The W
Views: 99892914
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
21.10.14 1517
The W - Video Games - The Nasty One's OSVG Review: Contra
This thread has 28 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(3126 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (18 total)
El Nastio
Andouille








Since: 14.1.02
From: Ottawa Ontario, by way of Walkerton

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 16 hours
ICQ:  
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.33
Due to financial constraints, I won't be able to get my hands on Animal Crossing for awhile. And if I don't have it by November, it's going to have to wait awhile because Jedi Outcast and Sonic Mega Collection are going to be put out then, both of which I'm buying first thing.

Anyway, I fugred I'd do a couple of reviews on some old school (OS) classic games in the meantime.


Title: Contra
System: NES
Genre: Action (Side scrolling)
Requires: 1-2 Controlers
Players: 1-2
Forefathers: None.
Price: Scope out your local Microplay, those guys OWN for NES and SNES games. I picked up my copy from a friend though.
Note: Because this is an OS review, obviously we can't compare this game to modern ones, so it's going to compared for it's time. So when you see OS games getting 4's and 5's, it's because at the time it truely was that great.


Overview: The vile Red Falcon crew are trying to take over the world. What are YOU going to do about? Why, arm yourself to the teeth and go after them by yourself or with a friend.

Graphics: Even for an NES game, the graphics were only average. The later you get in the game, the more impressive things become. The last level is actually one of the nicest pieces of work I've seen on the NES system. The main character (Player One) wears bluepants that seem glued to his body, and you can't see his face. The biggest plus was that there was NO SLOW DOWN even when there was hordes of guys coming at you! I LOVE NO SLOWDOWN. For it's time, it was around average, leaning towards decent. 3.5/5

Sound: Take this for what it's worth, but I actually liked the sound. Cheesy yet effective. What else can you do when you ahve a dude in blue pants, no shirt, killing things non-stop? On a side note, the explosions were alright, and the music for the levels was much more than bearable, leaning towards good. 3.5/5

Control: The control in the game is actually very good. Picking off enemies isn't a problem, which is good, cause there's a lot of them. Jumping from platform to platform is easy as well. This has nothing to do about control, but I think I'll bring it up here sense I'm talking about jumping.....when the player jumps they do a SWANK triple summersault and you can even shot and move somewhat in mid-air. Ok, so part of that has to do about control, but still, my main point about it was the triple summersault is plain sweet. The button layout is what you'd expect on a 4 Button controler, simple. I have no cplaints about this 4.5/5


Fun level: As a 1 Player game, it's actually fun, yet fusterating. Fun because that's just the way the game is, but fusterating because somtimes you'll scream "THERE'S TOO MANY GUYS AFTER ME!". At this time, there's two things you could do. CHEAT TO WIN or use the much more fun option....


Grab a second controler.
Get a friend over.
And while you control the dude with blue pants.
He'll control a SECOND DUDE with SWANK BROWN PANTS who looks JUST LIKE YOU.
And proceed to play argueably the greatest 2-Player Co-op game ever made.


Contra IMMEDIATLY becomes another game when you're playing it with someone else. All of a sudden, the average graphics and cheesy sound effects are forgotten, it's you two versus them all in a battle to save the world. Beyond a shadow of a doubt, Contra was THE trendsetter for 2-Player Co-op games, and everyone after that game must pay Contra it's due respect for paving the way. You get more tense, you start muttering to each other, and soon after you'll be full out yelling 'I'm going in, watch my back'. During the last battle, I had the Laser powerup while my friend had the Machiene Gun powerup. As some of you know, the laser is incredibly powerful, but you need to be accurate, while the Machiene Gun is just your old school RAPIDFIRE gun. While all the little dudes were coming after me, he was picking them all of while I was jumping over the ones he missed, trying to stay alive and use that laser to take out the guy quickly. Stuff like that is what makes a game great, and rise above it's faults. You will NOT find any other game on the NES that's more fun with you and one other person than Contra. 5/5, hands down.



Final Score: 16.5/20

Final Note; A game ahead of it's time, Contra was on of the first games ever to show that it may not be flashy, but it all comes down to gameplay and fun. I reccomend this game to old school and new school gamers alike.


Up up, down down, left right, left right, B, A, Select, Start. 30 lives right off the bat. To this day I remember it. The final question is, are you one of the Contra Elite (those who can beat the game WITHOUT The Code)?



Stay tuned, hopefully I'll soon have another OS review done sometime this week, which will be about the greatest game ever made.

(edited by El Nastio on 24.9.02 2102)

Habs: 3-0-0-0. Defeated the Bruins (YES!) 5-4
Renegades: 3-9-0-1: Last place in the CFL East (Rematch vs Stamps soon)
Man of the Week: TBA.
Goat of the Week: Richard Zednik for finally showing up to camp but not doing anything.

~EL NASTIO!
Promote this thread!
Fuzzy Logic
Summer sausage








Since: 31.3.02
From: Happy Valley - Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Since last post: 3215 days
Last activity: 2939 days
ICQ:  
#2 Posted on

    Originally posted by El Nastio
    The biggest plus was that there was NO SLOW DOWN even when there was hordes of guys coming at you! I LOVE NO SLOWDOWN.


You, sir, never played through the game 5 times without turning off your NES. At around the 5th time you start experiences slowdown noticeably within 30 seconds of starting the first stage. Contra is one of the best games ever. Ever. And, had 3 sequels that were badass (Super Contra, Contra 3 and that Contra game on the Genesis that had a li'l robot in it).




Jack Valenti fears NASH, EATER OF non-CHILDREN~!
El Nastio
Andouille








Since: 14.1.02
From: Ottawa Ontario, by way of Walkerton

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 16 hours
ICQ:  
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.33
Fuzzy, I have played through the games more than five times....but I used an emulator at school, and through save states. You're right though, although it'd take them awhile to get through the game enough times for major slowdowns to happen.

The game you are refering to Contra: Hard Corps which was on the Genisis. And you're right, ALL the Contra sequals owned. They owned enough in fact, that Contra Advance is coming out soon for the GBA (the SNES with some levels form hard Corps thrown in).

Come to think of it, I should start putting sequals in my OS Reviews.


EDIT: Accidently deleted my reply so I'll throw it here.



Ken, interesting note there about the code. I used to know people who didn't even play the game but new it offhand. Somewhat scary, eh?

Fuzzy, The Playstation Contra did blow chunks, but I don't count that against it, because Contra is 2D by nature (although a PS2 3d Contra is coming out soon). Sort of like Sonic 3d Blast is the worse Sonic game for the Genisis, so people (myself included) tend to ignore it =)

You got me on Contra Force though, that one was average but by no means basement dwelling.

(edited by El Nastio on 25.9.02 0016)

Habs: 3-0-0-0. Defeated the Bruins (YES!) 5-4
Renegades: 3-9-0-1: Last place in the CFL East (Rematch vs Stamps soon)
Man of the Week: TBA.
Goat of the Week: Richard Zednik for finally showing up to camp but not doing anything.

~EL NASTIO!
Ken Anderson
Pinkelwurst








Since: 25.6.02

Since last post: 3904 days
Last activity: 3904 days
#4 Posted on
Contra ROCKED. I'd give a full point more for both sound and graphics, but other than that, dead on. It's amazing how what seems like 80 percent of our generation can recite off the top of their heads, as if it were nothing, "Up Up, Down Down, Left Right, Left Right, B A, B A, Select Start." Truely a cultural phenomenom.



Ken Anderson
411Wrestling.com, ScaryMidgets.com/Jay
Fuzzy Logic
Summer sausage








Since: 31.3.02
From: Happy Valley - Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Since last post: 3215 days
Last activity: 2939 days
ICQ:  
#5 Posted on
No, all the sequels didn't own. Contra Force didn't own (but it was better than Ikari Warriors 3: The Rescue), and from what I understand, the Contra game for the playstation didn't own either (can't remember about the one for the saturn though).




Jack Valenti fears NASH, EATER OF non-CHILDREN~!
canucklover
Pickled pork








Since: 16.7.02
From: Vancouver, BC

Since last post: 3456 days
Last activity: 3074 days
#6 Posted on
Its my all-time favorite game, for any system.

I'm proud to say that I am one of the Contra Elite (no codes)

Great review Nasty One, keep 'em coming...



"Emotional feedback on timeless wavelengths, bearing a gift beyond price- almost free" -- Rush
Parts Unknown
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Darkenwood

Since last post: 49 days
Last activity: 5 hours
#7 Posted on

    Originally posted by canucklover
    Its my all-time favorite game, for any system.

    I'm proud to say that I am one of the Contra Elite (no codes)

    Great review Nasty One, keep 'em coming...



I am another Contra freak. To this day, I love to play it.

I remember the days when it first came out before we knew the 30-lives code. I actually beat Red Falcon with the measly three lives but no one witnessed it, so they didn't believe me.

Imagine, if ya weeeel:

"Hey dudes! I beat Contra! You get to the end and there's a snow stage and a big funky giant who rolls spiked frisbees at you and then the last stage has all this slime and crap and its full of evil spiders that look like Aliens face-huggers and then the last boss IS A GIANT BEATING HEART IN A SPIDER WEB that pulsates when you shoot it! IT WAS RAD!"

And they stare at me and collectively say, "YEAH RIGHT! GET OUTTA HERE!"

So I had to prove it. I amazed them all and the gods were with me: I actually beat it with just the three lives, under pressure with about 10 friends watching.

Sweet victory, my brothers.



"Oh, i'll never understand this emptiness...but I'll never really try and understand, I guess." - Whiskeytown, Sit and Listen to the Rain
El Nastio
Andouille








Since: 14.1.02
From: Ottawa Ontario, by way of Walkerton

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 16 hours
ICQ:  
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.33
Thanks Canucklover. It ranks high up there on the NES as one of my favorite games. For myself, there just isn't a clearcut favorite for that system for a 'number one game' because there's so many classic ones. I think it's the only system that I really think I don't have a clearcut favorite come to think of it.

Big time props for you Parts Unknown, very impressive. In front of other people expecting you to fail no less. You had your vindication that day!



Habs: 3-0-0-0. Defeated the Bruins (YES!) 5-4
Renegades: 3-9-0-1: Last place in the CFL East (Rematch vs Stamps soon)
Man of the Week: TBA.
Goat of the Week: Richard Zednik for finally showing up to camp but not doing anything.

~EL NASTIO!
Parts Unknown
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Darkenwood

Since last post: 49 days
Last activity: 5 hours
#9 Posted on
Thanks for the props. It was momentous at the time because no one had even seen the Snow Field, much less the final stages. HOO!

Hey El Nastio! We need a review of Blaster Master....that's another game that I dearly love. Probably ranks between Contra and Punch-Out!!! on my fun-crap-o-meter.



"Oh, i'll never understand this emptiness...but I'll never really try and understand, I guess." - Whiskeytown, Sit and Listen to the Rain
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 2 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.44
Great review, and I could not have beaten the game without the code. I do love the 2 player mode, but the problem was that I was always better than my number 2. The other person would compensate for this by stealing all the good weapons and letting me do all the hard work. The worst was having to wait on the other side of a pit because my sister couldn't figure out the timing on the jump. Invaribly, I would have to wait until she died, run further across the screen, and hope that the game would start her out ahead of the pit.

P.S.- How about a Bionic Commando review? I love that game.



"Oh would you stop being all stealthy and just get in the truck"- Tom Servo
HitTheSnoozeButton
Boudin rouge








Since: 2.1.02
From: Pittsburgh PA

Since last post: 2087 days
Last activity: 437 days
#11 Posted on
    Originally posted by El Nastio



    Up up, down down, left right, left right, B, A, Select, Start. 30 lives right off the bat. To this day I remember it. The final question is, are you one of the Contra Elite (those who can beat the game WITHOUT The Code)?






    I can proudly say, that at the tender age of probably no more than eight or nine I indeed did beat contra without THE CODE.

    AND.....I don't think you've done it yet, but a review of the original NES Battletoads would rule all. Thanks and great review.

    Gotta make sure to preview dammit.

    (edited by HitTheSnoozeButton on 26.9.02 1525)


    What a Manuever!



    POP OPEN A CAN OF CHEF BOYARDEE, BIG RED MACHINE! IT'S TIME TO CHOW DOWN, BABY!----Maniacal Clown
El Nastio
Andouille








Since: 14.1.02
From: Ottawa Ontario, by way of Walkerton

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 16 hours
ICQ:  
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.33
Thanks for all the feedback guys. Coming up next will be Chrono Cross, probably my favorite PSone game. After that, I was planning on kicking into an old school stretch. So because you guys asked....

- Mike Tyson's Punchout (well, no one asked, but I love the game so it has to be done soon).
- Blaster Master
- Battletoads for the SNES (that's the only version I have right now).
- Bionic Commando (don't expect it for awhile though, I gotta get it from.....'somewhere' first).
- And a personal favorite.....~BLADES OF STEEL.

Reviews are dependent on if I'm at work dumping footage (lazy work so I can do reviews while stuff is dumping), or if I'm doing actual work work work (like tonight), although sooner or later things will calm down and I'll be able to actually do them AT HOME =)

(edited by El Nastio on 26.9.02 1950)

Habs: 3-0-0-0. Defeated the Bruins (YES!) 5-4
Renegades: 3-9-0-1: Last place in the CFL East (Rematch vs Stamps soon)
Man of the Week: TBA.
Goat of the Week: Richard Zednik for finally showing up to camp but not doing anything.

~EL NASTIO!
The Thrill
Banger








Since: 16.4.02
From: Green Bay, WI

Since last post: 187 days
Last activity: 33 days
#13 Posted on

    Originally posted by El Nastio


    - Mike Tyson's Punchout (well, no one asked, but I love the game so it has to be done soon). =)

    (edited by El Nastio on 26.9.02 1950)



Hell, I'll ask for the Punch-Out review. Bring it on.

And Contra! Oh, hell yes. Spray gun powerup: Best. Weapon. EVER.



Star wipe, and...we're out.
Thrillin' ain't easy.

.
.
THE THRILL
ACW-TV/Home Video Technical Director Emeritus...and A2NWO 4 Life!
Fuzzy Logic
Summer sausage








Since: 31.3.02
From: Happy Valley - Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Since last post: 3215 days
Last activity: 2939 days
ICQ:  
#14 Posted on
Blades of Steel is my favourite hockey game of all time. So easy to get into fights, and the punishment made sent. Loser in penalty box = GOLD~!

And the gameplay was most excellent too.




Jack Valenti fears NASH, EATER OF non-CHILDREN~!
Brian P. Dermody
Liverwurst
Moderator








Since: 20.9.02
From: New York, NY

Since last post: 935 days
Last activity: 358 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#15 Posted on
And you had to love the Konami voice guy with the speech impediement. "Bwades of Stee-o" "Dubbo Dwibbo" and that kind of nonsense.

Gotta go emulate now, excuse me.



"There ought to be limits to freedom."
- G.W. Bush (21 May 1999)
"Do you have blacks too?"
- Bush to president of Brazil (28 May 2002)
drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 30 days
Last activity: 15 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#16 Posted on

    Originally posted by DJ Ran
    And you had to love the Konami voice guy with the speech impediement. "Bwades of Stee-o" "Dubbo Dwibbo" and that kind of nonsense.

    Gotta go emulate now, excuse me.



Heh... you think that's bad? Try NES Play Action Football. Every time you get a first down, it sounds like the VA's saying "fustdown". It's pretty sad, actually.



Today's Out-Of-Context Quote, Courtesy of Fuzzy Logic:

"I want to have JR's lovechild."
Guru Zim
SQL Dejection
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: Bay City, OR

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 4 hours
AIM:  
#17 Posted on
It's Rubble Ribble isn't it? It's been years...



I am not your mother.
Parts Unknown
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Darkenwood

Since last post: 49 days
Last activity: 5 hours
#18 Posted on

    Originally posted by El Nastio
    Thanks for all the feedback guys. Coming up next will be Chrono Cross, probably my favorite PSone game. After that, I was planning on kicking into an old school stretch. So because you guys asked....

    - Mike Tyson's Punchout (well, no one asked, but I love the game so it has to be done soon).
    - Blaster Master
    - Battletoads for the SNES (that's the only version I have right now).
    - Bionic Commando (don't expect it for awhile though, I gotta get it from.....'somewhere' first).
    - And a personal favorite.....~BLADES OF STEEL.

    Reviews are dependent on if I'm at work dumping footage (lazy work so I can do reviews while stuff is dumping), or if I'm doing actual work work work (like tonight), although sooner or later things will calm down and I'll be able to actually do them AT HOME =)

    (edited by El Nastio on 26.9.02 1950)



I'll gladly trade you my copy of Bionic Commando for another NES game.
Email me at mdblair@uark.edu if you are interested.



"Oh, i'll never understand this emptiness...but I'll never really try and understand, I guess." - Whiskeytown, Sit and Listen to the Rain
Pages: 1Thread ahead: Animal Crossing, this is ridiculous
Next thread: Which Final Fantasy is you favorite?
Previous thread: The Nasty One's OSVG Review: The Best Video Game Ever
(3126 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
US Magazine - Pulse 4/9 {free} Games - Rag Doll Kung Fu: Fists of Plastic {$10} - a cheap PS3 Super Smash Brothers-ish game!
The W - Video Games - The Nasty One's OSVG Review: ContraRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.16 seconds.