cranlsn
Liverwurst
   
   


         
       
      
Since: 18.3.02 From: Sussex, WI
Since last post: 8 hours Last activity: 8 hours
| #1 Posted on 17.11.06 2144.57 | Instant Rating: 6.82 | I thought I had inadvertently gotten myself a spyware infection, but upon further inspection it only happens with jsonline.com (and I have completely up to date AV/Firewall/and spyware solutions).
When you attempt to browse away from jsonline.com a pop-up appears attempting to get you to use "system doctor", or intimating that you already have it installed. I know better than to click on these and just "ended" them.
I have posted several links to jsonline in the past and thought it might be prudent to post a "beware" message.
edit: I did e-mail the webmaster, and it is no longer doing this.
(edited by cranlsn on 17.11.06 2148)| Promote this thread! | | Sec19Row53
Lap cheong
   
   


         
       
     
Since: 2.1.02 From: Oconomowoc, WI
Since last post: 15 days Last activity: 31 min.
| | | Y!: |  |
|
| #2 Posted on 17.11.06 2227.53 | Instant Rating: 7.07 | | Damn - that's what that was! How'd you figure out that it was due to jsonline? | cranlsn
Liverwurst
   
   


         
       
      
Since: 18.3.02 From: Sussex, WI
Since last post: 8 hours Last activity: 8 hours
| #3 Posted on 17.11.06 2303.17 | Instant Rating: 6.82 | Just trial and error...I knew not to click on it, and then noticed that it wasn't happening anywhere else.
Logged back on to jsonline.com, browsed away...BANG! (trademark DDP) there it was again. I checked my task manager...no processes running so it wasn't installed yet.
It didn't HAVE to be coming from JSOnline...but that seemed to be the likely suspect.
Just to be on the safe side I did re-run all my anti-spyware stuff. Nothing there.
My friend had a similar piece of crapware on his system. Some movieland garbage that insisted you had actually BOUGHT something, and tried to get you to click a link to pay to remove it from your system. Nice. |
| | | |