The W
Views: 107423733
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
3.10.15 2223
The W - Hockey - NHL awards preview and prediction
This thread has 65 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(546 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Post (6 total)

Since: 6.8.02
From: St. Louis

Since last post: 67 days
Last activity: 33 days
#1 Posted on
The NHL awards ceremony is tonight (I think its on ESPN2 at 8 ET). Some interesting ways they can go this year, here are the nominees.

Hart trophy (MVP)
-Martin Brodeur (NJ)
-Peter Forsberg (COL)
-Markus Naslund (VAN)

Norris Trophy (best defenseman)
-Derian Hatcher (DAL)
-Al MacInnis (STL)
-Niklas Lidstron (DET)

Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender)
-Ed Belfour (TOR)
-Martin Brodeur (NJ)
-Marty Turco (DAL)

Calder Trophy (rookie of the year)
-Barret Jackman (STL)
-Rick Nash (CLB)
-Henrik Zetterberg (DET)

Jack Adams Trophy (coach of the year)
-Jacques Lemaire (MIN)
-Jacques Martin (OTT)
-John Tortorella (TB)

Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward)
-Jere Lehtinen (DAL)
-John Madden (NJ)
-Wes Walz (MIN)

Lady Byng Trophy (Sportsmanship and Gentlemanly play)
-Alexander Mogilny (TOR)
-Mike Modano (DAL)
-Niklas Lidstrom (DET)

Masterson Trophy (sportsmanship, perserverance, dedication to hockey)
-Brian Berard (BOS)
-Steve Rucchin (ANA)
-Steve Yzerman (DET)

The Jennings Trophy (best save percentage), Maurice Richard trophy (Most goals), and the Art Ross Trophy (most points), will also be awarded, but obviously the winners are already determined. Jennings (Chechmanke, Esche, Brodeur will share award), Richard (Hejduk), Art Ross (Forsberg)

My predictions

-Vezina-Brodeur (though Turco could win, missing some games may hurt him)
-Lady Byng-Modano

So I pranked death.....with a tire iron!
Promote this thread!
Pickled pork

Since: 16.7.02
From: Vancouver, BC

Since last post: 3803 days
Last activity: 3421 days
#2 Posted on
On a slightly different, but related, topic, Markus Naslund has won the Lester Pearson Trophy. The Trophy is for the most outstanding player during the regular season and is voted on by the players (NHLPA)

WTG Markus, my home town hero!

My predictions for the awards tonight are:

Lady Byng--Modano

"It takes a whole lotta whiskey to make these nightmares go away" -- Tom Waits, Blue Valentine
Net Hack Slasher

Since: 6.1.02
From: Outer reaches of your mind

Since last post: 3935 days
Last activity: 2355 days
#3 Posted on
Hart trophy --Martin Brodeur(NJ)

Norris Trophy --Niklas Lidstron(DET)

Vezina Trophy -- Martin Brodeur(NJ)

Calder Trophy --Barret Jackman(STL)

Jack Adams Trophy --Jacques Lemaire(MIN)

Selke Trophy --John Madden(NJ)

Lady Byng Trophy --Mike Modano(DAL)

Masterson Trophy -- Brian Berard(BOS)

cause there's limits to our liberties.
'Least I hope and pray that there are,
cause those liberal freaks go too far.

I'll crush all opposition to me
And I'll make Ted Kennedy pay
If he fights back, I'll say that he's gay
Big Bad

Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 22 hours
Last activity: 22 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
Yay, Alex Mogilny won the Lady Byng! The Leafs at least won one trophy this year!

Over 1350 posts and still never a Wiener of the Day!

In the issues of December 16th, 2000 to November 10th, 2001, we may have given the impression that George W. Bush had been legally and duly elected president of the United States. We now understand that this may have been incorrect, and that the election result is still too close to call. The Economist apologizes for any inconvenience.
--- The Economist, 11/17/01

Since: 17.1.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 885 days
Last activity: 881 days
#5 Posted on
A Maple Leaf wins for gentalmanly play? WTF?

Now you will receive us.
We do not ask for your poor, or your hungry.
We do not want your tired and sick.
It is your corrupt we claim.
It is your evil that will be sought by us.
With every breath, we shall hunt them down.
Each day we will spill their blood, 'til it rains down from the skies.
Do not kill. Do not rape. Do not steal. These are principles which every man of every faith can embrace.
These are not polite suggestions, these are codes of behavior, and those of you that ignore them will pay the dearest cost.
There are varying degrees of evil. We urge you lesser forms of filth, not to push the bounds and cross over, in to true corruption, into our domain.
For if you do, one day you will look behind you and you will see we three, and on that day you will reap it.
And we will send you to whatever god you wish.
Collin & Murphy MacManus
Shot in the dark

Since: 11.1.02
From: Houston

Since last post: 65 days
Last activity: 65 days
#6 Posted on
How about my man Buck 65 opening the show? Not bad for a guy who doesn't know a heck of a lot about hockey...

You kids like the rock 'n roll music? Then here's Matthew Good
Pages: 1Thread ahead: 50 mil for Fedorov?
Next thread: Game 7 ratings
Previous thread: Hockey Hall of Fame - Class of 2003
(546 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Toronto certainly played like they had a Game 7 hangover last night.......the Avs were suffering the same against the Sharks the day before.......Detroit looks good......can't wait to see which glass slipper fits Cinderella's foot down in NASCAR Land
- dunkndollaz, Round 2 (2002)
Related threads: Stanley Cup Finals; Game 7 - The Round Four Thread! - The Round Three thread - More...
The W - Hockey - NHL awards preview and predictionRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

©2001-2015 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.13 seconds.