The W
Views: 100274489
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
31.10.14 1218
The W - Pro Wrestling - May 10th Confidential Preview
This thread has 30 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: 1 2 Next(9127 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (25 total)
Bullitt
Shot in the dark








Since: 11.1.02
From: Houston

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 3 days
#1 Posted on
I don't usually watch, but tonight's show, with the Miss Elizabeth piece, an interview with Cena, and some Ventura stuff, looks interesting...

But the From the Vault segment will be a winner...

Rhyno requests a classic from the vault: the 1992 SummerSlam match at Wembly Stadium featuring the British Bulldog against Bret Hart.

Possibly because we're close to the one-year anniversary of Smith's passing, but damn if this isn't my favorite match of all-time.


(edited by Bullitt on 10.5.03 1416)



My Latest Crush...Sarah Vowell
Promote this thread!
tomvejada
Andouille








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 4082 days
Last activity: 4082 days
#2 Posted on
I wonder who they'll interview for the piece on Miss Elizabeth.



"Oh my God, Brian, there's a message in my Alphabits! It says, 'Oooooo!'" Peter Griffin
"Peter, those are Cheerios." Brian
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 487 days
Last activity: 487 days
#3 Posted on
Hogan, Vince, and Vince's daughter are people that are listed by the preview. Of course, they would have to do the Hogan interview via sattelite from Tampa, because if they show the interview was done backstage, this could lend credence to the theory that Hogan was Mr. America.
I'd also like to see Flair interviewed in this piece, as he was involved with Liz for Mania VIII plus during his last great phase in '96, but I doubt he would have been available since he was overseas doing publicity this past week.



The Luftwaffe: The Washington Generals of the History Channel.
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 136 days
Last activity: 102 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41

    Originally posted by redsoxnation
    Hogan, Vince, and Vince's daughter are people that are listed by the preview. Of course, they would have to do the Hogan interview via sattelite from Tampa, because if they show the interview was done backstage, this could lend credence to the theory that Hogan was Mr. America.
    I'd also like to see Flair interviewed in this piece, as he was involved with Liz for Mania VIII plus during his last great phase in '96, but I doubt he would have been available since he was overseas doing publicity this past week.



Since they presumably sent cameras with Flair, they could always film something and then shoot it up the satellite back to Titan Tower.

I would assume there would also be interviews with the other old folks: Pat, Gene, etc.




Odessa Steps Magazine
Spring 2003 Issue - The Wrestling Issue
On Sale Now
www.odessasteps.com
Evil Antler God
Potato korv








Since: 10.1.02

Since last post: 2947 days
Last activity: 1073 days
#5 Posted on
You know what I've just realized watching this?

They NEED Jesse Ventura to return as commentator. It's just so weird and so cool hearing someone who actually seemed like they gave a damn about what was happening in a show again.....



Anybody can kick people's asses. But it takes a true monster to kick people's asses AND breastfeed at the same time
- Excalibur05
fuelinjected
Banger








Since: 12.10.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 3270 days
Last activity: 3270 days
#6 Posted on

    Originally posted by Evil Antler God
    You know what I've just realized watching this?

    They NEED Jesse Ventura to return as commentator. It's just so weird and so cool hearing someone who actually seemed like they gave a damn about what was happening in a show again.....



Jesse wasn't following the product in 1999 when he did that guest spot and I doubt he's been following it much since then. Remember Ventura's run in WCW? Brutal. I loved Jesse back in the day but just like Lawler, I believe his time has passed.

Personally, if he were ever to entertain the idea of coming back to WWE, I'd have him be the manager of Brock Lesnar. They've got the Minnesota connection and I think Jesse as the mentor/mouthpiece of Brock Lesnar would work even as a face.
y4j1981
Kolbasz








Since: 1.4.03
From: Dale City, Virginia

Since last post: 1994 days
Last activity: 1934 days
#7 Posted on
And time has proven by Lesner's promos, he should not be on the mic. Thats why Heyman was great for him.



Your Official Sunday, April 13, 2003 Randomly Selected Wiener Of The Day!!
Net Hack Slasher
Banger








Since: 6.1.02
From: Outer reaches of your mind

Since last post: 3597 days
Last activity: 2017 days
#8 Posted on
Elizabeth, the early years - They started off really nicely. Putting over real strong the storybook storyline and real life of Savage and Elizabeth.

4 Smackdown employees visit military base - These are starting to bore me. I'm able to handle a segment like this once a month but doing this weekly is starting to get repetitive, sorry. I did find if funny is that classy dude Rhyno dressed up in his Hooters T-shirt to visit the base. LoL

Cena's 1 0n 1 - I'm really liking this feature, it was even better then last week.

Colorful Ventura - This was great as well, better then last weeks feature on him because this is the time period I started really watching. I always liked his commentary during inring action and promoting

Smith vs. Bret- Nice choice Rhyno. The edit out the body of the match but I guess that's understandable. I'm glad they at least showed two big chunks instead of snipping a whole bunch of spots in. Cool match, Smith looked a lot chunkier then I thought he was. Listening to Heenan on this match (and previous segment Ventura) really has me missing the days of great color commentators, they need one like those two on Raw badly.

The final days of Elizabeth - I did find it odd that Vince said that the beginning of the end was her going to WCW because the WWF was such a family atmosphere that WCW wasn't. Come on! Also when they called Savage possessive (glad that the classy family atmosphere that is WWF played up on that as his character). They really went into detail about Lugers punching Liz a few weeks before her death. And told all the details of all the drugs found in his home. Fatal 911 calls are always creepy... Also a very eerie message Vince had for all superstars about the ability to live your life after wrestling is over. Which I always thought Liz did well in adapting and didn't seem stuck on being a star.

Interesting show indeed... On more of a brighter note Trish is hosting Slamin' Saturday Night next week. Yippie!!




(edited by Net Hack Slasher on 11.5.03 0304)


cause there's limits to our liberties.
'Least I hope and pray that there are,
cause those liberal freaks go too far.

I'll crush all opposition to me
And I'll make Ted Kennedy pay
If he fights back, I'll say that he's gay
Excalibur05
Knackwurst








Since: 19.1.02
From: Minnesota

Since last post: 5 days
Last activity: 18 hours
AIM:  
#9 Posted on

    Originally posted by Net Hack Slasher
    The final days of Elizabeth - I did find it odd that Vince said that the beginning of the end was her going to WCW because the WWF was such a family atmosphere that WCW wasn't. Come on!


That's not what he said. He said that he lost track of Liz when she went to WCW, and that he didn't know how well she would have faired when she wasn't in the WWE locker room (where he knew that there were people looking out for her).

I suppose you could have implied that he thought that it was the beginning of the end for her, but I took it as he just didn't know what happened to Liz in WCW, and he wasn't sure if she was well treated or not (whereas he was when she was in the WWE).

They really went out of their way to make Luger look terrible, didn't they?

Did anybody else notice the almost overly heavy use of "WWF" tonight? It cropped up a few times in the Liz tribute (including Cole very specifically mentioning the "World Wrestling Federation"). Not that I'm taking anything away from that but it was interesting to hear.

Cena came off really well. Josh...not so much. They've really got to be careful with who they do these with though. If somebody stumbles through one of these quasi-kayfabe promos, it'll look really stupid.



Cinco de Satire (wienerboard.com) <- No kidding, right?
Buffy 7.20 gets a 7.259 So, they made a big point about Buffy being wrong, only to prove her right? Huh? Sex, Andrew, and the Mayor. That's what made this episode.
tomvejada
Andouille








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 4082 days
Last activity: 4082 days
#10 Posted on
I liked the tribute (1st part of story) to Elizabeth even though Steph's voice was getting to me.

I also liked the Josh/Cena segment. I was shocked when I found out that Cena's favorite rapper was Canibus. I guess that means Cena is more of a fan of the underground rap scene than the mainstream rap scene.



(edited by tomvejada on 11.5.03 0535)


"Oh my God, Brian, there's a message in my Alphabits! It says, 'Oooooo!'" Peter Griffin
"Peter, those are Cheerios." Brian
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 136 days
Last activity: 102 days
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41
Nice of Vince to the "tribute" puff piece on Elizabeth first and have the seedy Current Affair-like lurid story at the end of the show.

Did we need to hear Luger's 911 call? I mean, really.




Odessa Steps Magazine
Spring 2003 Issue - The Wrestling Issue
On Sale Now
www.odessasteps.com
Shem the Penman
Toulouse








Since: 16.1.02
From: The Off-Center of the Universe (aka Philadelphia)

Since last post: 272 days
Last activity: 70 days
#12 Posted on
Given that Confidential is often used to set up angles (e.g. HBK's return), I'm almost afraid now that they're going to bring Luger in as a heel. At least, once the cops let him go.



"next to of course god america i
love you land of the pilgrims' and so forth oh
say can you see by the dawn's early my
country tis of centuries come and go
and are no more what of it we should worry
in every language even deafanddumb
thy sons acclaim your glorious name by gorry
by jingo by gee by gosh by gum
why talk of beauty what could be more beaut-
iful than these heroic happy dead
who rushed like lions to the roaring slaughter
they did not stop to think they died instead
then shall the voice of liberty be mute?"

He spoke. And drank rapidly a glass of water
fuelinjected
Banger








Since: 12.10.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 3270 days
Last activity: 3270 days
#13 Posted on
Not to bag on Elizabeth but who drinks two glasses of Vodka at 5AM in the morning with pain pills?
The King of Keith
Lap cheong








Since: 4.11.02
From: Winchester, VA

Since last post: 322 days
Last activity: 281 days
AIM:  
#14 Posted on
I only got to see the first half of the show. The WWE did a nice tribute piece for Elizabeth. Also the John Cena/Josh Matthews interview was entertaining. I dug what I saw of the show!



Yes, I like HHH! What's so wrong with that?
Mr Heel II
Lap cheong








Since: 25.2.02

Since last post: 14 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#15 Posted on
Cena was worth watching the show for alone. He was hysterical.

I wasn't too keen on the second Elizabeth segment. While McMahon gave his opinion of the whole thing, I just kept getting madder and madder. I took his comments as something of a "this wouldn't have happened if she stayed with us" sort of deal. On the other hand, I didn't have a problem with the 911 replay.

The Ventura piece had a lot of good highlights in it. It was nice that they used interview pieces with Gorilla Monsoon. But Ventura focused completely on the team of himself and McMahon. I actually preferred Ventura and Monsoon, who did the PPV's.



TellMeYouDidntJustSayThat
Linguica








Since: 3.1.03
From: Massachusetts

Since last post: 4032 days
Last activity: 3961 days
#16 Posted on
Is it just me or does anyone think that Luger could have saved her if he'd done something other than whine like a little kid to the 911 operator?

(paraphrashing)

"Sir, I need you to see if she's still breathing."

"Come on, can't you just send somebody?"

"Sir, is she breathing?"

"I don't know, just send somebody, please."

I'm sure he was scared, and feels really terrible about what happened, but I think he could have done more. I know I wasn't there, and I don't know what really happened, but judging from the call, Lex really didn't come off as being all that heroic or helpful.

It's just such a shame that Miss Elizabeth had to die. I wish she would have stayed away from the business after 1991.

(edited by TellMeYouDidntJustSayThat on 11.5.03 0751)

Tell me I didn't just say that.
jivesoulbro
Bauerwurst








Since: 25.12.02

Since last post: 2433 days
Last activity: 459 days
#17 Posted on
I must say I feel quite guilty about this, but in the interest of full disclosure, I taped the show and I've watched that final segment about four times now.

What a bunch of bullshit.

I think we all knew going in that WWE was trying to make some ratings miles off of Liz's death. I watched, so I don't have much room to complain about that. But it seemed like more than anything else they were trying to do a smear job on Savage and Luger. To have the one wrestler talking about Saving be Hogan, who we all know has major real-life heat with Savage, was rather unsettling. And then to play the 911 call, which, as mentioned above, makes Luger sound helpless and pathetic as she was dying (or perhaps already dead). All the while never really looking inward, maybe looking at why these wrestlers have so little after the business or why they would want to have so many drugs, or why a woman would feel like "the passenger" instead of the driver, as Hogan said. In his final comments, Vince alluded to a larger problem in the industry by saying he hopes others will learn from Liz and Savage. But would it have really been that damaging to him to have someone there asking him, on camera, whether he feels like he has helped create this dead-end atmosphere, or whether he feels any obligation at all to look out for his performers once they are past their prime?

Yeah, I get it. It's his show, he can do what he wants. We shouldn't expect this to be presented like an actual story in a newspaper or magazine, or even a TV newsmagazine like Dateline. But at what point does any type of moral obligation to the truth kick in on Vince's part? At what point does he say, instead of exploiting this, I owe our fans an honest, comprehensive look at what is going on here and how we got to this point. Because there have just been too many deaths. We're well past the point of explaining this away by saying the business is tough.

Mr. McMahon, we're in on it. Those of us who are in on it are just about the only ones left. We know it's an ugly world behind that curtain. It's not all your fault. With the right amount of personal responsibility and maturity, I believe a professional wrestler can do just fine after the limelight. But stop ignoring your own culpability. Be that guy you wanted us to believe you were in 1997 when you declared fans were tired of having our intelligence insulted. Be a man. Otherwise, just stay away from this altogether.

You have every right to do what you did on Confidential.

But you know there's a better way.
dskillz
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Houston Texas

Since last post: 3207 days
Last activity: 2912 days
#18 Posted on
I don't know how you can determine VKM's motives in this. I mean, in my town the death didn't get even a blip in the news. I think it is WWE's resposiblity to tell everything that is known about the death. Where else can the wrestling fan get that? I have no problem with how they handled this. They profiled her, told the world what happened, then gave a speech about drugs and how the lifestyle of wrestling is very fertile for stories like these.

Of course, if VKM really wanted to do something, he would have testing. But you know what? I hate to say it, but drugs are a part of wrestling. Whether they be steroids or other illegal substances. What other job has you on the road for years at a time, beating up your body nightly and then having to deal with office politics which affects your pay. I mean, I don't know what the answer is, I truthfully don't know how the product would be if it were 100% drug free. Would there be even more deaths due to suicide? Due you murder? But as far as the show itself, I have no problems with it.

(edited by dskillz on 11.5.03 1356)


January 4th 1999 - The day WCW injected itself with 10 gallons of Liquid Anthrax...AKA...The day Hogan "Defeated" Nash to win the WCW title in front of 40,000.
redsoxnation
Scrapple








Since: 24.7.02

Since last post: 487 days
Last activity: 487 days
#19 Posted on
A few thoughts from this show:

Weird bit of the WWF/E getting caught trying to spread revisionist history when Steve Lombardi mentioned the Liz wedding being the first in the ring. Then, in the Ventura segment they show a clip of the Uncle Elmer wedding.

Interesting comment by Vince's daughter about how the true personality of a person is displayed by the manner in which they act around the ring. This is firepower to be used in future instances involving certain individuals.

If they were going to clip the Bulldog/Hart match, shouldn't they have clipped the cut-aways to Diana Hart-Smith? Considering what we know about that relationship, and other subject matter in the show, it seemed very tacky.

It took over 7 and a half years after his jump during the first Nitro, but Vince McMahon finally was able to give a good burial of Lex Luger. When they play the 911 call and then mention steroid charges (the term pot calling the kettle black comes to mind), you know Vince was looking to dig the knife a little deeper into Luger because of his '95 jump.



The Luftwaffe: The Washington Generals of the History Channel.
Tribal Prophet
Andouille








Since: 9.1.02
From: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 5 hours
#20 Posted on

    Originally posted by TellMeYouDidntJustSayThat
    Is it just me or does anyone think that Luger could have saved her if he'd done something other than whine like a little kid to the 911 operator?

    (paraphrashing)

    "Sir, I need you to see if she's still breathing."

    "Come on, can't you just send somebody?"

    "Sir, is she breathing?"

    "I don't know, just send somebody, please."

    I'm sure he was scared, and feels really terrible about what happened, but I think he could have done more. I know I wasn't there, and I don't know what really happened, but judging from the call, Lex really didn't come off as being all that heroic or helpful.
    (edited by TellMeYouDidntJustSayThat on 11.5.03 0751)



If Elizabeth was drinking and doing drugs at 4-5 in the morning, wouldn't it stand to reason that Lex was as well? I don't know of too many times where two people were together in the middle of the night, one of them decided to take a lethal amount of drugs, and the other one (who owns the drugs) decided to stay completely clean and sober instead.

I was honestly surprised he was able to make the call in the first place, althought I don't think any of us needed to hear it just for Vince to feel like he 'finally' got even with Luger for leaving.


Tribal Prophet



Wrestling exists in the eternal present. What is, has always been, and when it no longer is, it never was. It has no past and no future, and sometimes even today is in question. - Madame Manga

Click Here (welovetheiraqiinformationminister.com)
Pages: 1 2 Next
Pages: 1 2 NextThread ahead: ONE GOOD THING TO COME OUT OF JUDGMENT DAY!!!(Spoilers)
Next thread: Vince Russo's open letter
Previous thread: Looking for WCW history
(9127 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Well, they booked a show in South Carolina, so Mae Young is mandatory. (I hope Moolah is well -- you never see Mae without Moolah!) Hey, Chuck Palumbo bashed Chris Masters around into a watchable squash!
- emma, SmackDown! 8-24-07 (2007)
Related threads: 5/3 Confidential -- Butt Cleavage is Good! - Confidential 4/26 Thoughts - 12.4.03 Confidential - Sable Spin - More...
The W - Pro Wrestling - May 10th Confidential PreviewRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.41 seconds.