The W
Views: 98556485
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
30.8.14 2339
The W - Music - K-Fed Album Review : Losing all respect I had for Jonathan Coachman
This thread has 5 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.47
Pages: 1
(1635 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (6 total)
Cerebus
Knackwurst








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 32 days
Last activity: 1 day
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.97
First, here's a link (wwe.com) to the review. Go read this because it's pretty funny. My favorite line has to be '"Lose Control" is probably the catchiest song since Copacabana...'.

Ok, you back? Good, now here's the problem. Why the fuck are they doing this? Granted, it was entertaining seeing Mr. Spears get FU'ed by Cena, but is this how they are paying K-Fed for his appearance on the show... with a 'good review'?

This just seems insane to me. I'd hate to think that someone out here will read that review and say "Damn! I gotta go get me that CD right now!" because as I know wrestling fans... there will be someone who does... and I will weep for them.
Promote this thread!
JustinShapiro
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 12.12.01
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 2 days
Last activity: 8 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.58
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    Why the fuck are they doing this?


It's ... a joke. But why wouldn't WWE promote the album? It's exactly why they were working together. It's not like they brought him in as a supercool dude who teamed up with Cena and all the announcers and babyfaces endorsed his music as being totally great.


    This just seems insane to me.


Really?
Mayhem
Scrapple








Since: 25.4.03
From: Nashville, TN

Since last post: 4 days
Last activity: 1 day
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.01

What's great is the All Music Guide (allmusic.com) review of the album ...

I especially love the following quote regarding Kevin Federline (I refuse to call him "K-Fed").

    Originally posted by AMG
    ... America does indeed hate him, but it's not an active, consuming hatred, it's a mild, persistent annoyance, the way that a dumbass brother-in-law gets on your nerves. And that's really what Federline is: the guy in your life that you wish would just quietly disappear, but he won't, since he's married into your family and you're now stuck with him.
Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: #YEG

Since last post: 13 days
Last activity: 10 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.63
I'm the farthest thing from a rap fan, but I kinda liked the CD. I took a listen to it at the local HMV....and it wasn't half bad. Then again, I quite enjoyed John Cena's disc, so take that for what its worth.

Also, wasn't the WWE article written in kayfabe?



I'm a dot com now!
drjayphd
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 22.4.02
From: Long Island

Since last post: 23 days
Last activity: 5 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.04
You wanted the best, you got... Out of Context Quote of the Week.

"They're plump, ripe, and priced to move. Get your fat Samoan today!" (Packman V2)


    Originally posted by Mayhem

    What's great is the All Music Guide (allmusic.com) review of the album ...

    I especially love the following quote regarding Kevin Federline (I refuse to call him "K-Fed").

      Originally posted by AMG
      ... America does indeed hate him, but it's not an active, consuming hatred, it's a mild, persistent annoyance, the way that a dumbass brother-in-law gets on your nerves. And that's really what Federline is: the guy in your life that you wish would just quietly disappear, but he won't, since he's married into your family and you're now stuck with him.



Couldn't they just give it no stars? It should be noted, however, they gave the Duran Duran cover album just the one star, so... Although I'll wager this was another classic line from the review (even if it once again ignores the Carlos Leon (!) reference):

    Originally posted by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
    And although he's "coming out like Janet's titty at the Super Bowl," he's not nearly as shocking as he'd like to believe or as amusing as his haters would hope: he just comes across as a big boob.






Jericholic53
Boerewors








Since: 18.3.03
From: Honolulu, HI

Since last post: 263 days
Last activity: 13 hours
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.33
    Originally posted by Oliver
    Then again, I quite enjoyed John Cena's disc, so take that for what its worth.


Cena's album was actually surprisingly lyrical (his guest artist's too.) The beats weren't half bad either.



It says so right here in the wcw handbook!
Thread rated: 5.47
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: FEELY TOP FORTY-week of 11/6/06
Next thread: iTunes Top Downloads -- November 05, 2006
Previous thread: Hugh Laurie's Protest Song
(1635 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
How many "first dances" were to "At Last"? Such a wonderful voice. RIP
- StaggerLee, Etta James Dies (2012)
The W - Music - K-Fed Album Review : Losing all respect I had for Jonathan CoachmanRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.116 seconds.