The W
Views: 97817013
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
30.7.14 1425
The W - Music - Rush Tour review
This thread has 8 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.62
Pages: 1
(2141 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
Perrinthewolf
Longanisa








Since: 18.9.02
From: Corpus Christi,Tx,USA

Since last post: 3180 days
Last activity: 2835 days
AIM:  
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.44
Had the opportunity to see Rush on the 25th in San Antonio. Great show. They played for 3 1/2 hours and had more energy(and sounded better) then most bands half their age.

Set List :
--Montage of several songs from several albums(while they played..a montage of album covers/images of the band were shown on the video screens.)
--Spirit of Radio
--Force Ten
--Animate
--Tom Sawyer
--Roll The Bones
--Earth Shine
--The Trees
--One Little Victory
--Dreamline
--Red Sector A
--Red Barchetta
--Bravado
--Mystic Rhythms
--Between The Wheels
--Neil's Drum Solo
--The Seeker
--YYZ
--2112(Overture/Temples)
--Resist
--Summertime Blues
--Working Man
--Heart Full Of Soul
--Subdivisions
--Secret Touch
--Xanadu



"I overreacted." Bill
Promote this thread!
Dagent913
Bockwurst








Since: 18.11.02
From: Strong Island

Since last post: 3587 days
Last activity: 3118 days
AIM:  
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.81
Sounds like an amazing set. I still hate the fact that I couldn't get tickets to this. By the way, where in that set did the intermission take place?

Oh, and no "La Villa?" Don't tell me there were no weird ramblings/musings/mutterings from Lerxt this time out!



"Moistening your dreams with man-urine."
Phantom Lord
Salami








Since: 18.6.04
From: The Bensonhurst section of Brooklyn, NY

Since last post: 3141 days
Last activity: 2937 days
AIM:  
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.36
Sounds like its going to be a good show.

I picked up Rush live in Rio a few months ago and that's a great live album.





"If you want sumpin' a little stronger, homes, you gotta sip on some Mexican water. It's a little cloudy, and has an odd smell that makes you think it's not really for human consumption. But HOOOOOOOOOOOO-EEEEEEY! What a kick! Arriba~!"-LOP Board Member Uncle Eddy
canucklover
Pickled pork








Since: 16.7.02
From: Vancouver, BC

Since last post: 3373 days
Last activity: 2991 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.00
I picked up their new EP "Feedback" yesterday. Really good stuff. When I first heard that Rush was going to do a CD of cover songs I was worried that it'd be godawful, but I was really surprised at the energy and enthusiasm shown in the 8 songs on Feedback. Highlights are their versions of the Yardbirds' "Heart Full of Soul", the Who/Blue Cheer's version of "Summertime Blues", and an amazing rendition of Cream's take on "Crossroads".

Highly recommended.



"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts"
--Bertrand Russell
Perrinthewolf
Longanisa








Since: 18.9.02
From: Corpus Christi,Tx,USA

Since last post: 3180 days
Last activity: 2835 days
AIM:  
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.45
    Originally posted by Dagent913
    Sounds like an amazing set. I still hate the fact that I couldn't get tickets to this. By the way, where in that set did the intermission take place?

    Oh, and no "La Villa?" Don't tell me there were no weird ramblings/musings/mutterings from Lerxt this time out!


--Let's see...the set list isn't in order,but If I recall right the first set ended with One Little Victory/Second set started,IIRC, Subdivisions.

--As far as "La Villa",I *think* it was a part of the opening montage. I know Passage to Bangkok was a part of the opening.



"I overreacted." Bill
estragand
Summer sausage








Since: 18.6.02

Since last post: 2470 days
Last activity: 2470 days
AIM:  
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.80
Saw them last night (Tuesday 6/27) at Red Rocks, just outside of Denver. Set list was identical to
what's posted above. Although, overall the framework of the set was similar to their last tour- 2002's Vapor Trails.


The opening medley was cool. It was like a mini "behind the music" documentary. The songs got progressively
newer, in synch with the pictures on the screen. Nice touch how the first part of the medley was "Finding my Way"... the first song from the first album. They even threw in a little bit of "Bastille Day".

For this show, they ended the first half with "One Little Victory" then returned for part two with "Tom Sawyer" (or, the "Kerry Von Erich theme song"). They had video packages on the big screens before the first song of each set. Before the opener, there was a nifty animation montage featuring references to all the albums. Then it cut to what I thought was an incredibly UN-funny video with Jerry Stiller to bring the band out.

For the second opener, the video was sort of a "Thunderbirds are GO" homage, featuring Rush bobbleheads. The bobbleheads remained and bounced in sequence to "Tom Sawyer". The video screens would return at various points throughout the set. Usually they depicted some nifty designs or relevant graphics (ex: flying along a road for "Red Barchetta", a map of the suburbs for "Subdivisions", etc). OH yes, they even threw in "La Villa"...and Alex got to do his little vocal ramble. He did a little limmerick about "we have a saying where I come from...fool me once,", etc. Hmm..I suspect Alex might have seen Farenheit 9/11 over the weekend.

The encore set featured "Summertime Blues", "Crossroads" and "Limelight"

Only complaint was that the sound was un-even for the first half. That was most likely due to the rainstorm before the show and the high winds throughout the night. But it's a good show. Go see 'em!

Don't want to steal this post's thunder, but I'll be adding a DUAL review of this show to my website, soon.

(edited by estragand on 30.6.04 1355)


-ES
Visit ES online- it's "Internet Entertainment"!
Perrinthewolf
Longanisa








Since: 18.9.02
From: Corpus Christi,Tx,USA

Since last post: 3180 days
Last activity: 2835 days
AIM:  
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.45
I loved the whole bit with the Dragon channel surfing before the Thunderbirds bit. I also enjoyed the Bobbleheads only getting pissed when the dragon burned up the Rush merch.



"I overreacted." Bill
Thread rated: 5.62
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Will Hoge
Next thread: Article on Jim Morrison's death
Previous thread: Chris Robinson & the New Earth Mud: The Magnificent Distance
(2141 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I suppose it would be tacky to mention the lack of a link?
- drjayphd, Freaking Awesome! (2007)
The W - Music - Rush Tour reviewRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.122 seconds.