The W
Views: 100074523
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
26.10.14 0451
The W - Internet & Computers - Where do you go for tech reviews?
This thread has 2 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 6.25
Pages: 1
(320 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (6 total)
thecubsfan
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 10.12.01
From: Aurora, IL

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 4 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 10.00
There's some tech stuff I follow well enough that when I want something in that niche, I know exactly which particular item I should grab. And then there's other stuff I'm completely lost about.

Right now, I'm looking around at digital cameras (theoretically in the $100 range) and it's one of those things I don't know a lot about. So while ideas about what cameras to look at would be good, I'm thinking bigger picture - when you need to figure out what tech product to pick, what do you to use to decide?

Amazon user ratings? Tech sites reviews? Specialty sites for each item? Or something else?



thecubsfan.com - luchablog
Promote this thread!
PeterStork
Sujuk








Since: 25.1.02
From: Chicagoland with Hoosiers, or "The Region"

Since last post: 44 days
Last activity: 6 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.29
CNet's always been decent for me, especially when you read the particulars instead of just going by overall rating. For cameras in particular dpreview.com is a great resource with technical details, durability and sample images.



exit 670 dot com | digital route 66
Leroy
Boudin blanc








Since: 7.2.02

Since last post: 10 days
Last activity: 9 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.99
I bought a camera based on a review on Digital Camera Reviews and News, and I am pretty happy with the result.

I personally believe user ratings are, at best, useless and, at worst, totally misleading.

Edit: Keep in mind that this suggestion is from someone who only wrote two frickin' sentences and still had to edit his post. Yeah...

(edited by Leroy on 22.4.08 2215)


SaveNetRadio.org
AWArulz
Knackwurst








Since: 28.1.02
From: Louisville, KY

Since last post: 5 hours
Last activity: 5 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.48
I at least take a look at consumersearch.com - they grab ratings from several sources - including consumer reports - the biggest gripe I have is that the data is often older than I want it.



We'll be back right after order has been restored here in the Omni Center.


“That the universe was formed by a fortuitous concourse of atoms, I will no more believe than that the accidental jumbling of the alphabet would fall into a most ingenious treatise of philosophy” - Swift

Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: #YEG

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 3 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.32
    Originally posted by PeterStork
    CNet's always been decent for me, especially when you read the particulars instead of just going by overall rating. For cameras in particular dpreview.com is a great resource with technical details, durability and sample images.
Seconded. Cnet's awesome for reviews, but the caveat concerning their mobile phone reviews: the phones themselves are often set up and limited by carrier, so the review may not be accurate.

I often depend on Steve Dotto (www.dottotech.com) and Leo LaPorte (www.labwithleo.com) for tech advice and reviews...They both have TV shows here in Canada. Steve is kind of an odd duck, but Leo is awesome.

Lastly, I often depend on the opinions of the users of this site.




Tenkuu Henshin!

PeterStork
Sujuk








Since: 25.1.02
From: Chicagoland with Hoosiers, or "The Region"

Since last post: 44 days
Last activity: 6 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.29
    Originally posted by Oliver
    I often depend on Steve Dotto (www.dottotech.com) and Leo LaPorte (www.labwithleo.com) for tech advice and reviews...They both have TV shows here in Canada. Steve is kind of an odd duck, but Leo is awesome.


Leo is not awesome. Leo is more than awesome and if he recommends a product you should buy it whether or not you need it.

(Got to meet him once. Hell of a person.)



exit 670 dot com | digital route 66
Thread rated: 6.25
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Disabling key combination in Firefox?
Next thread: Windows Help? ...I think.
Previous thread: F@H Thread
(320 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
So I bought one of these doohickeys on Friday. 32G non 3G. The iPad itself is what it is, but has anyone else had trouble with iTunes & docking? I had the devil's own trying to get it to talk to iTunes through my desktop.
- Big G, Thoughts on the iPad (2010)
The W - Internet & Computers - Where do you go for tech reviews?Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.067 seconds.