The W
Views: 97593982
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.7.14 0259
The W - Movies & TV - Transformers 2. Semi-review with spoilers.
This thread has 14 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 3.71
Pages: 1
(2482 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (12 total)
lotjx
Scrapple








Since: 5.9.08

Since last post: 19 hours
Last activity: 6 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.43
I am kinda surprised that there isn't a thread about this already, but whatever. I liked it for what it was. It is not the Wrath of Khan or Empire that was promised by the studio, but it is a good fun film. I am going to list the good and bad with his film as oppossed as some three paragraph that will bore even me, so here we go with the good stuff in the film is.

-Soundwave sounds like and acts like Soundwave in the cartoon.

-Ravage is cool as well as Devastator, ARCE and Sideswipe.

-The Matrix and Sam's crossover scene.

-Bumble Bee continues to be the most realistic of all the CGI characters.

-Jetfire keeping his origin of once being a Decepticon and now an Autobot.

-Optimus being the biggest bad ass of the year, sit the fuck down Kirk, Wolverine and John Conner.

-The cast is solid again and continues to be believable. The Marines and Autobot alliance was one of the better things about the film and actors playing the marines were spot on.

-Megatron and Starscream acting like Megatron and Starscream from the cartoon.

-Allowing the possibility for a third movie.

The bad.

-The Twins. Yeah, its not the rap speak that kills me, but they are really annoying.

-Obama kinda the bad guy. I know GW got some zings at him in the first one, but they really make him to be a secret villain which makes no sense at times. Obama is more diplomatic then Bush ever was, so it really was hard to swallow at times.

-Running through the desert at the end felt like all three hours of Lawrence of Arabia.

-The Falln is the Emperor from Star Wars that was there just to die to make Prime like more of a bad ass.

-Wheelie disappearing in the third act for no reason.

-The whole female Decipticon that tries to seduce Sam. It was just a stupid storyline that by the second act it seems really meaningless.

-Not knowing which Transformers were which by the end. I really had no idea at times who was fighting who, because most of the Decipticons looked like Megarton and had no backstory.

-The other Autobots like Ironhide, Ratchet and the others seemed to get lost in almost everything.

-Sam not using the spark to bring Optimus back to life and opting for the quest around the world for the Matrix.

All in all, it was a good film with big action pieces. The storyline at times gets confusing, but its giant robots fighting each other. I don't expect Macbeth going into these films and really no else should either.
Promote this thread!
Zeruel
Thirty Millionth Hit
Moderator








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Silver Spring in the Land of Mary.

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 5 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.05
One thing that annoyed me was the fact that they put mountains and a desert in the DC suburbs at the Udvar-Hazy Center in Northern VA when they go for Jetfire.



-- 2006 Time magazine Person of the Year --

"I remember meeting a mother of a child who was abducted by the North Koreans right here in the Oval Office."
George W. Bush - June 26, 2008, during a Rose Garden news briefing.
Captaincuba
Italian








Since: 25.10.05

Since last post: 140 days
Last activity: 15 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.88
He didn't sound like Soundwave at all...he sounded like Dr. Claw from Inspector Gadget...which coincidentally Welker also voiced.

The Twins or Car Car Binks as they have been lovingly named on the net were annoying, but simply there for the kids. A lot of the movie forums have been bashing them as racist, but I really only saw 2 "teenage boys" acting up.

The Arcee's were pretty cool, thank god there is only 1 left and Sideswipe should have gotten all of the twins screen time.

Jetfire was cool, he didnt need to have a frikken cane though. And Wheelie channeling Pecci was also unnecessary.

As always Soundwave is Megatron's flawless right hand man and Ravage was done exceptionally well.

Starscream and Megatron's banter was spot on and can only lead to a definitive third movie with Unicron in the mix.

I enjoyed it, as did the capacity theatre at this mornings 10 am showing. Pretty damn solid popcorn flick.

And Optimus did own all.

CC
Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: #YEG

Since last post: 18 hours
Last activity: 18 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.30
It was okay. Nothing spectacular...but it was very loud.

It's a worthy rental, but other than that, ehhhhh.



Go Bluebombers!
dMp
Banger








Since: 4.1.02
From: The Hague, Netherlands (Europe)

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 hour
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.13
I marked out big for two things.

Optimus kicking ass in the woods.

And the matrix. NICE!
All that was missing was Optimus going "until all are one"

the twins annoyed the shit out of me.
most other 'Bots did very little.

Devastator looked sweet but was underused really.
I found Starscream to grovel a bit too much.
Though the end was typical, where he said that if htey would retreat they would at least survive.

Turturro was more of a bad ass you'd expect a secret secret agent to be and the "dont tell my mom" comment made sense this time around.

Wheelie at least wasn't gay unlike the cartoon Wheelie

Not bad, but just like the first one it had many flaws.




Avatar Mud
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 287 days
Last activity: 254 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.39
I didn't hate this either, although I agree with those who hated the twins. Car Car Binks...that is an awesome name for them. Plus the conceit of getting his parents over to Egypt was really silly and unnecessary.

I saw it in IMAX and it was pretty fun to watch that way. I really liked the first one, so this one was kinda disappointing, but I can't complain too much (mostly because I don't know enough about the Transformers lore to get mad about the changes from the cartoon).



Click Here (czwfans.com)

For all your CZW and Nickels Trivia information.

"Put on your helmets, we'll be reaching speeds of 3!"
"It was nice of you to give that dead woman another chance."
"All right, look alive everybody...oh sorry Susan."- MST3K: Space Mutiny
Click Here (myspace.com)
Kevintripod
Andouille








Since: 11.5.03
From: Mount Pleasant, Pa.

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 6 hours
AIM:  
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.74
Burning Questions: The 10 Most Confusing Things in 'Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen'

http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/smg-transformers-10-questions.html

Even though I saw the movie and really loved it, the guy makes some good points. I could probably even add a few more.




The best part of waking up is not Folgers in your cup, but knowing that Chuck Norris didn't kill you in your sleep.
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 1 day
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.48
I'm pretty sure that you can answer all of those questions with the same answer... "It's a Michael Bay film."

And you know, I rather liked this one. I thought it was better then the first one.

The fight in the woods and the end fight were very excellent.

I didn't mind the twins, probably because I have learned to expect stupid shit in a Michael Bay film.



Forget it Josh... it's Cerebustown.
brick
Bockwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 447 days
Last activity: 443 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.00
Saw this last night, and came away far from impressed.

My major complaint in the 1st movie was that with all the robots looking the same, the battles were hard to follow. This one was worse.

With the exception of the bumble bee fights (and one of these was against toasters and coffee makers) the robots just seem all mashed together in a series of quick cuts.

Optimus kicking ass in the woods was decent. But the whole time I had no idea which decepticon he was hitting, how many he was actually fighting (I think it was 3, but it looked like he killed multiple foes only to have the someone who looked the same pop up again).

In the final fight, once Sam makes contact with the Autobots, there are multiple shots with Sam and Megan running, with one or more robots running behind them. Are they running with him to get away from the airstrike, are they pursuing him? Who knows since there is little to differentiate autobots and decepticons, unless their name is Prime, Bubble Bee or Jetfire.

Throw in the typical eye rolling sillyness of a Bey movie (it takes 2 minutes to get an armored division to battle that they had no prior intel on), and I spent most of the time waiting for the end of the movie, rather than enjoying it.

(edited by brick on 2.7.09 0959)
Jericholic53
Boerewors








Since: 18.3.03
From: Honolulu, HI

Since last post: 224 days
Last activity: 17 hours
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.22
That Yahoo one was light fare. This is more inline with all the ridiculous plot crap going on in the movie:

http://www.toplessrobot.com/2009/06/bonus_robs_transformers_2_faqs.php

THAT BEING SAID, for some reason while my brain kept screaming those things at me, I just kept thinking "Damn those robots fighting looks really cool." Which allowed me to leave the theater thinking "Eh, that wasn't bad."



It says so right here in the wcw handbook!
StaggerLee
Scrapple








Since: 3.10.02
From: Right side of the tracks

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 3 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.08
God I hated this movie. What a complete letdown, with 80s era action film dialog, and visual effects that pale in comparison to the first one. I hated this film.
Leroy
Andouille








Since: 7.2.02
From: Huntington, NY

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 3 hours
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.53
Our local weekly has a pretty hysterical review of the film that I just thought I'd share.


    Michael Bay makes big, fat, boring movies. Sure, the latest has giant robots, obviously expensive special effects, grandiose explosions, and a nearly constant presence of delirious spectacle that can range anywhere from a nubile robot woman with a six-foot-long mechanical tongue to American combat units shelling the hell out of ancient architectural treasures. Nonetheless, the net effect on the moviegoer is a kind of CGI narcosis—instead of heart-pounding thrills, your head will be nodding on its stalk from an overdose of Bay’s six-year-old pleasure principle.

    And that’s just the obvious problem. Besides all this stupid excess is the wholesale reduction of civility involved. Bay’s Transformer films take a relatively innocent—and somewhat clever—toy concept and turn it into an excuse for potty-mouthed exploitations of their target audience. Consider the gangsta robots who morph from ice cream trucks into moronic parodies of black culture. It’s an instant metaphor for what Paramount has wrought on American popular culture in this sequel to its 2007 nerve-jangling blockbuster. This time the tale travels from a Hollywood-clichéd version of a college campus to the top of a pyramid in Giza, wreaking and reeking all the way. No actual mummies were hurt in the making of Transformers II, but the obvious reinforcement of stereotyped American soldiers invading the Arabic developing world with impunity makes recent Bush years seem like a paragon of tolerance and peace.

    You may not know it, but the average American goes to the movies once a year. Therefore, millions of impressionable kids think that Bay’s sensory overloads exemplify state-of-the-art American cinema. Surprisingly, Bay’s film was coproduced by Steven Spielberg, a junk-filmmaker who knows how to draw emotions from his audience. People who see mainly Bay likely will never experience movie awes like Jurassic Park’s dinosaurs or Close Encounters’ UFOs, because Transformers’ tawdry sex-and-mayhem filmmaking will leave them gorked-out in the aisles. Excess of happiness weeps, said William Blake, but this form of witless boredom makes only Michael Bay very happy and exceedingly rich.

It's hard to tell, but I think that's a pretty negative review.


(edited by Leroy on 4.7.09 1200)



We all have ways of coping. I use sex and awesomeness.
Thread rated: 3.71
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: NEW ON DVD TUESDAY (7/7/09): 176 releases
Next thread: Public Enemies
Previous thread: Moon (2009, Jones)
(2482 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
What a great, weird interview with Ellie Kemper (Erin from The Office), who was also a former intern for Conan on the Late Night show. She's kind of adorably nuts.
- John Orquiola, Conan 1x66 - "The Spatula Peninsula" (2011)
Related threads: New "Transformers" trailer..... - Transformers 3 already has release date!?! - Transformers Review (semi-spoilers) - More...
The W - Movies & TV - Transformers 2. Semi-review with spoilers.Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.186 seconds.