The W
Views: 98539581
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
30.8.14 0743
The W - Pro Wrestling - Worst 'Mania Review So Far
This thread has 15 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.86
Pages: 1 2 Next
(6805 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (23 total)
CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 491 days
Last activity: 490 days
ICQ:  
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.64
If you're looking for easily the most negative review of WrestleMania XX on the Net (so far), look no further than Slam! Wrestling.

I mean, what the hell? I'm not pretending this was the best PPV ever, and I acknowledge there were problems.... but calling it a BOMB? Please!



What will happen, including every last detail, at this weekend's Wrestle Mania XXX? What former minor-league wrestling promoter was caught in a Sex Scandal? Folks, I can't talk about on TV, but check out the latest Inside The Ropes!!!
Check out the brand new ITR Website, featuring the ridiculously expensive Canadian BullBLOG!!!
Promote this thread!
MARTYEWR
Kishke








Since: 15.10.02

Since last post: 238 days
Last activity: 238 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 10.00
Except for Bret Hart's and Don Callis' columns, please ignore SLAM! Wrestling. Their comments of not only calling WrestleMania XX "a bomb", but also claiming that "the WWE is heading toward self-destruction" make you wonder what's in the cereals they eat every morning.



Martin Kipp: Creative Member, Extreme Warfare Revenge

Wiener Of The Day: Tuesday, March 4, 2003
Wiener Of The Day (2): Wednesday, October 29, 2003

"Because I'm the man, and the man's the man, and that's just the way it is!" -- Eric Foreman, That 70s Show
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 29 days
Last activity: 11 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.04
When I read the little teaser on the front page before clicking the link, I honestly thought it was a joke ... Like, the first line would read "This pay per view was the worst thing ever in the history of television!!!" and then the next paragraph would be along the lines of "Ha ha, just kidding. I loved it."

But I guess that wasn't the case; I mean, everyone is entitled to their opinion, but ... damn. Just, damn.

It seems like every writer they got over there at SLAM! Wrestling pushes the whole "I hate everything about WWE until Triple H is fired" line farther than any other web site I've been to ... Quite comical, actually.



(edited by Alessandro on 15.3.04 1210)


Alessandro "Hercules" Boondy

Just so you guys know: 75% of this crap [you read on the internet] is made up, either by the writer, or the wrestler the writer is getting the dirt from. Just so you know. -- Statement by "Tammy Sytch", from Hyatte's Dec. 29th column ... Lest we forget.





CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 491 days
Last activity: 490 days
ICQ:  
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.64
I guess I'm just surprised because Slam! USED to be very fair and up front with its coverage. But ever since WWE cut off its relations with the media... yeah, something crawled up their respective asses.



What will happen, including every last detail, at this weekend's Wrestle Mania XXX? What former minor-league wrestling promoter was caught in a Sex Scandal? Folks, I can't talk about on TV, but check out the latest Inside The Ropes!!!
Check out the brand new ITR Website, featuring the ridiculously expensive Canadian BullBLOG!!!
JoshMann
Andouille








Since: 17.11.03
From: Tallahassee, FL

Since last post: 2238 days
Last activity: 2235 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.62
    Originally posted by CANADIAN BULLDOG
    I guess I'm just surprised because Slam! USED to be very fair and up front with its coverage. But ever since WWE cut off its relations with the media... yeah, something crawled up their respective asses.


Then again, it's Sun Media/Quebecor we're talking about. So I can't say any of this shocks me.



"Sorry, you need to PM me, and phrase it in the form of a question."
Dave Gagnon
Mettwurst








Since: 25.7.03
From: Rimouski

Since last post: 3649 days
Last activity: 3646 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.90
    Originally posted by Blanket Jackson
    Then again, it's Sun Media/Quebecor we're talking about. So I can't say any of this shocks me.


Preach on! I live in Quebec and I have to suffer the evil media empire that is Quebecor each and every day.



Columnist and NWA TNA recapper at www.411mania.com . Check out the good stuff NOW!

Everything I say is a lie. Except that. And that. And that. And that. And that....And that.
CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 491 days
Last activity: 490 days
ICQ:  
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.64
    Originally posted by Dave Gagnon
    Preach on! I live in Quebec and I have to suffer the evil media empire that is Quebecor each and every day.


Having said that, Pierre Karl Peladeau (Quebecor CEO) WOULD make a terrific heel character in wrestling :)



What will happen, including every last detail, at this weekend's Wrestle Mania XXX? What former minor-league wrestling promoter was caught in a Sex Scandal? Folks, I can't talk about on TV, but check out the latest Inside The Ropes!!!
Check out the brand new ITR Website, featuring the ridiculously expensive Canadian BullBLOG!!!
Sean Carless
Cotechino








Since: 30.9.03
From: Mean Streets of Canada

Since last post: 1579 days
Last activity: 1574 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.22
Was he the one with the eye patch?... jk

(edited by Sean Carless on 15.3.04 2139)



The IWC's Favorite Sean
CajunMan
Boudin blanc
No longer registered








Since: 2.1.02
From: Give me a Title shot!

Since last post: 1045 days
Last activity: 182 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
Was John Powell the writer that Meltzer(Observer) fired a couple of years ago for being to negative and posting WWE phone #'s?
CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 491 days
Last activity: 490 days
ICQ:  
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.64
    Originally posted by CajunMan
    Was John Powell the writer that Meltzer(Observer) fired a couple of years ago for being to negative and posting WWE phone #'s?


I don't think so... at least I'd never heard that story before. He's been with Slam! for ages. He may have left when the site essentially closed down a while ago, but I think he was still working for Slam! in another capacity....



What will happen, including every last detail, at this weekend's Wrestle Mania XXX? What former minor-league wrestling promoter was caught in a Sex Scandal? Folks, I can't talk about on TV, but check out the latest Inside The Ropes!!!
Check out the brand new ITR Website, featuring the ridiculously expensive Canadian BullBLOG!!!
Barbwire Mike
Boudin rouge








Since: 6.11.03
From: Dudleyville

Since last post: 3245 days
Last activity: 3238 days
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.45
Offhand, the only guy I remember Meltzer firing was Zach, and I always thought it was a pretty amicable parting.

Not saying it didn't happen, though. Like Bulldog I'm just saying I don't recall that particular name or a story about him.



Lethalwrestling.com: If you don't read us, you're probably gay
MARTYEWR
Kishke








Since: 15.10.02

Since last post: 238 days
Last activity: 238 days
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 10.00
Pardon my ignorance, but who's Zach?



Martin Kipp: Creative Member, Extreme Warfare Revenge

Wiener Of The Day: Tuesday, March 4, 2003
Wiener Of The Day (2): Wednesday, October 29, 2003

"Because I'm the man, and the man's the man, and that's just the way it is!" -- Eric Foreman, That 70s Show
Barbwire Mike
Boudin rouge








Since: 6.11.03
From: Dudleyville

Since last post: 3245 days
Last activity: 3238 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.45
Zach Arnold. Either prior to or while first starting PuroresuPower.com he was a bigwig at the Observer.



Lethalwrestling.com: If you don't read us, you're probably gay
ozzsmith
Medisterpoelse








Since: 18.3.04
From: south carolina

Since last post: 3816 days
Last activity: 3812 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.29
imo wrestmania xx was a disaster. i agree wwe is heading for hard times..least i hope they are, losing brock, goldberg and having angle out for a while will hurt them a great deal. many fans think benoit, and eddie guerro will carry the company for the "new generation. there is only vince's generation and believe me hhh is still very much in the picture to get his dam belt back. storylines are more than predictable they are as stale as any wcw storline ever was. if vince could focus on WRESTLING and get off the "showbix" style programs he runs, he could see more profits. the way it's going, he needs a miracle. his wmxx buy rates are gonna be interesting to see. snatching up nwa stars isn't gonna work forever for vinnie mac. a. j styles,
amazing red, sonjay dutt, raven, abyss..all the nwa stars can and will give vinnie a reality check soon enough.

this is my first post here..hope i don't piss anyone off.
it's just my opinion..and ya know what they say about those.



it's only funny till someone gets hurt, then..it's hilarious!!
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 5 hours
Last activity: 5 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.65
    Originally posted by ozzsmith
    this is my first post here..hope i don't piss anyone off.
How you got here is interesting, though. http://wienerboard.com/ referrals.php/id=218553



CRZ
CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 491 days
Last activity: 490 days
ICQ:  
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.65
So I actually wrote into the author of the column after I read it, saying that while he's certainly entitled to his opinion, I didn't see where he was getting this from.

He responded yesterday -- politely, I should add -- and said that the current direction WWE has isn't doing anything to attract new fans, which is what's leading the company to self-destruction. He conceded that a few of the matches were good, but they weren't going to be changing the product overall. He also said that four years from now, people won't be taking the Mania XX DVD out to watch it.

I still disagree with this, and think this was one of the better versions of WrestleMania (with WMIII and X-7 rating slightly higher with me), but at least I'll say he responded and tried to back up his arguments.



What will happen, including every last detail, at this weekend's Wrestle Mania XXX? What former minor-league wrestling promoter was caught in a Sex Scandal? Folks, I can't talk about on TV, but check out the latest Inside The Ropes!!!
Check out the brand new ITR Website, featuring the ridiculously expensive Canadian BullBLOG!!!
RYDER FAKIN
Six Degrees of Me








Since: 21.2.02
From: ORLANDO

Since last post: 622 days
Last activity: 13 days
AIM:  
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.53
CANADIAN BULLDOG: He responded yesterday -- politely, I should add -- and said that the current direction WWE has isn't doing anything to attract new fans, which is what's leading the company to self-destruction. He conceded that a few of the matches were good, but they weren't going to be changing the product overall. He also said that four years from now, people won't be taking the Mania XX DVD out to watch it.

Oh great - another chicken little. I suggest he do a follow-up column explaining how a publicly traded company with 250 million in CASH reserves(and a cash flow of mechandise), a dead lock on the rights to video archives and a world to conquer with the WWE brand will "self -destruct" because of an alledgely bad WM event. And I would guarantee there is at least one or two people who will get mileage out of repeated viewings of WMXX, just to make sure that HHH *really* did TAP TAP TAP to Benoit. THAT was history.

And having the two best workers in the world as Champion cornerstones to a brand "reset" ain't going to change the product? I'll go on the line and say the Main Events, so long as Benoit and Eddy are champs, will be just a tad bit better than a Brock / Big Show stretcher match.

People saying that WCW would "self destruct" (CRZ!) were correct, but that was due to hair-brained management and no idea how (or whom) to book. The WWE has not been a bed of roses in the booking department for the last couple years, but they are probably one of the best "managed" companies around. It's things like that that prevent a business from "self-destructing", not the booking of two four-man tag matches and a match that results in MSG booing a couple of clowns out of the building.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY GURU!

FLEA



Demonstrations are a drag. Besides, we're much too high...

FLEA - 1ryderfakin.com - IWC 100! And The Wrestling Dead Pool!!
JoshMann
Andouille








Since: 17.11.03
From: Tallahassee, FL

Since last post: 2238 days
Last activity: 2235 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.76
    Originally posted by RYDER FAKIN
    CANADIAN BULLDOG: He responded yesterday -- politely, I should add -- and said that the current direction WWE has isn't doing anything to attract new fans, which is what's leading the company to self-destruction. He conceded that a few of the matches were good, but they weren't going to be changing the product overall. He also said that four years from now, people won't be taking the Mania XX DVD out to watch it.

    Oh great - another chicken little. I suggest he do a follow-up column explaining how a publicly traded company with 250 million in CASH reserves(and a cash flow of mechandise), a dead lock on the rights to video archives and a world to conquer with the WWE brand will "self -destruct" because of an alledgely bad WM event. And I would guarantee there is at least one or two people who will get mileage out of repeated viewings of WMXX, just to make sure that HHH *really* did TAP TAP TAP to Benoit. THAT was history.

    And having the two best workers in the world as Champion cornerstones to a brand "reset" ain't going to change the product? I'll go on the line and say the Main Events, so long as Benoit and Eddy are champs, will be just a tad bit better than a Brock / Big Show stretcher match.

    People saying that WCW would "self destruct" (CRZ!) were correct, but that was due to hair-brained management and no idea how (or whom) to book. The WWE has not been a bed of roses in the booking department for the last couple years, but they are probably one of the best "managed" companies around. It's things like that that prevent a business from "self-destructing", not the booking of two four-man tag matches and a match that results in MSG booing a couple of clowns out of the building.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY GURU!

    FLEA


Agreed on most of it, and while what I'm about to say in particular obviously wasn't the death knell of WCW, it's just one of 1000 examples of ineptitude.

I had a good number of friends who if they could have ever found lWo shirts available, would have bought them. I've also compared notes with people I talk to who live in SoCal and they've said roughly the same thing. The only problem was that WCW didn't make those shirts readily available to the buying public, some of whom actually WANTED to buy those shirts. Imagine that, a product that WCW didn't HAVE to give away!!

It's stuff like that and lost oppertunities to make money here and there is what sunk them. I'm not saying that selling more lWo shirts in particular would have saved them, but you know that if this was the WWE, those shirts would have been easier to find.



"Sorry, you need to PM me, and phrase it in the form of a question."
CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 491 days
Last activity: 490 days
ICQ:  
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.65
Flea, Blanket: My points exactly (though you guys put it much better). WCW was taking huge, backwards steps for years until it inevitably caught up with them. WWE has stumbled, sure, but (a) they're taking steps to fix some of the common complaints and (b) They are making money regardless! At last check, WWE had a market value of $900 million plus, and although they lost money in 2003, it was far from disastrous (maybe $19 million).

So, if I could sum up: I STILL don't think they're self-destructing, and STILL think WMXX was pretty damn good.



What will happen, including every last detail, at this weekend's Wrestle Mania XXX? What former minor-league wrestling promoter was caught in a Sex Scandal? Folks, I can't talk about on TV, but check out the latest Inside The Ropes!!!
Check out the brand new ITR Website, featuring the ridiculously expensive Canadian BullBLOG!!!
MARTYEWR
Kishke








Since: 15.10.02

Since last post: 238 days
Last activity: 238 days
#20 Posted on | Instant Rating: 10.00
This is kinda going off-topic, but WCW wasn't doing as bad as people claim they were. They were losing only a bit of money each year from 1988 (when Turner took over) to 1994. Losses, yes, but nothing overly drastic. 1995, they moreless broke even. They naturally turned in a profit in 1996, as well as 1997, 98. 1999, they lost money, but it was like the earlier years. 2000 is when they lost a chunkload, and that's when Turner gave up on them, because of one very bad year.

WWE is a different story, as they've had declining profits, rather than losses, even small ones. They're still profitable, which contradicts the author's assumption that they're headed towards "self-destruction".



Martin Kipp: Creative Member, Extreme Warfare Revenge

Wiener Of The Day: Tuesday, March 4, 2003
Wiener Of The Day (2): Wednesday, October 29, 2003

"Because I'm the man, and the man's the man, and that's just the way it is!" -- Eric Foreman, That 70s Show
Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread rated: 4.86
Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread ahead: More classic DVDs on the way
Next thread: Vote on WWE Divas 2004 cover
Previous thread: WWE website Brock&Goldberg
(6805 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Amen. So is Brock the only "fresh young talent" that the WWE is gonna elevate?? RVD curtain-jerks (again), Booker jobs clean and then is destroyed by the Kliqe....
- asteroidboy, Brock Lesnar Deserves a Chance (2002)
Related threads: I was there live!! - WrestleMania XX Quick'n'Dirty Results - WrestleMania XX WreaXX - More...
The W - Pro Wrestling - Worst 'Mania Review So FarRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.483 seconds.