The W
Views: 97676063
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
25.7.14 1113
The W - Pro Wrestling - Ringmistress' Joshi Review - History of The Crush Girls
This thread has 93 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.90
Pages: 1
(7373 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2585 days
Last activity: 2584 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.00
It's BAAAAACK.

I know I'm not gonna get tons of replies, but this weekend I happened upon a tape from Highspots that I have to share with you all. It's the story of one of the greatest tag teams in all of wrestling. A unique time in wrestling history that won't be seen again. Japan, 1986.

The History of The Crush Girls

The women behind the legendary team, Chigusa Nagayo and Lioness Asuka introduce some of their favorite matches throughout the tape. The matches here are well edited, in my opinion, and definitely give you a good taste of their greatness. Here are the clipped matches you'll see, in order:

1)Crush Girls vs (c)Devil Masami & Tarantula, 10/27/82, WWWA Tag Team Championship - The champs retain here, having more experience than the then up and coming Crush Girls. Devil is hardcore with what looks like a broomstick.

2)Nagayo vs Asuka, 1/4/83 - They really go at it here!

3)Crush Girls vs (c)Dynamite Girls (Yukari Omori & Jumbo Hori), 8/25/84, WWWA Tag Championship - Asuka & Nagayo win WWWA Tag titles for the first time.

4)(c)Crush Girls vs Tarantula & Lola Gonzales 10/6/84 - Crush retains their titles against the Mexicans. I should mention that DUMP is in this match on the outside and damn near causes a riot.

5)(c)Crush Girls vs Dump Matsumoto & Crane Yu 2/25/85 - Dump is in the House! Crane and Dump win the WWWA Tag Titles.

6)Crush Girls vs Dump Matsumoto & Bull Nakano for the vacant WWWA Tag Titles, 5/16/85 - The good girls regain the belts. Young Bull Nakano, awwwww...

7)Chigusa Nagayo vs (c)Devil Masami for the All Pacific Title, 8/22/85 - This match is from the classic Budokan Hall show back in August 85. It was broadcast in prime time on TV, and did a whopping 15.1 rating. Thus is the power of the Crush Girls.

8)Lioness Asuka vs (c)Jaguar Yokota for the WWWA Singles title, 8/22/85 - From the same show at Budokan, a mindblowing match for the Big Prize. Jaguar retains. Jaguar is Jacked! Lioness and Jaguar rock the hizzouse.

9)Chigusa Nagayo vs. Dump Matsumoto for the vacant All Pacific Title, 4/5/86 - Chigusa retains, everybody's happy

10)Lioness Asuka vs (c)Devil Masami for the WWWA Singles Title, 4/5/86 - The Lioness goes for the big prize again, but Devil isn't budging. Time limit draw.

11)Crush Girls vs (c)Jumping Bomb Angels (Noriyo Tateno & Mitsuki Yamazaki), WWWA tag title, 3/20/86 - The Crush Girls win the titles again in a 2 out of 3 falls match

All the matches listed above are edited so keep that in mind. Jaguar Yokota and the Crushs went to Mexico for a tour, and there are highlights in this tape. There is also a medley of some of the Crush Girls best songs (they did mini concerts as well), and believe it or not, they can carry a match AND a tune! Since the tape is made in '86, it leaves off there. But all in all, it's just a nice primer for those reluctant to try 80s joshi, or any joshi in general. But there's a bonus!

Marine Wolves (Akira Hokuto & Suzuka Minami) vs (c)Crush Girls, 2 out of 3 falls for the WWWA Tag Championship, 4/27/89 - This match took place right at the end of the Crush Girls era, as Chigusa was to retire in May of that year, and Lioness in July. Akira's butch look is quite adorable, lol. Suzuka and Akira may not look like much here, but these two would help the promotion in the 90s. This match is shown in its entirety.

VERDICT: This tape may not look like much on paper, but once you get down and watch it, it's really something. The pops that the Crush Girls scored in their prime are unreal, and you can't help but feed off that energy. After seeing this, Raw is low on my priority list. A great snapshot of a fun time in women's wrestling.

Available now at Highspots.com.

Soon: More Crush, please!

(edited by Ringmistress on 13.1.04 0731)


After a quarter of a century on this planet, there's three things I know for sure...
1)Ain't nothing like a Dirty Pair marathon on New Year's Eve.
2)I'd make a fine Mrs. HHH II.
3) I'd make an acceptable Mrs. Orton.
1400 reasons to luv me!
Promote this thread!
Matt Tracker
Scrapple








Since: 8.5.03
From: North Carolina

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 13 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.79
I remember the Jumping Bomb Angels winning the tag titles at the 88 Royal Rumble, I believe. If I recall right, the crowd was into that match.




"To be the man, you gotta beat demands." -- The Lovely Mrs. Tracker
Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2585 days
Last activity: 2584 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.00
Let's not forget their appearance at the 1st Survivor Series. The crowd had NO IDEA what they were seeing, but they dug it. I should mention that the big reason I am already falling hard for the Crush Girls is a simple one. In Japan, their popularity was a way of telling young girls, "it's okay to like wrestling and to be a wrestler". Here, it's a bit of a stigma.

Unlike here in the States, where more often than not, sappy, cheesy, predictable soap opera plots are thrown in (yuck!), what hooked so many female fans over there was a basic story of good (Asuka and Chigusa) and evil (Dump's posse). Not fake pregnancies and infidelity.



After a quarter of a century on this planet, there's three things I know for sure...
1)Ain't nothing like a Dirty Pair marathon on New Year's Eve.
2)I'd make a fine Mrs. HHH II.
3) I'd make an acceptable Mrs. Orton.
1400 reasons to luv me!
reddragon
Polska kielbasa








Since: 23.8.03
From: Scotland

Since last post: 3691 days
Last activity: 3605 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.49
Could i have a link to the tape. I've been wanting to get some 'proper' women's wrestling but can't find any on the interweb




For every dream there is a nightmare
darkmatcher
Bockwurst








Since: 12.2.03
From: New York, USA

Since last post: 2586 days
Last activity: 1662 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.63
    Originally posted by Ringmistress
    Let's not forget their appearance at the 1st Survivor Series. The crowd had NO IDEA what they were seeing, but they dug it. I should mention that the big reason I am already falling hard for the Crush Girls is a simple one. In Japan, their popularity was a way of telling young girls, "it's okay to like wrestling and to be a wrestler". Here, it's a bit of a stigma.


Yeah but its usually a stigma to like wrestling no matter who you are. :/



YO MAMA
Nag
Landjager








Since: 10.1.03
From: Enter your city here

Since last post: 2087 days
Last activity: 142 days
Y!:
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.53
    Originally posted by reddragon
    Could i have a link to the tape. I've been wanting to get some 'proper' women's wrestling but can't find any on the interweb



Maybe your screen is dirty, but I believe she said highspots.com down at the bottom.
Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2585 days
Last activity: 2584 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.00
    Originally posted by reddragon
    Could i have a link to the tape. I've been wanting to get some 'proper' women's wrestling but can't find any on the interweb



Well, I did say highspots.com, and I know you guys in the UK use the PAL system. But, here is what you seek:

Click Here (highspots.com)





After a quarter of a century on this planet, there's three things I know for sure...
1)Ain't nothing like a Dirty Pair marathon on New Year's Eve.
2)I'd make a fine Mrs. HHH II.
3) I'd make an acceptable Mrs. Orton.
1400 reasons to luv me!
Thread rated: 4.90
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: WWE's Top Ten Stars for Each Brand
Next thread: Eddie Guererro... thespian!
Previous thread: backyard wrestling
(7373 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I imagine it's like being on a team. You don't HAVE to hang out with each other, but it helps with chemistry and bonding. Furthermore, if everybody but one guy/girl is into group bonding, how's that going to reflect on that one guy/girl? - StingArmy
The W - Pro Wrestling - Ringmistress' Joshi Review - History of The Crush GirlsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.383 seconds.