The W
Views: 95539532
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
16.4.14 0527
The W - Pro Wrestling - Grantland Previews Capital Punishment
This thread has 87 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.29
Pages: 1
(1412 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (6 total)
BigDaddyLoco
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 10 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.00
CRZ likes to guess who starts the threads, I'd be shocked if he didn't nail this one.

(Grantland: A Bill Simmons (ESPN) project featuring articles on sports and entertainment. So far there have been quite a few different writers and some pretty well written stuff. Will it make enough money to sustain itself is another question.)

Anyways, they have a column up Click Here (grantland.com) with some guy I have never heard of (David Shoemaker, some kind of wrestling writer) who runs down the Capital Punishment card. There's nothing groundbreaking here for anyone who follows wrestling, but it's not a bad column, and it's probably the type of thing that might draw somebody who doesn't watch much wrestling but used to back in.

Knowing that wrestling is something Simmons dabbles in from time to time along with the fact that his followers are a key demographic that the WWE wants to tap into the boys in Titan Towers have to be hopeful they get some notice on the site more often.






(edited by BigDaddyLoco on 17.6.11 1744)
Promote this thread!
Mr. Boffo
Scrapple








Since: 24.3.02
From: Oshkosh, WI

Since last post: 261 days
Last activity: 222 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.62
He is "The Masked Man" of deadspin's "Dead Wrestler of the Week" column. If you haven't read those, I suggest you do so. They are excellent. The money that Grantland (ESPN [Disney]) is giving him must be enough for him to unmask.
Reverend J Shaft
Liverwurst








Since: 25.6.03
From: Home of The Big House

Since last post: 1 day
Last activity: 22 hours
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.58
    Originally posted by Mr. Boffo
    He is "The Masked Man" of deadspin's "Dead Wrestler of the Week" column. If you haven't read those, I suggest you do so. They are excellent. The money that Grantland (ESPN [Disney]) is giving him must be enough for him to unmask.


I agree. The masked man is the best writer of pro wrestling I've read. Shame that he had to associate himself with a complete utter douchebag like that shameless polesmoker Bill "fuckface" Simmons.
StingArmy
Andouille








Since: 3.5.03
From: Georgia bred, you can tell by my Hawk jersey

Since last post: 18 days
Last activity: 20 hours
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.45
    Originally posted by Reverend J Shaft
    Shame that he had to associate himself with a complete utter douchebag like that shameless polesmoker Bill "fuckface" Simmons.

Whoa! C'mon now, he's no Juan Antonio Samaranch.

- StingArmy
odessasteps
Scrapple








Since: 2.1.02
From: MD, USA

Since last post: 21 days
Last activity: 19 hours
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.61

I was hoping, in a wonderful bit of juxtaposition, Simmons was going to hire Meltzer to write the wrestling column.



Mark Coale
Odessa Steps Magazine
ISSUE FOUR - OCTOBER 2009
StingArmy
Andouille








Since: 3.5.03
From: Georgia bred, you can tell by my Hawk jersey

Since last post: 18 days
Last activity: 20 hours
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.45
The Masked Man did a followup piece to his Capitol Punishment preview (grantland.com). It focuses heavily on CM Punk. Another good read.

- StingArmy
Thread rated: 5.29
Pages: 1
Thread ahead: NWA-MSW #280
Next thread: The Ultimate Warrior joins Twitter... hilarity ensues in 3...2..1...
Previous thread: Capitol Punishment 6/19/11
(1412 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Well, the book was published by the WWE. When a book is released under their banner, I often wonder if I'm reading the true story or a Vince version.
Related threads: Capitol Punishment Prediction Thread - More...
The W - Pro Wrestling - Grantland Previews Capital PunishmentRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.407 seconds.