The W
Views: 98322138
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
21.8.14 0708
The W - Video Games - Something Awful reviews "WCW Wrestling"
This thread has 62 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(2972 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (8 total)
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 20 days
Last activity: 2 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.04
http://www.somethingawful.com/articles.php?a=496

Some pretty funny stuff concerning an old NES "classic" ...



That looks like Diamond Dallas Page in that picture, doesn't it?








Alessandro "Hercules" Boondy

  • Primordial Soup Productions (Returning Soon!)
  • The Mean Green







    Which Princess Bride Character are You?


    I make the examination of this shipment, he pleasant true altitude of the enamel, hard give to return to this feminine line lateral and posts he in the right its donkey of the sugar refinery! If odore he, of who the cook of the form of the cliff!
    --"Translation" of a popular Rock catchphrase (guess which one!)


  • Promote this thread!
    Underwater
    Boerewors








    Since: 5.10.02
    From: Battle Creek, Michigan

    Since last post: 3215 days
    Last activity: 2864 days
    #2 Posted on
    If I could find all my old NES games, I probably still have it. And screw the bullshit, IT RULES. Stupid snotty gamers with their No Mercy and Fire Pro D, I'll take WCW and Pro Wrestling anyday dammit!

    A WINNER IS ME



    It's like a koala bear crapped a rainbow in my brain!

    Can't Do It In Real Life? Do It On Underwater. YES PLEASE
    Torchslasher
    Knackwurst








    Since: 17.1.02
    From: New F'n Jersey

    Since last post: 316 days
    Last activity: 283 days
    #3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.44
    That was a funny review, but I think I still prefer Scotsman's wrestling video game reviews better.

    Review WCW THUNDER (sorry, inside joke).



    The call is from heroism; will you accept the charges?

    Treasurer of the RFMC.

    Thanks to the exciting non-finish to RR 2K3, I have nothing to write about Spf here. Please go about your business as usual. Thank you.
    ekedolphin
    Scrapple








    Since: 12.1.02
    From: Indianapolis, IN; now residing in Suffolk, VA

    Since last post: 63 days
    Last activity: 8 days
    #4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.52
    Damn, even in the video games, an abdominal stretch was an important part of the WCW experience. Now if they could only have had the attacker grabbing the ropes, and the victim screaming as if being tortured to death, the whole thing would've been just like WCW.

    (This is a WCW mark speaking, by the way. But that always did bug me.)



    “Randy Savage is in, and he's nuts!”

    --Tony Schiavone, WCW Bash at the Beach 1996

    Two-Time, Two-Time Randomly Selected Wiener of the Day, 5/27/02 and 7/3/02

    Certified RFMC Member-- Ask To See My Credentials!

    Leroy
    Andouille








    Since: 7.2.02
    From: Huntington, NY

    Since last post: 7 days
    Last activity: 13 min.
    #5 Posted on
    My favorite part the WCW Wrestling game was the weapon available outside the ring - namely a wrench that magically flew out of your hand the moment you stuck your opponent with it. (The finishing moves were pretty cool too...)

    I still enjoy playing the Vs. Pro wrestling game every now and then. That game was a blast...



    "It's hard to be a prophet and still make a profit."
    - Da Bush Babees
    RKMtwin
    Boudin rouge








    Since: 1.3.02
    From: Denver, Colorado

    Since last post: 2120 days
    Last activity: 1563 days
    #6 Posted on
    The sure fire way to totally kick ass in WCW Wrestling was if you had an NES Max controller (the baby brother of the Advantage) and used the turbo button to lay in kicks to gain the advantage. I used that strategy and ended WHOOPIN' the WCW Master!

    I loved that game more than most my brother and I had for NES, and playing against another person was always a chaotic and fun experience! My friends would get PISSED when I'd back drop their wrestler on his head with Road Warrior Hawk! Ah, memories!
    It always bothered me how ALL of the wrestlers had those red, yellow, or blue leggings and black tights, though. And Luger without cuts OR mass?! WTF?!?!

    And for some reason, I always jammed out to that game's music! Does that make me weird or lame?



    David Crockett sez it best, folks: "Look at 'im, Tony! Look at 'im!"
    Stephanie
    Landjager








    Since: 2.1.02
    From: Madison, WI

    Since last post: 458 days
    Last activity: 11 days
    #7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.22
    I'm more concerned about these "hentai games" that they review. From their review of one called Critical Point, which apparently features a rape: "It goes without saying that she is also a virgin, since no Hentai rape sequence would be complete without a description of hymen-tearing that would make Hitler cry". It really makes me wonder about these Japanese.

    Steph



    I'm going twenty-four hours a day...I can't seem to stop
    - "Turn Up The Radio", Autograph
    The King of Keith
    Lap cheong








    Since: 4.11.02
    From: Winchester, VA

    Since last post: 251 days
    Last activity: 210 days
    AIM:  
    #8 Posted on
    WCW Wrestling was a lot better than the crap that LJN/Acclaim used to turn out to us. I remember that the shining example of this was the original Wrestlemania game that had bouncing powerups to collect. I shudder when I remember that game.



    Welcome back, Jazz! We missed you!
    Pages: 1Thread ahead: Gamecube Zelda
    Next thread: X-box
    Previous thread: So, how's Metroid Prime coming along for everyone? (Metroid Prime Spoiler)
    (2972 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
    PSN Store Update (Tuesday) PS3 Full Games - Record of Agarest War Zero ($24.99) - Madden NFL 13 ($59.99) PSN Games - Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker HD Edition ($19.99) - The Walking Dead – Episode 3: Long Road Ahead ($4.99) - Rock Band Blitz ($14.99)
    The W - Video Games - Something Awful reviews "WCW Wrestling"Register and log in to post!

    The W™ message board

    ZimBoard
    ©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

    This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.136 seconds.