The W
Views: 99080900
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
20.9.14 2109
The W - Print - Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader? (Preview)
This thread has 12 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 6.28
Pages: 1
(273 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (5 total)
Lise
Mrs. Guru








Since: 11.12.01

Since last post: 387 days
Last activity: 8 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.64
No idea if this has been hyped all to hell or not, but being a 2 part 48 page comic is great for people like me, who have stopped collecting single books (Honestly, it comes down to weight. I decided I wasn't going to move more than one box the last time we moved, and sold/gave most of my collection away to a friend.) One of the few comics I did keep is the last time Gaiman wrote Batman (With a really cute cameo by John Constantine) so, I will likely ask my brother to go pick this up for me. Not sure if this plays off of the Morrison stuff or not, but it looks fun.

http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=92159514&blogID=468114731
Promote this thread!
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 95 days
Last activity: 62 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.34

I assumes by the name that it's also meant to evoke the Alan Moore "Whatever happened to the Man of Tomorrow" story, which was the last Pre-Crisis Superman story.



Mark Coale
Odessa Steps Magazine
The Affirmation, Baby Blog
JimBob Skeeter
Bratwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: MN

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 day
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.41
    Originally posted by odessasteps

    I assumes by the name that it's also meant to evoke the Alan Moore "Whatever happened to the Man of Tomorrow" story, which was the last Pre-Crisis Superman story.

That is exactly what they are going for. I wonder if they will end this story with Bruce turning and giving a wink to the reader, too?
Lise
Mrs. Guru








Since: 11.12.01

Since last post: 387 days
Last activity: 8 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.64
    Originally posted by JimBob Skeeter
      Originally posted by odessasteps

      I assumes by the name that it's also meant to evoke the Alan Moore "Whatever happened to the Man of Tomorrow" story, which was the last Pre-Crisis Superman story.

    That is exactly what they are going for. I wonder if they will end this story with Bruce turning and giving a wink to the reader, too?


Well, it looks like they are bringing Dream/Daniel in, so they probably won't need to do a wink.
lotjx
Scrapple








Since: 5.9.08

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.38
Daniel is not Dream, but a poor facade. Matthew's speech and deciding to stay along was the only good thing about that last issue. I love Neil, but never mention Daniel in my presence again.
Thread rated: 6.28
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Google Book Search Settlement Article
Next thread: 15th Anniversary of RIP Jack Kirby
Previous thread: Comics Shipped 1/28/09 (including Final Crisis #7)(spoilers)
(273 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
You're right, that's the worst part. The material is right there, there's a ton of great stories you can tell based on Cap's death. And Loeb is a good writer, much better than this mini would indicate. But it's not coming together here at all.
- Tenken347, Comic Book Thread 05/05/2007 (2007)
Related threads: Comics Shipped 1/28/09 (including Final Crisis #7)(spoilers) - The Final Fate of the Dark Knight Revealed (Final Crisis #6 spoilers) - Final Crisis #5 and other comics shipped 12/11/08 (spoilers) - More...
The W - Print - Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader? (Preview)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.062 seconds.