The W
Views: 101446356
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
19.12.14 1421
The W - Pro Wrestling - The Preview of Split Promotions
This thread has 1 referral leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(13728 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (8 total)
The Tino Standard
Bauerwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Ohio University (originally hailing from Concord, OH)

Since last post: 4084 days
Last activity: 3994 days
#1 Posted on
Considering that you basically had half the roster missing from Raw last night, does it seem to anyone that the show was also being used by the WWF higher-ups as a 'dry run' to see how a split-promotion TV show would work?

Same concept really. Take half the roster out of the equation and work with the others. Guys that don't normally get extended TV time get a chance (think about Lance Storm actually getting a legit amount of face time on camera, for example... pre-match promo, solid-length match, etc).

I dunno, last night's show just seemed to be missing a lot. Maybe it was because we are just a couple weeks from WrestleMania and more momentum should be building. But man, last night's show just didn't seem to have it for me. If that is the kind of stuff we'll be getting all the time after the split, I'm starting to cringe already.
Promote this thread!
cfgb
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Ottawa, Ontario

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 5 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.87
I had NO problem with last night's show!

The cage match ruled, until Stephanie made her presence felt. Storm vs. RVD was solid and awesome. The nWo was given a bit of a chance to run a little more wild.

It clears up alot of room. Instead of putting the same stuff on TV twice a week, it gives different guys more chance to grow, as well as give the main eventers a little more time to themselves, instead of having to share with a Whole Bunch Of Main Eventers.




Contact cfgb
Visit my homepage
Esco
Weisswurst








Since: 3.1.02
From: Tallahassee

Since last post: 4661 days
Last activity: 4633 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 10.00
I don't see howw the split is going to be that different.
Basically, Raw is still going to be the promo show with the old geriatrics and Smackdown is going to be more wrestlerific.

My hope is that we get Jericho, HHH, Storm, RVD, ect... on Smackdown. Then I will never have to watch Raw again.



Petey Pablo sucks
PalpatineW
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Getting Rowdy

Since last post: 2887 days
Last activity: 2730 days
AIM:  
#4 Posted on
Think they'll split the McMahons? If Stephanie gets RAW we should try to arrange a boycott. Traditional WWF logic would tell us that one McMahon will run each "semi-promotion," but since they're all heels, maybe they'll get lumped onto one show?



"The thing about gambling is... you gotta be ready to lose. You got 21? I got 22. You got Blackjack? I got two of those."
Jake "The Snake" Roberts
Eradicator
Kolbasz








Since: 4.1.02
From: Chicago

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 15 hours
#5 Posted on
Like I mentioned in another thread, I enjoyed last night's Raw, but it did seem to be lacking some stuff. However, I don't think we can really view it as a true preview to the split, and here is why:

*We are not yet used to half the roster being gone. Personally speaking, I did not know which of the guys were on the tour, so I was waiting for certain guys to show up, and was disappointed when they didn't. Once the lines are drwan we will know which main eventers to expect on which show. Also, the new faces can be worked in with a storyline instead of just appearing.

*They couldn't throw a lot of new guys out there that aren't normally on TV yet. Reason being, they would have had to throw them out there last night, and then pull them back off for Smackdown! when all the other guys are back, confusing people in the process.

*A lot of the guys out there last night have ongoing fueds with guys on the tour, so things seemed to lack in continuity. You know had Kane and Jericho been there they would have gotten involved with HHH and Angle repsectively. When we have the two seperate groups all the guys will have storylines with guys on the same show. Half the roster really was missing last night, but after the split we will have two full, seperate rosters each doing their own thang.

And I totally agree with whoever said it will help in terms of not seeing the same stuff Mondays and Thursdays. If you hate the Dudleys, for instance, you will only have to deal with them on one show a week, not two. And if you like them it will be more exciting to see them on whatever show they are on 'cause you've been waiting a week to see them. It will keep things fresh, and we won't overdose on certain superstars. Something people worried about when Smackdown! debuted.





"...the people ran, they ran all right, they ran right to the toilet, pulled their pants down, took one big Hulk-a-CRAP every time you opened your mouth!"
Saruman
Salami








Since: 25.1.02
From: Kirksville, MO

Since last post: 4512 days
Last activity: 4483 days
AIM:  
#6 Posted on
I actually liked it. I liked having, you know, some non-McMahon Promo time for people. Seeing guys like Lance, Christian, DDP, and Booker get a little more air time works well for me. And this was without the developmentals that will come up when the split happens (and, hopefully, Chavo~ returns).



Insert clever comment.
Excalibur05
Knackwurst








Since: 19.1.02
From: Minnesota

Since last post: 26 days
Last activity: 9 days
AIM:  
#7 Posted on
According to In Demand:

"Sunday, April 21 share all the contempt, all the retribution, and all the classic matches that only WWF Backlash can deliver. Ever since Vince McMahon and Rick Flair held their own WWF draft creating the two most powerful forces in sports entertainment, the Raw and Smackdown Superstars have been building their own vendettas, their own rivalries and their own reasons for domination. Be there live, when it all comes together, at WWF Backlash."

I guess the split is "go" then, huh?





These mini Reeses cup things are addictive...
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 23 hours
Last activity: 11 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#8 Posted on
If they can't spell "Ric" properly, why believe anything else in their promo?



CRZ
Visit [slash] wrestling
Pages: 1Thread ahead: Rock's History with Wreslemania Predictions
Next thread: Are boob jobs a good thing?
Previous thread: Champions that coulda been...
(13728 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Holy crap, dude! There's a new WRESTLICIOUS taped from right here in Minneapolis! (Thanks again to Bite TV and Brightcove for making these episodes available!)
The W - Pro Wrestling - The Preview of Split PromotionsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.443 seconds.