The W
Views: 97604403
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
23.7.14 1109
The W - Baseball - Honest Opinions (Page 2)
This thread has 7 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 4.87
Pages: Prev 1 2
(1181 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (26 total)
Big Bad
Scrapple








Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 3 days
Last activity: 16 hours
#21 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
I'd like you all to read my post earlier in the thread about how Boston was sure to lose this series and had no chance to come back. In a related story, I'm as dumb as a sack of wet hair.

This will be a helluva game, and I may as well complete the total flip-flop by picking Boston. As good as Zito is, I just can't pick against Pedro in such a big game. The man is clutch.

Also, if we're looking for a new cursed team, how about Oakland? If they choke for the fourth straight year, maybe we can call it the curse of the Bam-Beaneo?


    EDIT: My 500th post? Why do I still feel like a drifting moron who doesn't say anything of consequence?


Don't worry Gugs, I still feel that way after over 2200.




"When this bogus term alternative rock was being thrown at every '70s retro rehash folk group, we were challenging people to new sonic ideas. If some little snotty anarchist with an Apple Mac and an attitude thinks he invented dance music and the big rock group is coming into his territory, [that's] ridiculous." - Bono, 1997
J.T. Dutch
Pickled pork








Since: 3.1.02
From: SoCal 4 Life

Since last post: 2580 days
Last activity: 841 days
Y!:
#22 Posted on
Go Red Sox. Go (former Dodger) Pedro Martinez.

Go Cubs. Go (former Dodgers) Eric Karros and Dusty Baker.

A Red Sox-Cubs World Series would be INCREDIBLE for baseball.

A Yankees-Marlins World Series screams "Time for hockey and basketball!".





"It turns out that I have a bad shoulder, and that's why I've sucked all year"
-- Shawn Green

J.T. Dutch
Net Hack Slasher
Banger








Since: 6.1.02
From: Outer reaches of your mind

Since last post: 3497 days
Last activity: 1917 days
#23 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.90
What's the deal with this? I think this was during Game 3 I read in an Oakland online paper. Yup Oakland slant but that's the fun of these stuff LoL

While Ted Lilly was in the game, a handful of Red Sox bench players stood on the top step of the dugout with his name spelled across their backs in giant letters with athletic tape. That got the fans to chanting "Lilly! Lilly!" Not that the A's left-hander minded: He pitched one of the best games of his life... But the A's considered those tactics bush league, at best.

"That's some stupid (stuff) to do," A's catcher Ramon Hernandez said... Most of the A's -- including Lilly -- said they were unaware of what the Boston players were doing. Told of it, Mark Ellis said, "That's stupid, if you ask me. If that's what they want to do, fine, but it's just kind of silly


That is totally lame thing to do. That a violation of MLB rules about your uniform. Game 3 should have been considered null and void!

Edit in- Wow, a post from me about "Lilly" that had nothing to do with the a sexy Raw ring announcer LoL



(edited by Net Hack Slasher on 6.10.03 0938)


Me fail English? That's unpossible
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 6 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#24 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.21


It wasn't on their uniforms, it was on their warmup jackets.

It was kind of silly, but the A's taking it seriously is kind of silly, too.

Good natured fun - a throwback to the Darryl Strawberry days.

And by definition, if Todd Jones is involved, don't pay any attention to it.



Gabba Gabba Hey!
Jakegnosis
Morcilla








Since: 26.7.02
From: Maine

Since last post: 2769 days
Last activity: 2753 days
#25 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.91
I thought it was funny as hell. We've got a team this year that likes to do goofy stuff, and I've been enjoying their antics.

Oakland's just bitter- they're acting like a bunch of bitches anyway. My favorite bit of the series so far is when Eric Byrnes decided to shove Tek (who outweighs him by like thirty pounds) instead of tag home. What an asshole. He got what he deserved.

The Red Sox just shrug off losses and bad calls, they don't throw temper tantrums.

(edited by Jakegnosis on 6.10.03 1028)

It's Red Sox rally time!

Rangers Lead the Way!
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 6 days
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#26 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.21


    Originally posted by Big Bad
    I'd like you all to read my post earlier in the thread about how Boston was sure to lose this series and had no chance to come back. In a related story, I'm as dumb as a sack of wet hair.

    This will be a helluva game, and I may as well complete the total flip-flop by picking Boston. As good as Zito is, I just can't pick against Pedro in such a big game. The man is clutch.

    Also, if we're looking for a new cursed team, how about Oakland? If they choke for the fourth straight year, maybe we can call it the curse of the Bam-Beaneo?


      EDIT: My 500th post? Why do I still feel like a drifting moron who doesn't say anything of consequence?


    Don't worry Gugs, I still feel that way after over 2200.



That is just a big fat hanging curveball.



Gabba Gabba Hey!
Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread rated: 4.87
Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread ahead: Fantasy Baseball #10: Year-End Awards
Next thread: next year: Here
Previous thread: Giants reeled in by Fish!
(1181 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
And the winner of the Curt Schilling sweepstakes is...er...the Boston Red Sox! Huzzah for Beantown!
Related threads: Oh, God - Red Sox playoff roster - Burkett or Suppan? - More...
The W - Baseball - Honest Opinions (Page 2)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.099 seconds.