The W
Views: 133307822
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
28.5.18 0030
The W - Baseball - Indians-Orioles protest
This thread has 6 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.44
Pages: 1
(564 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Post (5 total)
Summer sausage

Since: 5.9.02
From: Norwich, NY

Since last post: 824 days
Last activity: 804 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.69
1 out last night, bottom of the 3rd in Baltimore, Orioles up 2-1, runners on the corners. Fly out to right field for the 2nd out, and the runner on first was doubled up for the inning-ending DP.

Problem 1- The runner on 3rd tags up and scores before the runner on first is doubled off.

Problem 2- The umpires waived the run off, and did not correct that mistake until the SIXTH inning, and while the Indians completed the top of the 6th tied 2-2, and went out into the field down 3-2. They did eventually lose, 7-4 but the final 3 and a half innings of the game were played under protest.

Now the initial no-run call WAS wrong, as there is an example in the MLB rule book that is an exact description of what happened on the field:

    Originally posted by Major League Baseball rulebook, rule 4.9
    Approved Ruling: One out, Jones on third, Smith on first and Brown flies out to right field. Two outs. Jones tags up and scores after the catch. Smith attempted to return to first but the right fielder's throw beat him to the base. Three outs. But Jones scored before the throw to catch Smith reached first base, hence Jones' run counts. It was not a force play

The issue is how far after the fact can the umpires correct that sort of ruling? The third base umpire had to pull out a copy of the rulebook to get this right anyway so it's not a rule that comes into play often, but there has to be a difference between Baltimore arguing this immediately after the fact and a reversal coming before the top of the 4th, and a change happening three innings later, isn't there?

Should the protest be upheld, I'd think they have to go back to the top of the 4th and pick up play with Baltimore up 3-1.

For reasons of creative incompetence, this space will be left blank. Advertising opportunities are avaliable though!!! Contact (Number removed due to pending litigation) for details!
Promote this thread!

Since: 7.11.02
From: Riderville, SK

Since last post: 25 days
Last activity: 13 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.35
That is so strange that that is the correct ruling, as I can't think of any other situation where you could score a run on a play where the inning ends on a force out. It's not like you can score if you cross home before the batter gets forced out at first on a grounder.

And yeah, even if it's the right call, that's WAY too late to overrule. Once every player has crossed the foul line on the way to the dugout, that should be it for protests and rulings.

Proud member of the Dwight Army of Champions.

Word Up, Thome

Since: 25.1.02
From: Chicagoland with Hoosiers, or "The Region"

Since last post: 1159 days
Last activity: 922 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.03
I would just rather have the umps get it right than say "oops, too bad, too late." They corrected it early enough in the game that the Indians had every chance to win; in fact, they took the lead after that. And if that run doesn't count, the Orioles STILL WIN. Everything was done right here.

exit 670 dot com | digital route 66
Mr. Boffo

Since: 24.3.02
From: Oshkosh, WI

Since last post: 1764 days
Last activity: 1725 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.12
I agree with PeterStork. It'd be different for a timed sport like football. In those cases, you can't go back in time and correct your mistake. But baseball's different. Unless you think that knowing you're down one run is going to make you act differently (in the 4th, 5th, and 6th innings, mind you; it wasn't like it was the last inning) than if you're tied, then I don't see the problem. Teams are still trying to score. In fact, you'd think you'd try harder to score in a tie game than being down one run.

Since: 13.2.03
From: Chicago

Since last post: 1154 days
Last activity: 141 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.65
As a lifelong fan, and part-time ump way back in the day, I was shocked to learn that this is a correct ruling. Then again, I guess no one on the O's was looking to argue it when they didn't get the run originally, so there you go. As for the protest, those virtually never get upheld.

It's the Big "W", I tell ya! The Big "W"!
Thread rated: 5.44
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: Cardinals P Josh Hancock dies in car accident
Next thread: Yankees losing, A-Rod Exploding?
Previous thread: Prior out for season
(564 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I've closed the thread. I didn't realize I was stoking the fire there. My mistake.
- Guru Zim, The Mr. Paul Aints (2012)
Related threads: The Milwaukee Indians? - Tribe trades Crisp - Tribe lands Byrd - More...
The W - Baseball - Indians-Orioles protestRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

©2001-2018 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.142 seconds.