The W
Views: 99348089
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
30.9.14 1305
The W - Random - The Vile1 reviews HAROLD AND KUMAR GO TO WHITE CASTLE Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 6.17
Pages: 1
(1179 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (8 total)
The Vile1
Lap cheong








Since: 4.9.02
From: California

Since last post: 1990 days
Last activity: 1721 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.55
Harold and Kumar Go To White Castle review (hybridmagazine.com)

Looking back, I think I might've given the movie a lower rating than I actually did. Because its really quite stupid and quite a bit of the humor and comedy fell pretty flat to me. But if you're into stoner low-brow comedy or stuff like the American Pie films, Van Wilder, etc. you might enjoy this one.

Oh and does anyone here think the food at White Castle is actually GOOD? I mean really.

If you want, please feel free to browse through my first feature article for Hybrid Magazine. Its about comic book movies:

http://www.hybridmagazine.com/films/0704/comics-to-film.shtml




"Don't compare my arm to your cheap arm!"
-Edward Elric
Promote this thread!
FriedEgg
Polska kielbasa








Since: 13.6.03
From: Washington, DC

Since last post: 2409 days
Last activity: 2409 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.93
I'm almost willing to go see this just for the parts with Christopher Meloni ("Freakshow" in the movie). He was hilarious in Wet Hot American Summer, although most people probably know him from Oz or Law & Order: SVU.



wrestlingDB: Wrestling news for busy/lazy people.
#wrestlingdb on EFNet (irc) - Chat, or just idle and see news headlines as they happen.
Nag
Landjager








Since: 10.1.03
From: Enter your city here

Since last post: 2154 days
Last activity: 209 days
Y!:
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.14
"Oh and does anyone here think the food at White Castle is actually GOOD? I mean really."

Apprently so, there was a thread about that a few months back, and there seems to be a White Castle fan club here. I asked if it were sarcasum, but apprently not. Personally, I'd rather eat dogshit.





I AM A PLAYER HATER
DrewDewce
Bratwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Derby City

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 15 hours
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.19
You have not lived until you've had some Jalepeno Cheese "Sliders," cheese fries and a Big Red at 4:30 in the a.m. after a hard night 'o drinkin'

"A tisket a tasket, let White Castle fill your Easter Basket"

With a coupon from our college basketball team programs (and sung as Bugs Bunny): "Whiteys are devine, you can get them 5 for a dollar twenty-nine, it's maaaaaagic"

Q - "Why are there 5 holes in a White Castle Hamburger?"
A - "It takes 5 shots to kill a rat"

Can't speak to the quality of the movie, but you folks on the West Coast and the Deep South are missing OUT! (But Krystal makes up for some of it).



"You have the right to suffer. You have the right to feel pain. If you wish to have an attorney present, I'll hurt him too!" - The Big Bossman
Bullitt
Shot in the dark








Since: 11.1.02
From: Houston

Since last post: 3 hours
Last activity: 2 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.53
Sorry guys...but this movie was hilarious.

It's certainly in the "stupid" vein, but it's a "smart" stupid, if that makes any sense. There are a few scenes of some well-done social commentary, and they more than make up for the surprisingly low level of toilet humor one would expect in a "stoner" movie.

I wanted to see it cause Kal Penn cracked me up in "Van Wilder," and it was great to see him play the troublemaker of the duo.





Steppin' Large and Laughin' Easy
Zeruel
Thirty Millionth Hit
Moderator








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Silver Spring in the Land of Mary.

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 7 hours
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.05
    Originally posted by The Vile1


    Oh and does anyone here think the food at White Castle is actually GOOD? I mean really.


The only way to get White Castle in the DC area is in the frozen food section of your local grocer, if they choose to carry the frozen burgers. And no, I haven't tried them, but I may tomorrow as Giant sells them, and I plan to watch the movie tomorrow (saturday) night.

(edited by Zeruel on 30.7.04 2252)



The Catastrophic Annihilation War Room

Jaguar
Knackwurst








Since: 23.1.02
From: Phoenix, AZ

Since last post: 176 days
Last activity: 176 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.90
I enjoyed the movie a lot, but I felt it dragged a bit. Not enough to make me check my watch, but everytime they were in the car together I felt the movie lost a bit of steam. Either they weren't written right or neither of them can carry a movie by themselves. I was waiting for Harold to finally go apeshit and surpass Kumar on the wacky/dangerous level, but the car theft wasn't enough - that might be because I saw it in the previews though.

Really enjoyed the funny bits though.

-Jag

Also, the theater was seriously not crowded at all. What's up with that?



Freeway
Scrapple








Since: 3.1.02
From: Calgary

Since last post: 282 days
Last activity: 3 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.34
Odd, Jag, because the theatre in Calgary [dramatic pause] Alberta, Canada was pretty packed for an obscure show. Tons of huge laughs. The movie had tons of hilarious moments, and a lot of good moments, and a few middling ones. I really liked it, though. The dream sequences involving the loves of Harold & Kumar's lives are especially funny.



CALGARY FLAMES: Your 2004 Western Conference Champions
DVDs I Own
Thread rated: 6.17
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Legal Advice Anyone?
Next thread: Apprentice Season 3 - Casting Call in NYC
Previous thread: please tell me why this happened
(1179 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Dude! You're getting a record! This made me laugh out loud...did anyone else not think that this kid sounded like a stoner? Wonder what this does for his Dell contract? edit: I goofed on the "linkifying"...
Related threads: I, Robot opinions - THE BOURNE SUPREMACY reaction thread - In honour of today's release CINO (Catwoman In Name Only)... - More...
The W - Random - The Vile1 reviews HAROLD AND KUMAR GO TO WHITE CASTLERegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.16 seconds.