The W
Views: 99879774
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
21.10.14 0727
The W - Random - HELLBOY Fucking ROCKS!!! Review/spoilers ahead.
This thread has 42 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.21
Pages: 1
(1601 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (13 total)
Cerebus
Scrapple








Since: 17.11.02

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 12 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 2.74
Hellboy, as you probably know, is based on a comic by Mike Mignola. Comic movies, of late, have been given the star treatment by Hollywood; some to great acclaim(SPIDER-MAN, XMEN 2) and others that just didn't click with fans or general audiences alike(Here's looking at YOU, DAREDEVIL and HULK!). Each having tons of money thrown at them in hopes that the flashy effects and death defying stunts will more then make up for them being funny book films.

Hellboy looks like it had a shit load of cash thrown it's way. It very colorful and vibrant; it's as if Mike Mignolla's artwork was literally LEAPING off the screen and moving. The colors were incredible. Many shots WERE, in fact, exact duplicates of his pages. Longtime fans of the series will enjoy seeing their favorite characters acting like they should. While the film did not quite go verbatim with the first Hellboy storyline, Seed of Destruction, the changes they made to allow it to flow better visually made sense and I had no complaints, what so ever. Introducing newer characters to the plot like Ivan the Corpse made for comic relief at times when there didn't necessarily NEED to be any, but still welcome none the less. Also, they way they changed Dr. Bruttenholm's death scene from the beginning of the story to the middle made more sense then it did in the comic. It was far more dramatic this way.

The acting was better then you'd expect. Ron Perlman did an excellent job. Del Toro had used him before in CRONOS and BLADE 2 and this was a great choice to carry him over to here. Having seen far to many Ron Perlman films to mention, yet again, as always, he IS the character. Unlike, say, a BATMAN film where they can and DO put the costume on ANYONE, Ron WAS Hellboy. I can't see ANYONE else EVER playing this roll. Jeffery Tambor, as well, gives a stand out performance as Dr Manning.

This film needs to do well, but unfortunately, I know it won't. A film like this goes on to video and makes a killing on the secondary market. The only draw it has it that it's an action/adventure movie. The general viewing audience will most likely get left in the dust of WALKING TALL and HOME ON THE RANGE, both also opening this week. For what it's worth, I hope I'm wrong, cause HELLBOY is actually the best film I've seen yet this year.

I'm still shocked at just how well done this film was. This has to be one of the very few movies I've seen that I did not have one single problem with. It was PERFECT! I wish Hellboy was as widely known as Spider-Man, just so people would go see it... PLEASE, go see it.



Cerebus: RIP 1977-2004.

"What do you think it's like being created by a manic-depressive, paranoid schizophrenic, hypochondriac, misogynist with delusions of grandeur and a messiah complex?"
Promote this thread!
Madame Manga
Kolbasz








Since: 16.1.02
From: Silicon Valley

Since last post: 33 days
Last activity: 15 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.66
My husband wants to see this for his birthday, so this sounds like good news. Both of us love the Hellboy comic; we've got original issues back to the beginning. I was hoping they hadn't treated this project like League of Extraordinary Gentlemen--man, that was a disappointment. Still, I knew they would have a hard time making a Hellboy movie if they tried to do a literal transcription of any of the storylines, so scriptwriter "originality" was going to have to come into play. Veering all the way off the tracks was a real danger.

MM
Evil Buddha
Pickled pork








Since: 10.1.02
From: Somerville, MA

Since last post: 2818 days
Last activity: 2216 days
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.50
    Originally posted by Cerebus
    The acting was better then you'd expect. Ron Perlman did an excellent job. Del Toro had used him before in CRONOS and BLADE 2 and this was a great choice to carry him over to here. Having seen far to many Ron Perlman films to mention, yet again, as always, he IS the character. Unlike, say, a BATMAN film where they can and DO put the costume on ANYONE, Ron WAS Hellboy. I can't see ANYONE else EVER playing this roll.


When I first read that Perlman was cast in the role, I thought he would be awesome, because he has such experience in acting while completely covered up, so he could really sink his teeth in the role. Plus, it's always a pleasure to see Jeffery Tambor when he gets to play an asshole on screen. I can't wait to catch it this weekend.



"Naughty by Nature, Evil by Choice!"
Evil Buddha... Wrestling Fan, Bud Man
Madame Manga
Kolbasz








Since: 16.1.02
From: Silicon Valley

Since last post: 33 days
Last activity: 15 days
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.19
Update: Yes, it rocks. The theater was packed for the 7:45 show at Shoreline, and we were second in line. Great action flick, and believe it or not, it's a date movie. I won't spoil anything, but it's got a heart of gold, a sense of humor and massive special effects--something for everyone. Looks wonderful, with all the dark style of the comic. I recommend it highly.

MM
The Vile1
Lap cheong








Since: 4.9.02
From: California

Since last post: 2010 days
Last activity: 1742 days
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.85
I just want to note that I saw Hellboy three times before April 2nd...and I never paid to see it once . Hellboy was a good movie, decent adaptation of the comics. The best thing about it is Ron Perlman, and for once a superhero movie where the title character is the coolest guy in it. Sadly, villains like Rasputin and characters like Abe were poorly developed and lame representations of their comic characters. Abe didn't do a damn thing and got practically written out of the whole thing. And John Myers sucks. I thought he was going going to cry when Hellboy yelled at him. What a wussy. When Hellboy actually asked what Myers "area of expertise" was I wanted to yell out, "I GET YOU GUYS TO TALK ABOUT EXPOSITION PRETTY GOOD!"

Here's my review for Hellboy (shamless plug):

http://www.hybridmagazine.com/ films/0304/hellboy.shtml

NOTE: To those who have not seen hellboy or to those that have already seen it, STAY AFTER THE DAMN CREDITS! Just do it.

(edited by The Vile1 on 3.4.04 1613)



"Just a humble bounty hunter, ma'am."
-Spike Spiegel
Ryan_A
Bauerwurst








Since: 30.1.03
From: Champaign, IL

Since last post: 2180 days
Last activity: 55 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.84
Not knowing anything more than the bare minimum about the comic, I wasn't sure what to expect going in, but I really enjoyed it. I've always liked him, and Perlman indeed owns the role. I would've liked more from Abe Sapien and Liz, to say nothing of Rasputin, but I was pretty pleased overall. It looks pretty damn good, though.

I think it'll do well, especially overseas. I can see a sequel or two happening, if only direct-to-video.

HrdCoreJoe
Potato korv








Since: 29.4.02
From: Jax, FL

Since last post: 1056 days
Last activity: 1055 days
AIM:  
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.90
I am a big comic book fan but I've never read any HellBoy, so all I knew about him was what the previews showed me and I thought it rocked 8 kinds of ass. For a 12:25 A.M. showing the theater was completely packed and everyone seemed to go home happy. I wish I had known something happened after the credits as we pretty much just packed it up and left once the movie ended.



Andy Richter does indeed control the universe.
The Vile1
Lap cheong








Since: 4.9.02
From: California

Since last post: 2010 days
Last activity: 1742 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 3.85
    Originally posted by HrdCoreJoe
    I am a big comic book fan but I've never read any HellBoy, so all I knew about him was what the previews showed me and I thought it rocked 8 kinds of ass. For a 12:25 A.M. showing the theater was completely packed and everyone seemed to go home happy. I wish I had known something happened after the credits as we pretty much just packed it up and left once the movie ended.


All the more reason for you to pay to see it again. :)




"Just a humble bounty hunter, ma'am."
-Spike Spiegel
DarkRenegade
Bockwurst








Since: 19.5.02
From: YOUR MOTHER!

Since last post: 2750 days
Last activity: 510 days
AIM:  
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.47
Renegade Raine says:


I saw the trailers and the first thing that came to mind was "This looks like LXG"...and I HATED LXG. So, I figured I wouldn't see it. But if it's really as good as you all say it is, maybe I'll go see it.




Proof of Jeff Hardy not coming back to wrestling...he's running a juice bar in Mexico.
He'lll make you a Coconut Mango drink...TO THE EXTREME~!

MMPS Member

Visit JKyle.com...it's good for you!

Madame Manga
Kolbasz








Since: 16.1.02
From: Silicon Valley

Since last post: 33 days
Last activity: 15 days
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.11
I've seen it twice now (took the kid today) and no, I didn't miss the credits! Forgot to mention it the first time. The DVD is in my sights as soon as it hits the stands.

I liked this version of Abe rather better than the comics one; he's got more personality and ability, and anyway, he tends to make a career of getting in over his head. You'd need a miniseries (hey, that's a thought, but a sequel will do) to make sense of all of Rasputin's plots--perhaps there's a little more development on the cutting room floor that will make it onto disc. As it was, two hours flew by; at the end I was surprised it was already over. It's been a long time since I bothered to see anything twice!

Edit: I hated LXG too; that was such a great book, and the people who made the movie didn't get the point at all. Del Toro does NOT have that problem, thank goodness.

MM

(edited by Madame Manga on 3.4.04 2101)
Pike
Italian








Since: 7.4.03
From: KS

Since last post: 3763 days
Last activity: 3755 days
AIM:  
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.94
Saw this last night and it a very good movie. I give it 4 stars out of 5, it had somethings that could be work on, but in all a good movie.



Great Muta is a wrestling GOD!! praise the Great Muta.
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 125 days
Last activity: 92 days
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.41

What I wrote elsewhere:

I was very happy when I left the theater. I still think all these comic book movies too much alike design-wise. And Perlman, like everyone else has said, was absolutely perfect.

I loved the little touches, like:

-- the flaming crown looked exactly liked it does in the comics

-- PANCAKES! And I loved the room full o' cats.

-- The talking Corpse

And now, some small nitpicks:

-- The guy playing Rasputin looked too much like Joe Pants for my taste.

-- Not enough time for "Ilsa the She Wolf"

-- The secret base in Jersey was too much like MIB, complete with wise-cracking doorman.

The weirdest thing of all was that we were standing outside the theater and a guy walked by that looked eerily like Mignola. No hoop earring though. :>






Odessa Steps Magazine
http://www.odessasteps.com
http://odessasteps.blogspot.com
Lexus
Bierwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Stafford, VA

Since last post: 7 hours
Last activity: 7 hours
AIM:  
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.76
According to IMDb, Hellboy was the number one movie over the weekend, raking in 23.5 mil. Walking Tall was second, with 15.3 mil.





Kane's vie for a YJ Stinger commercial goes awry
Thread rated: 5.21
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: On the road in El Paso, Albuquerque
Next thread: Police give up search for suspect in abduction
Previous thread: Walking Tall Review from CNN
(1601 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
I infact have an honest mechanic. Back when I was still rollin in the WonderWagon (God rest her soul), that thing used to break down all the damn time.
- DJ FrostyFreeze, LOU SMAAAAAASH!!!! (2002)
Related threads: Jack Black in "Kong Kong" - Jersey Girl or "how to save Ben Afflecks career" - The Ladykillers - More...
The W - Random - HELLBOY Fucking ROCKS!!! Review/spoilers ahead.Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.156 seconds.