The W
Views: 95707510
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
21.4.14 0253
The W - Football - NFL Free Agent preview article
This thread has 2 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.22
Pages: 1
(1454 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (6 total)
Mayhem
Scrapple








Since: 25.4.03
From: Nashville, TN

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 1 day
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.77
Thought I'd share this.

This was a pretty interesting read that breaks down the top 3 or 4 NFL free agent players by position.

http://www.sportsline.com/nfl/story/8183311

I'm curious as to what the Seahawks will do in trying to keep both Hasselback & Alexander in the fold.

(edited by Mayhem on 11.2.05 1133)
Promote this thread!
Grimis
Scrapple








Since: 11.7.02
From: MD

Since last post: 1084 days
Last activity: 881 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.29
Actually, this article is about the Barber twins....



TheBucsFan
TheChiefsFan








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 24 days
Last activity: 11 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.42
The story he meant to link to is here (sportsline.com).

There aren't many big names out there on the market right now, but running back and a couple defensive spots have some nice depth.





Become Republican!
Mayhem
Scrapple








Since: 25.4.03
From: Nashville, TN

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 1 day
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.77
    Originally posted by Grimis
    Actually, this article is about the Barber twins....


Crap ... my bad ... will edit. I sent the Barber twins article to someone in my office.
Jaguar
Knackwurst








Since: 23.1.02
From: Phoenix, AZ

Since last post: 13 days
Last activity: 13 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.02
Aw man. You just got me all revved up again. Looking at just the Panthers (because what have you done for ME lately, Vikings/Broncos/Cardinals?!) we'd be insane to let Moose get away. Rod Smart also has a home in Carolina, but if he gets a big offer he might as well take it.

The Panthers desperately need depth on the O-Line and to get rid of Matt Willig (how many times can you singlehandedly cost us the game, Matt?). I expect them to make some offers on the O-Line FAs (I'd love to get Rabach or Hamilton) but not actually get any and draft some O-Line talent instead.

Cornerback/Safety is an interesting look. Gamble is growing as a solid #2, but Hawkins could be improved on to give better nickle coverage. Colin Branch was a decent FS, but didn't set the world on fire. Smoot or Dyson would be awesome pickups to say the least, and it'd be nice to load some more experienced firepower into the defence unless there's some *very* promising draft picks available. If nobody makes a move on Darius, I'd be tempted to just because we can. Every second the QB has to spend looking for an open man gives our front seven another chance to hit him.

Steve Smith will be back this season, and combined with Moose, Proehl, and Colbert gives us a decent group of receivers. I'd be most interested in getting a TE who can adding a passing dimension while still being able to be the run blocker we need.

Allen (I thought it was Alex...) Rossum is a free agent? The Falcons would be idiots to let him get away.

-Jag



I look at all the choices I've made these past few years, and it seems like I've been playing "Marty-ball" with my life. Ugh.
Hurrikane757k
Salami








Since: 20.1.04
From: Fairfax, VA

Since last post: 3253 days
Last activity: 2351 days
AIM:  
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.36
    Originally posted by Jaguar
    The Panthers desperately need depth on the O-Line and to get rid of Matt Willig (how many times can you singlehandedly cost us the game, Matt?). I expect them to make some offers on the O-Line FAs (I'd love to get Rabach or Hamilton) but not actually get any and draft some O-Line talent instead.


A lot of the mock drafts have Carolina going offensive line in the first round, which is fine by me. I'd rather have a solid young nucleus that includes Gross and Wharton rather than having to shell out big bucks when there are other positions of need.


    Cornerback/Safety is an interesting look. Gamble is growing as a solid #2, but Hawkins could be improved on to give better nickle coverage. Colin Branch was a decent FS, but didn't set the world on fire. Smoot or Dyson would be awesome pickups to say the least, and it'd be nice to load some more experienced firepower into the defence unless there's some *very* promising draft picks available. If nobody makes a move on Darius, I'd be tempted to just because we can. Every second the QB has to spend looking for an open man gives our front seven another chance to hit him.


Getting a #1 corner would be a great move, as that's been the defense's biggest weakness in the Fox era. Aside from Minter, I wouldn't say that the secondary has any playmakers, but a Smoot or Dyson, like you mentioned, would greatly help the Panthers in terms of not having to rely on the front seven to play the pass. I think that they'll go safety in the draft, as you can usually get some quality in the middle rounds.



Thread rated: 4.22
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Jeff Garcia goes buh-bye ...
Next thread: Freddie Mitchell opens mouth again
Previous thread: Norm Chow & his future
(1454 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
which means..... Pittsburgh beats Buffalo - Bledsoe sucks on the road kc beats Miami - jan stenerud kicks the GW FG in OT Carolina beats Washington - Spurrier's head implodes Tampa beats the giants - because I hate the giants then......
- dunkndollaz, NFL Playoff seedings after Week 3 (2003)
Related threads: Marino, Young and two guys you never heard of, get into the HOF - The NFL Coaching Vacancies Begin ... - NFL Week 16 in Review - More...
The W - Football - NFL Free Agent preview articleRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.107 seconds.