The W
Views: 99059749
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
20.9.14 0312
The W - Random - I, Robot opinions
This thread has 1 referral leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.25
Pages: 1
(1181 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (7 total)
JST
Toulouse








Since: 20.1.02
From: Quebec City, CAN

Since last post: 18 days
Last activity: 2 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.76
Having seen this movie today, I have to give it a good 4/5 on the "personal enjoyment" scale.

This movie doesn't rely specifically on the special effects (who are quite well done; the robots seem amazingly real), though the story is a little slow to pick up.


Spoiler Below: Highlight text to read
It all picks up when Will Smith's character explains what happened to his arm and it also clarifies the opening sequence in the water.


The previews paint a great picture of what the movie will be like, but they don't tell everything. Watch for that.

I'm not one to watch for plot holes or camera errors or whatever; but I'd definitely recommend this flick on a saturday evening with a loved one/buddy or two.

Discuss.

(edited by Tod deKindes on 24.7.04 1928)





Heyyy, look who I met.
Promote this thread!
Freeway
Scrapple








Since: 3.1.02
From: Calgary

Since last post: 271 days
Last activity: 12 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.28
I'd give the film a solid 3 1/2 stars. Some plot points are confusing, and the exposition can be muddled...but most of the film worked well. The film seemed very reminicent of Minority Report...and I can't help but feel that I Robot would've been better with a different actor in the lead role. Right now it's unfairly typecast as a Will Smith Movie With Robots, rather than a cool sci-fi/mystery.

That being said, it was an enjoyable 2 hours.



CALGARY FLAMES: Your 2004 Western Conference Champions
DVDs I Own
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 day
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.75
I liked the movie as well, as the action scenes were really well done. The drama and chemistry between Will Smith and Bridget "The Recruit" Moynahan was just not there though. She was miscast in this role, as I just didn't believe her. Thank goodness she wasn't even more of a presence in the film.

Thumbs way up to Will Smith though. He has his role down, and he looks comfortable as an action star.



Joe Wilson (looking at Interocitor manual)- Hey, here's something my wife could use in the house...
Crow T. Robot- A man?
Joe Wilson- An interocitor incorporating an electron sorter.
Cal Meechum- Oh, she'd probably gain 20 pounds while it did all the work for her.
Tom Servo- Cal, you bitch!

MST3K: The Movie
The Vile1
Lap cheong








Since: 4.9.02
From: California

Since last post: 1979 days
Last activity: 1711 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.77
I, Robot is estimated at a HUGE dropoff for its second weekend at almost 60% with $22 million bringing its total domestic gross to about $95 million.




"Don't compare my arm to your cheap arm!"
-Edward Elric
AWArulz
Knackwurst








Since: 28.1.02
From: Louisville, KY

Since last post: 2 hours
Last activity: 2 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.35
I just got back from seeing it and I really liked it. Will played a normal cop (suspicious bastards) and the love interest was nice enough looking. The robots were well done. I did notice Sonny didn't have the red light and the "bad" robots did, but I never guessed who the real villian was until it was revealed.

I liked it as well as Spiderman II.

Manchurian Candidate for me next..



Now, is it ok for me yell THEATRE! in a crowded fire?
Big Bad
Scrapple








Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 1 day
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.53
Didn't like it. It felt like about six other movies were stitched together into one unoriginal mess. There was nothing in this film I couldn't predict 20 minutes in advance. Disappointed that Alex Proyas (who's directed such good movies in the past) couldn't elevate the material, but you can only do so much with a script by Akiva Goldsman, aka Hollywood's Worst Screenwriter.



JWstorm
Kolbasz








Since: 23.10.02
From: Tarheel State

Since last post: 3018 days
Last activity: 2296 days
AIM:  
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.99
I thought the movie was great. IT wasnt Shakespeare of course but a solidly entertaining movie nonetheless



I LOVE WRESTLING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Thread rated: 5.25
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: The Vile1 reviews HAROLD AND KUMAR GO TO WHITE CASTLE
Next thread: please tell me why this happened
Previous thread: Recording from Satalite help
(1181 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
What I'm waiting for somebody to do in Survivor is to pair up with the obnoxious guy at the beginning and say "Hey, I want them to hate you and love me, then at the Jury we can just tell them it was all a plan so they'll hate us equally.
Related threads: THE BOURNE SUPREMACY reaction thread - In honour of today's release CINO (Catwoman In Name Only)... - A ton of entertainment news... - More...
The W - Random - I, Robot opinionsRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.145 seconds.