The W
Views: 97586042
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
22.7.14 2207
The W - Random - Swimfan & Feardotcom Reviews
This thread has 22 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(3541 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 287 days
Last activity: 254 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.44
A day off from work meant that I could view these two movies. Because it was mid-week, I had a total of 2 other people in the theatre for Swimfan, and one obviously bored movie theatre worker sneaking in to watch a majority of Feardotcom.

Swimfan was formulaic fare but boasted a great performance from Erika Christensen. On top of being hot, she can actually act (which all you watchers of Traffic can probably attest to). I had problems with the casting of the main guy. Jesse Bradford could hardly show any emotion in the movie, and he looked to be going through the motions (as if he was just doing this movie to do something until he received a script befitting his acting ability...maybe Titanic 2 can be his next project).

There is a smaller role for James DeBello, and he is awful in that role (he is better cast as the "wacky" dude, as evidenced in his parts in American Pie and Scary Movie 2).
Jesse Bradford's girlfriend in the movie, played by Shiri Appleby (known from Roswell and from being hot :-) is a good sympathetic character.

Overall the movie was okay, but nothing to write home about.

Still, Swimfan is Citizen Kane when compared to the inanely stupid Feardotcom. I don't know how the producers got Stephen Rea and Stephen Dorff to participate in this dreck, but they should have known better. I feel most sad for Natascha McElhone, who was so good in The Truman Show, and now is stuck with films like this. She is still a good actress and does well enough with her character, but Dorff looked to be going through the motions.

This is not a standard horror film though, more of a science fiction/fantasy film set upon the backdrop of shitty production values. There is so much gore and nudity that you become desensitized to it within half an hour (kind of like in Showgirls...minus the gore). There is a website, and if you view it for too long (and answer the "Do you want to play" question) you get "zapped" and within 48 hours you will die. Trust me, you don't want to hear any more about the loosely constructed plot. Just know that the movie is super bad.

There you go, one okay movie and one bad movie. I guess I should have picked that Greek Wedding movie, but oh well.



"Oh would you stop being all stealthy and just get in the truck"- Tom Servo
Promote this thread!
OlFuzzyBastard
Knackwurst








Since: 28.4.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 2 days
AIM:  
#2 Posted on
The official website for "Fear Dot Com" is www.feardotcom.com

Doesn't that just say it all?



"The only difference between lilies and turds are those humankind have agreed upon, and I don't always agree."
---George Carlin

"Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music."
---Anon.
A-MOL
Frankfurter








Since: 26.6.02
From: York, England

Since last post: 3781 days
Last activity: 3723 days
#3 Posted on
Am I right in thinking Feardotcom is a rip-off of Ring (due to be ruined by DreamWorks next year), subbing a website for a videotape?



...full of energy. Multi-orgasmic, if you will, in a cosmic sort of way."
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 287 days
Last activity: 254 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.44
You know, now that you mention it, the ads for Ring had a very big Feardotcom feel to it. And Ring is coming out this year...in fact I think in October (not sure).

I thought Feardotcom might be okay for a pure splatter film, but I was sadly mistaken. Again, I feel most sorry for Stephen Rea.



"Oh would you stop being all stealthy and just get in the truck"- Tom Servo
Dr Unlikely
Frankfurter








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 27 min.
AIM:  
#5 Posted on
OlFuzzyBastard The official website for "Fear Dot Com" is www.feardotcom.com

Doesn't that just say it all?


That's awesome. I wondered, when seeing the ads, if the site in the movie was supposed to be fear.com or feardotcom.com. I haven't seen it and have no intention of doing so, but I bet it would be a better movie if the evil guy tried to get fear.com but it was taken, and then was also unable to get fear.org or fear.net or any variation thereof and his murderous website had to be geocities.com/Hollywood/Bungalow/~fear.htm or something.
The Great Thomas
Sujuk








Since: 17.6.02
From: Miami, Florida

Since last post: 3283 days
Last activity: 3283 days
#6 Posted on

    Originally posted by A-MOL
    Am I right in thinking Feardotcom is a rip-off of Ring (due to be ruined by DreamWorks next year), subbing a website for a videotape?
Isn't that a Japanese movie, or am I thinking about something else?





American Diversity.
Teapot
Kishke








Since: 1.8.02
From: Louisville KY

Since last post: 72 days
Last activity: 1 day
#7 Posted on

    Originally posted by The Great Thomas

      Originally posted by A-MOL
      Am I right in thinking Feardotcom is a rip-off of Ring (due to be ruined by DreamWorks next year), subbing a website for a videotape?
    Isn't that a Japanese movie, or am I thinking about something else?


Your thought processes are traveling in the proper direction. There's a remake of "The Ring" due to be released by DreamWorks next month.
Pages: 1Thread ahead: In Canada, one is not considered naked if only wearing shoes
Next thread: LOTR Humor
Previous thread: Quickie Thoughts on Millionaire [SPOILER]
(3541 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Hey, guys, not only are they never gonna release the movie, but now, we may never get the DVD's either, since they wanna release them in tandem with the movie. Isn't that great?! This MPEG pretty much sums up my feelings Click Here
- Keith Myath, a sad day for Mr. Show fans :'( (2002)
Related threads: New Movies For Weekend of August 16th - BFI Film List -- Kane wins again - Wrestler Directed Movie - More...
The W - Random - Swimfan & Feardotcom ReviewsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.173 seconds.