The W
Views: 97579968
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
22.7.14 1802
The W - the-w.com Site Feedback - Preview Post
This thread has 2 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 8.45
Pages: 1
(620 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (9 total)
SEADAWG
Boudin rouge
Moderator








Since: 5.7.03

Since last post: 540 days
Last activity: 8 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.99
Man alive, Z's. When I preview a post and then hit my browser's back button to fix something, half the time it gets wiped the f out. Either I get an empty text box or I get all the text of the post I was quoting, like I had just clicked to start a new message. All that work down the tubes! I think I mentioned this to CRZ ages ago and he said it was probably just me and I should shut up, but surely it cannot only be me suffering from this. Can it?

Anyway, after you preview a post I would like to suggest a handy "edit" button that sends your post data back to the typing window and eliminates this terrible scurge. Also, I'm still holding out hope for my suggested Buddy feature!
Promote this thread!
JustinShapiro
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 12.12.01
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 3 hours
Last activity: 1 hour
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.68
Me too! Sometimes. Now I always copy before hitting back just in case.
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 5 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.66

It seems to happen when you preview a post after spell-checking. If you don't spell-check, it doesn't disappear.....




Gabba gabba hey!
Guru Zim
SQL Dejection
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: Bay City, OR

Since last post: 18 days
Last activity: 6 hours
AIM:  
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.81
What was the buddy feature?

If I get time next week I'll try to fix the clearing text problem on preview.



Willful ignorance of science is not commendable. Refusing to learn the difference between a credible source and a shill is criminally stupid.
thecubsfan
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 10.12.01
From: Aurora, IL

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 4 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 10.00
You know, I had the text disappearing problem when I was using IE, but stopped when I went to Firefox.

I didn't mess around enough to check, but I think it actually had to do with how often the browser checks for a new page; if it checks for a new version of the page, which wouldn't contain anything you just typed.

But yea, an edit page would be sweet.



thecubsfan.com - CMLLBlog
DJ FrostyFreeze
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Hawthorne, CA

Since last post: 84 days
Last activity: 18 hours
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95

The only time I dont copy the text before previewing my post is if I have some work-related text in my clipboard that I dont wanna lose.

I lose posts maybe 90% of the time (I always use IE), but I havent figured why or why not yet.



I know you are, but what am I?
"This guy might be the losingest loser on the whole board!" - pieman

CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 9 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.02
    Originally posted by thecubsfan
    You know, I had the text disappearing problem when I was using IE, but stopped when I went to Firefox.
    Originally posted by DJ FrostyFreeze
    I lose posts maybe 90% of the time (I always use IE), but I havent figured why or why not yet.
Well, I never lose my posts, and I also never use IE. HMMMMMMMMM.

(I always ask about the cache settings here, usually)

I promise to implement the buddy feature in 2005 (and most likely, during my mandatory days off next week), now that I actually have some pseudo-code in my head.



CRZ
SEADAWG
Boudin rouge
Moderator








Since: 5.7.03

Since last post: 540 days
Last activity: 8 hours
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.99
    Originally posted by CRZ
    Well, I never lose my posts, and I also never use IE. HMMMMMMMMM.
I'm using IE at the moment, but the vast majority of my W postings have been with Mozilla/Firefox/whatev and I got the same thing with it, too. And I don't use teh spel cheeck so it must do it either way.

    Originally posted by Guru Zim
    What was the buddy feature?
I'm so glad you asked! Basically, it was a thing where you could set certain posters as your "buddy" and then there'd be a buddy page where it'd list your buddies and show you their most recent posts, or the threads where they'd been posting, or what have you.

I also had an idea for an Anti-Buddy feature which would do the same thing, except instead of doing it with people who's posts you actually want to read, you do it with people you don't like and who you want to keep tabs on in case they say something dumb that you can jump all over in an attempt to crush and humiliate them. Of course, that could also be accomplished by just adding them to the standard buddy list. It's just that they would not actually be your buddy, which somewhat cheapens the buddy prestige.

    Originally posted by CRZ
    I promise to implement the buddy feature in 2005 (and most likely, during my mandatory days off next week), now that I actually have some pseudo-code in my head.
Hooray!
Net Hack Slasher
Banger








Since: 6.1.02
From: Outer reaches of your mind

Since last post: 3497 days
Last activity: 1917 days
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 9.00
I lose my text many times as well. As it's been suggested it's smart to copy your text before previewing. If you forgot and you press back and see a blank sheet, you can always press Forward then and go back to your Preview page of what your wrote. Your text will be there you can just copy and paste as you click back to the blank sheet, if you used any codes you'll have to re-code it but at least you'll have your text.



smark/net attack wienerville advisory holds at ORANGE alert - High (JBL is STILL WWE champion and now smarks arch enemy HHH is the World Champion. Major red threat, but the undercard seems okay. The alert holds... for now)- 9/19
Thread rated: 8.45
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: The Search Engine
Next thread: Ability to disable...
Previous thread: Fark Ad?
(620 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
In honour of the greatest season of the greatest series of television in the history of televised television, EddieBurkett suggested this (in retrospect, obvious) cohice.
- CRZ, W OF THE WEEK: 06.32 (2006)
The W - the-w.com Site Feedback - Preview PostRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.082 seconds.