The W
Views: 97796109
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
29.7.14 2202
The W - Pro Wrestling - Real Opinions of Zach Gowen/Vince/Steph/Sable angle
This thread has 87 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1 2 Next(8511 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (40 total)
Catt16
Loukanika








Since: 27.6.03

Since last post: 4036 days
Last activity: 4036 days
#1 Posted on
Personally I can't shake the thought that even bringing Zach Gowen in was just part of publicity. Really just so people can say 'Hey, WWE has a one-legged wrestler and are giving him pushes too!' Honestly how many of the guys are really, really going to want to wrestle him? It's been said that even the roster are frustrated with McMahons preoccupation with the Zach/Vince/Steph/Sable.

Honestly, how much can a one-legged drop-kick and/or moonsault hurt. It is impressive JUST because of his disability. If Spike Dudley did that (since they're about the same size.) no one would care too much at all. What about Kidman doing the SSP after fucking himself up months ago with it, Trish knocking a tooth out or the 'ring breaking', the hype is gone from all that now. There's more hype about Zach Gowen than any other person(s) right now and I'm not saying props for him aren't deserved, but getting ALL of them just to get Vince, Steph and Sable over just as much as him isn't too fair.

I don't hate the guy, but I'm already getting sick of over a half an hour a show being with the same silly angle. -_-

Bah, it's times like this I'm thankful for TNA "How wrestling is supposed to be." and NWA-TNA were right this week, 'Stephanie McMahon Vs Sable at Vengeance; doesn't get much funnier than that folks.'

What are everyones thoughts about Zach and the whole angle?
Promote this thread!
ShotGunShep
Frankfurter








Since: 20.2.03

Since last post: 2452 days
Last activity: 2338 days
#2 Posted on
It's getting old and fast. You are right, we have seen all he can do, although he says on his website he can do nearly any top rope manuever. He doesn't have much more to offer us. But maybe they are getting away from Zach soon and moving to the Stephanie/Sable/Vince/(Linda?) soon. Not that that is much better... Raw anyone? :)
Ringmistress
Lap cheong








Since: 15.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2589 days
Last activity: 2589 days
#3 Posted on
Well, I admit that BG James isn't exactly my fave wrestler of all time, but after seeing Smackdown last night, his assesment of Sable/Steph is right on, if that "catfight" was any indication. Leave the spears to Goldberg, okay, Steph?



1100 bitches and counting....
fuelinjected
Banger








Since: 12.10.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 3176 days
Last activity: 3176 days
#4 Posted on
The use of Zach Gowen is short-sighted at best. First, there's only so much that can be done with him without destroying any suspension of disbelief or credibility of the wrestling. Second, he really only has a couple spots and they got old in NWATNA for those who saw him there. Third, how long can that one good leg really hold up? I mean it can't be good for it by working on it all the time and Zach's probably 150lbs soaking wet with bricks in his pockets and a stomach full of pasta.

He's also being shoved down our throats like nobody else and it caused some backlash from the Toronto fans, who (from the live reports) booed him.

And him wrestling Vince is gonna look so amateur hour that I'd probably rather see that Stephanie vs Sable match.
asteroidboy
Andouille








Since: 22.1.02
From: Texas

Since last post: 1344 days
Last activity: 252 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95
Why do they think Vince/Zack or Steph/Sable are gonna draw at ALL?? Why would I want to see four non-wrestlers instead of *gasp* some well-developed midcard matches?



-- Asteroid Boy


Wiener of the day: 23.7.02

"My brother saw the Undertaker walking through an airport." - Rex
"Was he no-selling?" - Me


oldschoolhero
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: nWo Country

Since last post: 1901 days
Last activity: 1835 days
#6 Posted on
I was willing to give Zach the benefit of the doubt and, in many cases, he proved that he could entertain me me. His vitriolic promo against Vince saved an otherwise unsalvageable segment, and his "wrestling" was a sight to behold last week. That said, I agree with fuelinjected on the point that the whole thing is shortsighted at best. Zach's never going to get way from the label of "plucky one-legged kid", which leaves few believable angles for him. If the Vince match is the conclusion of his flirtation with the big-time then I'll have few problems with it; the match itself should makeinteresting viewing in some way or another, and it will be kept short for obvious reasons. And as long as Gowen doesn't get his hands on the Cruiser belt any time soon, then I'll tolerate an occasional appearance on his behalf.

As for Steph/Sable...well, who cares? It'll eat up maybe ten minutes total of PPV time and that'll be it; it's highly unlikely to be as majorly offensive as, say, a Moolah/Mae Young match and, if they rehearse and rehearse and rehearse, it might just be watchable. And it's really not the sort of tihng that can be stretched out any further, so I'm not losing any sleep over it.



I Took The Father, I'll Take The Son

InVerse
Bierwurst








Since: 26.8.02

Since last post: 6 hours
Last activity: 3 hours
#7 Posted on
I've enjoyed a majority of the Zach Gowan storyline. Whether you like the participants or not, this has been a long term storyline and that's what the WWE needs now, ongoing storylines that will draw people in and make them want to keep watching to see how things turn out. Even if you don't like this particular storyline or the people involved in it, the fact that they're finally doing this is a good sign. Perhaps the next storyline to go into action will be something you'll enjoy even more.

They're doing the same thing with the Big Show and Brock Lesnar. Bitch all you want about Big Show being in the main event, but do you really think they could have kept Lesnar in such a long storyline with anybody else and not have someone come out for the worse? Brock losing to Big Show doesn't hurt Brock because Brock has beaten everybody else decisively, so it actually intrigues people to see how he'll finally overcome the Big Show once and for all. And when Brock does finally beat Big Show clean, one on one, it's not going to hurt The Big Show because it took Brock months of effort to finally pull it off. Once again, even if you don't like this particular storyline or the participants, it's a sign of good things to come if they continue the trend.



Sponsor me in the 2003 Blogathon as I try to write poetry for 24 hours straight on behalf of the ClearWater Project!
Big Bad
Scrapple








Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 8 hours
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54


    Whether you like the participants or not, this has been a long term storyline and that's what the WWE needs now, ongoing storylines that will draw people in and make them want to keep watching to see how things turn out. Even if you don't like this particular storyline or the people involved in it, the fact that they're finally doing this is a good sign. Perhaps the next storyline to go into action will be something you'll enjoy even more.


But at the end of the day, it's still a wrestling show. People tune in to see wrestling, not a poorly acted soap opera. Soap opera elements work in a storyline sense, but ONLY if it pays off in a good match. At least the McMahon family feuds in the past helped to get wrestlers (i.e. Austin, the Corporation, HHH, Trish) over, whereas in this case, the only "wrestler" involved is Zach Gowan. His stuff is impressive, but as many others in this thread have pointed out, he is more of a novelty act.

Keep in mind that the last non-wrestling novelty storyline was the one with Torrie's father marrying Dawn Marie, and we all know how well that turned out.




Over 1700 posts and still never a Wiener of the Day! But I'm not bitter!


Q: If you could have one superpower -- the strength of 100 men, invisibility, or the ability to fly -- which would you choose and why?

Michael Vick: Oh man, invisibility. If I was in a bad situation or something or I said something or you know, caught with two girls I could just disappear. I could be gone just like that -- no trouble.


"I don't understand the creative process. Actually, I make a concerted effort not to understand it. I don't know what it is or how it works but I am terrified that one green morning it will decide not to work anymore, so I have always given it as wide a bypass as possible."-- William Goldman


Spaceman Spiff
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Philly Suburbs

Since last post: 26 days
Last activity: 20 hours
AIM:  
#9 Posted on


    As for Steph/Sable...well, who cares? It'll eat up maybe ten minutes total of PPV time and that'll be it

...taking away a PPV pay-day from someone more deserving. We've seen reports that house show pay-outs have been down, PPV's have been drawing less (meaning lower pay-outs), and as a result morale has been declining. Having a match involving these 2 won't help at all, when the time could be used to get at least 2 more guys on the PPV.



MonteCarl
Potato korv








Since: 21.1.02
From: Saginaw, MI

Since last post: 152 days
Last activity: 28 days
AIM:  
#10 Posted on
I was listening to one of the many radio morning shows this morning and one of the guys is a wrestling fan. The other two were laughing at him for watching wrestling. He then started to talk about how Vince McMahon is going to be wrestling a one legged kid at the next PPV and that caused the other two DJs to laugh and scoff even more because "Vince is now beating on a cripple". Yeah, this one legged wrestler thing sure is bringing in the mainstream publicity. I guess "any publicity is good publicity" and them mentioning it on the radio could be good for buyrates or something, but I imagine that the way the other two reacted to the news is how most of the mainstream will react as well and Vince and Co. will be seen as even more of a freak than before.

--Monte N
InVerse
Bierwurst








Since: 26.8.02

Since last post: 6 hours
Last activity: 3 hours
#11 Posted on

    Originally posted by Big Bad
    Keep in mind that the last non-wrestling novelty storyline was the one with Torrie's father marrying Dawn Marie, and we all know how well that turned out.


So see, the Zach Gowan storyline is definitely a step up from that storyline. If they keep improving, we'll eventually have a storyline so good that not even this board will be able to criticize it. (Okay, so I'm exagerating, but still...)

And as for it being a "wrestling show", yes, it is. As much as I enjoy wrestling, however, I sure as hell wouldn't watch 2 hours that was nothing but matches and I don't think many people would.



Sponsor me in the 2003 Blogathon as I try to write poetry for 24 hours straight on behalf of the ClearWater Project!
Ohaire24
Loukanika








Since: 11.7.03

Since last post: 4009 days
Last activity: 4008 days
#12 Posted on
i think it totally sucks how Vince always has to get involved with everything, no wonder ratings suck, noones wants to see his dumb old ass out there walking around like hes got a pipe stuffed up his ass
Faggot
Cotechino








Since: 30.1.03
From: Upper Califia

Since last post: 3271 days
Last activity: 253 days
#13 Posted on
Torrie and Dawn Marie was a disaster, but you have to admit that Stephanie and Sable are better workers than Dawn Marie and Torrie. Sable is WAY past her prime but she was a damn good women's wrestler a few years ago. Stephanie doesn't wrestle too often but she's not as bad as some others. I remember Steph and Trish putting together a very good match at No Way Out at a time where Trish was not good in the ring at all. Don't underestimate Steph in the ring. Especially if she wears that singlet from last week.

RKMtwin
Boudin rouge








Since: 1.3.02
From: Denver, Colorado

Since last post: 2098 days
Last activity: 1541 days
#14 Posted on
Here's my opinion of this whole angle thus far...




(Some of you might not be able to see my smilie jumping into a microwave and having its head pop.)

(edited by RKMtwin on 11.7.03 1454)


David Crockett sez it best, folks: "Look at 'im, Tony! Look at 'im!"
The Vile1
Lap cheong








Since: 4.9.02
From: California

Since last post: 1927 days
Last activity: 1659 days
#15 Posted on
I thought Brock Lesnar finally overcame the Big Show TWICE and for all. He beated him cleanly at The Royal Rumble, and then again in the stretcher match at Judgement Day. Both of those PPV's which were this year. So Brock has clearly dominated the Big Show for the most part, so the question is, how will Big Show finally overcome Brock Lesnar ONCE and for all?




"Just a humble bounty hunter, ma'am."
-Spike Spiegel
Hogan's My Dad
Andouille








Since: 8.6.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 11 hours
#16 Posted on

    Originally posted by Spaceman Spiff


      As for Steph/Sable...well, who cares? It'll eat up maybe ten minutes total of PPV time and that'll be it

    ...taking away a PPV pay-day from someone more deserving. We've seen reports that house show pay-outs have been down, PPV's have been drawing less (meaning lower pay-outs), and as a result morale has been declining. Having a match involving these 2 won't help at all, when the time could be used to get at least 2 more guys on the PPV.



The WWE is clearly operating under the assumption that they have to fill their PPV cards with...err...Filler for lack of a better word. The "hilariously funny" Redneck Triathalon ate up more time than Steph/Sable. I think Smackdown has tons more potential than the RAW PPV did, but they aren't seeing it that way. For all of these brand exclusive shows we're going to see at least two or three matches designed to fill up time. I can see this argument making sense during the jount brand shows, where there was a very limited amount of time available, but rey, kidman, team angle, kurt, show, lesnar, benoit, guerrero, cena, undertaker, hardy are all going to work this event. Who exactly is being left out in the cold? I can stand A-Train not getting his payoff.






"Whatever I just posted above is what your mother said in bed last night."
KevinKellyisFNHardcore
Salami








Since: 2.1.02
From: Fresno, California

Since last post: 3583 days
Last activity: 3568 days
AIM:  
#17 Posted on

    Originally posted by Hogan's My Dad

      Originally posted by Spaceman Spiff


        As for Steph/Sable...well, who cares? It'll eat up maybe ten minutes total of PPV time and that'll be it

      ...taking away a PPV pay-day from someone more deserving. We've seen reports that house show pay-outs have been down, PPV's have been drawing less (meaning lower pay-outs), and as a result morale has been declining. Having a match involving these 2 won't help at all, when the time could be used to get at least 2 more guys on the PPV.



    The WWE is clearly operating under the assumption that they have to fill their PPV cards with...err...Filler for lack of a better word. The "hilariously funny" Redneck Triathalon ate up more time than Steph/Sable. I think Smackdown has tons more potential than the RAW PPV did, but they aren't seeing it that way. For all of these brand exclusive shows we're going to see at least two or three matches designed to fill up time. I can see this argument making sense during the jount brand shows, where there was a very limited amount of time available, but rey, kidman, team angle, kurt, show, lesnar, benoit, guerrero, cena, undertaker, hardy are all going to work this event. Who exactly is being left out in the cold? I can stand A-Train not getting his payoff.





You're right, no one is being left out in the cold (other than maybe Spanky or Ultimo, but they aren't really PPV ready guys). My beef, and probably the beef of many others, is that these "matches" take up PPV time, time that could be used in more constructive ways, i.e. promo time to build heat and longer matches (it is a PPV for God's sake). The fact that the booking team sees fit to split these two issues up is a horrible use of time management. This feud has enough gas for one tag match, especially considering the abilities of everyone involved. I can live with one sideshow freak, special attraction match, but TWO? Deserving matches WILL get cut short to make more face time for the McMahons and their cadre of hangers-on.



Weiner #91~Weiner of the Day-27.03

RantWars 4th Place finisher. 1st Class asshole.

You know what I like to do when I'm at Blockbuster? You know the quick- drop that they have there? I like to stick my penis in there. And then look at the help and say, "Have you seen this, is this any good?"
StampedeFan23
Morcilla








Since: 12.1.02
From: BC, Canada

Since last post: 1966 days
Last activity: 1503 days
#18 Posted on
I'm not enjoying the feud at all, save for seeing Steffo in that nice wrestling uniform last week. I like the new non-plastic Steffo!



Are you ready for Mahkan-mania to run wild all over you?

I mark for Molly Holly and Lance Storm.
Nag
Landjager








Since: 10.1.03
From: Enter your city here

Since last post: 2091 days
Last activity: 146 days
Y!:
#19 Posted on
Your asking for my thoughts?





Hope that sums it up for you!
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 393 days
Last activity: 393 days
#20 Posted on

    Originally posted by Big Bad


      Whether you like the participants or not, this has been a long term storyline and that's what the WWE needs now, ongoing storylines that will draw people in and make them want to keep watching to see how things turn out. Even if you don't like this particular storyline or the people involved in it, the fact that they're finally doing this is a good sign. Perhaps the next storyline to go into action will be something you'll enjoy even more.


    But at the end of the day, it's still a wrestling show. People tune in to see wrestling, not a poorly acted soap opera. Soap opera elements work in a storyline sense, but ONLY if it pays off in a good match. At least the McMahon family feuds in the past helped to get wrestlers (i.e. Austin, the Corporation, HHH, Trish) over, whereas in this case, the only "wrestler" involved is Zach Gowan. His stuff is impressive, but as many others in this thread have pointed out, he is more of a novelty act.

    Keep in mind that the last non-wrestling novelty storyline was the one with Torrie's father marrying Dawn Marie, and we all know how well that turned out.







The main problem is this: The worst thing ever to happen to wrestling was the storyline that elevated the WWF in 1998 involved Vince McMahon. Because of that, Vince believes anything that involves him must be the greatest thing ever conceived. Much like what worked in 1982-83 wasn't working in 1987-88, what worked 5 and half years ago isn't going to work now. Unfortunately, as long as Vince is alive and within control of some of his faculties/bodily functions, he'll believe that building the programming around himself and his family is the only thing that can save wrestling.
Now, onto Zach Gowen. The problem with him is he is being presented as the purest of pure babyfaces, while acting (and looking) like a 12 year old brat. I mean, Kendall Windham, Mike Von Erich and Sam Houston seem like super heavyweights compared to him. And a one legged dropkick from someone no bigger than Jimmy Hart won't have much staying power after it has been seen once or twice.



If Vince would just hire Dick Dastardly and Muttly and tell them to Catch the Pigeon, it would draw at least an 8 rating.
Pages: 1 2 Next
Pages: 1 2 NextThread ahead: 12.7.03 Confidential- Can Albert do anything right
Next thread: HHH on Heat
Previous thread: Ludvig Borga shot by wife
(8511 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Funny. That is EXACTLY how I'd do it too. As for Goldberg: Have Goldberg beat Triple H, beat Rock, beat Austin (at SummerSlam), win the RAW World Title, and set up a huge unification match between Goldberg and Brock at WrestleMania XX.
The W - Pro Wrestling - Real Opinions of Zach Gowen/Vince/Steph/Sable angleRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.432 seconds.