The W
Views: 95694304
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
20.4.14 1610
The W - Movies & TV - The Office (11/6) - Customer Reviews
This thread has 10 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.77
Pages: 1
(2741 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (18 total)
whatever
Lap cheong








Since: 12.2.02
From: Cleveland, Ohio

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 18 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.56
AWESOME Episode!

I loved the World's Smallest Bluetooth, what a great device. Jim figuring out the conspiracy was impressive.

Best moment, hands down: "THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID!"




"As you may have read in Robert Parker's Wine Newsletter, 'Donaghy Estates tastes like the urine of Satan, after a hefty portion of asparagus.'" Jack Donaghy, 30 Rock

Promote this thread!
djp
Morcilla








Since: 16.2.07
From: 3rd Floor, NW window

Since last post: 14 days
Last activity: 4 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.58
I'm waiting for the big Andy-blows-up episode/segment that we know is coming since everyone tries oh-so-carefully to get under his skin. Last week with Cornell and this week with Jim not seeing that it was Andy's face on the mug. He just bubbles under the surface but then keeps his cool and resists putting his fist through another wall. Maybe it'll happend at the beet farm wedding.

I was also hoping that we'd get the new HR person this week.
Super Shane Spear
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Sector 7 Slums

Since last post: 1406 days
Last activity: 1406 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.87
This episode was very Robin Shyamalan.

Rainn Wilson is just the sickest actor today. The transition of emotions in the "I'm right? I'm right! LETS-GET-HER!!!" scene was incredible.
supersalvadoran
Landjager








Since: 10.1.08
From: westbury, new york

Since last post: 11 days
Last activity: 1 day
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.07
    Originally posted by djp
    I was also hoping that we'd get the new HR person this week.


I'm absolutely sure it's going to be Toby once again. I just wish they wouldn't take so long in bringing him back.

It was an ok episode, plenty of laughs but a surprising lack of focus on Michael dealing with the end(?- I hope not) of his relationship outside of the opener.

I don't blame Kelly for doing what she did with Jim's & Dwight's evaluation. Dwight pretty much is self-explanatory as to why he's an ass. Jim himself can be one too at time, for as much a nice guy as he is, he can be a bit of a douche and disregard his fellow employees and act as if they're irrelevant. Besides, if he was smart about it, he could had gotten himself a mug with his smile on it, if only he wasn't so sumg- or is it smug?.

Pam's TWSS moment was awesome. As was the customer call between Jim & Dwight. But I was hoping for more from Michael & Holly. Also, no Kevin, Creed, Stanley, etc. makes me a bit sad.






>
PeterStork
Sujuk








Since: 25.1.02
From: Chicagoland with Hoosiers, or "The Region"

Since last post: 517 days
Last activity: 3 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.70
The "phone training" scene with Jim manipulating Dwight and Michael was Classic Office. The interplay between those three is highly underrated.

Good, logical plot progression with PB&J.



exit 670 dot com | digital route 66
Mr. Boffo
Scrapple








Since: 24.3.02
From: Oshkosh, WI

Since last post: 266 days
Last activity: 226 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.62
    Originally posted by supersalvadoran
      Originally posted by djp
      I was also hoping that we'd get the new HR person this week.


    I'm absolutely sure it's going to be Toby once again. I just wish they wouldn't take so long in bringing him back.


spoiler-future episode guide summaries listed below

Spoiler Below: Highlight text to read

It is. While working on next week's tv ratings, I discovered that the episode that airs in two weeks is called "Frame Toby". 11/20/2008 (09:00PM - 09:31PM) (Thursday) : AN OFFICE MESS-- A mysterious person in the office has made a huge mess in the microwave and will not clean it up. Meanwhile, Michael has to come to terms with the fact that there have been certain personnel changes in his staff without his knowing. Rainn Wilson, John Krasinski, Jenna Fischer, B.J. Novak, Ed Helms, Leslie David Baker, Brian Baumgartner, Kate Flannery, Mindy Kaling, Angela Kinsey, Phyllis Smith, Oscar Nunez, Paul Lieberstein and Creed Bratton also star.
kentish
Andouille








Since: 19.8.05
From: My Old Kentucky Home

Since last post: 9 days
Last activity: 2 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.75
    Originally posted by PeterStork
    The "phone training" scene with Jim manipulating Dwight and Michael was Classic Office. The interplay between those three is highly underrated.



Agreed, the best scene on this show in some time, and that is saying something. Just classic.

All the critics continue to slob on 30 Rock, and while it is a good show (especially last night) it still can't touch this series, IMO.




"I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ."

-- Mahatma Gandhi
Wpob
Lap cheong








Since: 21.11.02
From: Williston Park, NY

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 13 hours
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.11
    Originally posted by kentish
      Originally posted by PeterStork
      The "phone training" scene with Jim manipulating Dwight and Michael was Classic Office. The interplay between those three is highly underrated.



    Agreed, the best scene on this show in some time, and that is saying something. Just classic.

    All the critics continue to slob on 30 Rock, and while it is a good show (especially last night) it still can't touch this series, IMO.


I'll third this motion. I usually DVR The Office while I am getting my kids to bed, but they went early last night so I watched it live while the DVR was going. Once the show ended, I immediately went to DVR to the "phone training" scene and laughed just as hard as the first time. Michale covering the reciever while wisphering to Dwight was awesome. I am curious as to how many takes it took to get that scene down. Mr. Bob Buttlicker? Awesome.



"Marriage is like that show Everybody Loves Raymond, but its not funny. All the problems are the same, but you know instead of all the funny, pithy dialogue, everybody is really pissed off and tense. Marriage is like a tense, unfunny version of 'Everybody Loves Raymond', only it doesn't last 22 minutes. It lasts forever."

wmatistic
Andouille








Since: 2.2.04
From: Austin, TX

Since last post: 42 days
Last activity: 3 days
AIM:  
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.08
As soon as Kelly didn't want to talk about her relationship status, I thought it was Ryan behind the whole thing, getting her to do it so he could have his revenge.

I actually would have liked that more.
jfkfc
Liverwurst








Since: 9.2.02

Since last post: 216 days
Last activity: 5 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.07


Already for sale at the official site (nbcuniversalstore.com), although $90 looks a little steep, and I don't know that I need ten mugs!

Pam: "What color mustard is his shirt? Yellow or Dijon?" I enjoyed the parts where Jim was talking to Pam around Dwight, and Dwight naturally assumed Jim was clinically insane. I do have a sense of dread that Jim and Pam will break up at some point, though if Jim really couldn't handle living and working in NYC, he wouldn't have ever interviewed for Jan's/Ryan's old job.

Darryl offering to cover Michael's copay for therapy...hilarious!
Leroy
Andouille








Since: 7.2.02
From: Huntington, NY

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 7 min.
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.93
All echo the "awesome episode" as well. I really dug the mystery aspect of this episode. It was clear that something was up with the reviews, but I initially thought that it was just Michael being Michael.

    Originally posted by jfkfc
    I do have a sense of dread that Jim and Pam will break up at some point...


I am kind of dreading that as well, as I think they've done an excellent job of getting the focus off of PB&J at just the right time without losing any of the things that made them great. My feeling is that Jim will, at some point, end up with the job in NY. Jim as Michael's boss could be really fun.

I am really bummed that they pulled the plug on the micro-blutooth so quickly. They could have gotten a lot of mileage out of that.




NonDescript
Tue @ 9a PDT

NonDescript Podcast

Homepage
BoromirMark
Potato korv








Since: 8.5.02
From: Milan-Ann Arbor, MI

Since last post: 86 days
Last activity: 86 days
AIM:  
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.63
First off, the break-up won't happen. The Office writers know better than that. They've handled the relationship incredibly well so far; they have shown themselves fully aware of previous sitcom relationship cliches and foibles and have taken great pains to avoid those. PB&J will be fine.

Anyways, yet another awesome episode. I'd heard there was a supposed "comedy" on afterwards but I changed the channel immediately; the better to allow my laughter from the Office to settle down.

There may have been better TWSSes, but this episode's was by far my favorite. Pam, at corporate, with the World's Smallest Bluetooth! With that and the "What up 212?", she's just ratched up the adorable this season.

The use of the Bluetooth throughout the show was genius too. But of course the best was with Dwight: "WHAT DO YOU THINK I'M SAYING TO YOU?!"

Actually it was a just a good Dwight episode period. And a good Michael episode...Jim...Andy....Kelly...Ryan...just a GREAT episode. I think we can probably agree the Michael-Jim-Dwight 'training' scene was the best of this season? Jim just diving into the call, with Michael and Dwight just playing off it, just by being themselves....priceless, PRICELESS moment. "...it's a million dollar sale..."

No Creed moment, but a sleaze Ryan moment. He doesn't play the political game anymore, Jim, oh no. He got to the top, and look what it cost.

    Originally posted by djp
    I'm waiting for the big Andy-blows-up episode/segment that we know is coming since everyone tries oh-so-carefully to get under his skin. Last week with Cornell and this week with Jim not seeing that it was Andy's face on the mug. He just bubbles under the surface but then keeps his cool and resists putting his fist through another wall. Maybe it'll happend at the beet farm wedding.


Oh yeah. The slow burn to a giant blow-up has got to be coming. You can see the writers have definitely kept the anger management bit in mind, with how he's talked to Dwight and Jim these past two episodes, yet it's also quickly devolving back into Andy Bernard the longer it goes on. The boom'll happen, and the beet farm wedding seems as good a place as any. Maybe we get Dwight cuckolding (wrong use of the word by definition, but right use of the word as pertains to DWIGHT~!!!11) Andy off the altar and marrying Angela, while Andy goes on a rampage only to be met by Mose. EPIC BATTLE ENSUES.

    Originally posted by supersalvadoran
    I don't blame Kelly for doing what she did with Jim's & Dwight's evaluation.


She falsified customer evaluations.....bonus-deciding evaluations.....because two people didn't show up to a party. No, sorry, she gets all the blame. But of course, she also gets all the funny. :D

(edited by BoromirMark on 7.11.08 1318)


Michigan against the SEC: 20-5-1 (7-3 in bowl games)

StaggerLee
Scrapple








Since: 3.10.02
From: Right side of the tracks

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 2 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.48
Pam bouncing in her seat, squealing "THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID, THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID" was probably the single funniest thing she's ever done.

The slow burn for Andy losing his mind and nearly killing somebody is delightful. Somehow I hope Mose is involved.
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 20 hours
Last activity: 13 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.02
    Originally posted by Wpob
    Once the show ended, I immediately went to DVR to the "phone training" scene and laughed just as hard as the first time. Michale covering the reciever while wisphering to Dwight was awesome. I am curious as to how many takes it took to get that scene down. Mr. Bob Buttlicker? Awesome.
I noticed that Stephen Merchant directed this episode - that scene definitely seemed to have just a dash of the UK "Office" in it. Has he directed this show before?



Super Shane Spear
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Sector 7 Slums

Since last post: 1406 days
Last activity: 1406 days
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.87
    Originally posted by CRZ
    I noticed that Stephen Merchant directed this episode - that scene definitely seemed to have just a dash of the UK "Office" in it. Has he directed this show before?


This was the first episode that he actually directed. I remember a rumor that he was supposed to direct an episode at some point during season four. Mackenzie Crook and Lucy Davis were supposed to guest on that episode as well. If I recall, that was all cancelled by the strike.
dwaters
Lap cheong








Since: 16.10.02
From: Connecticut

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 21 hours
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.66
If you didn't like this episode, there's no hope.
Just stop watching The Office because this is as good as it gets.

The Jim/Dwight/Michael phone session was AMAZING comedy.


If there has to be a weak link, it's the Dwight/Angela/Andy thing. It's getting harder and harder to buy that even Andy would tolerate Angela's bitchiness for this long or that she would play along this long with what looks like no intention of marrying him.
Mr. Boffo
Scrapple








Since: 24.3.02
From: Oshkosh, WI

Since last post: 266 days
Last activity: 226 days
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.62
    Originally posted by dwaters

    If there has to be a weak link, it's the Dwight/Angela/Andy thing. It's getting harder and harder to buy that even Andy would tolerate Angela's bitchiness for this long or that she would play along this long with what looks like no intention of marrying him.

They interviewed Ed Helms and Angela Kinsey on thefutoncritic.

    "There's a part of Angela Martin that kind of wants to do what society would think would be appropriate and I think Andy seems very appropriate. She could bring Andy to church. I don't know if she could bring Dwight to church. He might show with some squirrel pelts to give people and that's a little off-putting. I think Andy sort of on paper is what she thought she wanted and... she has this kind of crazy chemistry with Dwight that she doesn't understand. It doesn't fit into her plan for her life and that's sort of those things she goes back and forth with the person she thinks is more appropriate and the person who she really has sort of a deep passion for."


And Re: Andy

    "My Dad asked me recently why are you with that woman? It's a very valid question but actually I do think there's this unflappable optimism with Andy. If there's one thing that's really great about Andy is he's so decisive about how he goes with something. And once he decides it's what he wants, he's just in it and he throws his whole heart into it and I think that's just what's happened with this relationship with Angela."
dwaters
Lap cheong








Since: 16.10.02
From: Connecticut

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 21 hours
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.66
Thanks for the quotes.

It's incredible how deep these actors get into their characters and their motives, actions and behaviors.

That's what makes this show so good.
Thread rated: 4.77
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: TV Ratings 10/27 - 11/2
Next thread: Terminator 207: Brothers of Nablus (and the deathpool for 208)
Previous thread: Smallville 8x8 = "Bloodline"
(2741 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Sorry, meant to post this yesterday! NEW ADDS Walking with Dinosaurs (The W at Amazon) The Perfect Stranger Trilogy Princess Kaiulani [HD] (digital) Kick-Ass 2 (Extended) [HD] (digital) RESCHEDULED TO 12/13 Pocket Full of Soul:
Related threads: The Office (10/30) - Employee Transfer - The Office (10/23) "It Squeaks When You Bang It..." - The Office (10/17) "Astird" - More...
The W - Movies & TV - The Office (11/6) - Customer ReviewsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.224 seconds.