The W
Views: 100062636
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
25.10.14 2244
The W - Video Games - IGN review of "Day of Reckoning 2"
This thread has 89 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.42
Pages: 1
(2244 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 86 days
Last activity: 2 days
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.04
http://cube.ign.com/articles/645/645924p1.html

The roster is overall solid, but when compared to other THQ wrestling games either already on the market or in development, it just doesn't stack up. For instance, SmackDown vs. Raw 2006 for PlayStation 2 includes a lineup of more than 50 wrestlers not counting Legends. The game will likely ship with between 10 and 15 more playable characters than Day of Reckoning 2, which is disappointing. Adding insult to injury, some of the more recognizable stars in the WWE, such as Doug Basham, Spike Dudley, Charlie Haas, Khosrow Daivari and Lita, are absent from DoR 2.

I'm sorry, but they just lost me with that line ...






UNLESH THE ANIMAL - Sign in crowd highlighted by brilliant WWE cameraman during Batista's drafting on Smackdown!




Promote this thread!
KJames199
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 10.12.01
From: #yqr

Since last post: 12 hours
Last activity: 12 hours
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41
I read that review and that line stuck out for me too. Smackdown vs. Raw 2006 may have a bigger roster, but look at the list of guys who are in SDvRaw2006 and not DoR2; apart from Lita, they just make the game seem more dated:

- Lita
- Rob Conway (I'm guessing in La Résistance gear)
- Doug Basham
- Danny Basham
- Michelle McCool
- Scotty 2 Hotty
- Stevie Richards
- Sylvain Grenier
- Khosrow Daivari
- Charlie Haas
- Mark Jindrak
- Joy Giovanni
- Spike Dudley




JK
EastCoastAvenger
Bockwurst








Since: 4.1.02
From: Clearwater, FL

Since last post: 1995 days
Last activity: 15 hours
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.90
As kick-ass as the CAW is, I don't really care who's missing. I can just make him.

Thanks to Tunski (CAW artist extraordinare!) and plenty of ink in my printer, I made a CAW roster straight from the late 80's WCCW.

Rick Rude
Dingo Warrior
Kerry Von Erich
Kevin Von Erich
Gino Hernandez
Eric Embry
Bill Dundee
Steve Simpson
Shaun Simpson
"Killer" Tim Brooks
Super Black Ninja
Chris Adams













What?

Laugh all you want, you haven't lived till you see Shelton Benjamin, Shawn Michaels and Chris Adams in a 3-way battle of Superkicks!





I wish I could respect the law. I can't. The law is a whore who demands payment up front, and then attempts to evade providing the service paid for.

"The day Bradshaw rubs soap on my ass will be his last."
Alessandro
Lap cheong








Since: 2.1.02
From: Worcester MA

Since last post: 86 days
Last activity: 2 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.04
    Originally posted by EastCoastAvenger
    Thanks to Tunski (CAW artist extraordinare!)


You mean this guy? I dunno, I prefer this site myself (they have a pretty dead-on Link for DOR 1) ...




UNLESH THE ANIMAL - Sign in crowd highlighted by brilliant WWE cameraman during Batista's drafting on Smackdown!




KJames199
Scrapple
Moderator








Since: 10.12.01
From: #yqr

Since last post: 12 hours
Last activity: 12 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.40
Did anyone else pick up DoR2 yet? I just got it yesterday, as EB had trouble getting their shipment in. I played it for a few hours last night.

It's not bad - very similar to last year. The new stamina and submission systems add a little bit to the matches, and the roster and graphics are improved. The legends have their real themes, which is nice.

Only one new match - Last Man Standing - and it really doesn't add anything to the experience. Also, you don't have to pin your opponent or make them submit before the ref starts counting 10.

Haven't played the story mode yet. I heard you can't edit your CAW once story mode starts, so I'm trying to perfect mine before I begin. The CAW system is pretty much like last year's, with some new t-shirt logos and worse load times (but better character models all around). I spent about two hours making myself to try out the CAW. It's not as misshapen as the self-CAW I made last year, but that's just because I stole a bunch of Tunski's CAWs last year and now I have a little better idea of what I'm doing.

If you liked last year's game, you'll have no problems with this.




JK
Oliver
Scrapple








Since: 20.6.02
From: #YEG

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 1 day
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.46
I tried it out at my best friends' place yesterday...and trying to play it felt foreign to me. I'm SO used to the Smackdown series (and with that, the GC controller) so it was a challenge.

Awesome graphics, though...and great music. I was happy to see that Christian came down to the ring with his current tune, but was surprized with Paul London's tune. Didn't he inherit Spanky's after Spanky left?

-S



I miss Alberta. Yes...seriously.
Nenz
Fifty Millionth Hit








Since: 7.5.03

Since last post: 1026 days
Last activity: 7 days
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.51
    Originally posted by SOK
    I tried it out at my best friends' place yesterday...and trying to play it felt foreign to me. I'm SO used to the Smackdown series (and with that, the GC controller) so it was a challenge.

    Awesome graphics, though...and great music. I was happy to see that Christian came down to the ring with his current tune, but was surprized with Paul London's tune. Didn't he inherit Spanky's after Spanky left?

    -S

I don't know what the music he uses in the game, but Spanky's music is not his current music. He did inherit Spanky's music when left, then he was in a Tag Team with Kidman which had an entrance theme. So when London and Kidman split up, Kidman reverted to his old theme and London kept the tag team theme.
Thread rated: 4.42
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: PC: BattleField 2
Next thread: PS2 question?
Previous thread: Day of Reckoning vs. WM XIX
(2244 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
US - Astro Boy: The Video Game - FIFA Soccer 10 - Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars - Marvel Super Hero Squad - Mytran Wars - Secret Saturdays: Beasts of the 5th Sun - WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2010 Europe - Ghostbusters - Grand Theft Auto:
The W - Video Games - IGN review of "Day of Reckoning 2"Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.128 seconds.