The W
Views: 98306687
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
20.8.14 1541
The W - Pro Wrestling - Why is it...
This thread has 4 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.64
Pages: 1
(8060 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (17 total)
thefraserman
Goetta








Since: 17.7.02
From: Nanaimo, British Columbia

Since last post: 749 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.75
Why is it, in the WWE, if a guy gets doubleteamed, hit with chair, suplexed onto a chair, hit with a belt, suplexed onto the belt, use any type of foreign object, or brush against the ref the wrong way, he gets an automatic DQ.

Yet, if that same guy knocks or gets whipped into the stairs, knocked on to the ring post, OR EVEN DESTROY THE FRIGGING ANNOUNCE TABLE, that's well and good, match continues??

Somebody clear this up for me please?
Promote this thread!
Scott Summets
Sujuk








Since: 27.6.02

Since last post: 3842 days
Last activity: 3810 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.29
My guess would be all the things in the first column you mentioned happen in the ring, whereas all the things in the second happen outside the ring making it legal.



"I wear it for the thousands who have died, believen' that the Lord was on their side. I wear it for another hundred thousand who have died, believen' that we all were on their side." RIP Johnny Cash



thefraserman
Goetta








Since: 17.7.02
From: Nanaimo, British Columbia

Since last post: 749 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.75
Yes true, but recall that Earl Hebner always tries to force the weapon from the wrestler's hand even if they are outside.

Right?
Right?
InVerse
Bierwurst








Since: 26.8.02

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 6 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.68
Because that's what the script says. That's really the only way to explain it.

If Kurt Angle picks up the steps and hits Brock Lesnar with them, he gets disqualified. But if Brock Lesnar picks up the stairs and gets hit with them, it's okay. But by that logic, RVD could use the Van Daminator as his finisher because it's not him holding the chair, it's his opponent. But then, if the ref picked up a chair that was lying in the ring and someone kicked it into his face, would that be a disqualification?

It's sort of like how a run in doesn't result in a disqualification unless the person interfering actually lands a move of some sort. But hey, they've improved several things over the last 6 months or so, maybe they'll eventually get around to consistency in the rules.
BigVitoMark
Lap cheong








Since: 10.8.02
From: Queen's University, Canada

Since last post: 3314 days
Last activity: 3223 days
ICQ:  
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.94
You'll just give yourself a headache trying to figure out things like this. And if you don't, try this one on...

Why is it that guys only get counted out when they're facing lower calibre opponents and their rival is distracting them in the aisle? Shouldn't the guys who get killed going through the announce table be counted out much more often?
Amazing Telephone
Salami








Since: 12.12.02
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba

Since last post: 205 days
Last activity: 1 day
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.55
    Originally posted by thefraserman
    Why is it, in the WWE, if a guy gets doubleteamed, hit with chair, suplexed onto a chair, hit with a belt, suplexed onto the belt, use any type of foreign object, or brush against the ref the wrong way, he gets an automatic DQ.

    Yet, if that same guy knocks or gets whipped into the stairs, knocked on to the ring post, OR EVEN DESTROY THE FRIGGING ANNOUNCE TABLE, that's well and good, match continues??

I've always figured the reason behind such things is that the ring post, steps and announce table are all required elements of the ring area, and as such are unavoidably going to be there for use. Ditto for the guardrail/barricade.

Chairs, belts, brass knuckles, stop signs, garbage cans, kendo sticks and etcetra require the wrestler to actively bring them into the match, thus are not allowed.

This would explain for example why somebody is allowed to whip somebody into the turnbuckle, but not to remove the turnbuckle pad.

Another possible explanation is that you aren't allowed to hit somebody with something that you're carrying. That's why a wrestler is allowed to whip somebody into the stairs, but not to pick them up and nail somebody with them.

So, pick one. Or both. Or make up your own. Whichever.
Gugs
Bierwurst








Since: 9.7.02
From: Sleep (That's where I'm a viking)

Since last post: 454 days
Last activity: 9 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.58
    Originally posted by thefraserman
    Why is it, in the WWE, if a guy gets doubleteamed, hit with chair, suplexed onto a chair, hit with a belt, suplexed onto the belt, use any type of foreign object, or brush against the ref the wrong way, he gets an automatic DQ.

    Yet, if that same guy knocks or gets whipped into the stairs, knocked on to the ring post, OR EVEN DESTROY THE FRIGGING ANNOUNCE TABLE, that's well and good, match continues??

    Somebody clear this up for me please?


1. A doubleteam in a tag match gets a five count to break; if not broken, it's a DQ.
2. That's the rule.
3. Not true. Hitting the thing with the person is OK, but not hitting the person with the thing.
4. Hitting the ref intentionally, while the ref can see you, is a DQ.
5. Again, hitting the thing with the person vs. hitting the person with the thing.



Sometimes I ask myself why I watch WWE after all the crap it's given me. HLA, necro, HHH, and so on. And then it hits me. That one simple phrase that can be modified and used for anything that gets you down, yet makes you keep coming back.

Every episode has the potential to be the best one ever, and I'll be damned if I'm going to miss it after sitting through this shit.
darkdragoon
Bockwurst








Since: 26.8.02

Since last post: 3632 days
Last activity: 3632 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.00
    Originally posted by thefraserman
    Why is it, in the WWE, if a guy gets doubleteamed, hit with chair, suplexed onto a chair, hit with a belt, suplexed onto the belt, use any type of foreign object, or brush against the ref the wrong way, he gets an automatic DQ.

    Yet, if that same guy knocks or gets whipped into the stairs, knocked on to the ring post, OR EVEN DESTROY THE FRIGGING ANNOUNCE TABLE, that's well and good, match continues??

    Somebody clear this up for me please?


stairs/post is part of the ring, and they get admonished to get back in the ring. the announce table is pretty much destined to have people go through it now anyway.

My "this is ridiculous" would be why not check under the ring and remove the ladders/tables etc. beforehand?
JST
Toulouse








Since: 20.1.02
From: Quebec City, CAN

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 5 hours
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.38
Watch No Mercy 99, during the Outlaws/Hollys match. Billy Gunn drops Crash with the fameasser on a chair, causing the DQ, thus questionning the theory of "the person hitting the thing".

I guess it's all depending on the context of the match. Sure, Funaki will get DQ'ed for using a chair on Spanky in the Velocity opener, but I suppose the referee will be more lenient during say, Angle/Lesnar at a PPV.

(edited by Tod deKindes on 19.9.03 2258)


Kevintripod
Andouille








Since: 11.5.03
From: Mount Pleasant, Pa.

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 2 hours
AIM:  
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.91
I figured that basically anything is allowed outside of the ring to give the wrestlers incentive to stay in the ring and wrestle, rather than constantly rolling out for a breather or to escape from their opponent.

Makes the wrestlers think to themselves: "Well, I can just try to suck it up and try to ignore the pain/exhaustion and just keep on wrestling in the ring, or risk going outside the ropes for a breather and getting my head bashed in with metal steps."



"This just got a hell of a lot better." - Stifler, American Pie
Tribal Prophet
Andouille








Since: 9.1.02
From: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 1 day
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.16
I remember Ventura and Monsoon having a fight about this at a PPV a LOOoooooong time ago. Ventura was of course questioning why the Warrior got to do whatever he wanted outside the ring to Rick Rude, including hitting him with the belt, steps (I think) and other things. Monsoon's position was basically that the ref is only in charge of what goes on inside the ring, so anything outside it is legal, and all the ref can do is countout the wrestlers once they leave that ring.

Of course, Ventura then yelled "So does that mean if you SHOOT a guy, it's perfectly legal, as long as you do it outside the ring?!?" Monsoon was stuck for an answer of course, and Ventura wouldn't let it drop, which was great to listen to, but I still think Gorilla's one line assessment of the rule is the best way to think about it.


Tribal Prophet



Wrestling exists in the eternal present. What is, has always been, and when it no longer is, it never was. It has no past and no future, and sometimes even today is in question. - Madame Manga

Click Here (welovetheiraqiinformationminister.com)
Mike Sweetser
Boerewors








Since: 2.1.02
From: Seattle, Washington

Since last post: 3020 days
Last activity: 2912 days
AIM:  
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.55
I always saw it as a question of "Does this drastically affect the course of a match?" and "Is it worth calling the DQ?"

For instance, let's take a match between..oh, Big Show and Mankind.

Show throwing Foley into steps hurts and isn't "legal", but it's probably not going to affect the match much, so the ref admonishes Show and lets it slide. Ditto Show throwing Foley into the barricades.

Show chairshotting Foley is a bit murkier. The ref sees Foley hit with a chair, which is grounds for a DQ; however, ending the match that quickly would piss off the fans, who plunked down money to see the match. In addition, everybody knows Foley can take a chairshot, and it probably won't affect him much, so the ref lets it slide.

Now, later in the match, Show chokeslams Foley through a chair in the ring. This DEFINITELY affects the match, as it's pretty obvious as a result of this, Show can pin Foley, and since it's a blatantly illegal move right in front of the ref, ding ding ding, DQ.

This is of course all subjective, which is part of the fun, and why we're having this discussion to begin with. It creates controversy, which then creates interest, which then creates ticket sales.*

Mike

*Theoretically.



FurryHippie
Frankfurter








Since: 29.10.02
From: New York

Since last post: 2916 days
Last activity: 1603 days
AIM:  
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.45
You know, during the iron man match this week, one of the most annoying rules came into play....the "breaking of the count". Somebody PLEASE explain this to me. So many times, Brock would be outside the ring and wait till the 9 count, the slip in the ring, then out....and it would break the count. Then all of a sudden both men would be outside and Brock would slip in at 9, and the ref would finish the 10 count and Brock would win the fall by count-out. What the HELL? This happens all the time. Both men will be outside and the ref will stop the count if one man comes back in before the 10.....then, later on he'll finish the 10 count when the heel sneaks in at the 9 count....in the SAME MATCH. The rules change so quickly its a pretty glaring error. Maybe I just look too deep into it....

(edited by FurryHippie on 19.9.03 2250)
Tribal Prophet
Andouille








Since: 9.1.02
From: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 1 day
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.16
The count is supposed to reset when a guy goes back outside, so sliding in really isn't breaking the count, it's the sliding out that does it.

Of course, there's always the times that they either take 5 minutes to count to 10, or else find a reason to stop counting altogether and then start over (like if a guy uses a chair or something, and they want to yell at him for doing it) but that all depends of the course of how the match was booked. There's no real rule for that.


Tribal Prophet



Wrestling exists in the eternal present. What is, has always been, and when it no longer is, it never was. It has no past and no future, and sometimes even today is in question. - Madame Manga

Click Here (welovetheiraqiinformationminister.com)
JST
Toulouse








Since: 20.1.02
From: Quebec City, CAN

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 5 hours
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.38
Take it from me, the 5-minute 10 count is mostly when the wrestlers take too long to brawl out of the ring. So the ref is forced to either get out and follow the action or warn them and restart the count.



Gugs
Bierwurst








Since: 9.7.02
From: Sleep (That's where I'm a viking)

Since last post: 454 days
Last activity: 9 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.58
I think it was pretty funny when Brian Hebner got up to nine after the F5 on the ringpost and had to yell "Kurt! Kurt! Get back in here!" and then got to 10.



Sometimes I ask myself why I watch WWE after all the crap it's given me. HLA, necro, HHH, and so on. And then it hits me. That one simple phrase that can be modified and used for anything that gets you down, yet makes you keep coming back.

Every episode has the potential to be the best one ever, and I'll be damned if I'm going to miss it after sitting through this shit.
thefraserman
Goetta








Since: 17.7.02
From: Nanaimo, British Columbia

Since last post: 749 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.75
Why do they even call it an f5 on the ringpost? Shouldnt it be called rather 'Kurt Angle just slammed Brock's leg into the ringpost"?

Just saying, is all
Thread rated: 4.64
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: New WWE DVD
Next thread: TNA "free pre-shows"
Previous thread: PLEASE ANSWER MY QUESTION!!!!
(8060 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Alberto Del Rio vs. John Cena, WWE Championship, Last Man Standing Match: Alberto wins. Cena acts all righteous again on Raw. Mark Henry vs. The Big Show, World Heavyweight Championship Match:
The W - Pro Wrestling - Why is it...Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.426 seconds.