The W
Views: 98974686
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
17.9.14 1441
The W - Pro Wrestling - The Rise and Fall of ECW DVD Review the Documentary (Page 2)
This thread has 459 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 3.86
Pages: Prev 1 2
(5791 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (26 total)
FurryHippie
Frankfurter








Since: 29.10.02
From: New York

Since last post: 2944 days
Last activity: 1631 days
AIM:  
#21 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.82
One of my favorite parts is before the Lynn/RVD match where Cole and RVD are discussing the upcoming match, it's so amusing seeing them both talk about ECW. You could tell that Cole wouldn't know hardcore if it bit him in the ass. RVD dropping F bombs like "Back then I was known as the whole fucking show" had Cole responding with such things as "yes, um yes you were" and RVD's "That's where Jerry fucked up" followed by Cole's "uh yes indeed let's see the match!" just seem so uncomfortable that I got a chuckle or two out of it.

I did have a few beers watching this thing, but still, fucking TAZZ made me cry on the disc 2 extra. I'm such a pussy.
I Breastfeed John Madden
Head cheese








Since: 13.4.04
From: Des Moines, IA

Since last post: 142 days
Last activity: 99 days
#22 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.00
I dunno, Tazz's part seemed kinda forced to me.

I'm not saying it wasn't emotional, but it just felt a little canned.

Richards' apology, on the other hand, felt real. You can tell he was a bit nervous talking about it, with a twist of true regret and remorse.

The 'promo' Easter Egg is fantastic...Foley's "I'm Hardcore" stuff is classic.

(edited by StevieRichards on 18.11.04 1423)
redfort
Chaurice








Since: 18.11.04

Since last post: 3584 days
Last activity: 3570 days
#23 Posted on
If only they had taken the time to do that with the Monday Night War DVD...Anyways, I hope they can do similar DVD's like a History of AWA or the WCCW stuff they've aquired.

The ECW DVDS was the best wrestling DVD ever produced, even topping the Flair DVD, IMHO. The thing I could detect as a detriment were the omissions of the Corino days as champ, and at least some homage to the greatest seldom mentioned feud of all time, Masato Tanaka vs Mike Awesome.
FurryHippie
Frankfurter








Since: 29.10.02
From: New York

Since last post: 2944 days
Last activity: 1631 days
AIM:  
#24 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.82
    Originally posted by StevieRichards


    Richards' apology, on the other hand, felt real. You can tell he was a bit nervous talking about it, with a twist of true regret and remorse.




Of course, YOU would say something like that =)

(edited by FurryHippie on 18.11.04 1527)
A Fan
Liverwurst








Since: 3.1.02

Since last post: 3521 days
Last activity: 3521 days
#25 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.41
How did I spend my honeymoon, E-C-W. E-C-W! And a lot of shopping. Anyway, the wife and I sat down to watch what I consider the most comprehensive story of all DVD time. There were times when I wanted to break down and cry. It really was an emotional story something that the WWE and those involved should be applauded for. Its so weird to seeing the different points of view from Paul to Vince to Bischoff to the wrestlers involved. It was fascinating and I kinda wished they would put in a theater, cause damn this was a great documentary.

On some of the points brought up, yes, its difficult to find, went to media play and got it and two Dark Willow Statues for only $60, but the Suncoast was sold out. The Media Play was down to their last two copies as well, if you see it buy it now. If someone could PM all the Easter eggs, it would be highly appericated. Also, I thought Stevie's speech was more forced than Tazz's. Tazz's speech made me tear up. Also, Jericho's story was hysterical. Awesome DVD, my only compliant is that I wish there was more matches like Tazz/Sabu and RVD/Tazz and at least one Dudley Boyz match. However, I never thought I'd see Sandman crucified, so once makes up for it.



"All faith reguires is giving into the possibility of hope."
OMEGA
Lap cheong








Since: 18.6.02
From: North Cacalacky

Since last post: 1905 days
Last activity: 1873 days
#26 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.72
Just an awesome DVD from beginning to end. It really made miss the promotion, as it was just such damn fun. This is the most comprehensive package WWE has ever put together, and it's nice that they took a very centered look at the promotion, focusing on both the positives and the negatives and not looking at it from one side of the fence.

I do wish that they had some of the Brian Pillman stuff in here, as he had some really classic stuff in ECW. However, it wasn't anything majorly important to the promotion, and you can cover so much in 3 hours, so it's no big deal. I also wish that WWE would cut it with the kayfabe on these DVDs. On the alternate commentaries, it seemed that every time one of the wrestlers was about to hit on some insightful piece of information, all of the sudden he had to revert back to selling to us that the match was real.

Only other complaint was that they cut the story-telling short by 9 months. It was as if Tommy Dreamer won the title and then the company died, not going through the reigns of Justin Credible, Steve Corino, or (the very short reign of) Rhino.

Minor complaints however, and I'd say that this is the best DVD WWE has ever put out, including the awesome Benoit and Flair sets. The documentary is more than worth the price alone. However, you get three excellent extras with Tazz & Stevie Richards telling some heart-felt stories (and NEITHER one felt forced at all, and both seemed to be very genuine) as well as Chris Jericho telling a hysterical story of Paul Heyman booking his travel. Seven excellent matches to round the disc out doesn't hurt matters at all.

Really, enough good things can't be said. Get this DVD, as it's one of the greatest wrestling-related purchases I've ever made.

EDIT: Oh, and one small thing: Eric Bischoff comes off as the world's biggest asshole in this tape, saying things about ECW that make him look like an arrogant asshole who looked down on the whole thing (while Vince comes off as a saint for helping the small company out (although Vince does acknowledge that it was a shitty thing to job Tazz out to Triple H when he was holding the ECW Title)), and Paul Heyman goes as far as to call the guy a 'piece of shit'. Poor, poor Eric Bischoff.

(edited by OMEGA on 20.11.04 2219)


The answer to WWE's financial problems...

Never 'Wiener of the Day', and is actually quite bitter about it.
Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread rated: 3.86
Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread ahead: WWE Theme Addict Review
Next thread: Rise and Fall ECW Review the Matches disc TWO
Previous thread: The Great Thomas SmackDown! Report 11/18/04 - Also, Tough Enough!
(5791 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Not going to do a full review just e quick and dirty review: Show started off with Magnus accusing Hardy of being in cohorts with Dixie and mentioning Hardy's heel turn on 10-10-10.
- graves9, Impact Wrestling 12-19-13 (2013)
The W - Pro Wrestling - The Rise and Fall of ECW DVD Review the Documentary (Page 2)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.375 seconds.