The W
Views: 99931519
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
22.10.14 2047
The W - Pro Wrestling - [Review] 'WrestleRock', 4/20/86
This thread has 178 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.27
Pages: 1
(6365 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (19 total)
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2868 days
Last activity: 2661 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
This post contains reviews from a show that
happened almost twenty years ago, so it may
be of limited interest, but I thought it was
worth reposting here for those who might be
interested who don't normally visit tOA.

Frank

(Apologies in advance to the people who can't
deal with narrow columns. When newspapers and
magazines go to all full page width, which they
will never do because it is much harder to read,
I will get lazy and go to full page width, too.)

==========

On April 20, 1986, the AWA promoted
"WrestleRock", Verne Gagne's answer
to the WWF's "WrestleMania", inside
the cavernous Minneapolis Metrodome.
The card was sixteen matches followed
by a Waylon Jennings concert. Verne's
choice of music led many to derisively
refer to the show as "WrestleCountry."
The most striking feature of any match
from this show is the rows of empty blue
seats at the Metrodome. The AWA has
claimed over 30,000 attended the event.
Others have reported much lower numbers.
Whatever the count was, the huge venue,
the empty seats, the lack of heat, and the
choice to cut away to shots of fans who
look bored undercut several matches.

Colonel DeBeers vs Wahoo McDaniel

The crowd showed signs of life for this
match, rallying behind flurries of chops
by McDaniel. Wahoo's offense was limited
to those chops, a couple of holds, a body
slam, and a chop drop while DeBeers relied
mainly on shortcuts. The finish came when
Wahoo tossed DeBeers over the top rope
to the apron at 5:05. The crowd booed
the decision, but they cheered when Wahoo
posted DeBeers during a postmatch brawl.

This barely satisfied the minimum for
advertising an appearance by McDaniel.
DeBeers wasn't a great worker, but the
little value he had was largely wasted.

Rose/Somers vs Midnight Rockers

Buddy Rose did his usual "I do not weigh
271 pounds" schtick during the intros.
The match was announced as having only
a fifteen minute time limit and it began
with Rose doing a series of one-handed
push ups and challenging Marty Jannetty
to match him, which Jannetty did.

Shawn Michaels then did a backflip from
the top rope to the center of the ring
and challenged Rose to match him. Rose
mounted the ropes, but Michaels shook
the ropes and Rose fell and crotched
himself in an effective comedy spot.

The body of the match was very basic
with the Rockers getting the better of
the heels with arm drags and arm bars
around an assortment of spots. Rose
did a cartwheel to avoid a monkey flip,
but Jannetty later did a cartwheel to
avoid a monkey flip and strutted to
the delight of the crowd.

The heels took control on Michaels for
a few minutes with Doug Somers hitting
a vertical suplex before Shawn Michaels
reversed Rose vertical suplex attempt
to make the hot tag to Jannetty. Marty
caught Somers with a powerslam, but
Sherrie Martel put Somers' leg over
the bottom rope to save him.

The Midnight Rockers hit a flurry of
double team spots, including a double
atomic knee that sent Rose to the floor.
Jannetty climbed the ropes as referee
Marty Miller tried to put Michaels out
of the ring. Rose tripped and crotched
Jannetty and Somers pinned him in 12:05.

This was a decent undercard tag match
that suggested that these teams could
work well together when given more time
which of course they did later in 1986.

Rick Martel vs Harley Race

Several months after losing the AWA
title Martel returned for this match
with legendary NWA champ Harley Race.
Unfortunately this match meant nothing
in AWA storylines since neither man
was a regular, so the crowd appeared
to have little interest in the match
regardless of the action in the ring.

The body again was built up from the
face using an arm drag into an arm bar
as a base, but Race and Martel moved
quickly to bigger spots. Race brought
his usual array of punishing suplexes
and slams along with neckbreakers and
a piledriver. Martel answered with
his own signature spots, including his
"swandive" body press from the apron
to the ring and a variety of suplexes.

The finish came when Martel scooped
Race and both men fell to the floor.
Referee Marty Miller called for the
bell after 17:30 with the announced
decision a double disqualification.

The screwy finish was disappointing
and the crowd heat was spotty, but
this match provided a great example
of the action Race and Martel could
bring to a main event level match in
the mid-eighties. It's a shame they
didn't televise a match like this while
Martel was the AWA world champion.

Hennig/Hall vs Long Riders

The Irwin brothers rode to the ring on
Harleys as part of their biker gimmick.
Before the match could begin, Hall was
given a trophy for winning "most popular
wrestler" as voted by the subscribers of
Pro Wrestling Report. I guess Verne was
too cheap to fly in Howard Baum of the
Wrestling Fans International Association.
In a booking swerve, Hall's trophy was
not immediately destroyed by the heels.

Larry Nelson joined Ron Trongard, who
had called the earlier matches alone.
Nelson tried to relate the back story
between Hennig/Hall and the Long Riders.

"They hate the Long Riders and the Long
Riders don't like them and there's plenty
of good reason for it. Curt Henning
suffered a... well a duo, both of them
jumped him. I don't- I don't really know
how to say it, but he got leaned on.
He got leaned on pretty bad by the
Long Riders", explained Nelson.

The match started slowly and I couldn't
help but be distracted by the ineptitude
and runaway hyperbole of Trongard and
Nelson, one of the worst pairings ever.

"Golly this Scott Hall and Curt Hennig
is a good looking combination" observed
Trongard during a headlock. "They've
got everything going for them: Youth...
They take on all comers. They duck no
one. They are here to meet the challenge."

Later, in response to a comment from
Trongard about Hall's strength, Nelson
gushed "I've never seen anybody with
more upper body strength in any sport
anywhere in my life than this Scott Hall."

Trongard took the cake with "The AWA!
Synonymous with the Super Bowl, the
Stanley Cup, the World Series, the NBA
championship. Home of professional
wrestling's greatest stars, the American
Wrestling Association."

The Irwin brothers dominated Hennig
with sub-pedestrian heel offense for
several minutes until Bill missed a
flying fistdrop. Hennig made the tag
to "The Pride of Tampa, Florida" who
cleaned house with a body slam a head
knocker and some miscellaneous blows
before quickly tagging Curt back in.

The finish came with all four men in
the ring. Bill tossed Hennig to the
floor, but was slammed by Hall while
Scott "The Hog" waited in the corner.
Scott Irwin then ushered Hall outside
so that Hennig could hit a missile
dropkick for the pin in about 13:00.

This was a surprisingly awful match
made even worse by insipid announcing.

Stan Hansen vs Nick Bockwinkel

Stan Hansen defended his AWA title
against three time AWA champion Nick
Bockwinkel. Bockwinkel came to the
ring wearing white and carrying a
whip. Hansen took a brief detour on
his way to the ring to put the boots
to color commentator Larry Nelson.
Maybe Hansen was listening to Larry
calling earlier matches in the back.

Bockwinkel and Hansen brawled over
the whip to start the match. "C'mon
Nick!" yelled Nelson when longtime
heel Bockinkel gained the upper hand.
"Well I'll tell you right now, you can
forget everything you ever heard about
announcers... not... being favorites
before. I hope Bockwinkel kills him!"
explained Nelson in idiotic fashion.

Bockwinkel applied a brief hammerlock
to Hansen's lariat arm before levering
the arm aside to punch Hansen's ribs.
"I want to explain right now that I know
better than to get too close to Stan
Hansen. It's my fault" nattered Nelson
during another Bockwinkel arm bar.

Hansen limited himself to pedestrian
moves like knee drops and elbow drops.
Bockwinkel went to the sleeper about
six minutes into the match, but Hansen
hauled him through the ropes to the
floor and rammed him into the steps.

Hansen tried for a vertical suplex,
but Bockwinkel reversed it with a
suplex of his own. Bockwinkel went
for a back body drop, but Hansen
put on the brakes, then Bockwinkel
stood up too quickly as Hansen was
reaching for him. There were an
amazing number of gaffes given the
experience of these two workers.

Referee Steve Olsonowski was knocked
down while Bockwinkel body slammed
Hansen for a visual pin. Bockwinkel
followed with a cross body press for
another uncounted pin. Bockwinkel
then hit a dropkick and followed up
with a piledriver, but Hansen kicked
out even though there was no count.

Bockwinkel charged Hansen, but Stan
dipped his shoulder and back body
dropped Bockwinkel over the top
rope for the disqualification in 10:05.
After the match they messed around
the ring area for a couple of minutes.

This match was an embarrassment to
two legendary workers. Perhaps with
a sixteen match card they didn't have
enough time left to build a classic, but
it seems equally plausible that Verne
and Nick didn't have a clue how to
build a good match with Stan Hansen.

Gagne/Snuka vs Brody/Nord

The main event at "WrestleRock" was
a tag match between Adnan's Army and
Greg Gagne and Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka
inside a steel cage. If the babyfaces won
then Verne Gagne, who seemed like he
was still booking himself to be the top
babyface in the AWA, would get ten
minutes in the cage with Sheik Adnan.

The ring announcer explained to the
crowd that Snuka was a last minute
substitute for "mysteriously injured"
Jerry Blackwell. Vince McMahon used
to send the athletic commission after
the AWA, knowing that Blackwell
couldn't pass a physical due to his
obesity and high blood pressure.

"Well Greg Gagne is at least a hundred
mile per hour faster than the Barbarian
or Brody and this Superfly Snuka, they
don't call him that for nothin'. He can
fly about 20,000 feet in the air it seems
and come from out of nowhere" offered
Larry Nelson in a moment that would have
made the legendary Larry Matysik proud.

The highlight of the match was watching
King Kong Brody stooge for Greg Gagne's
chops and punches while Verne grimaced
intently from a chair by the cage door.

The Barbarian used a vertical suplex
and a backbreaker. Brody eventually
rammed Greg Gagne into the cage twice
to get him bleeding, then followed up
with a nice delayed piledriver that
forced Snuka to make a save. Brody
tagged in the Barbarian for Gagne's
comeback and Gagne whipped Barbarian
into the cage before both men tagged.

Snuka rammed Brody into the cage and
Brody sliced himself open several times
before stuffing the blade into his tights.
Snuka caught Brody with a diving headbutt
from the top rope, but Nord the Barbarian
came in to make the save.

Brody made the tag to the Barbarian
but stayed inside the ropes like Baba
until the babyfaces reversed a train
wreck spot to turn the tide with Nord
eating a double dropkick. Gagne and
Snuka grabbed Brody and hooked him
for a double vertical suplex. Brody
somehow managed to land in a seated
position to keep his streak of not
taking a back bump alive, but it was
too close for comfort. Gagne held the
Barbarian wide open for a top rope
headbutt by a stumbling Jimmy Snuka,
but the Barbarian moved out of the
way and Greg took Snuka's headbutt.

The Barbarian held Snuka wide open for
a dropkick by Brody, but Snuka moved
out of the way and Brody dropkicked
Nord. The Barbarian stumbled back
and tripped over Greg Gagne who was
crawling around on all fours. Snuka
cradled Nord for the pin in 12:15.

A postmatch brawl on the floor turned
into the start of the "special" match
between Verne Gagne and Sheik Adnan.

Verne Gagne vs Sheik Adnan Al-Kassie

Verne was seeking revenge for an attack
that had left him with two broken ribs.
Verne rammed Adnan into the steel cage.
Adnan juiced. Verne caught Adnan with
the sleeper hold which seemed like an
odd way of gaining his revenge, but
Sheik Adnan, who was no normal athlete,
powered Verne back into the corner to
break Verne's famous finishing hold.

Sheik Adnan hit a dangerously sloppy
body slam for a near fall, but Verne
caught him with an inside cradle for
a flash pin in less than four minutes.

"Well I haven't seen anything like that
before" gushed Ron Trongard before
calling a replay of the small package.
"Verne Gagne, in one of his finest hours.
Certainly an hour of redemption. He got
the man he wanted", added Trongard.

Road Warriors vs Hayes/Garvin

"This is the main event" proclaimed the
ring announcer, though the other cage tag
match receiving the same billing. Maybe
two shows took place simultaneously as
I could swear Gary Cappetta made some
introductions while a Mark Lowrance
look-alike handled the other matches.

The match began with Hayes hitting a
sitting piledriver on Hawk so that
Hawk could no sell it. Hawk hit his
usual flurry of offense including a
press slam followed by a fistdrop.
Unfortunately the fistdrop missed so
badly that Nelson and Trongard were
forced to agree that it had missed.

Hayes tried for a tag, but Garvin
walked away. Hayes tried to escape,
but Hawk knocked him off the top and
followed up with a flying body press
that would have embarrassed Hogan,
but Hawk didn't stay with the cover.

Hayes finally tagged in Garvin. Hawk
caught him with an over-the-shoulder
backbreaker into a backbreaker drop.
Animal tagged in and hit the power
slam and the multiple press slam.
Garvin went for the tag, but Hayes
walked away as the crowd roared.

Garvin caught Animal with a low blow
and made the tag to Hayes. Animal
reversed a whip and caught Hayes with
a running back elbow. Hawk tagged in
but had no more hot offense. Hayes
and Garvin eventually took control
leading to Hayes applying a figure
four leglock which Hawk reversed.

Hayes tried for a vertical suplex,
but Hawk reversed it and made a hot
tag to Animal. Animal slugged away
on both men and Hawk came into the
ring. Animal whipped Garvin into
Hawk's back. Garvin held Animal
wide open for a top rope punch by
Hayes, but Animal moved out of the
way and Garvin took the blow. Animal
covered Garvin for the pin in 7:18.

Despite the brevity of the match it
was apparent that the Road Warriors
were running out of things to do.
Like many AWA matches, this felt
abbreviated due to the absence of
the section where the heels got to
dominate by using their hot offense.

Overall "WrestleRock" was a major
disappointment, not that expectations
for the AWA were high to begin with.
The vast stretches of empty seats
gave it the same stench of failure
that plagued Vince McMahon's XFL.

While the matches were generally
longer and more serious than the
Sports Entertainment style matches
in the WWF, not one of them stood
out as a great or memorable match.

The AWA would deliver several great
and memorable matches before finally
dying off in the early nineties, but on
the biggest day in their history, Verne
Gagne and his wrestlers struck out.

Frank

"WrestleRock was the single biggest
event ever promoted for the AWA by
the legendary Verne Gagne. It marked
the conclusion of an extraordinary
wrestling career."
- Gene Okerlund
Promote this thread!
fuelinjected
Banger








Since: 12.10.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 3261 days
Last activity: 3261 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.15
I think WrestleRock is the show to show people in ONE SHOW why Verne Gagne didn't have a clue.

Greg Gagne being in the ring with Brody is worse then Vince having an Olympic Gold Medalist and a freshly turned monster bump for his son.



WWE now serving only -> "DIET CHAVO - All the taste - Half the fat!"
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 478 days
Last activity: 478 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.37
Its over 18 years, so my memory is fuzzy, but wouldn't Col. DeBeers have been a better match for Snuka, as Snuka would have been out seeking revenge for the face first piledriver DeBeers had given him on the floor, as well as for DeBeers calling him sub-human. Unless that event happened after WrestleRock, but I'd put money it had happened late '85/early '86. By doing that, you then flip the visiting Wahoo into the cage match, which would at least have been feasible. The problem for Blackwell was probably that he couldn't fit through the cage door.
16 match card, so I'm sure something was cut off the tape, but I'm surprised no Sgt. Slaughter or Larry Zybyzsko on the tape.
Race must have been looking for a quick paycheck before he entered the WWF in order to appear in the AWA.



Are we allowed to use the voices in our heads as sources?
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 4 hours
Last activity: 4 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.07
    Originally posted by redsoxnation
    16 match card, so I'm sure something was cut off the tape, but I'm surprised no Sgt. Slaughter or Larry Zybyzsko on the tape.
    Race must have been looking for a quick paycheck before he entered the WWF in order to appear in the AWA.
Thanks http://prowrestlinghistory.com/ supercards/usa/misc/awa/ stadium.html#rock

WrestleRock

April 20, 1986 in Minneapolis, MN
MetroDome drawing 22,000 ($300,000)

1. Brad Rheingans pinned Boris Zuhkov.

2. Little Mr. T & Cowboy Lang beat Lord Littlebrook & Little Tokyo.

3. Col DeBeers beat Wahoo McDaniel via DQ.

4. Doug Somers & Buddy Rose beat The Midnight Rockers when Somers pinned Jannetty.

5. Tiger Mask (Misawa) pinned Buck Zumhoffe.

6. Barry Windham & Mike Rotunda beat The Fabulous Ones when Windham pinned Lane.

7. Giant Baba pinned Bob Brown.

8. Rick Martel DCO Harley Race (16:00).

9. Sherri Martel won a "battle royal." Also in the match were: Debbie Combs, Candi Divine, Rose Divine, Joyce Grable, Kat LeRoux, Despina Montagas, Misty Blue Simmes, and Luna Vachon.

10. AWA Americas Champ Sgt Slaughter beat Kamala via DQ.

11. AWA World Tag Champs Curt Hennig & Scott Hall beat Bill & Scott Irwin when Hall pinned Bill.

12. Scott LeDoux beat Larry Zbysko via DQ in a "boxing" match.

13. AWA World Champ Stan Hansen beat Nick Bockwinkle (10:00) via DQ.

14. The Road Warriors beat The Freebirds (Garvin & Hayes) (7:00) in a "steel cage" match when Animal pinned Garvin.

15. Jimmy Snuka & Greg Gagne beat Nord the Barbarian & Bruiser Brody in a "steel cage" match when Snuka pinned Nord.

16. Verne Gagne pinned Adnan Al-Kassie in a "steel cage" match.

Sure, cut the midgets and the women. BAAAAAA



CRZ
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2868 days
Last activity: 2661 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
> Its over 18 years, so my memory is fuzzy, but
> wouldn't Col. DeBeers have been a better match
> for Snuka, as Snuka would have been out seeking
> revenge for the face first piledriver DeBeers had
> given him on the floor, as well as for DeBeers
> calling him sub-human. Unless that event happened
> after WrestleRock, but I'd put money it had
> happened late '85/early '86.

WrestleRock was Snuka's first appearance after
signing with the AWA, so the DeBeers angle came
later. Snuka was a replacement for Blackwell
and one can understand Verne wanting to use a
big name there in his main event match.

McDaniel was the right foil, but the wrong opponent
since he was too old, shouldn't have been putting
DeBeers over cleanly (nostalgia acts have to be
protected), and probably would have refused to do
the job on a one time booking anyway.

I've fantasy booked a scenario at tOA where Sherrie
hires DeBeers (he's a mercenary, right?) to make the
match with the Rockers a six-man thinking they can't
find anyone good to help them. Shawn crosses up the
heels by bringing in "an old friend from San Antonio",
unveiling Wahoo on TV the week before WrestleRock.
That would have allowed Wahoo and DeBeers to work
their angle while giving more time to Shawn and Buddy,
two of the best every day workers in the AWA in 1986.

> By doing that, you then flip the visiting Wahoo into
> the cage match, which would at least have been feasible.

Flipping Wahoo to the cage isn't a bad idea, except that
you really want to give Snuka the big win in his debut.

The Long Riders (Bill and Scott Irwin) were being phased
out after using a "steel toe" biker boot gimmick. I would
have tossed them into a Steel Cage streetfight with the
Road Warriors. The loaded boots would give the Warriors
an excuse to sell briefly (beats selling for Hayes' punches)
and they could have eventually squashed the Long Riders.

That would move Hayes and Garvin, who had more charisma
and stooging skills than the Irwins, into the match with
young Curt Hennig and nearly worthless Scott Hall. That
match could have been a schmozz in a regular ring if
Jimmy Garvin wasn't willing to job in the cage to Hennig.

As much as I dislike Hansen in with Bockinkle, I think
Verne had his heart set on a "Bockwinkle in white" moment
as a reprise of Lanza's famous face turn. Or maybe Nick
had been wearing white for months? I don't know. What
they needed was another 5 minutes with Nick being told
to put himself in peril rather than making Stan look like
a totally fraudulent champion. Crappy booking from Verne.

Martel vs Race was a waste of two one-shot appearances,
though they did work well together. Perhaps Verne could
have made this a contender's match (Rose/Somers vs Rockers
was announced as a contenders match) and then had Race vs
Hansen go to an out-of-control brawl after a few minutes
on television the following week. Who knows if either
Race or Martel was willing to job to the other, though
bringing in one-shots who won't job is booking suicide.

Zbyszko faced LeDoux, a waste of time and a "metoo"
match answering Piper vs Mr. T with a "real" boxer.
Only Verne, with one hand around little Verne, would
have marked out for LeDoux as a sign of credibility.
Slaughter faced Kimala. Everyone seemed to face
Kimala when bookers had nothing better to do.

Better Slaughter vs Zbyszko and leave the novelty acts
totally off the card. I'm not sure what I would have
done with Baba and Misawa, though I would have tried
to convince Baba to make that a tag team match rather
than putting him in there will Bob Brown or whatever
fossilized oldie Verne dug up for him.

As for Race, perhaps it was just a paycheck, but he
worked at least one other show for Verne and he was
a former AWA legend from the sixties. They needed to
give he and Martel a reason to fight or at least a
prize for winning. They also should not have announced
a 20 minute time limit which was a joke for two former
champs who were not yet past their prime.

Frank

(Note: Hennig, not Hall, got the pin on Bill Irwin.
Also Race vs Martel was announced as a double DQ.
Also Bockwinkle beat Hansen by DQ. Bockwinkle won!)

(edited by Boston Idol on 28.6.04 2103)
JoshMann
Andouille








Since: 17.11.03
From: Tallahassee, FL

Since last post: 2291 days
Last activity: 2289 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.91
    Originally posted by redsoxnation
    Its over 18 years, so my memory is fuzzy, but wouldn't Col. DeBeers have been a better match for Snuka, as Snuka would have been out seeking revenge for the face first piledriver DeBeers had given him on the floor, as well as for DeBeers calling him sub-human.


I'm about 99.9% sure that the DeBeers-Snuka injury angle was in late 1986 (or at the very least, that's when it aired). Somewhere in mid 1986 (after WrestleRock), was when they ran the angle where DeBeers refused to get in the ring with "a black man like Jimmy Snuka" (I know, I know...I didn't book this angle), because after WrestleRock DeBeers' program was with Scott Hall, who he derided for being hopped up on steroids, although the other stuff was never mentioned. I was watching a lot of this on ESPN at the time, and whiel I'm only working on memory I'm pretty sure my recollection of the timeline is right.

But it was fall/winter 1986 where he did the multiple skullcrackers on the floor to Snuka.

(edited by Blanket Jackson on 29.6.04 1044)


I did the same thing last week!
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2868 days
Last activity: 2661 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
Here are the dates I have. I'm not sure if
they are the match dates or the ESPN dates.

10/25/86 - Gagne/Hennig/Snuka vs Zbyszko/Somers/DeBeers

11/8/86 - Snuka vs Zbyszko, DeBeers attacks Snuka

3/28/87 - Snuka vs DeBeers, Diamond Miner's Glove Match

I'll post the details when I get the matches.

FWIW, DeBeers did face Scott Hall on ESPN
in the summer of 1986, so Blanket's memory
of that feud appears to be correct as well.

DeBeers also wrestled a singles match against
Curt Hennig on ESPN. Knowing the AWA bookers,
DeBeers might have claimed that he was pissed
off because Curt Hennig was using Jeri Curl.

Frank
JoshMann
Andouille








Since: 17.11.03
From: Tallahassee, FL

Since last post: 2291 days
Last activity: 2289 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.91
But really, there's one thing I need to know:

Did the tape contain on it the WrestleRock rap?

For those of you who don't know what I'm talking about, they had most of the talent do a verse or half a verse each and it made Men On A Mission look like OutKast by comparison. Think The Super Bowl Shuffle, only far FAR worse.

===

I'm Curt Hennig

And I'm Big Scott Hall

As tag team champs we'll take on them all

Bring on those Long Riders

They're in for a tumble

As we go to THE WRESTLEROCK RUMBLE

====

Give or take a word I'm not remembering right, I'm not making this up. Good times.

(edited by Blanket Jackson on 29.6.04 1130)


I did the same thing last week!
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2868 days
Last activity: 2661 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
The tape did not include the rap. Presumably
that aired on ESPN leading up to the event,
so I may get it when my other tapes arrive.

I do have Greg Gagne's "Jump" video though.

Frank

(Van Halen, not Pointer Sisters. Verne wasn't
that far gone, at least when it came to music.)
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 478 days
Last activity: 478 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.37
I was wrong on Snuka.
The reason why they put Garvin/Hayes in the cage with the Road Warriors was revenge for the loss of the AWA Tag Titles to Garvin and Mr. Electricity Steven Regal in Chicago when Hayes came off the ropes to interfere. Quality revenge match, especially since the Road Warriors were already getting involved with the Russians in Crockett.
And, I'd much rather have the U.S. Express vs. The Fab Ones than a few matches on the card.



Are we allowed to use the voices in our heads as sources?
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2868 days
Last activity: 2661 days
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
Scott Hall needed someone other than the
Irwin brothers to stooge for him and cover
for his lack of charisma. At one point he
just stood in the ring trying to figure out
where he should go while Hennig cleaned house.
Finally he stepped out to the apron after he
realized that Hennig was going to stay in.

It was too soon to put Rose/Somers into a
title match and the U.S. Express and Fabs
were both faces, so I'm having trouble
thinking of better opponents than Hayes/Garvin
for the AWA tag team champs. The Road Warriors
vs Long Riders is easy to promote as a battle
to determine "the baddest team in wrestling"
with streetfight rules. It had already been
shown that the Long Riders were tougher than
the tag champs when they got to use their boots.

Frank
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 478 days
Last activity: 478 days
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.37
Let me take a shot at rebooking at least some of this card. I'll leave the Gagne main event, because Verne was delusional. Perfect world, Greg is working as a janitor at the Metrodome for the show.

Larry Nelson and Ken Resnick handle announce duties.

Brad Rheingans vs. Col. Debeers: Olympian vs. Apartheid.

Wahoo vs. Kamala: One shot appearance for Wahoo, might as well be against Kamala. Probably some history somewhere to build off of

Tiger Mask vs. Rock 'n Roll Buck Zumhoffe

Women's Battle Royale

Midget Madness

Baba vs. Bob Brown

Long Riders vs. Fabulous One's: Fabs faced the Sheepherders enough in Florida to be used to a brawl.

U.S. Express vs. Hennig/Hall: It's the AWA, so they could justify it as a scientific match. Allows Hall/Hennig to go over a team that had a good run as WWF Tag Champs the previous year, and lets Hennig slightly begin to tease his heel turn. Plus, Hennig vs. Windham at the time would have stolen the show.

Race vs. Bockwinkle: Good match, plus former World Champs of different organizations could be played up.

Zybsko vs. Martel: Put Larry over the previous World Champ.

Midnight Rockers vs. Rose/Somers

Road Warriors vs. Garvin/Hayes: It was a revenge match, and probably the last AWA match for the Legion of Doom.

Slaughter vs. Hansen for the AWA Title: Slaughter was the most over face. Would at least have brought doubt for the fans on who would win the match.

Throw in the 2 Gagne matches, that's 15 matches, and you lose Zukhov and LeDoux in the process, and in all likelihood have a much better card.



Are we allowed to use the voices in our heads as sources?
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2868 days
Last activity: 2661 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
> Slaughter vs. Hansen for the AWA Title

Agreed, if not here than at Super Clash I.

Younger fans may not remember this, but
after his face turn Slaughter was so over
that the WWF built "All American Wrestling"
on USA around his image.

Signing Slaughter was Verne's biggest coup
as Slaughter was still over but got dumped
by Vince in a dispute over merchandising.

Unfortunately Verne chose to book Slaughter
like the Undertaker. He had Zbyszko job the
newly created "Americas Title" to Slaughter,
then promptly forgot about it, sidedraining
Slaughter in feuds with foreign heels like
Boris Zuchoff rather than having him chase
Hansen or defend his own singles title.

Slaughter should have gotten the shot at
Hansen at one of the big shows and maybe
even a successful run with the title.

Frank
mercer
Head cheese








Since: 17.11.03
From: Aransas Pass TX

Since last post: 2816 days
Last activity: 2676 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.62
I think as far as AWA's Wrestlerock goes, we are forgeting the important issue, the WRESTLEROCK RUMBLE!!! The greatest rap ever...geez no wonder they went out of business



When I leave this world, I want to go the same way I came in, naked, covered in goo, and screaming in fear!
LAter
God bless
Mercer
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 478 days
Last activity: 478 days
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.37
At the very worst, Slaughter should have been the one given the belt rather than Bockwinkle when Hansen jumped ship, as at least Slaughter had a connection with the fans, where as Bockwinkle was a dull face. Great wrestler, excellent heel, but Bockwinkle as a face just didn't work.
To really think outside of the box for a moment, imagine if Verne was able to get Windham as a regular instead of one night. Windham was floating in Florida at that point, and would have been a legitimate contender for Hansen. Could have re-heel turned Bockwinkle, Bruiser Brody (as long as he remembered this wasn't World Class so he wasn't a face. Funny how in a 2 week period, Brody main evented this supercard as a heel, then main evented Parade of Champions for the World Class World Title as a face. Few could do that), or used Larry as a heel challenger for BW, while simultaneously beginning to turn Hennig, giving Hennig/Windham as the main event for SuperBrawl. But, Verne was probably just afraid that Barry couldn't handle the pressure of being in his boy Greg's enormous shadow.

(edited by redsoxnation on 29.6.04 1853)


Are we allowed to use the voices in our heads as sources?
asteroidboy
Andouille








Since: 22.1.02
From: Texas

Since last post: 1429 days
Last activity: 337 days
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95
I'm curious about the state of the AWA at the time. Were they basically dead in the water, after the loss of Hogan? It seems like they had SOME talent, although clearly not enough to make a dent in the Metrodome.

And on a related note, if you're not gonna sell out such a big venue, why book it? Was Verne being too ambitious?



-- Asteroid Boy


Wiener of the day: 23.7.02, 3.12.03

"In addition, my tickets werent really what youd expect from the webmaster of the internets largest independent pro-wrestling website." - Widro

"My brother saw the Undertaker walking through an airport." - Rex
"Was he no-selling?" - Me


redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 478 days
Last activity: 478 days
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.37
    Originally posted by asteroidboy
    I'm curious about the state of the AWA at the time. Were they basically dead in the water, after the loss of Hogan? It seems like they had SOME talent, although clearly not enough to make a dent in the Metrodome.

    And on a related note, if you're not gonna sell out such a big venue, why book it? Was Verne being too ambitious?





I think they booked the MetroDome out of Verne's ego that he could bang out the biggest hometown building.
In April '86, the AWA was struggling, but it wasn't dying. The Pro Wrestling USA experiment with Crockett in '85 had collapsed, but they still were a viable 3rd organization with the ESPN contract. At the same time, the NWA lost the UWF and WCCW, and the WWF was almost in a strong yet stagnant position between the first Mania and the Orndorff turn on Hogan. If Greg Gagne had been born female, that might have helped Verne's thinking. At this point, they had the Leon White [Vader], the Midnight Rockers, Hennig, Hall, Slaughter, Larryland, Bruiser Brody, Snuka, Stan Hansen, Bockwinkle and theoretically the Road Warriors in the organization. But, come summer of '86, they put Hall in a midcard hell feud with Col. DeBeers. The Rockers stay with Somers/Rose. Hansen keeps the AWA belt in Japan, and Verne hands the belt to Bockwinkle by forfeit. Greg Gagne is still pushed. Meanwhile, Crockett picks up steam with the Great American Bash Tour, and eventually purchases Florida and the talent there. The Orndorff feud commences, and the WWF hits the next level, leading up to Mania III and the Andre feud. The UWF ends up having better talent than the AWA.
By the Spring of '88, between 1/2 and 3/4 of the North American wrestlers (non-midget/women) on this card are working for Crockett or McMahon. They had talent, they just had no clue how to use it.

(edited by redsoxnation on 29.6.04 2038)


Are we allowed to use the voices in our heads as sources?
Boston Idol
Blutwurst








Since: 17.2.03
From: San Jose, CA

Since last post: 2868 days
Last activity: 2661 days
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
> At this point, they had the Leon White [Vader],

White wasn't ready and wasn't even close. There
was no useful public role for him at this point.
He really needed to be sent to Germany or Japan
or one of the remaining regionals like Memphis
for at least two years of seasoning.

> the Midnight Rockers, Hennig, Hall,

Hall was almost as bad as White, but the AWA got
behind Hall and exposed him badly. DeBeers was
an attempt to protect Hall by putting him in the
ring with a veteran who knew the ropes. You have
to go back and watch WrestleRock to understand how
bad Hall was at that point. He was bad, and I'm
not talking about style or charisma, I'm talking
about looking as tentative as Mike Von Erich
because he didn't know what to do in the ring.

> Slaughter,

Verne seems to have been having his problems with
Slaughter in 1986. JDW was digging through old
Observers and apparently Slaughter was refusing
bookings, but Verne was still advertising him.

Verne fan never wants to discuss how Verne being
cheap was a problem, but Meltzer reported that the
main eventers at WrestleRock weren't happy getting
only $2,000 or so on a gate of at least $300,000.

> Larryland, Bruiser Brody,

Brody wasn't a building block, he was a short term
risk and a long term loss because he wouldn't job
cleanly to anyone in the US. Basically one had the
choice of feeding opponents to him or screwing the
fans with non-finishes. Given Brody's shitty work
in the ring, he wasn't worth the massive downside.

> Snuka,

Snuka was a calculated risk because of the massive
substance abuse problems and because he was getting
old and fading badly. It's no coincidence that he
didn't move on from the AWA to bigger and better
things. He had some short term value until fans
figured out he was washed up, maybe six months?

> Stan Hansen,

I don't know if Hansen was willing to job either.
He was a much better worker than Brody, not that
the AWA could figure out what to do with him, but
if he wouldn't job cleanly then he should just have
been a short term novelty rather than the champ.
It should have been made clear that he would have
to drop the title cleanly to whoever, whenever,
though in the case of refusing to job to Bockwinkel
the evidence suggests that Verne tried to screw Baba
since Baba had already advertised the AWA champion.

> Bockwinkle and theoretically the Road Warriors
> in the organization.

The Road Warriors were problematic because they
needed a steady diet of talented heels to stay over
in their one-dimensional monster gimmick, but they
weren't a draw on the level of Hogan where it made
sense to sacrifice the whole roster to make him
look good. Having the Roadies didn't seem to help
Jim Crockett Promotions. They were headed into
bankruptcy before Ted Turner bought Crockett out.

Verne's biggest loss was Hulk Hogan. Verne might
have been able to compete without him, but Verne
probably could not have prevailed without him.
There really wasn't anyone else after 1983 who
could have outdrawn Hogan. He was the franchise.

Frank
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 478 days
Last activity: 478 days
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.37
Vader was extremely green in early '86. Still, he should have been ahead of Earthquake Ferris on the pecking order.
Was the AWA stronger in '83 compared to '86? Definately. Was the AWA strong in '86 compared to fall of '88 to its death? Vastly. Even if the young talent was green, it still was talent, not the Derrick Dukes of the world.
And Verne could never win. However, he could have survived. At this point, Crockett had better top of the card wrestlers, but (if the Road Warriors are considered split with the AWA) he only was 8-10 deep talent wise (Horsemen, Midnight Express, Magnum, Dusty, Rock 'n Roll Express, Nikita, Ron Garvin [and the opinion of Ole and Garvin makes it vary 8-10]). '86 was the year Pez Whatley got a mini-push while Jimmy Valiant's lifelong feud with Paul Jones continued. Bobby Jaggers got a push with Dutch Mantell. It wasn't until Crockett was able to get a Rude out of Texas, and Luger and Windham up from Florida that they were able to develop roster depth. Then the UWF cooperation/purchase really allowed them to have an influx of depth. Things break a certain way, Verne could have ended up far behind Vince, but #2.
As for Vince, I still think he got lazy for a year and a half before he decided to kick things back into overdrive and try to cut everyone who was left throat.



Are we allowed to use the voices in our heads as sources?
Thread rated: 5.27
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Undertaker's Original Music
Next thread: RAW WORKRATE REPORT 6/28/04
Previous thread: Bischoff involved in new reality show
(6365 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Ok, long answer. Yes, J.R. has been held down by Lawler. Lawler's got a tendancy to let his mind wander off, to talk about anything but the match. J.R., does that too, but usually he gets back to the match eventually.
- Excalibur05, J.R. Flying Solo on RAW (2002)
The W - Pro Wrestling - [Review] 'WrestleRock', 4/20/86Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.397 seconds.