
Next thread: J-Rock
Previous thread: another sick song!
(2974 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Hip-O Records, their label, might be a good place to start. Also, their management company, which apparantly is 10th Street Entertainment. Through Google I came across a number for the latter for press inquiries, which is 310-385-4776.
- Peter The Hegemon, Motley Crue help (2005)
The W - Music - Your opinion on these bands (Page 2)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

©2001-2015 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.293 seconds.