The W
Views: 98478554
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
28.8.14 0024
The W - Movies & TV - The Simpsons 21x23: Judge Me Tender (and season review)
This thread has 6 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.26
Pages: 1
(1961 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (10 total)
It's False
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: I am the Tag Team Champions!

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 9 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.28
Moe is always best when used sparingly, but the writers have given him pretty good material whenever he's the star of the episode. "Moe Better Blues" was a lot of fun and this one had its moments also. I loved watching the Springfield cast going to great lengths to avoid sitting next to him and Lisa's persistence in selling him band candy. And I got some good laughs out of "Los Angeles". Hehe...no football team...it's funny cuz it's true. But of course, I can't help but remember that Simon Cowell has done a guest voice on this show before (albeit not as himself) and was a lot funnier back then, so I couldn't get too excited about the AI cameos.

But just to bring the season back full circle (because yes, the last time this happened was during the season premiere), it's time to bring this up again. What was up with the BLEEP? The Simpsons has NEVER relied on that kind of humor before and it's disheartening to hear them resort to this, especially when it comes from Ralph, who never needs to rely on that crap to be funny. This is NOT Family Guy. Leave the bleeps to the MacFarlane shows. This is The Simpsons, dammit! That one nearly killed the episode for me, because at least last time they had the whole "Well, Seth Rogen wrote the episode" excuse. There is no such reason to rely on swearing this time. What a bummer.

The B-plot of Homer staying home too much started off really good with Homer popping up everywhere.

As far as the season goes, this one definitely showed The Simpsons still has some life left in it. The show really suffered from recycled plots, but the old reliable cast had a lot of great moments and some funny lines (particularly Skinner, who I think has been the show's MVP for a couple of years now). While the plots weren't memorable, some of the jokes were just brilliant like Homer, Carl, and Lenny having a simultaneous thought bubble and having Lenny shout out "I win!" after it ended.

The plots may not be awesome anymore, but The Simpsons still know funny. I'm giving this season a thumbs up and hope it only gets better from here.

(edited by It's False on 23.5.10 2311)


Promote this thread!
Peter The Hegemon
Lap cheong








Since: 11.2.03
From: Hackettstown, NJ

Since last post: 10 hours
Last activity: 43 min.
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.05
For the most part, I didn't find this season funny too often. But I did get a lot of laughs out of tonight's episode.

One thing I got a particular laugh out of was Homer saying that he wanted to name Bart "Barf", but Marge wouldn't let him because kids would tease him. What really made that for me was that we know that "for real", in I Married Marge, Homer was rejecting Marge's names because kids would tease him. It didn't play so much as a continuity error to me as much as just the way Homer would misremember things to suit his own purposes.
geemoney
Scrapple








Since: 26.1.03
From: Naples, FL

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 1 hour
AIM:  
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.18
Oh come on, Homer was an XFL super-fan a few years ago, and now he can't even name the best team in the league to have never won a championship? :)
Big Bad
Scrapple








Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 12 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.70
Speaking of continuity errors, Homer learned how to play golf ages ago. Remember when the family was up membership at that country club and Homer was playing with Tom Kite?
Spiraling_Shape
Bratwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: PA

Since last post: 11 days
Last activity: 12 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.91
    Originally posted by Big Bad
    Speaking of continuity errors, Homer learned how to play golf ages ago. Remember when the family was up membership at that country club and Homer was playing with Tom Kite?


"Use an open faced club! A sand wedge!"



"Unless you did something unspeakable with a cactus, 'Shaqtus' is not a real word." - Santino Marella
Spaceman Spiff
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Philly Suburbs

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 2 hours
AIM:  
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.04
Mmm, open-faced club sandwich...



SchippeWreck
Banger








Since: 26.3.03
From: Glendale, CA

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 9 hours
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.73
There is no such thing as "Simpsons continuity".



"It's magic! We don't need to explain it!"
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 27 days
Last activity: 9 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.57
    Originally posted by It's False
    What was up with the BLEEP? The Simpsons has NEVER relied on that kind of humor before and it's disheartening to hear them resort to this, especially when it comes from Ralph, who never needs to rely on that crap to be funny. This is NOT Family Guy. Leave the bleeps to the MacFarlane shows. This is The Simpsons, dammit! That one nearly killed the episode for me, because at least last time they had the whole "Well, Seth Rogen wrote the episode" excuse. There is no such reason to rely on swearing this time. What a bummer.


But this was different ... In the previous episode, Homer was talking in "real time", so the bleep really felt like the writing itself was being censored by FOX.

In this episode, Ralph was being interviewed on camera, so the joke was that this cute little kid was swearing like a sailor because of Moe's behavior ... This was an intentional "fake bleep", while the previous one seemed to be more like Seth Rogen trying to get away with something (and failing).





"All RAW is these days is a cheap version of Saturday Night Live, so if you wanna tune in to watch the amazing star power of Al Sharpton and Nancy O'Dell, go ahead! Who's gonna host next week, Big Bird? Wow, that's must-see TV!" - John Morrison (10/16/09 Smackdown!)


Parquet Wishes and Leprechaun Dreams
FALCONNNN PAWNCH!!!


Tenken347
Boudin blanc








Since: 27.2.03
From: Parts Unknown

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 8 hours
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.03
    Originally posted by SchippeWreck
    There is no such thing as "Simpsons continuity".


Except that there is. Homer definitely went into space, the Olmec head is still in the attic or the basement, and Lisa remains a vegetarian Buddhist. The problem is that the show tries to have it both ways - some stuff gets remembered and some doesn't, which doesn't really work in the long run. You wind up training fans to remember things, and then they get upset when it turns out that the stuff they remembered wasn't supposed to last.
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 27 days
Last activity: 9 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.57
    Originally posted by Tenken347
      Originally posted by SchippeWreck
      There is no such thing as "Simpsons continuity".


    Except that there is. Homer definitely went into space, the Olmec head is still in the attic or the basement, and Lisa remains a vegetarian Buddhist. The problem is that the show tries to have it both ways - some stuff gets remembered and some doesn't, which doesn't really work in the long run. You wind up training fans to remember things, and then they get upset when it turns out that the stuff they remembered wasn't supposed to last.


    Originally posted by January 2008 me

    It's easier to think of it in these terms: All of these years, we haven't been watching one single "Simpsons family", but rather several different versions which exist in parallel universes.

    Marvin Monroe suddenly isn't dead anymore? Simple, we've simply switched our perspective from a Simpsons universe where he was dead, to another universe where he is alive ...

    Seriously, how do the Simpsons from the original Tracy Ullman shorts fit into continuity? Answer: They don't. They're from another reality (the "Earth-Prime" Simpsons, if you prefer) ...





"All RAW is these days is a cheap version of Saturday Night Live, so if you wanna tune in to watch the amazing star power of Al Sharpton and Nancy O'Dell, go ahead! Who's gonna host next week, Big Bird? Wow, that's must-see TV!" - John Morrison (10/16/09 Smackdown!)


Parquet Wishes and Leprechaun Dreams
FALCONNNN PAWNCH!!!


Thread rated: 5.26
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: R.I.P. Gary Coleman
Next thread: Law & Order 20x23: "Rubber Room" *Minor Spoilers*
Previous thread: Lost 6x17: The End
(1961 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
"Gappa: Monsters From a Prehistoric Planet (Cinema Insomnia Edition) (Daikyoj├╗ Gappa - USA/Japan, 1967) Hosted by Mr. Lobo (11/5)" Got this one on a $2 double-feature cheapie at Walgreen's. It's pretty bad, but fun.
Related threads: The Simpsons 21x22: The Bob Next Door - The Simpsons 21x21: Moe Letter Blues - The SImpsons 21x19: The Squirt and the Whale - More...
The W - Movies & TV - The Simpsons 21x23: Judge Me Tender (and season review)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.304 seconds.