The W
Views: 98630473
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
2.9.14 1621
The W - Music - Your opinion on these bands
This thread has 9 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1 2 Next(2740 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (28 total)
hayabusa
Mettwurst








Since: 22.6.02
From: Brooklyn, NY

Since last post: 3745 days
Last activity: 3554 days
#1 Posted on
Our Lady Peace
TRUSTcompany
Linkin Park
Dave Matthews Band
Promote this thread!
kazhayashi81
Potato korv








Since: 17.6.02
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Since last post: 2651 days
Last activity: 2601 days
AIM:  
#2 Posted on

    Originally posted by hayabusa
    Our Lady Peace
    TRUSTcompany
    Linkin Park
    Dave Matthews Band



OLP- They have some decent stuff, but the last album, save Life and Superman's Dead II(forget the actual name of it, but it uses the exact same riff), the album was pretty weak. In no hurry to buy their new one.

TRUSTcompany- Downfall sounds like a song a heel midcarder would use for theme music. Basically jumping on the Hoobastank/Incubus/Apex Theory bandwagon.

Linkin Park- They have some really catchy songs and some of the arrangements are great, but their lyrics generally blow, and Chester's voice is either hit or miss. I do think(and I know some people will disagree on this) that Shimoda has talent as an MC.

DMB- I like a lot of DMB's stuff, they just try to go too far sometimes. To be too innovative, and it doesn't come out very good. Some songs are downright wretched.




"You can save the planet, I'll save your seat"- Uncle Kracker, Better Days
ManiacalClown
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Houston, TX

Since last post: 494 days
Last activity: 494 days
AIM:  
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
I'm not much into the first three bands enough to have an opinion. They're just kinda there.

As for DMB, I am a HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE fan so any opinion I have would be just a tad bit biased.

I will say their last studio album blew because, well, it did.

But...OMG. THE NEW ONE COMES OUT IN JUST 17 DAYS! AND THIS ONE HAS *GOOD* MUSIC ON IT! OMG!

Whoops...fanboyitis.



Subversia - We [heart] Puff Mario
SerWolfe
Landjager








Since: 11.1.02
From: st louis

Since last post: 4162 days
Last activity: 4162 days
AIM:  
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00

    Originally posted by hayabusa
    Our Lady Peace
    TRUSTcompany
    Linkin Park
    Dave Matthews Band



I'm not familiar with the first two bands.

But i absolutely enjoy Linkin Park. I love their sound. I had their cd in my truck for weeks when i got it. Each song on it i enjoy unbelievably and i cannot wait till they come out with more stuff.

DMB is DMB. I have always liked the music. Enough said.
OlFuzzyBastard
Knackwurst








Since: 28.4.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 23 hours
AIM:  
#5 Posted on
OUR LADY PEACE: Not bad, persay, but they're nothing special. "Clumsy" was a great song, but they've just melted into that mass of bands that I can't tell apart.

TRUSTCOMPANY: I've heard their single dozens of times, and I can't recall it at all to give my opinion of it. That's not a good sign.

LINKIN PARK: Nu-metal is the worst rock trend ever and Linkin Park is the worst nu-metal band ever. 'Nuff said.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND: I generally like Dave Matthews, although his CDs tend to have a *lot* of filler. Still, when they're on, they're awesome. "Tripping Billies" is one of the best songs of the last decade.



"It's a sad day when mocking one's opponent via midget becomes an acceptable form of entertainment."
--Lance Storm
Freeway
Scrapple








Since: 3.1.02
From: Calgary

Since last post: 254 days
Last activity: 1 day
#6 Posted on
Well, Our Lady Peace has five albums...

Naveed (1994) First album, good old school stuff... Solid if occationally unspectacular. ****

Clumsy (1997) Follow-up album to Naveed, more confident band with different (read: better) bassist. ****1/2

Happiness Is Not A Fish That You Can Catch (1999) Similar to Clumsy, but not as "cutting edge". ***3/4

Spiritual Machines (2001) Risky venture, a concept album based on Ray Kurzweil's book The Age of Spiritual Machines. Fairly good. More confident music than Happiness... ****

Gravity (2002) New guitarist, mixer and producer. More polished, less cutting edge. Good to listen to, but it won't change the world or nothin'. ****



Bart: Hey, immigrants! Beat it! Country's full!
Sailor: OK people, you heard the lady. Back into the hold. We'll try Canada.
[the immigrants moan]
-- "The City of New York Vs. Homer Simpson"


"That's what the Internet is for, slandering others anonymously" Banky Edwards (Jason Lee) in Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back

ManiacalClown
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Houston, TX

Since last post: 494 days
Last activity: 494 days
AIM:  
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
Tripping Billies is awesome, but #41 is the best song on the album and their best song overall. I hear it's truly an experience live.



Subversia - We [heart] Puff Mario
spf
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Las Vegas of Canada

Since last post: 34 days
Last activity: 22 hours
AIM:  
#8 Posted on
Personally the best thing I think DMB does live is when they'll bust out the extended version of "Say Goodbye", which is always fun because it's not quite such a jam fest, but still gives them tons of room to move in the confines of the song itself. Plus it is the best song off of "Crash".



Anyone remember the joy of seeing him bash the Undertaker's motorcycle with his sledgemhammer and doing no damage and being all like, "Mjolnir will not break thine cycle? I say thee NAY!" and dumping it off the stage. - Enojado Viento says the funniest thing I've ever read on Wienerville.
Papercuts!
Potato korv








Since: 3.1.02
From: Springfield, Mo.

Since last post: 4415 days
Last activity: 4325 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    Naveed (1994) First album, good old school stuff
Seeing that date and the phrase "old school" is not only hilarious, but also suggets to me that you're well under the age of 20. Probably around 15, right? (No offense intended).

As for OLP, they were part of our kickoff party for the 1995 Regional Music Showcase in St. Louis. They were totally acting like they were rock stars and were such assholes. They're overly pretentious and try *WAY* too hard with their lyrics and whatnot. Not My Thing.



--Jason Baldwin
Writer of Stuff About Comic Books
drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 5 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#10 Posted on
OLP: Early stuff is good, but they're pretty uneven. I have Happiness..., though, and it's okay. I do like their new single, and off their last album, "In Repair". However, nothing they do can atone for "Life".

TRUSTcompany: They seem like Generic Rock Band #405, Non-Suck Division. But their first single's okay.

DMB: First two RCA albums (Under the Table and Dreaming, Crash) are good, but everything before and since annoys me. And the psycho fans (which seem to be more populous up here) piss me off... you don't know him, you're not on a first name basis with him!

Linkin Park: Meh. Better songs than they have any right to play.
StampedeFan23
Morcilla








Since: 12.1.02
From: BC, Canada

Since last post: 2001 days
Last activity: 1537 days
#11 Posted on
They all suck, except for DMB, who has a couple of good songs...



Are you ready for Mahkan-mania to run wild all over you?
ManiacalClown
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Houston, TX

Since last post: 494 days
Last activity: 494 days
AIM:  
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
Referring to him as Dave makes us bad?

What about Pearl Jam fans talking about Eddie? And Tool fans talking about Maynard?

Maybe people just tend to call people by their first names nowadays.


As for Say Goodbye, it'd be a better song if Dave could find some lyrics and STICK WITH THEM.



Subversia - We [heart] Puff Mario
drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 5 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#13 Posted on

    Originally posted by ManiacalClown
    Referring to him as Dave makes us bad?

    What about Pearl Jam fans talking about Eddie? And Tool fans talking about Maynard?

    Maybe people just tend to call people by their first names nowadays.



No, no... it's the people who just constantly talk about the band, only referring to them as "Dave", as if no other band exists. Like I said, it's probably a New England/NY/NJ/Long Island thing.
ManiacalClown
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Houston, TX

Since last post: 494 days
Last activity: 494 days
AIM:  
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
Oh I see. Anyone who refers to the WHOLE BAND as Dave, isn't really a fan, per se. They're probably one of those freaky women in their 20s that think he's the sexiest man alive.



Subversia - We [heart] Puff Mario
othertim
Weisswurst








Since: 2.6.02
From: Somewhere In New York

Since last post: 2282 days
Last activity: 2282 days
AIM:  
#15 Posted on

    Originally posted by hayabusa
    Our Lady Peace
    TRUSTcompany
    Linkin Park
    Dave Matthews Band



OLP: Clumsy is a great album, but I really haven't cared for anything else they've done. The new track hasn't grabbed me.

Trust Company: Their is tearing up the request line at the modern rock station. I've heard it once, didn't care for it.

Linkin Park: They need to go away. That is all.

DMB: Under the Table and Dreaming is one of my favorite albums ever. Crash isn't bad. A steady decline from there, with an occassional good song thrown in (Crush and Space Between). The new song is fairly decent, so there's hope for the new disc.
ManiacalClown
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Houston, TX

Since last post: 494 days
Last activity: 494 days
AIM:  
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
If the Lillywhite Sessions was any indication, the new album (Busted Stuff) will be BOMB-ASS WICKED.

But, again, I'm a DMB junky.



Subversia - We [heart] Puff Mario
WhoBettahThanDeion
Bockwurst








Since: 4.1.02

Since last post: 4333 days
Last activity: 4169 days
#17 Posted on
No, the whole "Dave" movement has made it's wat a bit further south than that. It's moved to Columbus, down through Dayton, in the Ohio's for sure. I know, I've been there.

As for my opinion on them, I just never really got into their sound. Not my style. Even though when you go to College everyone seems to like them, just not my style. I'm more of a G. Love man. If there are any others, please speak up.

As for Linkin Park, they can go back where they came from, back with those guys that sing "I feel so alive." I don't know, it seems as if those bands all popped up at the same time, and it's almost as if they're imitating someone or something, I just can't figure out what.

The others, I've heard, but briefly. So, I cannot pass judgment on an artist until I'v heard a whole albulm.



Wanna' know what I'm all about? In the words of Billy Gunn, "Check out mah' SIG!"

Royal Tenenbaums. DVD. Next Tuesday. What else are you doing with your free time?
kazhayashi81
Potato korv








Since: 17.6.02
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Since last post: 2651 days
Last activity: 2601 days
AIM:  
#18 Posted on

    Originally posted by WhoBettahThanDeion
    No, the whole "Dave" movement has made it's wat a bit further south than that. It's moved to Columbus, down through Dayton, in the Ohio's for sure. I know, I've been there.

    As for my opinion on them, I just never really got into their sound. Not my style. Even though when you go to College everyone seems to like them, just not my style. I'm more of a G. Love man. If there are any others, please speak up.



G. Love deserves all the respect in the world for giving Jack Johnson his first national exposure.




"You can save the planet, I'll save your seat"- Uncle Kracker, Better Days
othertim
Weisswurst








Since: 2.6.02
From: Somewhere In New York

Since last post: 2282 days
Last activity: 2282 days
AIM:  
#19 Posted on
    Originally posted by kazhayashi81



      G. Love deserves all the respect in the world for giving Jack Johnson his first national exposure.



    Now there's a decent song that I wish was getting a little more airplay around here.

    I'm also about to hop on the John Mayer bandwagon. I'm usually an earlier adopter than that, but only one station is playing his songs here.

    (edited by othertim on 7.7.02 1510)
WhoBettahThanDeion
Bockwurst








Since: 4.1.02

Since last post: 4333 days
Last activity: 4169 days
#20 Posted on
G. Love deserves all the respect in the world for giving Jack Johnson his first national exposure.

Really? I'd never listened to Jack Johnson's solo stuff. So, I guess when that big fat paycheck I get rolling in for doing nothing and loaning my roommates money rolls in, I'll have to give it a listen. Wha tother songs has he done with G. other than "Rodeo Clowns" if anything, I remember him saying his name, but I never took the time to look at the credits once I lost the case and book.



Wanna' know what I'm all about? In the words of Billy Gunn, "Check out mah' SIG!"

Royal Tenenbaums. DVD. Next Tuesday. What else are you doing with your free time?
Pages: 1 2 Next
Pages: 1 2 NextThread ahead: Guilty Pleasures
Next thread: J-Rock
Previous thread: another sick song!
(2740 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
More info and the first track, a Paterson/Jimi Cauty (!) collaboration available at: http://www.v2records.co.jp/special/a057_sc/030512/newalbum.
The W - Music - Your opinion on these bandsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.159 seconds.