The W
Views: 98556101
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
30.8.14 2332
The W - Pro Wrestling - Summer! Slam! Preview! And! Predictions! (Page 2)
This thread has 21 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.27
Pages: Prev 1 2
(5038 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (36 total)
The Vile1
Lap cheong








Since: 4.9.02
From: California

Since last post: 1959 days
Last activity: 1691 days
#21 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.66
What a waste for Benoit being stuck in yet ANOTHER PPV match with the waste of space that is Orlando Jordan.




"Don't compare my arm...to your cheap arm!"
-Edward Elric
Mayhem
Scrapple








Since: 25.4.03
From: Nashville, TN

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 1 day
#22 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.81
I'm wondering if Carlito inadvertently costs Jericho the match, the starting the turn of the Cabana boy's face run.

There are plenty of heels he could feud with for the IC title ... Conway, Masters, a heel Shelton ...

(edited by Mayhem on 17.8.05 0947)




In honor of Emerson, my little Superman ...
Whattaburger
Boerewors








Since: 18.5.04
From: Badstreet USA

Since last post: 140 days
Last activity: 140 days
#23 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.96
    Originally posted by Mayhem
    I'm wondering if Carlito inadvertently costs Jericho the match, the starting the turn of the Cabana boy's face run.

    There are plenty of heels he could feud with for the IC title ... Conway, Masters, a heel Shelton ...

    (edited by Mayhem on 17.8.05 0947)


Why? Keep Carlito heel. Keep Christian heel. Period. I don't understand why everyone feels the need to turn every good heel, face and then later complain about it because A) there aren't enough good heels to have/carry feuds or B) the newly turned face has quickly become stale (i.e.--everyone's complaints about Cena.)

Just boo.

(edited by Whattaburger on 17.8.05 1010)

(edited by Whattaburger on 17.8.05 1011)

Mmmmm...now that is a tasty burger!
PsychoticMidget
Polska kielbasa








Since: 2.12.04
From: Detroit, MI

Since last post: 3068 days
Last activity: 3068 days
#24 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.77
WWE Championship Match:
John Cena vs. Chris Jericho
What I Want: Jericho wins, either cleanly or by cheating
What Will Happen: Cena wins cleanly

World Championship No Holds Barred Match:
Batista vs. John Layfield
What I Want: Batista wins cleanly
What Will Happen: Batista wins cleanly

Legend vs. Icon:
Hulk Hogan vs. Shawn Michaels
What I Want: After an amazing performance fighting back a Hulk-up, HBK readies Sweet Chin Music when all of a sudden, Bret Hart's music hits. Hart comes out and calmly walks to the ring, although there is fire in his eyes. He rounds the ring, grabs a chair, and enters the ring. HBK, shaking off being stunned, runs at Hart and gets a chairshot for his troubles. Hulk gets up, goes over to Bret with extended hand but then Hulk gets a chairshot. Bret asks for a microphone, gets it, and proceeds to give a promo on how wrong they both are, that he just heard he'll be inducted at the Hall of Fame this year, and etc. No contest.
What Will Happen: Hulk wins cleanly.

"She was mine at about the same time she was yours!":
Matt Hardy vs. Edge [seconded by Lita]
What I Want: Matt wins in any way.
What Will Happen: Matt wins in any way.

Legend vs. Legend Killer...AGAIN!:
The Undertaker vs. Randy Orton
What I Want: The Undertaker murders Randy Orton and wins cleanly.
What Will Happen: Orton wins by cheating.

A Lame Angle May Be Saved...BY A LADDER MATCH!!:
Rey Mysterio vs. Eddie Guerrero
What I Want: Eddie wins cleanly, tosses the custody papers next to a defeated Rey.
What Will Happen: Rey wins cleanly.

Gold Medal Grudge Match:
Eugene vs. Kurt Angle
What I Want: Angle wins cleanly.
What Will Happen: Angle wins cleanly.

WWE United States Championship Match:
Orlando Jordan vs. Chris Benoit
What I Want: Benoit wins cleanly.
What Will Happen: Benoit wins cleanly.




We're the middle children of history...no purpose or place. We have no Great War, no Great Depression. Our great war, our defining crucible, is a spiritual war.

hhhgamewmx7
Bockwurst








Since: 15.6.03
From: Eire

Since last post: 3212 days
Last activity: 3190 days
#25 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
Hogan over HBK simply because HBK has dominated the build.
Cena over Y2J.
Angle over Eugene.
Batista over JBL.
Eddie over Rey.
Benoit over Jordan.
Matt over Edge.
Orton over Taker.
Bret won't be there. And I'm surprised how many think so.



Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#26 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.75
Batista over JBL. Batista next feuds with Randy Orton.

Orton over Taker in screwy fashion (interference or low blow or something). Orton's "win" gets him the next title shot with Batista.

Benoit over Jordan.

Eddie over Rey via Dominick turn ("Daddy, you're a drunk! I worship Raven now!")

HBK over Hogan (more of a wish than anything else)

Matt Hardy over Edge

Cena over Y2J (ugh)

Angle over Eugene to win back medals and then feud with Cena





Click Here (czwfans.com)

For all your CZW and Nickels Trivia information. I am now the Sex Division Trivia Champion, and on September 10 I face someone who actually works part time in the WWE! Will I be starstruck, or will I hold him down worse than the WWE holds down Val Venis? STAY TUNED!

"Look guys, it's 'Lake Man!' Hope you can fit into our NARROW office, Mr. Big Lake" --MST3K The Collection V. 7
hhhgamewmx7
Bockwurst








Since: 15.6.03
From: Eire

Since last post: 3212 days
Last activity: 3190 days
#27 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
Over at WWE.com they have several predictions from Mick Foley, Vader of all people, Bob Orton Jr., Droz, Billy Graham and Bobby Heenan. Heenan has some great lines like between Mysterio and Guerrero ''the Hispanic guy will win'' and says Orlando Jordan sounds like an old pair of tennis shoes.

Also they have added the video packages that will be used on the PPV for Sunday. As usual, they are awesome, especially the last 30 seconds of the HBK/Hogan vid.

(edited by hhhgamewmx7 on 20.8.05 0444)


CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 492 days
Last activity: 491 days
ICQ:  
#28 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.34
Shawn Michaels over Hulk Hogan
John Cena over Chris Jericho
Batista over JBL
Randy Orton over The Undertaker
Matt Hardy over Edge
Kurt Angle over Eugene
Eddie Guerrero over Rey Mysterio
Chris Benoit over Orlando Jordan

Bonus predictions:
Paul London vs Nunzio on Heat
Quarterly Chance Meeting Between Raw and SmackDown Superstars: Mercury, Nitro and Melina bump into Hurricane, Rosey and Super Stacey.
No Bret Hart.




The book... is... HERE!!!

Inside The Ropes lives on!!!
The official Canadian Bulldog Blog, Website, and Merchandise Center.
y4j1981
Kolbasz








Since: 1.4.03
From: Dale City, Virginia

Since last post: 1933 days
Last activity: 1873 days
#29 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.49
WWE SummerSlam

WWE RAW
WWE Championship;
"Y2J" Chris Jericho vs John Cena(c)
WINNER: Cena

Icon vs Legend;
"HBK" Shawn Michaels vs "Immortal" Hulk Hogan
WINNER: HBK

"Olympic Gold Medalist" Eugene vs "Olympic Gold Medalist" Kurt Angel
WINNER: Angle

Matt Hardy vs Edge w/Lita
WINNER: Hardy


WWE SMACKDOWN
World Heavyweight Championship:
No Holds Barred;
"JBL" John Bradshaw Layfield vs "The Animal" Batista(c)
WINNER: Batista

U.S. Championship;
"Rapid Wolverine" Chris Benoit vs Orlando Jordan(c)
WINNER: Benoit

Ladder Match;
Eddie Guerrero vs Rey Mysterio
WINNER: Rey Rey

"Legend Killer" Randy Orton vs "Phenom" The Undertaker
WINNER: Orton


I am going to SS this year so everyone better show up. That means Bret, Trish, Lesnar, Bob Backlund, Glacier, etc.



"I shall finish the game"
SKLOKAZOID
Bratwurst








Since: 20.3.02
From: California

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 10 hours
AIM:  
#30 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.45
    Originally posted by Freeway420
    WWE Championship Match:
    John Cena [Champeen] vs. Chris Jericho [Challenger; seconded by Eric Bischoff]

John Cena.

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    World Championship No Holds Barred Match:
    Batista [Champeen] vs. John Layfield [Challenger; possibly seconded by Orlando Jordan]
I have a feeling they're going to try and put the title back on Bradshaw soon, but not THIS soon. Batista.

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    Legend vs. Icon:
    Hulk Hogan vs. Shawn Michaels
Hogan. Gotta put the face over in a match like this. HBK has been running his mouth for weeks and he needs his comeuppance.

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    "She was mine at about the same time she was yours!":
    Matt Hardy vs. Edge [seconded by Lita]
Edge by DQ after Matt stabs Edge to death.

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    Legend vs. Legend Killer...AGAIN!:
    The Undertaker vs. Randy Orton
Considering the circumstances surrounding this match, that UT was originally going to be against Hassan or something, UT wins. Orton winning would obviously help him, but this slot on the card was originally supposed to put UT over and I have a feeling they haven't changed from that plan.

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    A Lame Angle May Be Saved...BY A LADDER MATCH!!:
    Rey Mysterio vs. Eddie Guerrero
Eddie, because WWE likes to drag these soap opera angles out for a while (think Goldust losing to Pillman at SummerSlam '97). Rey winning would be the crowd pleaser, and they may not have enough of these on the crowd, so Rey could still win.

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    Gold Medal Grudge Match:
    Eugene [seconded by Christy Hemme] vs. Kurt Angle
Angle. If Angle is on his way to another title shot, it makes no sense to put Eugene over here.

    Originally posted by Freeway420
    WWE United States Championship Match:
    Orlando Jordan [Champeen] vs. Chris Benoit
Probably Benoit, but the US title really does nothing for him. This may be Benoit's "Yeah, you're over, but we're not going to put the World title on you ever again, so this will have to do" belt.
saturn93
Pickled pork








Since: 21.4.03
From: Naperville, IL

Since last post: 16 days
Last activity: 15 days
#31 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.17
If only the price of the pay per view was no so high, this would have been one of those cards that I would be interested in. However, here are my predictions...in the order of I think they should appear.

1) Eugene/Angle (Gold medal match) - Angle wins by submission (Angle Slam to Leglock).

2) Guerrero/Mysterio (Winner takes the kid match) - Mysterio wins by the custody paper take from the ladder, ending the annoyance of this storyline, but Guerrero will find something else to get under Mysterio's skin.

3) Hardy/Edge (Where reality meets kayfabe match) - Don't expect any actual wrestling holds in this match. Hardy wins by pin (Accidental use of briefcase to Edge's head by Lita). However, it will take 3-4 PPV's before this is over. Of course, Edge will end up beating Hardy to a pulp after the match.

4) Jordan/Benoit (WWE US Title match part 2) - Benoit wins by submittion (Crossface).

5) Cena/Jericho (WWE Spinning Belt match) - Cena by pin (Bischoff interference backfires to FU).

6) Orton/UT (WM rematch/Legend vs. Legend Killer match) - UT dominates, and Orton wins by pin (use of int'l object while ref in KO'd, then uses RKO).

7) Hogan/HBK (Legend vs. Icon/"The One More Match" match/"The Two Old, Broken Down, Balding Men" match - This is one match that could go either way. I will give a reason for each. A) For Hogan, if this is his last match, this would be a great way to close his career. B) For HBK, to beat Hogan, it would be a huge jewel to his eventual Hall Of Fame career. Both men will give it their all for this match. I have this as the end if was writing this match. HBK goes for the Sweet Chin Music, and Hogan ends up blocking it. Hogan slams him, legdrop, 1-2-3, Hogan wins. HBK staggers up, offers a handshake, and Hogan & HBK embrace.

8) Batista/JBL (World Heavyweight Non-Spinning Belt Match/No Holds Barred Rematch from the Bash) - I had to save it for last due to the hometown factor. Anyway, this is the "Blood Match," and most of it comes from JBL. Batista wins by pin (Jordan interference backfires to Batista Bomb).

As for the backstage, I don't care what they do. They could bring in any 1980's wrestler for no apparent reason until they get dragged into a match on Raw or Smackdown next week.

I think the Hogan/HBK and Hardy/Edge matches would be quite interesting.
ekedolphin
Scrapple








Since: 12.1.02
From: Indianapolis, IN; now residing in Suffolk, VA

Since last post: 73 days
Last activity: 18 days
#32 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.52
Well, here are my predictions (and I'll be watching SummerSlam live at Baker Street, making it the fourth PPV I've attended this year [along with WrestleMania 21, ECW One Night Stand and Great American Bash])...

Hulk Hogan defeats Shawn Michaels, unfortunately.

John Cena defeats Chris Jericho to retain the WWE Title (unfortunately).

Batista defeats JBL to retain the World Title, hallelujah.

Matt Hardy defeats Edge, boo-yeah!

Chris Benoit defeats Orlando Jordan to win the U.S. Title, about freakin' time.

Randy Orton defeats The Undertaker, bah.

Eddie Guerrero "finally" defeats Rey Mysterio "for the first time", gaining custody of Dominick, and hopefully the entire storyline turns out to be an illusion of my deranged, feverish mind.

Kurt Angle defeats Eugene to regain possession of his gold medal.

I wouldn't be overly surprised to see Christian face a member of the Mexicools, possibly Juventud, at either the pay-per-view or on Heat. If so, I'd look for Christian to lose, unfortunately.

I wouldn't be overly surprised to see "LOD" beat Random Jobber Tag-Team #517, but only on Heat-- not on the pay-per-view.

And Booker T might make an appearance of some description, facing a member of MNM. If so, I look for Booker to lose.

And here's my big "unexpected swerve" of the night-- I think that while Bret Hart won't appear, Brock Lesnar will appear, probably by insinuating himself into the World Title match.



“Great. He spends skill points on Perform (Kazoo), and now I have to make a Knowledge (Limits of My Own Sanity) skill check."
--Roy Greenhilt, The Order of the Stick

Four-Time Wiener of the Day (5/27/02; 7/3/02; 7/30/04; 8/28/04)

The Only Five-Time (and Last) N.E.W. World Heavyweight Champion

Certified RFMC Member-- Ask To See My Credentials!

hhhgamewmx7
Bockwurst








Since: 15.6.03
From: Eire

Since last post: 3212 days
Last activity: 3190 days
#33 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
''Ashley was crowned the 2005 Diva Search winner and will be at Summerslam. Don't be surprised if she's rudely interrupted by Trish Stratus, who returned at Ontario live events last week''

That is from the Ottawa Sun, and sure makes alot of sense since on Ashleys interview on IGN she said she was expecting to do something at SummerSlam. Expect some matches to be shaved of some time. They should leave this segment until Raw.



Freeway
Scrapple








Since: 3.1.02
From: Calgary

Since last post: 251 days
Last activity: 2 days
#34 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.97
    Originally posted by hhhgamewmx7
    ''Ashley was crowned the 2005 Diva Search winner and will be at Summerslam. Don't be surprised if she's rudely interrupted by Trish Stratus, who returned at Ontario live events last week''

    That is from the Ottawa Sun, and sure makes alot of sense since on Ashleys interview on IGN she said she was expecting to do something at SummerSlam. Expect some matches to be shaved of some time. They should leave this segment until Raw.


Uh...no.

Last year's SummerSlam was 8 matches plus Diva Dodgeball.
This year's SummerSlam is 8 matches plus whatever miscellany they decide to trot out.



DVDs; Blog

Deputy Marshall
Liverwurst








Since: 28.6.04
From: Troy, NY

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 3 days
#35 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.98
Hulk Hogan vs. Shawn Michaels
- With Michaels seeming getting so much build and airtime going into this, I gotta think Hogan's gonna win.
Prediction - Hogan

WWE CHAMPIONSHIP - John Cena (c) vs. Chris Jericho
- I've enjoyed the buildup to this feud, as Jericho's been absolutely fantastic. Could've done without Bischoff though, since it then became more about Bischoff trying to get the title off Cena than Jericho trying to win, which pretty much telegraphs the result.
Prediction - Cena retains.

WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP - Batista (c) vs. JBL
- The decision to keep the title on Batista SHOULD be a no-brainer, but you never know with WWE creative. This needs to be Batista completely decimating JBL towards the end and getting a decisive win. On top of that, I think to save the JBL character some face and prevent the act from getting stale(r), they should give him a month or two off.
Prediction - Batista retains.

Josh Hartnett Randy Orton vs. The Undertaker
- I think Orton needs to win here. Having a long-term feud that pops up on and off isn't bad, but you can't have a legitimate threat to Batista's title be that guy who can't beat the Undertaker. I expect a screwjob finish here. I wonder if THE BOOGEYMAN IS COMIN' TO GETCHA?! That guy's gimmick just reeks of immediate feud with Undertaker (followed by a release three months later).
Prediction - Orton.

CUSTODY OF DOMINICK LADDER MATCH - Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio
- This is sort of a tough one to call. A lot of time and effort has been put into this feud (which I feel has been good despite an incredibly hokey premise), but I wonder how much thought has been put into which one they really want to push. I'm guessing Guerrero.
Prediction - Guerrero.

U.S. CHAMPIONSHIP - Orlando Jordan (c) vs. Chris Benoit
- Enough already.
Prediction - Chris Benoit

Matt Hardy vs. Edge
- ...I'm sorry, I have to admit that I've already stopped caring. They've really bungled this feud in the past three weeks.
Prediction - probably Hardy.

GOLD MEDAL CHALLENGE - Kurt Angle vs. Eugene
- People have been bitching and moaning about this match even taking place. However, I think it's a good way to portray Angle as unmerciful, ruthless, and dangerous, which is the direction his character's been going for awhile now. And hey, it's better than not having him on the card at all.
Prediction - Kurt Angle




Cuz if you got friends,
and if they don't dance, well they're
no friends of mine!
chill
Landjager








Since: 18.5.02

Since last post: 2633 days
Last activity: 2633 days
#36 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.96
Hulk Hogan vs. Shawn Michaels
-HBK wins.

WWE CHAMPIONSHIP - John Cena (c) vs. Chris Jericho
-Cena retains.

WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP - Batista (c) vs. JBL
-JBL regains the title, due to interference from Brock Lesnar.

Randy Orton vs. The Undertaker
-Orton wins.

CUSTODY OF DOMINICK LADDER MATCH - Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio
-Eddie wins.

U.S. CHAMPIONSHIP - Orlando Jordan (c) vs. Chris Benoit
-Benoit wins the US Title.

Matt Hardy vs. Edge
-Edge wins.

GOLD MEDAL CHALLENGE - Kurt Angle vs. Eugene
-Kurt Angle wins.



Take the plunge. Step into liquid.
dvd shelf // game shelf // top 20 // laird // tv guide //

Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread rated: 4.27
Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread ahead: Airport meeting
Next thread: Rediculous DVD's
Previous thread: Summerslam Pregame
(5038 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I haven't been able to get up for this season UNTIL it became a Maryse-based program. Let's open up Maryse's conundrum to everyone: would you choose millions of dollars or NXT fun?
- JustinShapiro, WWE NXT - 12.04.11 (2011)
Related threads: SummerSlam pressconference - funny note about the undertaker/jbl match - Summerslam Results Thread - More...
The W - Pro Wrestling - Summer! Slam! Preview! And! Predictions! (Page 2)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.394 seconds.