The W
Views: 95691447
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
20.4.14 1351
The W - Video Games - What's the Amplitude Kenneth? - March 2003 (PS2 Reviews)
This thread has 28 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(2878 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (5 total)
skorpio17
Morcilla








Since: 11.7.02
From: New Jersey

Since last post: 2223 days
Last activity: 2223 days
#1 Posted on
For those Playstation 2 Owners, here are my reviews for the video games I played recently. I grade from 1 – 10.


Amplitude – 9

This is the sequel to Frequency. It plays the same as Frequency. The only difference I could see is a new slow-motion power-up. This power-up helps when the notes move too fast. I’ve been cruising by in the “brutal” difficulty, so I think this game can be picked up rather easily. It includes songs by Garbage, Blink 182, Weezer, and more fringe-bands. Even though I’m no fan of these groups, I love this game. It has multi-player and online capability.

Rocky – 8

This is an arcade-style boxing game. It has the style and storyline of the movies. There is little strategy involved. With no block button, defense is difficult. It is a slugfest. You can try to evade the heavy punches, but the jabs will catch you. Hulk “Thunderlips” Hogan is the only prominent character missing from the game.

Pride FC: Fighting Championship – 3

This is a realistic fighting game. It is too realistic. You can recreate the 48 second defeat of Tank Abbott. The loading time for the match is longer than the actual match. It has realistic submissions and reversals, but it is not fun to play.

NCAA Final 4 2003 – 1

This is a bad game. I wouldn’t play this on my PS1 or even Sega. The graphics are clunky. The players are all nameless. It is not even close to NBA 2K2. Don’t buy this game.

WWE Smackdown: Shut Your Mouth – 6

This is an ok arcade-style wrestling game. If you’ve seen all the other Smackdown games on Playstation by Yukes, than you’ve seen this one too. The graphics are strong, great entrance videos, great moves, etc. But, I’m tired of hitting a guy 10 times with a chair and he no-sells all the damage like the Undertaker. It is all button-mashing. I’d like to see the WWE get a new game engine instead of just reusing the old one.

Zone of Elders: 2nd Runner – 6

This is a sequel to the mech-game by Konami. The game is supposed to have something to do with the creator of Metal Gear Solid 2. I’m not thrilled with this type of game. The first one was OK. You can fight hundreds of mechanical bots at once. The same as the first game.

Technu: Wrath of Heaven – 5

I really thought the previous Technu game could’ve been special. The gameplay here is the same as the last with the same problem. The camera sucks. It sucks so bad it gives me motion sickness after a half hour. When fighting, the only challenge is to face your enemy so the camera doesn’t screw you over. I’ll admit it is fun to hit a guy with a flaming arrow and slice him up while he’s burning. But, I can’t recommend this game.



Jet X20 - 5
NASCAR Thunder 2003 - 5
All Star Baseball 2003 - 5
King of Route 66 – 4
NHL FaceOff 2003 - 3




Most Anticipated Games

1. Def Jam Vendetta
2. Dynasty Warriors 4
3. NBA Street 2
4. Soul Caliber 2 (only if it includes Sonyanita)
5. Splinter Cell
6. X2: Wolverine’s Revenge
7. Midnight Club 2

Promote this thread!
Jaguar
Knackwurst








Since: 23.1.02
From: Phoenix, AZ

Since last post: 13 days
Last activity: 13 days
#2 Posted on
Okay, have you played the original Frequency? How would you say Amp compares to it? The lack of tunnel is seriously freaking me out in the videos I've seen.

-Jag



If they studied their paper money for clues as to what their country was all about, they found, among a lot of other baroque trash, a picture of a truncated pyramid with a radiant eye on top of it, like this:



Not even the President of the United States knew what that was all about. It was as though the country were saying to its citizens, "In nonsense is strength."

-Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. Breakfast of Champions
James F'n X
Bockwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Seattle, WA

Since last post: 2900 days
Last activity: 2866 days
AIM:  
#3 Posted on
NCAA Final 4 2003 – 1

This is a bad game. I wouldn’t play this on my PS1 or even Sega. The graphics are clunky. The players are all nameless. It is not even close to NBA 2K2. Don’t buy this game.

Well, let's see here...

Outside of the fucking annoying light reflections off the ceiling, the graphics are fine, comparable with other 989 games (a half-step down from the 2KX series, to be sure, but Sega's not busy working on 7 sports titles, just 3). The players don't have names because this is not a pro-hoops game, it's a college game, and college players can't have their names licensed. I get the feeling you don't like college basketball in general, because I'd certainly prefer throwing down with my local colleges than my local pro team.



I was being used for their amusement and entertainment while they were busy fucking outlaw bikers.

"Come to the place where tropical breezes blow! Come to the coolest place I know! The people are so great! But really there's only me! And that means I'm so great, and also there's the Cheat, oh there's the Cheat!"
"Whatever weight [Paul Bearer] lost, he found it and where its friends were." - Mike Sweetser
skorpio17
Morcilla








Since: 11.7.02
From: New Jersey

Since last post: 2223 days
Last activity: 2223 days
#4 Posted on
Jaguar: I’ve played the original Frequency many times. I think the new game is very similar, nearly identical gameplay. I’d say the new one is less difficult. It is easier to hit all the notes. It has 4 levels of difficulty and I was getting by the third pretty easily. For the first Frequency, I was having trouble at Normal – Level 3, with the Fear Factory songs. If they made this game keyboard compatible, it would have much smoother gameplay. The lack of tunnel background didn’t bother me much here. It also takes away the analog joystick function (scratch), but I’m OK with that.

James FnX: Basketball videogames are my favorites, from NBA Jam, Run and Gun, NBA Live, etc. We might have been playing different games. The one I played had Indiana vs. Maryland as the default. It isn’t even close to NBA 2Kx or NBA Street. I’d rank it lower than Fox Sports NBA 2000 on PS1. Maybe they could’ve given the players initials or something (MD for Mike Dunleavy). I prefer watching the pros to college basketball. I’m waiting for a day when a good college basketball videogame comes out.


Check out my new guest column featuring the Blue World Order
http://wienerboard.com/thread.php/id=10820

MollyFan2K2
Blutwurst








Since: 26.6.02
From: Ware, MA

Since last post: 2529 days
Last activity: 2475 days
AIM:  
#5 Posted on

    Originally posted by skorpio17
    WWE Smackdown: Shut Your Mouth – 6

    This is an ok arcade-style wrestling game. If you’ve seen all the other Smackdown games on Playstation by Yukes, than you’ve seen this one too. The graphics are strong, great entrance videos, great moves, etc. But, I’m tired of hitting a guy 10 times with a chair and he no-sells all the damage like the Undertaker. It is all button-mashing. I’d like to see the WWE get a new game engine instead of just reusing the old one.



Hey, there's nothing wrong with button-mashing. And I'm not being defensive...........really I'm not. ;-)


    4. Soul Caliber 2 (only if it includes Sonyanita)


I don't think it will, because I think they removed her to include her younger sister Cassandra, who is cute as a button by the way.



A shark on whiskey is mighty risky, a shark on beer is a beer engineer.
Pages: 1Thread ahead: Baseball, NBA, and College basketball games
Next thread: I got my GBA SP pre-order today...
Previous thread: PRide
(2878 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Did the GCW/GPW efed change sites or is it just gone entirly. If someone knows can you please tell me or if its just in a different site please post it.
- YAKUZAKICK91, where are you GpW (2003)
The W - Video Games - What's the Amplitude Kenneth? - March 2003 (PS2 Reviews)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.129 seconds.