The W
Views: 101534349
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
22.12.14 0447
The W - Movies & TV - Transformers Review (semi-spoilers)
This thread has 103 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.76
Pages: 1 2 3 Next
(3533 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (42 total)
Doc_whiskey
Frankfurter








Since: 6.8.02
From: St. Louis

Since last post: 67 days
Last activity: 67 days
AIM:  
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.71
So I got to see a sneak preview of Transformers last night and I have to say it could have been great, but it fell a little short for me (however, I am not saying this was a bad movie, it was good,, just not great). All of the scenes with the transformers were pretty cool, but it seemed they took a little too much time to set up things with the autobots. Also, with the frantic camera movements in certain points in the action scenes (and the fact that some of the robots looked similar) sometimes it was hard to keep which side was winning straight. However, those were my only real complaints as I did have fun at this movie. I think if you enjoyed the cartoon or just the transformer universe in general, you will enjoy this movie. If you didn't then you may still like it as an action movie, just not as much as someone with previous exposure to the product.

The Starscream stuff kicked ass by the way.



Lisa: Poor predicatble Bart, always picks rock
Bart: Good ole rock, nothing beats that
Promote this thread!
Venom
Boudin rouge








Since: 15.1.03

Since last post: 2665 days
Last activity: 2635 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.25
If Starscream tears Bumblebee's head off and pisses motor-oil down his gaping electrical sockets, I will pay to see this movie twenty times.

It's giant robots blowing shit up for 2 hours. I don't think even Michael Bay can screw that up.



Big wup, wanna fight about it?
John Orquiola
Scrapple








Since: 28.2.02
From: Boston

Since last post: 176 days
Last activity: 176 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.70
I caught the Monday 8pm show with several nerds in the theatre wearing Optimus Prime helmets and having spirited discussions in the men's room afterwards of the Quintessons and Dinobots needing to appear in the sequel.

I had a really good time watching Transformers. I thought it was very entertaining.

Full review here: http://www.backofthehead.com/entertainment/2007-07-03.transformersreview.html



Back of the Head: www.backofthehead.com
jwrestle
Lap cheong








Since: 4.4.03
From: Nitro WV

Since last post: 227 days
Last activity: 6 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.44
Flipping AWESOME MOVIE!

OK, some of the camera motion was a bit shaky but it is a big on action film.

I'm sorry but Frenzy makes the film even if he's the Microsoft Office paper clip evil incarnation. Seriously remind me of Scrat from Ice Age just amped up on even more caffeine.

Prime saying eBay was hilarious to me, Prime saying 20 year old movie line was awesome to me, and Prime finally getting the edge off by the end of the film made me feel great.

Surprising part was Megatron vs Jazz...even though it was quick battle that part was about the same effect to me as Ironhide taking the point blank blowing up at Megatron's cannon in the film 20 years back. Just ruthless.

Yeah, some of the Decepticons didn't get much screen time but it didn't leave me lacking enough to bother me.

OVERALL: Two thumbs up! Insane amounts of stuff blown up, insane action, and Prime vs. Megatron was so totally worth my money.

Go see it and transform your summer!

(edited by jwrestle on 3.7.07 1701)


Soapbox Heroes
"World, Canadian, Celtic, Fusion all pulled off as there own."
Cerebus
Scrapple








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 11 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.48
http://the-w.com/thread.php/id=32824#363346

    Originally posted by I said...
    I'm boycotting this film because...


...well...

I was woken up this morning and told that we had a doctors appointment. I never remember this stuff so I just 'Ok' and got up and showered and got ready to go. After we were in the car and on the road, Serena tells me that she DOESN'T have a doctors appointment and that I've been kidnapped and I'm going to see TRANSFORMERS with her cause she doesn't like to see movies alone and that since I dragged her to go see HOSTEL 2, 1408, and all these other films she didn't want to see, then I should have to see something she wants to see.

...after my complaining al the way to the theater and on the way inside and still bitching in the line for popcorn and even more bitching during the trailers... something happened. About ten minutes into the film, I was shocked... SHOCKED that this was actually kinda good. It kinda went all uphill from there and I hate to admit this, but this movie was fucking fantastic.

Even with Bumblee not being a VW Bug, I kinda started to like him. I even started to like the changes in the styles of vehicles they made, and I was ok with Megatron being a space plane. Shit, this worked really well.

The human characters were not annoying, the story was acceptable, the effects were fucking incredible, Hugo Weaving did a acceptable voice for Megatron, and I'm glad I saw it.

This is me eating crow.
DougD3345
Braunschweiger








Since: 4.7.07
From: Waltham, MA

Since last post: 2447 days
Last activity: 1962 days
#6 Posted on
Not to get too nitpicky because it really was a good summer action flick using Transformers characters but Optimus explained that they learned English from our World Wide Web but then Megatron gets unfrozen after hundreds of years on ice and speaks it too. Just thought I'd point that out.
lost_my_testes
Longanisa








Since: 12.6.03
From: California

Since last post: 1873 days
Last activity: 1824 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.77
Most fun I had at the movies this year, bar none.

Considering the source material was simply 30-minute commercials for toys, I can't say I was appalled by the faithfulness to the first cartoon.

I do have quite a few nitpicks about the movie, and certainly rolled my eyes at least 3 or 4 times, but the movie was just so damn fun, that oddly enough it became pretty much a guilty pleasure movie.

While I appreciate that the designs of the robots were meant to give it a more realistic look, I still think they should've kept their looks more simplified leaning more towards the cartoon look (not exactly the cartoon look, but more in line with that). Take Optimus Prime for example, he looked VERY distinct and that had a lot to do with the fact that he maintained a lot of the simplicity of the original design. Everyone else looked the damn same at certain parts. I couldn't tell if it was Blackout, or Ratchet, or Devastator.

I also could've done without the backstory of the girl's troubled past. She was already "bad-girl" enough for knowing about cars and hanging with the jocks. We didn't need to learn she was some kind of criminal to further hammer it home. Then again, that just felt like a Michael Bay stamp, along with all the cliche racial stereotypes.

But forget the negative at this point, I just loved the action, which I would've expected no less from Michael Bay. Optimus Prime kicked butt, I dug Megatron's voice, and while I expected more Starscream, he certainly shined in this movie.

Plus, Shia LaBeouf was the ABSOLUTE reason why this movie worked. If they had gotten the wrong actor, the movie would've fell apart, but Shia made Witwicky VERY likeable and gave a role that honestly on paper sucked, into a character that had a lot of charm. He was the backbone of this film.

Definitely a rollicking-good time. I'd love to see what they would do with a potential sequel. If there is, I WANT HOT ROD in it!
Jericholic53
Boerewors








Since: 18.3.03
From: Honolulu, HI

Since last post: 377 days
Last activity: 23 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.91
THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME.

TONS of fan service that is for the most part seamless unless you're a fan of the original in which case you will notice it and totally mark out. My friend and I totally marked out when

Spoiler Below: Highlight text to read
Megatron said "STARSCREAM YOU'VE FAILED ME ONCE AGAIN."


I think one of the best things about the movie that noone seems to mention but was definitely there, was how they maintained that "boy and his robot friends vs the whole world" sentiment that made the cartoon so lovable. Also, that no one actor stood out as that "celebrity star actor", to me anyway, they all seemed in awe of the Transformers (as they damn well should be.)

This movie rocked and is the first summer movie I feel compelled to watch again. Two thumbs WAY up for me.

Edit: (Also, Megatron's spikey alien form is not without precedent, if I remember correctly in one of Dreamwave Productions' many Transformers comics from a few years back, that is how he appeared. I'm not saying I prefer it to the handgun, but that it wasn't completely out of the blue.)

(edited by Jericholic53 on 4.7.07 0151)


It says so right here in the wcw handbook!
The King of Keith
Lap cheong








Since: 4.11.02
From: Winchester, VA

Since last post: 10 days
Last activity: 9 days
AIM:  
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.02
Gah...Frenzy was Jar Jar.

Ok movie if you like to hear "NO NONONNONONOONO!" 84 times in one sitting. The effects were amazing and Starscream was cool, even though he didn't sound like Cobra Commander.

I can't forgive Prime saying "My bad." Yeesh.



Hail to the Redskins!
Super Shane Spear
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Sector 7 Slums

Since last post: 1651 days
Last activity: 1651 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.26
A very, very mediocre movie that could have been great if they shaved about fifteen minutes off and made a better introduction to the Decepticons. Frenzy wasn't exactly Jar Jar, but he was in the neighborhood. More like one of the gremlins from Gremlins 2. Probably the electrical one. However, the most annoying character award once again lands in Anthony Fucking Anderson's lap once again. At least they killed two birds with the nonsensical virus/British Hottie/Sec. of Defense subplot. Staying with the sore subject of pointless characters, I'll bet John Turturro was wishing to become a toad throughout most of this movie. Why does there have to be somebody in the gov't whom you have to mentally break in half in every Bay movie?

Oh and, "You're a soldier now!"? Get the fuck out.

Bright Side(s): Kevin Dunn and Bernie Mac.

I'll write a better review someday, but for now I'm off to get a Mountain Dew, a Linkin Park CD, a Panasonic flash drive, and a GMC truck.

(edited by Super Shane Spear on 4.7.07 1402)
bubblesthechimp
Boudin rouge








Since: 22.3.02
From: Weymouth, Ma

Since last post: 60 days
Last activity: 7 hours
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.71
    Originally posted by Jericholic53
    (Also, Megatron's spikey alien form is not without precedent, if I remember correctly in one of Dreamwave Productions' many Transformers comics from a few years back, that is how he appeared. I'm not saying I prefer it to the handgun, but that it wasn't completely out of the blue.



      Also, Megatron never takes on an earthbound disguise like the rest of the transformers. Question: Why is it that the allspark only creates Decepticons?



      “Let me tell you something, the day JBL rubs soap on my ass will be JBL's last day.”

      - Batista-
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 2 days
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.75
It was a really great action/turn off your brain movie. As noted, some of the character development is just ludicrous. Then again, this movie isn't really about that, so I can't get too mad at it.

The action scenes were very Michael Bay, and that's a good thing. There are some very funny moments as well, more than I thought there would be. I agree with others though about the robots all looking the same. By the end, I just tried not to think about it.

Overall thumbs up from me.

BTW, the one scene where Shia uses the line "There is more than meets the eye with you" in reference to the girl was so great. But, when this line was said, maybe like 4 people (including myself) in the packed theater laughed really hard. That's when I realized that most of the audience were NOT old-school Transformers fan. That actually saddened me greatly for some reason, moreso than the Bumblebee as Camaro BS.

(edited by Torchslasher on 4.7.07 1631)


Click Here (czwfans.com)

For all your CZW and Nickels Trivia information.

"Put on your helmets, we'll be reaching speeds of 3!"
"It was nice of you to give that dead woman another chance."
"All right, look alive everybody...oh sorry Susan."- MST3K: Space Mutiny
Click Here (myspace.com)
brick
Bockwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 599 days
Last activity: 595 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.00
This on gets a thumbs in the middle from me.

How long was Megatron here on earth? Both the Autobots and Decepticons knew that the allspark was here on earth, and the Autobots sent only Bumblebee to investigate, and the Decepticons had to wait until 100's of years later to try and recover Megatron and the allspark.

I could let all of that slide, since it is a summer turn off your brain movie. But the action scenes, save for the opening demolition of the military base were lacking. Too many jumpy cuts, it was hard to follow who was fighting who since all the bots looked the same.

Breakdancing Jazz got a huge roll of the eyes from me. What internet was he studying, the 1986 version?

The fact that I was a huge Transformer fan as a kid saved the movie for me. It was fun to see the toys that I spent hours with on the big screan again, even if my favorite (starscream) was under used. But I can't say the same for my wife. She had no connection to the transformers and just looked a me in the end and asked, why didn't they do that with the allspark in the begining and save everyone the trouble.
GodEatGod
Boudin rouge








Since: 28.2.02

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 day
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.75
Oddly, my wife had no real Transformers history and she probably liked the movie even better than I did.

There were definite flaws in the movie (Why exactly does getting the cube to the top of the building accomplish anything?!), but it's ultimately overwhelmed by sheer coolness and geekery. While I agree the action was sometimes too frenetic and hard to follow, the whole thing just felt epic and you really got a great sense of the scale of these giant robots just pounding the crap out of each other. I also really enjoyed the humor moments, especially the Autobots trying to hide in the kids backyard and Bumblebee marking his territory on John Turturro.

When I first heard about the movie, I was totally against it, but I couldn't have been much more wrong. Bring on the sequel! More Starscream! DINOBOTS!



"Never piss off a hawk with a blowgun" - Conan O'Brien
StaggerLee
Scrapple








Since: 3.10.02
From: Right side of the tracks

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 1 day
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.41
Jesus, a bunch of people finding flaws in charector development amongst robots from space.
Incredible.


I loved this movie. Had everything you would want in an action movie, simple plot, car chases, fights, shit blowing up, a couple of hot chicks and some funny lines.

What more could you ask for out of a summer flick?
Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: Kolob

Since last post: 4 hours
Last activity: 4 hours
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.26
    Originally posted by StaggerLee
    Jesus, a bunch of people finding flaws in charector development amongst robots from space.
    Incredible.


    I loved this movie. Had everything you would want in an action movie, simple plot, car chases, fights, shit blowing up, a couple of hot chicks and some funny lines.

    What more could you ask for out of a summer flick?
Character development? Just kidding.

I liked it. I still prefer the 80s cartoon movie over this, but it's passable summer movie fare.



Steven Oliver Kruetzmann's Facebook profile


I've seen EIGHT movies so far this year: Because I Said So - (2*); Borat - (5*); Children Of Men - (4*); Fantastic Four 2 - (4.5*); Knocked Up - (4*); The Last Mimsy - (4*); Shrek The Third - (3*); Spiderman 3 - (3.5*)
Venom
Boudin rouge








Since: 15.1.03

Since last post: 2665 days
Last activity: 2635 days
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.66
    Originally posted by GodEatGod
    (Why exactly does getting the cube to the top of the building accomplish anything?!)


I believe the made-up "point" of that was to get the Allspark into "military custody", which doesn't seem like such a safe thing to do with hordes of giant robots after it. The real "point" was to just have all the robots in a city blowing shit up.

Finally got to see it today and it's probably the best of the "mindless entertainment" genre in recent years. Michael Bay may not bother with character development or plot details but he definetly knows how to make things explode.

Just loads of fun all around. Bring on UNICRON!

Sidenote: What the holy hell was that J.J. Abrams trailer before the movie? I've heard of marketing ploys keeping things secret in order to build interest, but a FUCKING TITLE might be nice in this case. Everyone in the audience was guessing Godzilla, but that would pretty much suck.

(edited by Venom on 6.7.07 1700)


WoW Wisdom:
"And then there's aggro to worry about."
"What's 'aggro'?"
"Well, it's complicated. But loosely translated, it means 'the priest dies.'"
hansen9j
Andouille








Since: 7.11.02
From: Riderville, SK

Since last post: 12 days
Last activity: 1 day
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.25
I'm... I'm amazed. I was as giant a hater as you can get for someone who grew up on TFs... I told anyone who would listen (and plenty who wouldn't) that there was no possible way that this could be good (although I would listen to word of mouth if need be). Well, this thread made it clear that it was worth watching, and damned if I didn't have more fun watching this than anything in 2007 (a list that includes 300 & Ocean's 13)...

Everything was so spot on. The comic relief was actually funny. (The mom killed me. "Sam's Happy Time!" "I do it too!") For a 2 1/2 hour movie, it was actually paced well! (GF's criminal past is worth 2 minutes of caring! The eyeglasses are a clear map, and not a "National Treasure/Da Vinci" map, so let's all go to Hoover Dam!" Even the bad plot holes were a "haha, that's stupid" situation, not an X3 "GOD I CAN'T BELIEVE THAT THEY DID THAT" situation; e.g. the 15 stories to the top of the building with Megatron in hot in pursuit cuts to Shia on top (that's hilarious, that's not a plot hole).

As I said to a buddy, if Transformers can be good (nay, great!), maybe there's hope for Simpsons. Right? RIGHT?

EDIT: Frenzy ruled my world. Sorry to the nay-sayers.

(edited by hansen9j on 7.7.07 0138)


Proud member of the Dwight Army of Champions.

Word Up, Thome
SchippeWreck
Banger








Since: 26.3.03
From: Glendale, CA

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 10 hours
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.07
    Originally posted by hansen9j
    Frenzy ruled my world. Sorry to the nay-sayers.

Agreed. To those that say Frenzy is the Jar Jar of this movie, I say that Jar Jar never KILLED SECRET SERVICE AGENTS WITH RAZOR EDGED CD PROJECTILES.

It took me a while to weigh in on this thread, even though I saw it Tuesday night. I LOVED it. It was just a hell of a lot of fun. I let go of my preconceived fanboy notions a long time ago and went in with a clean slate. Thankfully, I got a great movie experience with the added bonus of little treats thrown in for the hardcores ("One shall stand, one shall fall.").

The Arclight theatre here in L.A. had the Autobot vehicles on display in the courtyard. I noticed the absence of Jazz before I saw the movie and it made even more sense after. My pics are here:
http://profile.imeem.com/A8ZkRA/photo/oR7MI2xb/
My pic of Ironhide didn't come out because it was too dark.



My mom says sigs are bad for you.
Quezzy
Knackwurst








Since: 6.1.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 16 hours
#20 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.56
    Originally posted by Venom
    I've heard of marketing ploys keeping things secret in order to build interest, but a FUCKING TITLE might be nice in this case. Everyone in the audience was guessing Godzilla, but that would pretty much suck.

    (edited by Venom on 6.7.07 1700)


Well the fact that you're asking about it shows it worked and not showing the title was pretty effective. I doubt it's Godzilla but if J. J. did do Godzilla then sign me up so I can get that Matthew Broderick crap out of my mind.

There are also two websites up for the movie. Ethan Haas Was Right and The Truth of Ethan Haas

(edited by Quezzy on 7.7.07 0312)


Lance's Response:

THAT IS AWESOME!
Pages: 1 2 3 Next
Thread rated: 4.76
Pages: 1 2 3 Next
Thread ahead: Movies! 7/20/07
Next thread: 472 new DVDs coming out 7/17/07
Previous thread: X-Files 2
(3533 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Why Did B-Movies Vanish From Theaters? (blogs.wsj.com) A great interview with Roger Corman on the death of the theatrical release of the "B Movie". I forgot Corman produced Battle Beyond the Stars (youtube.com).
Related threads: Transformers Trailer #4 THIS KICKS ASS - "Transformers Undisguised" - Official Transformers Trailer - More...
The W - Movies & TV - Transformers Review (semi-spoilers)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.378 seconds.