The W
Views: 99163141
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.9.14 0942
The W - Movies & TV - Superbad review
This thread has 18 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.43
Pages: 1
(3431 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (18 total)
Doc_whiskey
Frankfurter








Since: 6.8.02
From: St. Louis

Since last post: 53 days
Last activity: 53 days
AIM:  
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.70
I saw a sneak preview of Superbad last night, holy crap was this movie hilarious. The whole theater was pretty much laughing the whole way through, and incredibly hard in most places. I highly recommend grabbing as many people as you can and taking them to this movie on Friday. Hell, I saw it for free but may see it again just because they deserve my money. Go see it as soon as possible!



Lisa: Poor predicatble Bart, always picks rock
Bart: Good ole rock, nothing beats that
Promote this thread!
AWArulz
Knackwurst








Since: 28.1.02
From: Louisville, KY

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 6 min.
AIM:  
Y!:
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.58
I just got off the phone with my 17 year old son and he told that this was the worst movie he had ever seen, hands down.



http://myspace.com/awarulz
Signature
We'll be back right after order has been restored here in the Omni Center.
JustinShapiro
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 12.12.01
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 15 min.
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.72
More like SuperGOOD. So tremendous. I know it's not a competition, but compared to the last two Apatow auteured movies (I know Seth Rogen wrote this but we all know he's just an extension of Judd), I think some of their Lines may have been better, be they written or improvised, but this had the best story by a lot and my favorite performance out of anyone in those movies in Michael Cera, who does 'perturbed by sex' even better than Steve Carell.

I make that comparison to put things in perspective but this is still different in a lot of ways from the two Judd movies even if it has the same aspects of sex & swearing & sweetness & soul. It's more plot-driven and maybe a little "tighter." Whatever it is, it's just awesome is what it is. It certainly confirms Rogen as a double-threat and Michael Cera as North America's greatest national resource. I'm superglad he's now fully ingratiated as part of the Apatow Movement, which has turned into the Bill Walsh coaching tree of comedy. It ensures that we'll get to see him not just get a lot of Parts, but parts in good movies working with many of the important figures.

If I had one complaint it would be that it was too tantalizing to see Clark Duke, a revelation over the last few months, relegated to background, although at least he was in the background a lot, and eventually got a line. I've come around on Jonah Hill, but honestly if the role hadn't called for a fat asshole, I would've been even more psyched about this if it had been Clark in the lead, since we now know he and Michael are the real BFF dream team. But what they lacked in Clark they made up for with a healthy dose of Joe Lo Truglio.

I'm not sure what ol' Jules saw in Seth, but I was actually more taken aback by the actress who portrayed Becca's choice to play "lustful" as a Molly Shannon impression.

(edited by JustinShapiro on 19.8.07 0231)
hansen9j
Andouille








Since: 7.11.02
From: Riderville, SK

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 10 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.33
Really. there are only seven words that can sum it up:

"When it was over, the audience applauded."

Seriously. I have NEVER seen that before.



Proud member of the Dwight Army of Champions.

Word Up, Thome
Tribal Prophet
Andouille








Since: 9.1.02
From: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Since last post: 36 days
Last activity: 1 day
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.36
    Originally posted by hansen9j
    Really. there are only seven words that can sum it up:

    "When it was over, the audience applauded."

    Seriously. I have NEVER seen that before.


I saw that last week with Rush Hour 3. Of course, I liked Rush Hour 3, but there was no applause at the end of Superbad when I saw it, although it seemed as if most everyone thought it was great.

The first 15 minutes or so worried most people in the theater it seemed. We all were worried that it would be nothing but Seth swearing and saying 'cock' and 'pussy' four times a sentence for the rest of the movie. Once it got going and Mclovin and the cops were involved and it basically became a LOT less about Seth, it got really funny fast.

After it was over everyone was talking about the sequel being something along the lines of "Superbad 2: Mclovin's Police Academy" or "Superbad 2: Mclovin Goes To College" so easy to see who everyone there came to see.


Tribal Prophet
oldschoolhero
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: nWo Country

Since last post: 1957 days
Last activity: 1891 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.00
    Originally posted by AWArulz
    I just got off the phone with my 17 year old son and he told that this was the worst movie he had ever seen, hands down.


Seriously, what the Hell? This is possibly the funniest, sweetest, most real comedy movie of the year.



To those who say people wouldn't look; they wouldn't be interested; they're too complacent, indifferent and insulated, I can only reply: There is, in one reporter's opinion, considerable evidence against that contention. But even if they are right, what have they got to lose? Because if they are right, and this instrument is good for nothing but to entertain, amuse and insulate, then the tube is flickering now and we will soon see that the whole struggle is lost. This instrument can teach, it can illuminate; yes, and it can even inspire. But it can do so only to the extent that humans are determined to use it to those ends. Otherwise it is merely wires, and lights, in a box.-Edward R. Murrow
AWArulz
Knackwurst








Since: 28.1.02
From: Louisville, KY

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 6 min.
AIM:  
Y!:
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.58
    Originally posted by oldschoolhero
      Originally posted by AWArulz
      I just got off the phone with my 17 year old son and he told that this was the worst movie he had ever seen, hands down.


    Seriously, what the Hell? This is possibly the funniest, sweetest, most real comedy movie of the year.


I merely repeat. He said it was uncomfortable and not funny. Different strokes.



http://myspace.com/awarulz
Signature
We'll be back right after order has been restored here in the Omni Center.
Big Bad
Scrapple








Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 9 hours
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.10
I enjoyed it, but perhaps not as much as I thought I would. There were a few real slow points. I'm probably in the minority on this, but Hader and Rogen really didn't bring a ton to the table. Their characters seemed more suited to an SNL skit than being central to the film.

That said, the scene where McLovin gets his license and the two are berating him had me crying with laughter. Same with the scene with Seth arguing with his home ec teacher.

    Originally posted by JustinShapiro
    I'm not sure what ol' Jules saw in Seth, but I was actually more taken aback by the actress who portrayed Becca's choice to play "lustful" as a Molly Shannon impression.


Well, she was supposed to be drunk. At least she wasn't kicking her legs up and yelling about how sheeeeeee's FIFTY

(edited by Big Bad on 19.8.07 2138)


Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 10 hours
Last activity: 8 hours
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.48
    Originally posted by AWArulz
      Originally posted by oldschoolhero
        Originally posted by AWArulz
        I just got off the phone with my 17 year old son and he told that this was the worst movie he had ever seen, hands down.


      Seriously, what the Hell? This is possibly the funniest, sweetest, most real comedy movie of the year.


    I merely repeat. He said it was uncomfortable and not funny. Different strokes.


My guess would be some of the incidences in the film cut a tad too close to home for him.

This was funny as shit though. I couldn't stop laughing through out the whole damn thing.

McLovin's Police Academy would RULE! That character totally deserves a film on his own.
StaggerLee
Scrapple








Since: 3.10.02
From: Right side of the tracks

Since last post: 3 hours
Last activity: 55 min.
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.37
Simply the funniest movie I've seen in the theaters since ANCHORMAN. I laughed out loud throughout the movie.

A terrific movie!
KJames199
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 10.12.01
From: #yqr

Since last post: 22 hours
Last activity: 23 min.
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.52
    Originally posted by AWArulz
    I merely repeat. He said it was uncomfortable and not funny. Different strokes.
I find this fascinating. I saw the movie and loved it. My girlfriend enjoyed the movie, but not as much as I did - she said that the movie was made for people who are or were once teenage boys. And I couldn't help but think that as much as I loved the movie (I'm 30 - for a few more hours, anyway), I wouldn't have enjoyed it if I had seen it when I was 17. It would have felt both too familiar and too foreign - and too awkward. Also, I had awful taste in, well, everything.



JK
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 16 hours
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.76
I pretty much loved it as well, although I would put it below 40YOV and Knocked Up. Both of those movies seemed much more realistic, and while Superbad isn't supposed to be filled with realism per se, it was too out there.

I have to second the hetero man-love of Michael Cera. Like Topher Grace as Eric Forman, I think that Cera makes every piece of dialogue better solely through his delivery and facial expressions. He made this movie for me. Add Jonah Hill's good work and the greatness that was McLovin, and I thought they carried the movie past its failings in the script.

What got old for me was the cops and McLovin. After a while, it just was too much for me to relate to at all, and while the "Shit, it's the cops" line said by Bill Hader got the biggest laugh in the theater I was in, I didn't laugh. That line just solidified my view of that whole subplot as being too removed from reality.

Again, this was a very funny movie and I might see it again, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed by it not fully living up to the hype.



Click Here (czwfans.com)

For all your CZW and Nickels Trivia information.

"Put on your helmets, we'll be reaching speeds of 3!"
"It was nice of you to give that dead woman another chance."
"All right, look alive everybody...oh sorry Susan."- MST3K: Space Mutiny
Click Here (myspace.com)
Bullitt
Shot in the dark








Since: 11.1.02
From: Houston

Since last post: 10 days
Last activity: 10 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.34
    Originally posted by Torchslasher
    I have to second the hetero man-love of Michael Cera...I think that Cera makes every piece of dialogue better solely through his delivery and facial expressions.


This is 100% correct. Cera needs to be in every movie made from here on out. The kid makes me laugh every time I see him.

Venom
Boudin rouge








Since: 15.1.03

Since last post: 2575 days
Last activity: 2545 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.66
Whenever I see Michael Cera, I think of "Kitty Cat Man". But I was probably only one of the dozens watching Tim and Eric Awesome show.

Awesome movie, hope it makes a billion dollars. The king of the Apatow hill is still 40 Year Old Virgin...I thought Knocked Up had the better story while Superbad was way funnier. The audience for my showing was laughing so hard (and so was I) that me and my friends kept missing jokes. Guess I'll have to go see it again.



WoW Wisdom:
"And then there's aggro to worry about."
"What's 'aggro'?"
"Well, it's complicated. But loosely translated, it means 'the priest dies.'"
geemoney
Scrapple








Since: 26.1.03
From: Naples, FL

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 1 hour
AIM:  
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.52
Hilarious movie, funnier than "Knocked Up" and "40 Year Old Virgin," and StaggerLee could be right, it's up there close to "Anchorman" with how many laughs it got out of me.

I didn't think Rogen and Hader would be on screen for long, but they took up a lot of the movie. Still, I thought they were great, especially when they crashed the party.

It seemed Cera was pretty much playing his George Michael character from "Arrested Development," if only he grew up in a different family and had, ya know, friends. I've liked Hill in the movies he's been in, but I thought he was a bit wasted (no pun intended) here, as most of his lines were yelling and swearing. I guess that was his character though.

I was also surprised by the amount of raunch- I'm not one to get offended, but it was certainly more than I was expecting. If you're not turned off by that, I implore anyone to check it out. Actually, I'd be interested to hear more of what the female demo thought of it, since perhaps I liked it so much because I could identify, as a male who was once of high-school age.



College, Sports and More!: Experience It



OndaGrande
Kolbasz








Since: 1.5.03
From: California, Home of THE LAKERS!

Since last post: 67 days
Last activity: 30 min.
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.05

saw it last night. Laughed throughout the whole thing. of course alot hit close to home. it seems teenage life is the same in any era. there were alot of teenage girls in the audience and they seemed to think it was funny too. even laughing at the raunchy stuff. I felt there was a good balance of things the way they happen and that would be nice if they did. great summer movie, highly recommend it.



LEARN IT, KNOW IT, LIVE IT!
EddieBurkett
Boudin blanc








Since: 3.1.02
From: GA in person, NJ in heart

Since last post: 11 days
Last activity: 15 min.
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.79
Was I the only one who thought Emma Stone looked better with the black eye?

This movie was flat-out awesome!



You believe me, don't you?
Please believe what I just said...
It's False
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: I am the Tag Team Champions!

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 6 hours
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.64
This movie was really good. AWArulz, I can see where the initial hate for it might come from. I kept watching it with that initial sense of dread that either a really uncomfortable moment or a horrible American Pie-style gross-out moment would happen, but it never came. The movie turned out to be genuinely funny throughout and the characters turned out to be very likable.

I think this is definitely a movie that gets better when watching it the second time around. DVD sales should be huge!




Buy Kanye West's "Graduation" (The W at Amazon) and YOU can help send 50 Cent into retirement (and put some money into The W while you're at it)!
Thread rated: 5.43
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: 530 DVDs coming out 8/28/07
Next thread: WAR... what is it good for? (MAJOR SPOILER!)
Previous thread: Flight of the Conchords, you're so big
(3431 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
jam, I live in Columbia also. I think I knew Tyrone, but where did he go to school?
The W - Movies & TV - Superbad reviewRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.207 seconds.