Sami Kapanen is playing tonight... The score is 3-1 for Carolina.
Sami has a goal... His plus/minus is -1.
HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE???
I always understood +/- to be the number of goals for against the number allowed while the player is on the ice. Now clearly, if Sami scored, he was on the ice... Which means he should be +1. Now if he was on while the Islanders scored, that sets him back to 0.
As far as I understand the rule, his -1 is impossible. And this is certainly not the first time I have seen this.
Plus/Minus A player is awarded a "plus" each time he is on the ice when his Club scores an even-strength or shorthanded goal. He receives a "minus" if he is on the ice for an even-strength or shorthanded goal scored by the opposing Club. The difference in these numbers in considered the player's "plus-minus" statistic.
(edited by odessasteps on 22.10.02 2130) Odessa Steps Magazine Fall 2002 - On sale now www.odessasteps.com See us at the Baltimore Comicon - Oct 26-27
In the course of a half hour this afternoon, it was announced that Steven Stamkos has re-signed with the Tampa Bay Lightning, the Edmonton Oilers traded Taylor Hall to New Jersey for Adam Larsson, and the Montreal Canadiens traded PK Subban to Nashville f...