The W
Views: 97630543
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
24.7.14 0558
The W - Movies & TV - The Incredible Hulk review (minor spoilers)
This thread has 12 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.24
Pages: 1
(2959 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (14 total)
Doc_whiskey
Frankfurter








Since: 6.8.02
From: St. Louis

Since last post: 308 days
Last activity: 252 days
AIM:  
#1 Posted on
I saw a sneak preview of this the other night. It was a pretty enjoyable movie. The action sequences are great with my only complaint being a camera that seemed a little jerky, which at times got distracting. The acting was great as Ed Norton did a very good job as did Liv Tyler and the actor that played Emil Blonsky (blanking on the name). The only other complaint I had was it was a bit long and dragged in a couple places, but nothing too major. There were some cool little nods to the TV show as Lou Ferigno (sp?) has a cool cameo, and there is a scene that involved walking alone up a road with a certain style of music in the background. The Avenger continuation scene with Tony Stark takes place right before the end credits, there was nothing afterwards (though when I saw a sneak preview of Iron Man we didn't have the Nick Fury scene after our movie so take the above statement with a grain of salt). I would recommend seeing the movie.

P.S. Stan Lee's cameo is great



Lisa: Poor predicatble Bart, always picks rock
Bart: Good ole rock, nothing beats that
Promote this thread!
StaggerLee
Scrapple








Since: 3.10.02
From: Right side of the tracks

Since last post: 14 hours
Last activity: 10 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.15
http://www.geektyrant.com/2008/06/captain-america-cameo-gets-cut-from-the-incredible-hulk-movie/
yamcha
Mettwurst








Since: 21.6.07
From: ....here?

Since last post: 1504 days
Last activity: 1461 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.25
well they need a way to make sure the DVD sells
CxMorgado
Boudin rouge








Since: 21.1.02
From: Boston MA is the rippen'ist town...

Since last post: 212 days
Last activity: 10 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.27
I actually thought that was really, really good. Not as good as Iron Man, but I had a lot of fun. They pretty much tried to make the Hulk fanboy wet dream this time out, which I think was a good choice. I was REALLY psyched and surprised to see that not only did Lou Ferrigno have a cameo, but that he was doing the voice as well, that got an actual pop from me when I saw it listed in the credits. Maybe that was common knowledge beforehand, but I actually hadn't been real psyched on this so I wasn't keeping track of anything. Also dug the Bill Bixby "cameo" and all the visual and musical tv show callbacks, tho I don't think many people at my showing got them. The CGI was only really jarring during the daylight scenes I thought, the rain scene in the mountains with Betty was particularly realistic and parts of the Abomination battle were seemless. Really fun time, I may even see it again.

(edited by CxMorgado on 13.6.08 0311)


Biddip-bo!
Lexus
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Stafford, VA

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 10 hours
AIM:  
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.63
My friends and I were buzzing about a possible Avengers movie afterward.

They did a really good job of making the Hulk look like an actual Superhero rather than an 'American Godzilla' like Ang Lee went for. I loved the buildup at the beginning, the relationship between Banner and Betty Ross, the set-up for the Leader and a possible sequel, and just about everything.



"Laugh and the world laughs with you. Frown and the world laughs at you."
-Me.
John Orquiola
Scrapple








Since: 28.2.02
From: Boston

Since last post: 25 days
Last activity: 25 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.97
I enjoyed The Incredible Hulk, but poor Ang Lee. I'm not a fan of his movie overall, but Jesus. They stopped short of putting up a picture of Ang Lee with a red X and the words: "ANG LEE: DISAVOWED!"

I talk a little bit about Ang Lee's Hulk and a whole lot about Louis Letterier's Hulk in my spoiler-filled review, which would be right here:

http://www.backofthehead.com/nerd/2008-06-13.incrediblehulkmoviereview.html

(edited by John Orquiola on 13.6.08 1536)


Back of the Head: www.backofthehead.com
CxMorgado
Boudin rouge








Since: 21.1.02
From: Boston MA is the rippen'ist town...

Since last post: 212 days
Last activity: 10 hours
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.27
    Originally posted by John Orquiola
    I enjoyed The Incredible Hulk, but poor Ang Lee. I'm not a fan of his movie overall, but Jesus. They stopped short of putting up a picture of Ang Lee with a red X and the words: "ANG LEE: DISAVOWED!"

    I talk a little bit about Ang Lee's Hulk and a whole lot about Louis Letterier's Hulk in my spoiler-filled review, which would be right here:

    http://www.backofthehead.com/nerd/2008-06-13.incrediblehulkmoviereview.html

    (edited by John Orquiola on 13.6.08 1536)


Your review really makes a great point about neither movie (and the tv show for that matter) really capturing the "Puny Banner/Hulk is strongest one there is" relationship of The Hulk and his alter ego. They did cover the whole Hulk jumping for miles in a single leap thing tho, by having him wake up in Guatemala after the Hulk out in the Brazilian soda factory.



Biddip-bo!
jfkfc
Liverwurst








Since: 9.2.02

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 1 day
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.75
Saw this yesterday, and my kids and I really enjoyed it. Not being a comics guy, would someone explain the relevance of the last scene? It seemed rather random...
kentish
Andouille








Since: 19.8.05
From: My Old Kentucky Home

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 1 day
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.76
    Originally posted by jfkfc
    Saw this yesterday, and my kids and I really enjoyed it. Not being a comics guy, would someone explain the relevance of the last scene? It seemed rather random...


You mean Tony Stark talking to Gen. Ross? If so, Hulk and Iron Man were original members of the Avengers. Marvel plans to do an Avengers flick down the road.

The wife and I saw the movie on Saturday, and both liked it. Much better than the 2003 version, even though I don't think it was as bad as most people say, just 20 minutes too long. But I am a die hard hulkamaniac, so I may be biased.




"I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ."

-- Mahatma Gandhi
Tenken347
Boudin blanc








Since: 27.2.03
From: Parts Unknown

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 10 hours
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.03
I liked the movie a whole lot, and while the script and acting weren't quite as strong as Iron Man, I think the camera work was a lot more interesting and dynamic in Incredible Hulk. I would definately check out a sequel to this Hulk, and the shared universe continuity aspect to the new batch of Marvel movies has me really excited.
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 36 days
Last activity: 3 days
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.89

I was having fun explaining lots of things to people at work tonight including...

The Leader and Doc Samson
The various Hulk personalities over the years
Planet Hulk and Sub-Atomic Hulk
Skaar, son of Hulk




Mark Coale
Odessa Steps Magazine
The Affirmation, Baby Blog
StaggerLee
Scrapple








Since: 3.10.02
From: Right side of the tracks

Since last post: 14 hours
Last activity: 10 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.10
Saw it today, and really REALLY loved it. ALthough after about ten minutes, I was ready to punch Liv Tyler in the face. After seeing The Strangers and hearing her say "James........... James?" thirty thousand times, I really didnt want to sit and listen to "Bruce? Bruce?" for half an hour.

Other than that I loved it.

Has Tim Roth ever made a bad movie?
(well, one that was high profile at least)


Can't wait for the follow up.
samoflange
Lap cheong








Since: 22.2.04
From: Cambridge, MA

Since last post: 280 days
Last activity: 272 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.99
I finally saw Hulk, and I, like most others here, thought it was really good. It was far more engaging than the previous one. I don't know if that should be chalked up to the acting, directing, better looking effects, or a more interesting plot. I'm sure it has a little something to do with each one. Ed Norton really was great, not that I expected any less of him. With all the issues he had with the final cut of the movie, I'm hoping everything gets worked out with him so he can still be in the Banner role for Avengers and whatever other Hulk sequels eventually come.

Speaking of Avengers, putting Tony Stark in the end of Hulk, and not just as a post-credits easter egg type thing, means Marvel is actually committing themselves to creating the Marvel universe within their films. This seems like a daunting task given various problems movies often have in scheduling, production, etc. But if they can pull it off, it will end up as one hell of a DVD box set in 20-30 years.

Does anybody know about the legalities behind using stuff from the other movies made from Marvel properties but not exclusively from Marvel Studios? I'm talking Spiderman, X-Men, F4.



Lloyd: When I met Mary, I got that old fashioned romantic feeling, where I'd do anything to bone her.
Harry: That's a special feeling.
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 40 days
Last activity: 19 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.04
I liked it, but my fears were confirmed ... Since the Ang Lee flick was bashed for being too "psychological" without enough action, they pretty much went the entirely opposite direction and took away the "soul" of the character (boy am I a nerd) in favor of non-stop "Hulk Smash"-ification! Hell, they even gave us the "Hulk Smash!" soundbite outta the big green lug, which just rubbed me the wrong way (there was never any use of the term "Hulk" except for two college students on a local news station, so how did "it" know to refer to itself as such?).

Again, overall I thought this was a pretty decent Marvel film, but they just seemed to totally abandon the concept of Bruce Banner as the "tortured soul" that must battle with the rage within him (they never bothered to give the context as to WHY the Hulk gets angry, just that he takes it out on people by throwing them through windows and kicking them into trees).



Parquet Wishes and Leprechaun Dreams


Thread rated: 4.24
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Venture Bros.: "The Buddy System"
Next thread: Spectacular Spider-Man #13, Nature vs. Nurture
Previous thread: TV Ratings 6/23 - 6/29
(2959 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Well I did see it using a free ticket based on your recommendations. And let's just say if I did pay for it, I'd be a little ticked off at you guys right now.
- The Vile1, Night At The Museum (2006)
Related threads: The Incredible Hulk - New Hulk casting news - Marvel names new Incredible Hulk director - More...
The W - Movies & TV - The Incredible Hulk review (minor spoilers)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.279 seconds.