The W
Views: 98962727
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
17.9.14 0641
The W - Random - The dolphin's short, sweet review of The Scorpion King...
This thread has 3 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(3495 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (4 total)
ekedolphin
Scrapple








Since: 12.1.02
From: Indianapolis, IN; now residing in Suffolk, VA

Since last post: 90 days
Last activity: 13 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.52
My 37.25 Italian lira...

Ekedolphin here, bringing you my short, sweet review of The Scorpion King:

Well... I got to rent it for free so I can't complain too badly. The action sequences were above average, but both the acting and the plot were sub-par. The Rock does an O.K. job for an actor who's just starting out, I suppose. The resident hot chick is, well... pretty hot. But the jokes aren't funny, and the plot is pretty formulaic. There aren't any real twists and turns in the movie that make you go, “Whoa!” Still, I liked the action sequences, and it's kind of funny seeing The Rock no-sell an arrow in his back.

Final Analysis: Worth a rental. Might make for a good popcorn movie. But I wouldn't buy it.



“What the heck is he doin' here? Hey Mysterio...don't child labor laws state that you can't be here more than five hours a day? Hahahaha- get it? Ho ho, get it?... 'cause he's... you know, short.”
--Kurt Angle, SmackDown, 9/26/02

Two-Time, Two-Time Randomly Selected Weiner of the Day, 5/27/02 and 7/3/02

Promote this thread!
Fuzzy Logic
Summer sausage








Since: 31.3.02
From: Happy Valley - Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Since last post: 3181 days
Last activity: 2905 days
ICQ:  
#2 Posted on
And here's what I thought of it when I watched it:

A nice, entertaining, mindless action movie with a few comedic bits thrown in. I found the comedic bits mildly amusing, which means someone out there will find them totally f'n hillarious, and for that one person, good for them. The acting, plot, and jokes are about average for a mindless action movie, which means it doesn't suck complete ass. It has music, and special effects too. Oh, and they do the standard "the hell with physics and science and shit, we have a really fucking cool action sequence we want to do!" thing with the flaming swords of doom (which are fucking cool). Some of the jokes are funny, the action is neato, and there are many hot chicks with nice boobies (which, when it all comes down to it, is the most important thing of all).

Also, this movie teaches a very valuable lesson, "When you're in the stronghold of the big evil dude you want to kill, and who wants you dead, if you run into his chick(s), make sure they aren't trying to grab your sword."

A good way to spend an hour and a half.




Jack Valenti fears NASH, EATER OF non-CHILDREN~!
OlFuzzyBastard
Knackwurst








Since: 28.4.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 5 days
AIM:  
#3 Posted on
Coulda been worse - and that's really high praise coming from me.



"The only difference between lilies and turds are those humankind have agreed upon, and I don't always agree."
---George Carlin

"Facts?! Aw, people can use facts to explain anything that's even remotely true!"
---Homer Simpson
Mattitude
Chorizo








Since: 7.10.02
From: the last house on the left

Since last post: 729 days
Last activity: 18 days
#4 Posted on
I liked it just fine.

The action scenes were just dandy. I'm a fan of mindless action flicks, so I had no problem with that. The jokes could have been better, and the wacky sidekick could have been done without. I mean, the camel was enough comic relief as it was.

And it's also worth noting that The Rock made the Guinness Book of World Records for the highest paycheck ($5.5 million) for an actor's first starring role.
Pages: 1Thread ahead: Hey Star Wars geeks (Big Episode III spoiler)
Next thread: Soprano's: Week IV
Previous thread: SNL Reminder
(3495 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I've regularly run AdAware on machines that have Mozilla installed -- they play perfectly happily together. (i.e. AdAware doesn't think that Mozilla is an evilness.) I wouldn't try to get rid of IE -- as Eddie says, it's much too integrated.
- emma, Mozilla question (2004)
Related threads: "The Scorpion King" - Your Take - The Scorpion King - More...
The W - Random - The dolphin's short, sweet review of The Scorpion King...Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.271 seconds.