The W
Views: 98974403
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
17.9.14 1437
The W - Video Games - Wii U Reviews
This thread has 5 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(361 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (2 total)
jerichofan717
Chipolata








Since: 21.12.10
From: Albany, NY

Since last post: 30 days
Last activity: 17 min.
#1 Posted on
My wife and I are looking for a gift to celebrate the birth of our first child. We received a good chunk of money for Christmas and were considering getting a Wii U.

My question for owners...what are some of the things you like/don't like about the system? And is it a pain to transfer data from the Wii to Wii U? My wife is worried that she'll lose all of her Animal Crossing data if something goes wrong with the transfer.

I'm a little hesitant to get a Wii U now since there aren't that many titles available. For those who have the system, how are the games so far?
Promote this thread!
andy1278
Linguica








Since: 11.1.02
From: Brunswick, GA

Since last post: 626 days
Last activity: 600 days
AIM:  
#2 Posted on
I've enjoyed mine. I also have never played a PS3 or 360, so I can't compare to anything but my previous Wii.

There are a few complaints, mainly small things. Load times are slow, but there is not really much to complain about losing a whole fifteen seconds of my life. The library is small, but it will grow. The two hour battery life of the gamepad bothers some, but the charging cord is so long that it really isn't a problem. And there's the first time hour or so update, which is what it is. There hasn't been a virtual console service added to the eShop yet, though they continue to add games to the Wii Shop on the Wii menu (which you can only play as if it was a Wii, no gamepad).

I've had mine since launch day and have five physical games plus the downloadable (and great) "Little Inferno." Mario, NBA 2K13, Scribblenauts, Batman and the pack-in Nintendoland. I've enjoyed them all. It helps that Target has had two seperate weeks with "buy 2, get 1 free" Wii U game sales. Being able to play Mario and Scribblenauts on the gamepad in bed has been amazing, and the Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon apps all look great.

The Wii to Wii U transfer is relatively painless. Almost everything transfers, but check the FAQ at the Nintendo site to make sure.

Several demos are in the eShop - Sonic Racing, FIFA, and Rayman. Miiverse is maybe the most entertaining aspect of the whole package. So many artists. The "Funky Barn" community is hilarious.

All in all, I am very pleased. Good games out, more coming, great video services. I'm happy.

(edited by andy1278 on 29.12.12 2317)
Pages: 1Thread ahead: PS Vita releases: week of December 31, 2012
Next thread: PS3 releases: week of December 31, 2012
Previous thread: Humble Indie Bundle 7
(361 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Kind of ironic, I just sold my old PS2 for XBox games. So I might pick this up when the urge to play GTA: SA gets too bad.
- kazhayashi81, Redesigned smaller PS2 (2004)
Related threads: Wii U releases: weeks of December 24 and 31, 2012 - Wii U releases: week of December 17, 2012 - Wii U releases: week of December 10, 2012 - More...
The W - Video Games - Wii U ReviewsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.112 seconds.