The W
Views: 100841210
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
25.11.14 1608
The W - Pro Wrestling - Rise and Fall ECW Review the Matches disc TWO
This thread has 52 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.75
Pages: 1
(5887 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (16 total)
jwrestle
Lap cheong








Since: 4.4.03
From: Nitro WV

Since last post: 200 days
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.45
I went ahead and devided the reviews because so MUCH was covered in the documentary that I couldn't just post it all in one thread because it would strech almost two printable pages, I'm not sure what CRZ would have me do, but this is the way I'm going to do it. Yes, I've noticed questions, on the other ECW thread, about the matches.

FUN FACTS:

-They FINALLY took Rikishi out of the "Please Don't Try This At Home" promo.

-They dubbed over the ECW Music. So the RVD entrance music isn't WALK by Pantera anymore. It's his first WWE/F theme.
The same goes for Tazz. He gets his first theme. I haven't checked other matches yet but I'm guessing/assuming they have done nearly the same thing.

Here is the listed content.

The PITBULLS vs. Raven & Stevie Richards
2 out of 3 Falls match for the ECW Tag Team Championship
9-16-95

Rey Misterio Jr. vs. Psicosis
2 out of 3 Falls
10-17-95

Mikey Whipwreck vs. The Sandman
Ladder Match for ECW Championship
10-28-95

2 Cold Scorpio vs Sabu
ECW World Television Championship Match
2-17-96

Tommy Dreamer vs. Raven
6-6-97
With ALTERNATE COMMENTARY by Coach and Dreamer (REALLY GOOD)

Tazz vs. Bam Bam Bigelow
ECW World Television Championship Match
3-1-98
With ALTERNATE COMMENTARY by Tazz and Cole (AWESOME)

Rob Van Dam vs. Jerry Lynn
ECW World Television Championship Match
5-16-99
With ALTERNATE COMMENTARY by RVD and Cole (RVD is GREAT)

Extended Documentary Footage:

Steven Richards Apologiezes for Leaving ECW
Tazz Seek Paul Heymans's Blessing
Paul Heyman: Travel Agent

Now, I was watching this backwards because I didn't get ECW until 1998, I remember the eariler matches as opposed to the older ones. RVD vs Lynn is one of those spectaular shows put on by the two. It starts off slow and builds into a pretty decent match. RVD comments that these two went toe to toe many nights. It a very interesting commentary by RVD and Cole. "Kayfabed" very little.

The commentary on the Tazz match is nearly the same as the RVD commentary. Tazz points out key points in the match and how it was for his career.

Tommy and the Coach do a great job talking about his match with Raven while they google over Beulah. This is match before Raven heads to WCW.

I haven't watched the other three matches but I think you all are getting the picture on how it's laid out so I'll let you all comment on if they were good enough to make the DVD. Anyways, FINALLY, documentary extras...

These were included eiather to take up some space or to show how ECW was speical. Each one is different in it's own aspect.

The first one has Stevie talking about being young and stupid.

The Second one has Tazz choking up about calling Paul Heyman.

The thrid had Jerchio explaining how travel was always an adventure.

OVERALL yes, once again, get this DVD! If this was a stand alone disc it would also be great but it's NOT! This makes the set even more fun to own, have, and watch. If you want a piece of wrestling history PICK UP THIS DVD SET! Wal-Mart has it for $18.88 and online you can get it for a little over 16 dollars with free shipping. I hope you have enjoyed these reviews because I have sure have. Now, hopefully, somebody give me an Edge book review to find out if it's worth paying cash for. ;-) LATER.



EASTER EGG UPDATE:

This on the Playstation but I figure you can do it with your DVD remote.

RIGHT at the listing for RVD vs. Lynn match RVD Shows Scar.

Left Left at Tazz vs. Bigalow to see build up to Tazz vs. Bigalow match.

Mikey Whipwreck training is mentioned in the other ECW thread but I'll post it here anyways RIght Right at the Whipwreck vs Sandman

(edited by jwrestle on 17.11.04 1503)


The next WWE Creative person that says, "We don't have anything for you", gets a free rectal exam!

J.J. Dillon: "I'd rather flip burgers at McDonald's than work for Vince McMahon again." July, 3 2004
New Era Of Wrestling
Promote this thread!
DJ FrostyFreeze
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Hawthorne, CA

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 36 min.
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95

I shopped around TARGET.com, WALMART.com, SUNCOAST.com, AMAZON.com, & KMART.com for it this mroning. The cheapest I found though was BESTBUY.com for $16.99 + shipping + tax.

Total price for me was $19.64 (ground shipping was only $1.25 (!!), tax was $1.40). Not too shabby at all.



I know you are, but what am I?
"This guy might be the losingest loser on the whole board!" - pieman

GRL
Frankfurter








Since: 13.7.02
From: Austin

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 3 hours
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.33
jwrestle, the WWE should give you a cut... based solely on you reminding me that this was available now, I placed my order with Amazon. I'm looking forward to this one moreso than the Monday Night Wars DVD, and that's saying something since I was a much bigger WCW fan than I ever was of ECW.



"Maybe I'm getting off topic, but this thread already sucks, so I don't feel bad about it. " -LotusMegami


"The only way TV Gangrel could change is if Real Gangrel changed." -Filipino Elvis
Spaceman Spiff
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Philly Suburbs

Since last post: 17 hours
Last activity: 1 hour
AIM:  
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.05
    Originally posted by DJ FrostyFreeze
    I shopped around TARGET.com, WALMART.com, SUNCOAST.com, AMAZON.com, & KMART.com for it this mroning. The cheapest I found though was BESTBUY.com for $16.99 + shipping + tax.

    Total price for me was $19.64 (ground shipping was only $1.25 (!!), tax was $1.40). Not too shabby at all.

Got my for $14.51 w/ free shipping. Nyah-nyah ;)



jwrestle
Lap cheong








Since: 4.4.03
From: Nitro WV

Since last post: 200 days
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.45
    Originally posted by GRL
    jwrestle, the WWE should give you a cut... based solely on you reminding me that this was available now, I placed my order with Amazon. I'm looking forward to this one moreso than the Monday Night Wars DVD, and that's saying something since I was a much bigger WCW fan than I ever was of ECW.


Ok, I wish I could get a cut as much as I've ended up promoting it this week, I was a fan of WCW and ECW. I got bored with WCW that's how I got started with ECW and ALWAYS watched the WWE/F. After watching this DVD if it doesn't make you fall in love with what ECW did, contributed, and changed wrestling then NOTHING WILL! Jerchio says it the best towards the end of the DVD..., "The company closed over four years ago but fans still chant the name because it reminds them of a fun and good time." I believe that is my opinion too.




The next WWE Creative person that says, "We don't have anything for you", gets a free rectal exam!

J.J. Dillon: "I'd rather flip burgers at McDonald's than work for Vince McMahon again." July, 3 2004
New Era Of Wrestling
OMEGA
Lap cheong








Since: 18.6.02
From: North Cacalacky

Since last post: 1974 days
Last activity: 1942 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.72
Glad to see they got rid of Grisham (at least for this DVD) on the alternate commentaries. The guy is just horrible, and drags everything down. The first time I heard him, on the Chris Benoit DVD, one of the first things I heard was

Grisham: "Chris Benoit vs. J-UH-shin Thunder Liger"
Benoit: "J-OO-shin!"

I haven't been able to stand the guy since. On the other hand, I like Cole (it took me 7 years, but I've warmed up to the guy a lot), and Coach can at least be entertaining when he wants to be.



The answer to WWE's financial problems...

Never 'Wiener of the Day', and is actually quite bitter about it.
vonLampertheim
Tocino








Since: 29.10.04
From: Sydney, AU

Since last post: 557 days
Last activity: 491 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.87
$18.14 with free shipping here:

http://www.deepdiscountdvd.com/dvd.cfm?itemID=WWE056509



Kane Is Ugly
Kishke








Since: 14.7.03
From: Uglyville

Since last post: 2457 days
Last activity: 2444 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.34
Why does Tommy say Beulah was a Playboy Playmate? Wasnt she in Penthouse? I still remember getting that Day Dreams video she was in. That was some hot stuff. I wish she didnt leave wrestling so early.






I miss the GWF.
Jericholic53
Boerewors








Since: 18.3.03
From: Honolulu, HI

Since last post: 350 days
Last activity: 15 hours
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.94
In case any of you were wondering, this past weekend ByteThis! featured Paul Heyman and a slew of ECW call-ins. I didn't actually see it live, but there's a transposition AND mp3 of the program on onlineonslaught here:

http://www.onlineonslaught.com/recaps/bytethis/20041117.shtml

after hearing it, it really is as good as PyroFalkin says. Good good stuff all around.



it says so right here in the wcw handbook!
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 161 days
Last activity: 127 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41
    Originally posted by Kane Is Ugly
    Why does Tommy say Beulah was a Playboy Playmate? Wasnt she in Penthouse? I still remember getting that Day Dreams video she was in. That was some hot stuff. I wish she didnt leave wrestling so early.




I thought it was something even "lower" than Penthouse, like Oui or High Society or something like that.



Mark Coale
Odessa Steps Magazine
The Affirmation, Baby Blog
TL_Hopper
Salami








Since: 5.7.03

Since last post: 2936 days
Last activity: 2790 days
AIM:  
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.65
Hey, Oui IS classy, Playboy owned them.



I ain't not a dorkus.
chill
Landjager








Since: 18.5.02

Since last post: 2720 days
Last activity: 2720 days
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.82
Byte This! was great with Heyman et al.

I found a Sandman vs Sabu Stairway to Heaven match on a server... wow. I'm not that into hardcore brawling, but the use of tables and chairs puts any WWE TLC match to shame. In fact, I remember Jeff Hardy, Edge, and Christian being heralded for "innovating" certain moves with the ladder... meanwhile, a few years before, Sabu and Sandman were doing the exact spots using a ladder - and doing it better.

Apart from the WWE 24/7 programming, I have to assume WWE is going to start releasing Best of ECW DVDs at some point in the near future. I think I forgot how entertaining ECW was. It DOES have something to do with Joey Styles though. He knows the names of moves. You'd think it'd be worth paying him whatever they're paying Jerry Lawler, seeing as how they just signed Lawler to a new 5-year deal.



Take the plunge. Step into liquid.
dvd shelf // game shelf // top 20 // laird // tv guide //

Tenken347
Boudin blanc








Since: 27.2.03
From: Parts Unknown

Since last post: 11 hours
Last activity: 1 hour
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.36
As I recall, they offered Styles a deal when ECW folded, but he turned them down. Something to do with an investment business Styles runs and not wanting to do full time travel for the WWE while he was still running it.
JustinShapiro
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 12.12.01
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 4 hours
Last activity: 1 hour
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.81
Yeah, they were thinking of making him the announcer for the new WCW that never ended up happening. And before the Fusient deal fell through, Eric Bischoff had planned on making Styles and Don Callis the new announcers for Nitro as well.

"In fact, I remember Jeff Hardy, Edge, and Christian being heralded for "innovating" certain moves with the ladder... meanwhile, a few years before, Sabu and Sandman were doing the exact spots using a ladder - and doing it better."

I think the innovations that JME&C are credited have more to do with the tag team spots and clever setups, however; not just the use of teetertottering and that kind of thing.

Plus Sandman and Sabu suck, but that doesn't really have anything to do with who did moves first. Who used them better, otoh, is a totally different story, imo.
Roy.
Pepperoni








Since: 25.2.04
From: Keystone State

Since last post: 2391 days
Last activity: 860 days
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41
    Originally posted by odessasteps
    I thought it was something even "lower" than Penthouse, like Oui or High Society or something like that.


The bad kids told me that it was Cheri magazine.
Barbwire Mike
Boudin rouge








Since: 6.11.03
From: Dudleyville

Since last post: 3333 days
Last activity: 3326 days
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.00
Cheri is where the pix that everyone has seen came from, but when she would appear on camera she used to wear the "key" necklace that Penthouse Pets were given so she had at least some connection to them.



Lethalwrestling.com: If you don't read us, you're probably gay
Thread rated: 4.75
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: HHH in "Blade Trinity"
Next thread: WWE Theme Addict Review
Previous thread: The Rise and Fall of ECW DVD Review the Documentary
(5887 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Goes into a lot of his history and includes some interesting perspectives from him as well. He's now a double amputee, sadly -- both legs gone due to diabetes. http://bleacherreport.
- Hokienautic, Great article on Kamala (2014)
The W - Pro Wrestling - Rise and Fall ECW Review the Matches disc TWORegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 1.228 seconds.