The W
Views: 101454508
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
19.12.14 2028
The W - Movies & TV - MICROREVIEWS
This thread has 9 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.05
Pages: 1
(4480 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (12 total)
CRZ
Big Brother
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: ミネアポリス

Since last post: 5 hours
Last activity: 42 min.
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.53
No, really, I WANT to start a thread about every show I watch, except I probably won't work up more than a few words about each one so let's save us all the time and pile 'em together in one post. You can play, too! And you! But not you.

SIMPSONS: The opener was great, the next one...not so great. We'll see how this season progresses

FAMILY GUY: No complaints - stay the course

AMERICAN DAD: Seems LIGHT YEARS better than when it premiered after the Super Bowl - honestly, I think that was the worst episode of the run and they ran that one first. TV people - am I right?

THE WAR AT HOME: Shoulda cancelled THAT one after two shows. Why'd they cancel "Titus" if they were just gonna put this one on the air?

ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT: How can I get more people to watch this show? (Besides "take it off Mondays")

KITCHEN CONFIDENTIAL: Will see it soon, I swear

RAW: Have I really devoted over TWELVE years of Mondays to watching this show?

MY NAME IS EARL: I'm so glad I didn't let the fact that I'd seen INFINITY PLUS ONE ads for it keep me from actually giving it a chance. I really hope this one does well.

THE OFFICE: This season MAY be magical

LAW & ORDER: SVU: More of the same except WHY lead off with a Belzer-less episode? Arrrrrgh. I've been more interested in this show the more USA reruns I've caught my wife watching, but Tuesday is usually such a good night to NAP - we'll see.

LOST: You had me, but you're losing me - ha ha, get it, losing me, Lost, ahhhhhhhahahaha I need sleep

LAW & ORDER: Hey, Green's back! Hey, McCoy will never leave!

CSI: Will be interesting to see if they can maintain the quality - actually, the middle of last season got kinda... well let's just say throwing in the soap opera stuff can get kinda dangerous - as in dangerous-ly not why I watch the show

CRIMINAL MINDS: Good show but I doubt I'll ever catch it if it's up against Smackdown - and I have a hunch that'll be like every Friday

WITHOUT A TRACE: NEXT week! Ask me next week.

NUMB3RS: I haven't seen it yet! It's tonight! I bet that new chick makes me wish the old chick was still there!

SNL: Also...next week? Is that right?

All in all, not a bad premiere week(s).

OKAY



GO



CRZ
Promote this thread!
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 15 days
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.87

    Originally posted by CRZ
    NUMB3RS: I haven't seen it yet! It's tonight! I bet that new chick makes me wish the old chick was still there!


Is the new chick the one that was on "The Job" with Denis Leary? If so, I think she might be okay.





Gabba gabba hey!
Mr Shh
Toulouse








Since: 9.1.02
From: Bergen County, NJ

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 day
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.11
    Originally posted by CRZ
    FAMILY GUY: No complaints - stay the course

Yeah, but what the hell was that second episode all about? That was just...weird.

    Originally posted by CRZ
    AMERICAN DAD: Seems LIGHT YEARS better than when it premiered after the Super Bowl - honestly, I think that was the worst episode of the run and they ran that one first. TV people - am I right?

And I thought watching it the second time when it re-aired over the summer would help me appreciate it more. Nope. But this show, overall, is awesome.

    Originally posted by CRZ
    KITCHEN CONFIDENTIAL: Will see it soon, I swear

Please do, before it suffers the same fate as Head Cases.

    Originally posted by CRZ
    CSI: Will be interesting to see if they can maintain the quality - actually, the middle of last season got kinda... well let's just say throwing in the soap opera stuff can get kinda dangerous - as in dangerous-ly not why I watch the show

Yes, but I like how they're picking up the Stokes-kidnapping storyline again. If they carry that sub-plot throughout the season, it could be *really* good.

Come on, man - no PRISON BREAK?
Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: Kolob

Since last post: 9 days
Last activity: 12 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.61
What happened this past week on CSI? Work ran late and I missed it...and I don't want to wait until mid season for a possible replay.



See what happens when you Google the word FAILURE".

What fun!
JustinShapiro
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 12.12.01
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 2 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.46
Eww eww I have to bite my lip through praise of gay Seth MacFarlane shows to talk about CSI~~~

    Originally posted by Mr Shh
      Originally posted by CRZ
      CSI: Will be interesting to see if they can maintain the quality - actually, the middle of last season got kinda... well let's just say throwing in the soap opera stuff can get kinda dangerous - as in dangerous-ly not why I watch the show


    Yes, but I like how they're picking up the Stokes-kidnapping storyline again. If they carry that sub-plot throughout the season, it could be *really* good.


I think maybe Walter Gordon had an accomplice! I'm intrigued. Also I like how the cop who left Nick is now a recurring guy with the gimmick of being a guy who always screws up. Catherine & Warrick, don't buy it, never bought it. I'm only slightly more interested in Sara's childhood, but at least that leads to funny scenes where she gets insubordinant.


    Originally posted by SOK
    What happened this past week on CSI? Work ran late and I missed it...and I don't want to wait until mid season for a possible replay.


Despite the hype on "I think maybe Walter Gordon had an accomplice" in the previews, that wasn't actually the focus of the episode, which was just two typical criminalist plots. But what you need to know:

1) The lab got the tape that was left for Nick in the grave ("Hey CSI guy, etc etc"), and Grissom hears a second voice on it. He tells Archie to keep it between them.

2) As per Grissom's request at the end of last season, the whole team is reunited for the night shift. I wonder if Catherine took a pay cut.

3) Warrick got married and Catherine was jealous.

4) People are being extra nice to Nick.

5) Boring Sophia from last season is now some kind of cop or detective or something.

(edited by JustinShapiro on 23.9.05 1451)
SchippeWreck
Banger








Since: 26.3.03
From: Glendale, CA

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 10 hours
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.28
    Originally posted by JustinShapiro
      Originally posted by SOK
      What happened this past week on CSI? Work ran late and I missed it...and I don't want to wait until mid season for a possible replay.


    Despite the focus on "I think maybe Walter Gordon had an accomplice" in the previews, that wasn't actually the focus of the episode, which was just two typical criminalist plots. But the lab got the tape that was left for Nick in the grave ("Hey CSI guy, etc etc"), and Grissom hears a second voice on it. He tells Archie to keep it between them. Also, Warrick got married and Catherine was jealous. And people are being extra nice to Nick.

    (edited by JustinShapiro on 23.9.05 1447)

Don't forget Greg accidentally eating human soup! Folks in the know are saying that Season 6 is promising to be more gruesome than any of the previous 5.

And didn't Warrick date a Tina in one of the early seasons, like 1 or 2?



My mom says sigs are bad for you.
Kevintripod
Boudin blanc








Since: 11.5.03
From: Mount Pleasant, Pa.

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 23 hours
AIM:  
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.57
    Originally posted by CRZ
    LOST: You had me, but you're losing me



Whaat ? Losing you ?

After the season premier, I'm probably even more hooked on that show than ever before.

By any chance did you catch "Invasion" after "LOST" ? It wasn't really as good as I hoped it might be, but I'm gonna give it a chance. Btw...is the chubby bearded guy a complete rip-off of Jack Black or what ?



"Oh it's on like Donkey Kong !!!" - Stifler, American Wedding
Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: Kolob

Since last post: 9 days
Last activity: 12 hours
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.61
    Originally posted by SchippeWreck
      Originally posted by JustinShapiro
        Originally posted by SOK
        What happened this past week on CSI? Work ran late and I missed it...and I don't want to wait until mid season for a possible replay.


      Despite the focus on "I think maybe Walter Gordon had an accomplice" in the previews, that wasn't actually the focus of the episode, which was just two typical criminalist plots. But the lab got the tape that was left for Nick in the grave ("Hey CSI guy, etc etc"), and Grissom hears a second voice on it. He tells Archie to keep it between them. Also, Warrick got married and Catherine was jealous. And people are being extra nice to Nick.

      (edited by JustinShapiro on 23.9.05 1447)

    Don't forget Greg accidentally eating human soup! Folks in the know are saying that Season 6 is promising to be more gruesome than any of the previous 5.

    And didn't Warrick date a Tina in one of the early seasons, like 1 or 2?
Is Greg back in the DNA lab or is he still a CSI?

I borrowed a friends' copy of GRAVE DANGER, and I spent an hour trying to read Nick's lips (Grissom got it and confirmed it) but wasn't able to. I'm still wondering what he said to Grissom there.



See what happens when you Google the word "FAILURE".

What fun!
SchippeWreck
Banger








Since: 26.3.03
From: Glendale, CA

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 10 hours
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.28
Greg's still a CSI. There will probably be a backlog in DNA until Ghost Whisperer gets cancelled.

Though, Aisha Tyler pulled double duty with CSI and 24 last year, so she might not be gone yet.



My mom says sigs are bad for you.
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 185 days
Last activity: 152 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41

Yes, the new chick on Numbers is Diane Farr, formerly of Rescue Me, The Job and Loveline on MTV.



Mark Coale
Odessa Steps Magazine
The Affirmation, Baby Blog
Ticamo
Boerewors








Since: 19.7.02
From: Trenton, NJ, USA

Since last post: 2853 days
Last activity: 2151 days
AIM:  
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.63
    Originally posted by SOK
    I borrowed a friends' copy of GRAVE DANGER, and I spent an hour trying to read Nick's lips (Grissom got it and confirmed it) but wasn't able to. I'm still wondering what he said to Grissom there.


I tried to decipher it a little and from what I got was that he said something that ended with "disappoint you", to which Grissom says that he never did. It's hard to read because the shot is so tight.

Onto the new season, I don't buy the impulsive marriage/jealous Catherine storyline, unless they introduce the viewers to Warrick's new bride and have her killed off a week later. It's like Dr. Green's first wife on ER. Didn't really need the addition of a wife here.

It's good to see the team back together, but does that mean that if you die before their shift begins, you're screwed?

I watched the first episode of LOST because I was told that I was really missing out. Thanks to the recap episode before the premiere, I wasn't too out of the loop. I thought it was interesting, but it's still not my kind of show. I thought the acting was/is good, but it just wasn't a show for me.

L&O:SUV wasn't bad, except why mention Munch if you aren't going to give me Munch.

I still love FOX's Sunday Night line up, except for The War at Home. FOX sitcoms are so cookie cutter now.

Bad kids who scheme behind their seemingly naive parents; check. Knowing parents who lack the nerve/care/desire to confront their kids; check. Mediocre comedy writers; check. Laugh track; check. One gullible TV network to put this crap on the tv; priceless.

Prison Break is a lot better than I expected. The premise is different, but it's shaping up to be a strong show.

I'm still waiting for Cold Case, The Amazing Race and Without a Trace... Man, I watch a lot of CBS.

(edited by Ticamo on 25.9.05 1419)
Battlezone
Potato korv








Since: 27.2.03
From: Seattle, Washington

Since last post: 2202 days
Last activity: 21 days
AIM:  
Y!:
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.42
Has anybody else caught "How I Met Your Mother" on CBS? Pretty funny show, although Neil Patrick Harris carried the first episode on his back. It will be interesting to see how they continue the story since they blew the one big plot twist in the first episode, thus turning the rest of the episodes into one big waiting game.



"It's the four pillars of the male heterosexual psyche. We like naked women, stockings, lesbians, and Sean Connery best as James Bond because that is what being a [man] is." -Jack Davenport, Coupling
Thread rated: 5.05
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: The Office - "Sexual Harassment" 09/27/05
Next thread: Family Guy: Stewie the Untold story
Previous thread: TUF2 #6 9/26/05
(4480 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
As has been the case all-too-often these days, it's up to American Dad to save another mediocre Sunday night. Sharri: And get this fakakta ghoul off the car! Buckle: That's your navigation system, hon. Ghoul: At the corner, take a fright. Sharri:
Related threads: TV News! - TV NEWS! - T.V. and DVD News! - More...
The W - Movies & TV - MICROREVIEWSRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.336 seconds.