The W
Views: 99086068
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
21.9.14 0117
The W - Pro Wrestling - The Rise and Fall of ECW DVD Review the Documentary
This thread has 459 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 3.86
Pages: 1 2 Next
(5795 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (26 total)
jwrestle
Lap cheong








Since: 4.4.03
From: Nitro WV

Since last post: 135 days
Last activity: 13 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.45
I am going to try and keep this short and sweet without really spoiling the DVD. You know the Monday Night Wars DVD that came out, was it earlier this year, well this sucker puts that one to shame in the documentary phase of the project. So with without further adue here is the listed content for those of you wanting to find out what is on it.

Chapters Listings:

Chapter One:

-Early ECW
-Publicy Enemy (How they came in, danced, but were tough)
-Tazz (Big part in ECW History)
-Sabu (Homicidal wrestler of ECW)
-Terry Funk (One of the few legends to support ECW)
-The Night THE LINE Was Crossed
-Paul Heyman vs WCW (All the conflicts)
-Tommy Dreamer (Man he was a pretty boy when he started)
-The Sandman (Anti-Hero)
-Sandman & Dreamer feud
-ECW Evolution (No puns intended)

Chapter Two:

-Catus Jack (Mr. Bang Bang)
-Mikey Whipwreck (Punching bag everbody loves)
-The Extreme Begins
-Philadelphia
-The Technical Wrestlers (Beniot, Malenko, Gurrero)
-Production Value
-The Fans
-Raven/Dreamer
-Sabu Gets FIRED
-Tazz Breaks His Neck
-Monday Night War
-LUCHA LIBRE

Chapter Three:

-Austin comes to ECW
-PROMOS
-Cactus Jack Leave ECW
-Tazz Returns
-Sandman/Raven
-The b.W.o.
-Beulah & Dreamer
-ECW & WWE
-The Crucifixion
-The Importance of PPV
-ECW LOSES There PPV
-The PPV Is Back On

Chapter Four:

-WWE Co-Promotion
-Barely Legal: RVD VS. LANCE STORM
-Barely Legal: Tazz VS. Sabu
-The Main Event At Barely Legal
-Raven Goes To WCW & Jerry Lawler Invades ECW
-A Locker Room Mole?
-The Superstars' Role
-Paul Heyman's Creativity
-WCW & WWE Imitation

Chapter Five:
-Tazz & The FTW Title
-The Dudleys: "The Most Hated Tag Team"
-Financial Woes
-The TNN Deal, & Tazz Leaves
-Disappointment with TNN/ RVD - "The WHOLE F'N SHOW"
-Mike Awesome Controversy, Tommy Dreamer Wins Title (WRESTLING HISTORY AT IT'S FINIEST)
-The Demise Of ECW
-Paul Heyman Debuts On RAW

OK, With that out of they way this sucker is LENGHTY! I mean I started this sucker at about a little before 2pm EST and didn't finish it until a little after 4pm EST with a couple of interuptions. I suggest if you purchase it, rent it, or view it at friends house get a COLD drink and some food because by the end you'll need it.

Some key parts that seem a little left out are the departures of Sandman to WCW. Other than the mention of "Talent RAIDS" his jump wasn't even mentioned but niether was Mikey Whipwrecks. The Lynn and RVD fued was never mentioned.

The Documentary starts you off slow and even highlights much of ECW before it offically become "EXTREME" in the early days. The DVD is a bit slow a methodical which I sort of liked because it doesn't seem rushed like the Monday Night War DVD. They spent time on a lot of subjects and tons of content. The bios of ECW stars during the DVD made it pretty interesting because they would have Heyman explain why exactly he brought them into the company. Was it look? Was it Wrestling? Was it Mic Skills? Was it a combination of all? He awnsers that pretty bluntly in this.

The FUEDS...many memorable paths were crossed in ECW. They touch on the major ones with that helped bring the company to the forfront of american professional wrestling culture.

The gore and ultraviolence was not the only contributing factors to the ECW success. You will find you had many other driving forces that keep ECW going for as long as it did.

Overall documentary is really great...if it was a DVD in it self I'd probably buy it for about ten bucks. It is almost a stand alone disc in itself. Yet at the price of 18.88, at Wal-Mart, i'm glad i'm getting a second DVD to watch. So, another good grab given by the WWE this week, I suggest WATCHING this and mabe even purchasing it to keep. Another great stocking stuffer for the wrestling fan in the family for the hoildays. Oh, one more thing, it DOES have a MATURE rating because it has the F-BOMB on it a few time and some sexual content.

(edited by jwrestle on 16.11.04 2053)



The next WWE Creative person that says, "We don't have anything for you", gets a free rectal exam!

J.J. Dillon: "I'd rather flip burgers at McDonald's than work for Vince McMahon again." July, 3 2004
New Era Of Wrestling
Promote this thread!
OMEGA
Lap cheong








Since: 18.6.02
From: North Cacalacky

Since last post: 1909 days
Last activity: 1877 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.72
Man, I'm REALLY looking forward to picking this thing up on Friday. I made sure to reserve a copy at Suncoast, since I won't be home until Friday and I wanted to make sure it didn't sell out.

One question: By any chance, do they show Paul Heyman's shoot on TNN? It was from an episode of the TNN show sometime around mid-2000 or so. TNN edited out the promo (they muted Heyman, and put a crawl at the bottom saying that they had no problems with ECW and that Heyman had taken too many chair-shots), but ECW.com put it on their website un-edited. I've been looking of a copy of that thing for a while now.

Overall, it sounds like a great disc. Can't wait to pop that sucker in my DVD player.



The answer to WWE's financial problems...

Never 'Wiener of the Day', and is actually quite bitter about it.
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 8 hours
Last activity: 4 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.02
    Originally posted by OMEGA
    One question: By any chance, do they show Paul Heyman's shoot on TNN? It was from an episode of the TNN show sometime around mid-2000 or so. TNN edited out the promo (they muted Heyman, and put a crawl at the bottom saying that they had no problems with ECW and that Heyman had taken too many chair-shots), but ECW.com put it on their website un-edited.
I don't want to disillusion you, but TNN didn't do a THING with that tape. They aired it as they got it.



CRZ
Y2J 420
Italian
Banned








Since: 2.12.03
From: Illinois

Since last post: 3105 days
Last activity: 3038 days
AIM:  
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.13
Yeah, wasn't that an angle ECW was running about being censored too much by the "higher ups"...I think Don Callis was working on that angle...



OverpusHHHed...Patterson was right...

"Win if you can, lose if you must, but in the end, always cheat..." - Jesse "the Body" Ventura
OMEGA
Lap cheong








Since: 18.6.02
From: North Cacalacky

Since last post: 1909 days
Last activity: 1877 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.72
Oh, didn't know that. Sorry. Still, they show a little clip of it on the commercials for the DVD, so I was just wondering if they have it, uncensored (by TNN or ECW or whoever) on the disc.



The answer to WWE's financial problems...

Never 'Wiener of the Day', and is actually quite bitter about it.
LionJeetSingh
Chourico








Since: 3.3.03

Since last post: 3273 days
Last activity: 3100 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.80
Perhaps there were two Heyman shoots on TNN because I remember them muting a Heyman rant entirely while posting a blurb stating that they had no problems with ECW. They also added some corny jokes on Heyman to keep the viewer occupied I guess.



Vut Joo Talkin?
Jay
Bauerwurst








Since: 27.3.04
From: St. Louis, Missouri

Since last post: 3319 days
Last activity: 3106 days
#7 Posted on
    Originally posted by LionJeetSingh
    Perhaps there were two Heyman shoots on TNN because I remember them muting a Heyman rant entirely while posting a blurb stating that they had no problems with ECW. They also added some corny jokes on Heyman to keep the viewer occupied I guess.


That's what CRZ was just talking about.

Anyway, I was shocked to see them even TOUCH on the subject of Mass Transit. Paul E. just mentions it as an incident involving a "wrestler" who lied about his age and provided false documentation, and that it originally cancelled Barely Legal, but D-Von actually says the words "Mass Transit" on a voiceover.



"This just in...Powersauce is AMAZING!"
Mike Zeidler
Pepperoni








Since: 27.6.02

Since last post: 39 days
Last activity: 12 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.42
To answer your question, Yes it's on there.

Also notable is Chris Jericho's impression of Ron Simmons on the extras DVD.

Edit:

Easter Eggs -

Push right on your remote at the Mikey Whipwreck vs. Sandman listing to see Public Enemy's training session with Mikey in Central Park to prepare him for the Sandman.

Push right on your remote at the RVD vs. Jerry Lynn listing to see Michael Cole and RVD discussing a scar that RVD got from being powerbombed through a table during that particular match.

(edited by Zundian on 16.11.04 1754)


"Do I look Jewish to you? DAMN." -Chris Jericho as Ron Simmons
LionJeetSingh
Chourico








Since: 3.3.03

Since last post: 3273 days
Last activity: 3100 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.80
    Originally posted by Jay
      Originally posted by LionJeetSingh
      Perhaps there were two Heyman shoots on TNN because I remember them muting a Heyman rant entirely while posting a blurb stating that they had no problems with ECW. They also added some corny jokes on Heyman to keep the viewer occupied I guess.


    That's what CRZ was just talking about.

    Anyway, I was shocked to see them even TOUCH on the subject of Mass Transit. Paul E. just mentions it as an incident involving a "wrestler" who lied about his age and provided false documentation, and that it originally cancelled Barely Legal, but D-Von actually says the words "Mass Transit" on a voiceover.


Misunderstanding. My bad.



Vut Joo Talkin?
jwrestle
Lap cheong








Since: 4.4.03
From: Nitro WV

Since last post: 135 days
Last activity: 13 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.45
    Originally posted by OMEGA
    Oh, didn't know that. Sorry. Still, they show a little clip of it on the commercials for the DVD, so I was just wondering if they have it, uncensored (by TNN or ECW or whoever) on the disc.


No the TNN Shoot segment is UNEDITED. Heyman was really trying to stick it to TNN because as explained in the DVD they were really "boxed" in. That term is used quite freqently...ALSO

They do not mention much company history after the Dreamer Title win. It's sort of like they wrote it off as there was nobody left to talk about. Rhyno was in the video but basically in few clips of him talking and goring Lori Fullington through a table. Anyways, I watched Monday Night wars, this is at least five or mabe even ten times better all previous documentaries by the WWE.




The next WWE Creative person that says, "We don't have anything for you", gets a free rectal exam!

J.J. Dillon: "I'd rather flip burgers at McDonald's than work for Vince McMahon again." July, 3 2004
New Era Of Wrestling
j9479
Chorizo








Since: 29.1.03
From: the suburbs

Since last post: 2348 days
Last activity: 1156 days
#11 Posted on
    Originally posted by Zundian


    Easter Eggs -

    Push right on your remote at the Mikey Whipwreck vs. Sandman listing to see Public Enemy's training session with Mikey in Central Park to prepare him for the Sandman.

    Push right on your remote at the RVD vs. Jerry Lynn listing to see Michael Cole and RVD discussing a scar that RVD got from being powerbombed through a table during that particular match.

    (edited by Zundian on 16.11.04 1754)


To offer up a possible dumb question, how can you access the easter eggs if you are playing a DVD on a Playstation 2 and using the controller as the remote?



FurryHippie
Frankfurter








Since: 29.10.02
From: New York

Since last post: 2948 days
Last activity: 1635 days
AIM:  
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.82
Just wondering, how is the DVD set up? Is the entire story on one DVD, and then the matches on the other? Or do they split it up in some way?

BTW, I use my Playstation 2 as my DVD player, you just double click on the direction pad to get to the eggs, just as if it were on remote.

(edited by FurryHippie on 16.11.04 1940)
samoflange
Lap cheong








Since: 22.2.04
From: Cambridge, MA

Since last post: 339 days
Last activity: 331 days
#13 Posted on
(deleted by samoflange on 16.11.04 2240)
Mike Zeidler
Pepperoni








Since: 27.6.02

Since last post: 39 days
Last activity: 12 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.42
Matches on one DVD, Documentary on the other. Documentary runs 2:50, but some of the most heartfelt stuff is on the matches DVD, with Stevie apologising for leaving ECW, and Tazz tearing up when talking about getting Paul's blessing to wrestle for the WWF.



"Public office is the last refuge of the incompetent." -Boies Penrose
I Breastfeed John Madden
Head cheese








Since: 13.4.04
From: Des Moines, IA

Since last post: 146 days
Last activity: 103 days
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.00
How can Best Buy make me any more embarrassed to buy a wrestling DVD?

Add a free action figure to the package.

It was worth said embarrassment, though. Its a kick-ass DVD set, if only to remind me how funny the ECW fans/rats were.

It pretty much touches on every major thing in the company's history, without being TOO cheesy or over-dramatic. Mass Transit, Kurt Angle/Crucifiction, and the TNN fiasco are all covered.

Bonus points for the Stevie apology, too.

Who would've thought five years ago that ANYONE could've or would've made a set like this; featuring comments from Heyman, McMahon, and Bischoff? If one thing good came out of the buy-outs, this (and the Flair set) is it.

They should've got some comments from Shane Douglas when he was delivering them pies or whatever...



(edited by StevieRichards on 16.11.04 2303)
SlipperyPete
Bauerwurst








Since: 13.8.04

Since last post: 3568 days
Last activity: 3568 days
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.03
Not that WWE would have any reason to delve into the Mass Transit story any deeper, but it's sad to see Paul Heyman still clinging to the part of the story regarding MT lying about his age. If he was 17 years old or 37 years old, it doesn't change what New Jack did or how ECW handled it.
Barbwire Mike
Boudin rouge








Since: 6.11.03
From: Dudleyville

Since last post: 3267 days
Last activity: 3260 days
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.84
Not sure if it's the case everywhere, but I went back to Best Buy to get another one as a present today and they had sold out, with the stock guy saying it had been the biggest moving new release they had yesterday (probably not completely true since most new movies have a display up front he wasn't watching, but still...).

It really is the best wrestling DVD I've ever bought, absolutely bar none.

And since (at least to most people... New Jack fans like me need no explanation) Kulas' age is the only defensible part of the Mass Transit story, I don't think Paul's going to stop reminding us of that fact during his lifetime.



Lethalwrestling.com: If you don't read us, you're probably gay
OMEGA
Lap cheong








Since: 18.6.02
From: North Cacalacky

Since last post: 1909 days
Last activity: 1877 days
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.72
Personally, I'm just suprised that they brought it up at all. Their mentioning of the Mass Transit incident is a sign that they really didn't want to miss a beat with this history of ECW video.

And I'm not suprised that it's already sold out in some stores. I figured this would happen, and made sure to reserve a copy since I'm out of town this week.



The answer to WWE's financial problems...

Never 'Wiener of the Day', and is actually quite bitter about it.
jwrestle
Lap cheong








Since: 4.4.03
From: Nitro WV

Since last post: 135 days
Last activity: 13 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.45
I'm putting this baby to bed anybody else who needs to know more e-mail me, instant message me, OR go BUY THE SUCKER!

Anyways there is an EASTER EGG on the documentary...it is in Chapter three at PROMOS click RIGHT then LEFT in succession on your DVD control or Playstation, I'm guessing its all the same, to unlock the ECW Promos easter egg.

(edited by jwrestle on 17.11.04 1741)



The next WWE Creative person that says, "We don't have anything for you", gets a free rectal exam!

J.J. Dillon: "I'd rather flip burgers at McDonald's than work for Vince McMahon again." July, 3 2004
New Era Of Wrestling
Packman V2
Bratwurst








Since: 16.3.04
From: Albuquerque, NM

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
Y!:
#20 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.47
Looking forward to picking it up, but none of the video stores have it in stock yet...slackin bastages.

It's times like these I wish I lived in a real town.





GO PACK GO!!!
Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread rated: 3.86
Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread ahead: WWE Theme Addict Review
Next thread: Rise and Fall ECW Review the Matches disc TWO
Previous thread: The Great Thomas SmackDown! Report 11/18/04 - Also, Tough Enough!
(5795 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Did anyone hear what JR just said?! This was directly after the Big Show handicapped match... JR: DOUBLE PENETRATION BY THE BIG SHOW!! Or did I mishear that? o_O;;; -- On a totally unrelated topic.. My webpage died. >_
- Wyn, OH.. MY.. GAWD! (2002)
The W - Pro Wrestling - The Rise and Fall of ECW DVD Review the DocumentaryRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.411 seconds.