The W
Views: 98386046
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.8.14 1424
The W - Movies & TV - The dream of opinionated tv geeks everywhere . . .
This thread has 6 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.52
Pages: 1
(4640 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (14 total)
DrewDewce
Bratwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Derby City

Since last post: 26 days
Last activity: 1 day
Y!:
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.96
I've been selected to participate in Nielsen's Media Research!! Diary only, no meter, but still.

Too bad Arrested Development isn't on the week I'll be participating.



It is a good rule in life never to apologize. The right sort of people do not want apologies, and the wrong sort take a mean advantage of them.
P. G. Wodehouse (1881 - 1975), The Man Upstairs (1914)
Promote this thread!
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 67 days
Last activity: 33 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41

I have a friend who has a meter.

I give advice all teh time about what to watch and/or what tchannel to leave the TV on.



Mark Coale
Odessa Steps Magazine
The Affirmation, Baby Blog
OlFuzzyBastard
Knackwurst








Since: 28.4.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 16 hours
AIM:  
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.62
    Originally posted by DrewDewce
    Too bad Arrested Development isn't on the week I'll be participating.


I got to do this last October, before the annoying late Fox season started. If I remember correctly, on the last page, there was a space to list programs you usually watch on regular basis but weren't on the air that week. I wrote "Arrested Development" about 35 times.



""I heard Tom DeLay's blood was in the water and the sharks were circling him, but unfortunately, it turned out to be a metaphor.""
-----The Onion, What Do You Think?
ekedolphin
Scrapple








Since: 12.1.02
From: Indianapolis, IN; now residing in Suffolk, VA

Since last post: 66 days
Last activity: 10 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.52
I did it about a year ago. If I recall correctly, the diary was pretty much filled up with WWE RAW, Kim Possible, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine and The West Wing.



Hi, Haley. Look, I found all these free swords. They were in my spleen.
--Elan, The Order of the Stick

Four-Time Wiener of the Day (5/27/02; 7/3/02; 7/30/04; 8/28/04)

The Only Five-Time (and Last) N.E.W. World Heavyweight Champion

Certified RFMC Member-- Ask To See My Credentials!

sweetroll
Cotechino








Since: 23.3.02
From: Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Since last post: 270 days
Last activity: 15 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.18
I just got invited to a focus group screening next Thursday. If I see anything remotely formulaic, I can't see myself restraining my rage. I'll likely post a review when I get back.
Guru Zim
SQL Dejection
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: Bay City, OR

Since last post: 14 days
Last activity: 1 hour
AIM:  
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.81
Good luck.

I had to sit through a Tom Wopat pilot the only time I was dumb enough to go to one of those.

Ugh.



Willful ignorance of science is not commendable. Refusing to learn the difference between a credible source and a shill is criminally stupid.
Corajudo
Frankfurter








Since: 7.11.02
From: Dallas, TX

Since last post: 45 days
Last activity: 1 day
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.15
    Originally posted by Guru Zim
    Good luck.

    I had to sit through a Tom Wopat pilot the only time I was dumb enough to go to one of those.

    Ugh.


I was in Vegas and got sucked into a 20/20 type pilot, except instead of news stories, they had some uplifting/inspirational stories. It was hosted by Hector Elizondo. It sucked. I got kicked out for laughing too much. I wasn't the first or last person to suffer that fate. Turns out it wasn't a comedy. Could've fooled the group in the room.

On the bright side, I did get a key chain that unfolded into a pen. It exploded in my pocket. I hate Hector Elizondo.
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 318 days
Last activity: 285 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.75
    Originally posted by Guru Zim
    Good luck.

    I had to sit through a Tom Wopat pilot the only time I was dumb enough to go to one of those.

    Ugh.


Huh. My whole family, including myself, did one of these things when we lived in Las Vegas. The weird thing, we also had a show starring Tom Wopat. This was actually IMO a decent drama about a family that works at a woodmill and makes clocks or something like that.

The second pilot was a half-hour supposed "comedy" starring Sally Kellerman. It featured a SASSY maid that was the comic relief to a bland family. I believe that Sally ended up in jail for something by the end of it. Didn't matter, it sucked rocks.



Click Here (czwfans.com)

For all your CZW and Nickels Trivia information. Join La Revolution!
Guru Zim
SQL Dejection
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: Bay City, OR

Since last post: 14 days
Last activity: 1 hour
AIM:  
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.81
We had the same two shows.

Good God, why did you have to remind me about that Kellerman one... That was so bad, I had blocked it from my memory - and now I'm seeing it vividly in my mind.

Aiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigh



Willful ignorance of science is not commendable. Refusing to learn the difference between a credible source and a shill is criminally stupid.
drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.15
Oof... speaking of bad pilots, my mother signed up for some survey thing and they sent us a tape of... I think it was called "Dads". Three single parents of the Full House archetype, not living together. The kicker? The kindergarten teacher at their kids' school? RUE MCCLANAHAN. It sucked, but now I want the tape, as long as it really couldn't erase itself.

And I'd imagine that if we did get the Nielsen box, Music Choice's ratings would SKYROCKET. (Then again, so would anything on the Food Network after noon on Saturday. But that's not my fault.)



You wanted the best, you got... Out of Context Quote of the Week.

"Jeez, some people seem to think anything short of Vince bending over and spreading his asscheeks is a slap in the face." (Hogan's My Dad)

bash91
Merguez








Since: 2.1.02
From: Plain Dealing, LA

Since last post: 738 days
Last activity: 17 hours
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.61
    Originally posted by drjayphd
    Oof... speaking of bad pilots, my mother signed up for some survey thing and they sent us a tape of... I think it was called "Dads". Three single parents of the Full House archetype, not living together. The kicker? The kindergarten teacher at their kids' school? RUE MCCLANAHAN. It sucked, but now I want the tape, as long as it really couldn't erase itself.


I hate you

I somehow had the misfortune of seeing that one and had blanked it out until you reminded me of it. I remember that the lady who did the phone interview after I watched it wasn't too enthusiastic about me panning it in every way, shape, and form possible. In fact, I'd go so far as to say she was downright unhappy with me when I told her that there was no way I'd ever watch it if it was to make it to the schedule through some combination of stupidity and massive incompetence. Of course, since the "compensation" I received for my time was a coupon for a meat at a restaurant where the nearest store was about 3 hours away, I didn't feel all that guilty about it.

Tim



Vocatus atque non vocatus, Deus aderit. -- Erasmus

Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: #YEG

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 2 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.50
    Originally posted by DrewDewce
    I've been selected to participate in Nielsen's Media Research!! Diary only, no meter, but still.

    Too bad Arrested Development isn't on the week I'll be participating.
How would someone get involved with this project? Do they call people out of the blue and get their address? Is there any cash compensation?



I'm pretty fly...for a bald guy!
Corajudo
Frankfurter








Since: 7.11.02
From: Dallas, TX

Since last post: 45 days
Last activity: 1 day
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.15
    Originally posted by SOK
      Originally posted by DrewDewce
      I've been selected to participate in Nielsen's Media Research!! Diary only, no meter, but still.

      Too bad Arrested Development isn't on the week I'll be participating.
    How would someone get involved with this project? Do they call people out of the blue and get their address? Is there any cash compensation?


I don't know about the Nielsen survey, but I was selected to participate in the same type of survey for radio programs/stations. I believe it was random. First, they sent a letter asking if I'd be willing to participate. After I agreed to do it, they sent a $5 bill accompanying the survey. Not much, but it was CRISP and brand SPANKING new.
DrewDewce
Bratwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: The Derby City

Since last post: 26 days
Last activity: 1 day
Y!:
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.96
    Originally posted by SOK
      Originally posted by DrewDewce
      I've been selected to participate in Nielsen's Media Research!! Diary only, no meter, but still.

      Too bad Arrested Development isn't on the week I'll be participating.
    How would someone get involved with this project? Do they call people out of the blue and get their address? Is there any cash compensation?


From http://www.nielsenmedia.com

"How do I become a member of the Nielsen TV sample?

Strictly through chance. We cannot ask every home to participate, so we carefully select a sample of homes in your community to represent the entire TV audience. To be statistically accurate it is essential that our samples be randomly selected. Every household in the United States has a chance of being selected, no matter where it is located."

Luck 'o the draw apparently.





It is a good rule in life never to apologize. The right sort of people do not want apologies, and the wrong sort take a mean advantage of them.
P. G. Wodehouse (1881 - 1975), The Man Upstairs (1914)
Thread rated: 5.52
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: [24] 11:00PM - 12:00AM
Next thread: David Tennant cast as new Dr Who?
Previous thread: Ultimate FIghter Finale
(4640 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Tonight’s theme is Elvis, and it’s only fitting that one of our contestants dies tonight eating a fried banana sandwich, I won’t spoil who for you though (ok, fine, it’s Rueben, but you have to admit, the guy’s been asking for it for years).
The W - Movies & TV - The dream of opinionated tv geeks everywhere . . . Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.203 seconds.