The W
Views: 100012914
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
24.10.14 2149
The W - Random - YES! The Booze Reviews Rock and Don't Stop!
This thread has 9 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 6.94
Pages: 1
(1820 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (11 total)
DEAN RASMUSSEN
He is DEAN








Since: 11.12.01
From: Richmond, Va, U-S-A!

Since last post: 1293 days
Last activity: 1290 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.85

Goddamn, I got Frank- the elder statesman of the Richmond Booze Society- to make me a list of what I should try and Frank is jonesing hard on the British boozes so THIS reflects THAT and should show up all week- as I bought seven different one-off bottles at River City Cellars in Carytown to drink while I finish off the motherlode of my drunken staples- the bread, cheese, flour and milk of my drunkenness. ANYHOOS, a last second addition to his list is THIS fabulous little brew called GREENE KING OLDE SUFFOLK ENGLISH ALE. Aged two years, it is a... marrying... of a keg of the old ale which is brewed in with the new ale. Frank said its really complex. It's really smooth and all buttery and British. I realize that I am very American because I tried to be all slick and continental and drink this at room temperature but halfway through it, I realized that I would REALLY like this if it were cold. I also like the Dallas Cowboys and sing along to Skynard on the radio. This is some good drinkin'. Uh, real cracking ale, mate.

I got around to refrigerating the Smuttynose sampler yesterday so I'll finally be drinking these and my torquedness knows no cessation. The Smuttynose Shoals Pale Ale is 5% and really peppy. It's got the hint of hoppy orangeness but not enough to annoy me. You could beer bong this if you wanted- as it's snooty but in a slutty way, so you can drink and not have to think too much, which is all we can ask of our assorted boozes. Aftertaste lives around the back of your tongue a while. The Boston Globe review from the Smuttynose website talks about its maltiness but I didn't get that feeling. More like the best Redhook you could ever brew.

BOOZE~!

DEAN RASMUSSEN.




YES, I AM DEAN.
Promote this thread!
Wolfram J. Paulovich
Frankfurter








Since: 11.11.02
From: Fat City, Baby

Since last post: 2957 days
Last activity: 2328 days
AIM:  
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.62
    Originally posted by DEAN RASMUSSEN

    I realize that I am very American because I tried to be all slick and continental and drink this at room temperature but halfway through it, I realized that I would REALLY like this if it were cold. I also like the Dallas Cowboys and sing along to Skynard on the radio. This is some good drinkin'.


See, I don't get the "it should be warm!" thing. For one, I bummed around Ireland for a week, and every Guinness I had whether in cheap pubs or upscale clubs was COLD. I mean, colder than I was used to in the U.S. And it was GOOD.

And here's the thing. If I wanted to sip the brew and enjoy it in all its facets, it HAD to start cold. Because that way, as it warmed, I got to work along the taste spectrum. Guinness cold is just different from Guinness warm. I'm not saying one is better than the other. But if you pour yourself a warm Guinness... well, hell, it ain't changin'. It's going to be exactly the same all through the pint. And if you're drinking some pricey English stuff that's hard to get, you better be getting all the different flavors outta the damn thing.

So screw "it has to be warm." And play Skynyrd. The Dallas Cowboys thing I don't know about that, though.



The Obtuse Angle Archive.

"Och, ye speak like a poet. But ye punch like one, too!"
fuelinjected
Banger








Since: 12.10.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 3263 days
Last activity: 3263 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.15
Dean, have you ever had Hoegaarden Belgian White Beer? If not, I suggest it for the next BOOZE REVIEW~!
Broncolanche
Sujuk








Since: 2.6.03
From: Littleton, CO

Since last post: 1165 days
Last activity: 417 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.13
NOthing beats downing an Olde English HG800 while watching the Nuggets beat the fuck out of the fucking Sixers. CARMELO GIVES ME A BONER

<<<<<

(edited by Broncolanche on 17.2.04 2219)

EDIT: what the hell

(edited by Broncolanche on 18.2.04 1237)

WHY. . .WHY DO YOU TORTURE ME BRIAN HENDERSON OF 12 MAPLE LAAAAAAAAAANE????
Nate The Snake
Liverwurst








Since: 9.1.02
From: Wichita, Ks

Since last post: 3750 days
Last activity: 3219 days
AIM:  
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.84
    Originally posted by Jeb Tennyson Lund
    See, I don't get the "it should be warm!" thing. For one, I bummed around Ireland for a week, and every Guinness I had whether in cheap pubs or upscale clubs was COLD. I mean, colder than I was used to in the U.S. And it was GOOD.


As always, Strong Bad knows best. A One that isn't Cold is hardly a One at all, although the occasional Cool One is verra refreshing.



Kansas-born and deeply ashamed
The last living La Parka Marka

"They that can give up essential liberty to gain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin
The Thrill
Banger








Since: 16.4.02
From: Green Bay, WI

Since last post: 191 days
Last activity: 37 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.08
    Originally posted by Nate The Snake
      Originally posted by Jeb Tennyson Lund
      See, I don't get the "it should be warm!" thing. For one, I bummed around Ireland for a week, and every Guinness I had whether in cheap pubs or upscale clubs was COLD. I mean, colder than I was used to in the U.S. And it was GOOD.


    As always, Strong Bad knows best. A One that isn't Cold is hardly a One at all, although the occasional Cool One is verra refreshing.


I'll drink to that. {/Dick or Dean Martin...or DEAN~!} Where I come from, it's CUH-HOLD ones.



Star wipe, and...we're out.
Thrillin' ain't easy.



THE THRILL
ACW-NWA Wisconsin
Home Video Technical Director...&
A2NWO 4 Life!
(Click the big G to hear the Packers Fight Song in RealAudio!)
dMr
Andouille








Since: 2.11.02
From: Edinburgh, Scotland

Since last post: 46 days
Last activity: 2 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.20
    Originally posted by Jeb Tennyson Lund
    See, I don't get the "it should be warm!" thing. For one, I bummed around Ireland for a week, and every Guinness I had whether in cheap pubs or upscale clubs was COLD. I mean, colder than I was used to in the U.S. And it was GOOD.


As a point of no interest at all, the difference over here between Guinness and Guinness Cold is a pretty miniscule 3 to 4 degrees. I've happily handed over the wrong one either through laziness or spite to many a customer and narey a complaint.

I've never got the 'drink ales at room temperature' gig. The only reason people ever did as far as I can tell is that nobody had beeny canny enough to invent those dapper little cooler units which make the beer so cold and refreshing. Now its become some sort of weird traditionalist thing about appreciating the full flavour and what have you.

I swear it all complete poppycock designed by some clever marketing type to create more mystique about the product. Kinda like the 'Perfect Pour' kerfuffle with Guinness. Quite unneccessary but it sure shifts a lot of beer.
tarnish
Frankfurter








Since: 13.2.02
From: Back in the Heart of Hali

Since last post: 502 days
Last activity: 2 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.03
They're pushing the COLD COLD COLD thing with Guinness over here. ("3-4C: The perfect temperature to enjoy Guinness")

It also appears they're getting rid of 484mL cans entirely in favor of the 242mL bottles which, although somewhat better than the cans for drinking out of the container, don't mean anything except having to open two to fill a "pint" glass if you're going to pour.

I'm not bitter, though. Oh wait, yes I am.

I've heard a lot of talk about the room temperature thing for "authenticity." Fuckit: of all the Brits I've ever known, none of them ever tended to drink beer warm. The only people I've run into who will actually ask for a warm beer were Newfoundlanders. But even most of the Newfs I've known like a cold beer.



/tarnish...

[the GPL is] not just a crazy idea that some lefty Commie hippie dreamed up in a drug-induced stupor.
-- Linus Torvalds
DEAN RASMUSSEN
He is DEAN








Since: 11.12.01
From: Richmond, Va, U-S-A!

Since last post: 1293 days
Last activity: 1290 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.85
Okay, I feel all continental and worldly again. Colder beer it is!

And fuelinjected, after this bout with British booze, we go straight to the Belgian liver-punching.



YES, I AM DEAN.
Joe E. Nitro
Salami








Since: 4.2.04

Since last post: 3632 days
Last activity: 1113 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.82
All the British booze I've tried taste a little to much like a wine for my liking. While they're good and get me buzzing alright before I dive into my Coors Light I still haven't found one that makes me stand back and say, 'Damn I need more of these!'. I don't know if that is the norm or just the ones that I've grabbed.


drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 33 days
Last activity: 3 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.63
You wanted the best, you got... Out of Context Quote of the Week. "EMBRACE THE PENIS! LOVE THE PENIS! THE PENIS IS YOUR BEST FRIEND! Be..... the penis." (DEAN)
    Originally posted by Broncolanche
    NOthing beats downing an Olde English HG800 while watching the Nuggets beat the fuck out of the fucking Sixers. CARMELO GIVES ME A BONER


As he should. And again, I'd like to reiterate the greatness that is OE HG800. I should get me a couple.



DEAN's Nuggets of Wisdom:

"A-Train could wear a Vampirella outfit and I would toast a load to it."
Thread rated: 6.94
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Cingular to Buy AT&T Wireless for $41B
Next thread: CONAN in TORONTO
Previous thread: Whats the point
(1820 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Amanda Bynes is far and away the hottest of these younger girls. Hilary Duff has a shitty body.
The W - Random - YES! The Booze Reviews Rock and Don't Stop!Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.15 seconds.