The W
Views: 97646287
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
24.7.14 1641
The W - Video Games - New Here Comes the Pain Preview
This thread has 75 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1(2732 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (16 total)
EddieBurkett
Boudin blanc








Since: 3.1.02
From: GA in person, NJ in heart

Since last post: 12 days
Last activity: 2 hours
#1 Posted on
Gamespot has some new impressions of WWE Smackdown!: Here Comes the Pain, after playing a demo version at the ECTS. Of note, they seemed to like the new grapple system. But why is a game site calling HHH by his real name?

Also, for the record, although its been called Smackdown 6 in previous thread titles, this is only the fifth installment in the Smackdown series.



I'm Mr. Mister. Watch your back, felons! When I get pissed, you get mist!
Promote this thread!
Mr Tuesday
Kolbasz








Since: 6.1.02
From: Chicago, IL

Since last post: 776 days
Last activity: 482 days
#2 Posted on
Seems they updated the game, Unmasked Kane!

http://image.com.com/gamespot/images/2003/screen0/589727_20030828_screen025.jpg



"No Signature Needed!"
Alex
Bratwurst








Since: 24.2.02

Since last post: 14 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#3 Posted on
Hey, sounds like they`re FINALLY going to put blood in one of these games (I think the first game only had the Blood Bath victim in a red light).



http://www.listentome.net
RKMtwin
Boudin rouge








Since: 1.3.02
From: Denver, Colorado

Since last post: 2092 days
Last activity: 1536 days
#4 Posted on
"Seems they updated the game, Unmasked Kane!"

Oh my gosh! They've even got it down to Kane's uneven baldy head!

This leads me to hoping vainly for the inclusion of being able to alter the appearance of the wrestlers and being able to copy the superstars, a la 'No Mercy.' Sure, these wouldn't be earth-shattering additions to the game, but they're cool options that I felt was sorely missing in SD:SYM.

I also hope that they've include elements of X-Box's RAW option of being able to customize entrances. I LOVED that feature!

I've also seen some of the images of the Elimination Chamber in the game elswhere on the net, and I am VERY impressed. Also, even though most of the available images don't have the best resolution, one can tell that they've greatly improved the appearance of the crowd and the arena background.

Lastly, I think they should make each venue for the PPV events, RAW and SD! physically different, in the sense that WM for instance, having been held in stadiums over the last few years, have had HUGE entrance setups and longer walkways. This should be reflected in this game, as it could add more to the realism of the game and generally improve the overall gamind experience. And why not throw in the older RAW and SD! setups too? They could be unlocked from going through season mode.

(Yeah, I know that it seems a bit obtuse to be pontificating on what could be added to this game at this point, but hey, THQ could throw stuff like this into the NEXT SD! game, or whatever WWE game will come out for PS2 in the future.)

At any rate, I'm excited that Here Comes The Pain is coming out in a couple of months. I'm going to save my money starting as of... NOW!

(edited by RKMtwin on 31.8.03 2153)


SchippeWreck
Banger








Since: 26.3.03
From: Glendale, CA

Since last post: 2 hours
Last activity: 35 min.
#5 Posted on


Man, is THQ gonna be pissed if he shows up re-masked tomorrow night.

(edited by CRZ on 1.9.03 0148)


Twist of Fate
Bauerwurst








Since: 2.5.03
From: Adelaide, South Aus.

Since last post: 3707 days
Last activity: 2989 days
ICQ:  
#6 Posted on
I think it's about damn time they got their shit together.

It was so annoying to have a new SD! game come out, and see that Kane was in his old gear. and even though you pay for the game, and own it, and have a memory card to save onto, you STILL can't change what the preset wrestlers wear.

damn it, i pay $100 Australian to play that game, and if i want Brock Lesnar to fight in a pink tootoo like the bitch he has become, then damnit, thats what i shoud be able to do!



CANADIAN BULLDOG
Andouille








Since: 5.3.03
From: TORONTO

Since last post: 455 days
Last activity: 453 days
ICQ:  
#7 Posted on
    Originally posted by Twist of Fate
    if i want Brock Lesnar to fight in a pink tootoo like the bitch he has become, then damnit, thats what i shoud be able to do!


Well, to each their own, I guess....



An interview WHAT? I said, an interview WHAT? A conversation WHAT? A chat WHAT? DialogueWHAT? Exclusive interview with Stoned Cold in the latest Inside The Ropes

WHAT?

------------------------------------------------------------
The official Online Onslaught Inside The Ropes archive!!!
Twist of Fate
Bauerwurst








Since: 2.5.03
From: Adelaide, South Aus.

Since last post: 3707 days
Last activity: 2989 days
ICQ:  
#8 Posted on
hahahaha

ok, i wouldn't make him wrestle like that
it was just a very specific example to emphesise my point.



Nate The Snake
Liverwurst








Since: 9.1.02
From: Wichita, Ks

Since last post: 3658 days
Last activity: 3127 days
AIM:  
#9 Posted on
    Originally posted by Twist of Fate
    hahahaha

    ok, i wouldn't make him wrestle like that
    it was just a very specific example to emphesise my point.


Hell, go ahead and do it. Why else is that ballet entrance in the game?



Kansas-born and deeply ashamed
The last living La Parka Marka

"They that can give up essential liberty to gain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin
DarkRenegade
Bockwurst








Since: 19.5.02
From: YOUR MOTHER!

Since last post: 2661 days
Last activity: 421 days
AIM:  
#10 Posted on
...


Does anyone know yet if the game will allow female wrestlers to do season mode? Or if they'll allow you to create a PPV like the first two?




Why, oh why didn't you guys vote for Molly?!

MMPS Member

Visit Jyle.com...it's good for you!

Ubermonkeys
Frankfurter








Since: 2.1.02
From: Michigan

Since last post: 3427 days
Last activity: 3301 days
AIM:  
#11 Posted on
http://ps2.ign.com/articles/436/436689p1.html

In-depth stuff where IGN went right to THQ and asked to get DEFINITE FINAL ANSWERS. "Highlights":

-Still no Noble, Nunzio, Spanky, Shannon, or Molly

-No create-a-belt or create-a-ppv

-Glass can be broken in the Elimination Chamber.

Yeehaw.



go to WV and also go to JID

Underwater
Boerewors








Since: 5.10.02
From: Battle Creek, Michigan

Since last post: 3187 days
Last activity: 2836 days
#12 Posted on
Evolution is in the game. My CAW is going to fucking rule it.

STILL not being able to edit the in-game wrestlers' attire sucks, though.



+1
Pike
Italian








Since: 7.4.03
From: KS

Since last post: 3674 days
Last activity: 3666 days
AIM:  
#13 Posted on
I wonder if we can have teeth for are CAW guys, because it's crap that my guys can't have teeth or if I make Arn Anderson.



Great Muta is a wrestling GOD!! praise the Great Muta.
Twist of Fate
Bauerwurst








Since: 2.5.03
From: Adelaide, South Aus.

Since last post: 3707 days
Last activity: 2989 days
ICQ:  
#14 Posted on
1 - i totally, it was crap that they didn't let you partake in season mode with chick wrestlers but i guess with the limited field of female wrestlers, they thought it would be too boring fighting the same 5 or 6 opponents over and over.(not that i'm making excuses for them, they should have left it in)

2 - STILL NOT ALLOWED TO CHANGE PREMADES ATTIRE!! >
for christs sake, i don't see why not! in the N64's games you could change what in the hell you liked.
"this makes me very angry!"

3 - who cares if the glass on the elim chamber brakes? the first time Kane threw Y2J through it it was cool, then Goldberg ripped it off, and made it crap
in summation, Goldberg smells, Kane rules.



Excalibur05
Knackwurst








Since: 19.1.02
From: Minnesota

Since last post: 22 hours
Last activity: 8 hours
AIM:  
#15 Posted on
    Originally posted by Twist of Fate
    1 - i totally, it was crap that they didn't let you partake in season mode with chick wrestlers but i guess with the limited field of female wrestlers, they thought it would be too boring fighting the same 5 or 6 opponents over and over.(not that i'm making excuses for them, they should have left it in)


But, you're right on the money on why they didn't leave it in. There's only so many times you can fight Ivory, before you go..."You know, this women's divison doesn't have too many wrestlers." And besides, you're only going after one belt. Sure, as a guy you're really only shooting for the World Title (of which there are now two), but you have the opportunity to win the others along the way if you so dictate. So about the only way that playing Season as a woman would be interesting is if you could go after the guy's titles, and given the desparity in size and skill of the women's division wrestlers and the men, it wouldn't go well (and plus, it'd be stupid).


    2 - STILL NOT ALLOWED TO CHANGE PREMADES ATTIRE!! >
    for christs sake, i don't see why not! in the N64's games you could change what in the hell you liked.
    "this makes me very angry!"


Am I the only one who DOESN'T give a shit? I mean, seriously, yeah, I suppose it'd be fun to give Benoit his mullet back and then dress him in a Doink costume...but who cares? I don't know what the memory issues are with this (you can change the moves, so not very heavy, I imagine), so I guess THQ and WWE just don't see a demand for it. You're, at least initially and in theory, buying the game for the wrestlers contained within. You know that the costumes might be a month or two out of date. It just seems like such an unnecessary feature to add, especially when the primary use for it would be to make stupid jokes at the wrestler's expense (OMG! We gave HHH boobs! He's Triple Boob! Lolz!). So I don't see why THQ should waste the time or money to do it, when a) most people wouldn't use it and b) it really doesn't effect the presentation or gameplay.


    3 - who cares if the glass on the elim chamber brakes? the first time Kane threw Y2J through it it was cool, then Goldberg ripped it off, and made it crap
    in summation, Goldberg smells, Kane rules.


It's just another neat thing that they threw in there to make the match more realistic. Your personal tastes notwithstanding, certainly you understand that. It was a nice little move on their part.

(edited by Excalibur05 on 8.9.03 0355)


Wisconsin Badgers: 2-0 (Uh...Akron? Defense, don't allow that many points ever again. Now if Lee Evans could score from the one every week, that'd be great)


Minnesota Vikings: 1-0 (Had me scared there at the end, but the defense was mega-solid, and the offense looked good. Dare I hope for a good year?)
EddieBurkett
Boudin blanc








Since: 3.1.02
From: GA in person, NJ in heart

Since last post: 12 days
Last activity: 2 hours
#16 Posted on
I'm probably being *way* too cynical, but I'd wager part of the reason that THQ is reluctant to allow changing costumes is because they don't want to make it easier for you to skip buying next year's game. Although, I wouldn't be surprised if memory is the primary issue. I don't know what the size of No Mercy was on the N64 memory cards, but Just Bring It took up half a PS2 memory card (8 MEG)!!! They cut it down drastically for Shut Your Mouth. If anything, its probably a situation where they can give you thirty-two slots for created wrestlers and static wrestler outfits, or five to ten created wrestlers and customizable costumes. And if that's the case, I can understand why they would think the former is more marketable.



Low tide for the time being.
Pages: 1Thread ahead: WarioWare for the 'Cube
Next thread: 3 year old Daughter dies as Mom playes EverQuest
Previous thread: MADDEN 2004
(2732 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Alright. Here's the breakdown of the purchase: Nintendo DS Lite - Polar White Brain Age New Super Mario Brothers Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Blue Rescue Team Retro Atari Classics (I can play Pong). Thanks again for all your assistance!
- pieman, Question from a non-Gamer (2006)
The W - Video Games - New Here Comes the Pain PreviewRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.309 seconds.