The W
Views: 97785314
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
29.7.14 1358
The W - Random - Freeway420's The Passion of The Christ review
This thread has 33 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.35
Pages: 1 2 Next
(1736 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (29 total)
Freeway
Scrapple








Since: 3.1.02
From: Calgary

Since last post: 219 days
Last activity: 23 hours
#1 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.96
Newmarket Films presents a film directed by Mel Gibson and written by Mel Gibson & Benedict Fitzgerald; Starring Jim Caviezel, Monica Bellucci, Claudia Gerini & Maia Morgenstern

Before you read this review, it's probably best I give you a bit of background on where I'm coming from with this. I am not Christian. I've been to Church four times (two weddings, one funeral and a service preceding that funeral). I've never read the Bible, expect in hotels in the middle of nowhere when Gideon's is the only thing to read. I'm not religious in any which way, and if you pressed me I'd probably describe myself as a practicing agnostic.

I came into The Passion of The Christ with one idea in mind: it's either going to be amazingly good or laughably bad. There is no middle ground. I was right. It was good. The strength of Passion is that it doesn't pull any punches. When Jesus is betrayed and judged, you see him get whipped and beaten unmercifully over and over and over again. The violence is so much that sometimes it's hard to watch, but the scenes are so powerfully rendered that it's hard to look away most of the time. The acting is top notch, although outside of Jim Caviezel as Jesus and Monica Bellucci as Mary Magdelen, you won't know who the hell anybody is. That's another strength, as opposed to spending time recognizing and identifying faces you spend that time identifying with characters.

The main point of contention with many religious groups has been the potential for anti-Semitism. I doubt many of the critics of this film have even seen it because the entire film is very even-handed. They exised one scene wherein Caiphas (the Jewish man who condemns Jesus to death) states that "His blood is on us and on our children". A Jewish man helps Jesus bear his cross and several Jewish characters express regret and remorse (especially during the brutal lashings Jesus endured).

My one criticism of the film is that the beginning is very slow and sometimes it's difficult to tell who the heck people are. I was confused at some parts of the beginning, but once the dawn breaks and Jesus is brought to the Governor everything starts to pick up and make sense.

OVERALL, I'd recommend this film...but it isn't for the weak of stomach or heart. It doesn't preach or tell you what to think, it just says "Here's the last twelve hours before Jesus is crucified... Enjoy!"



THE FLAMES: 30-23-5-3 for 68 points in 61 games
IGINLA WATCH: 30 goals and 24 assists for 54 points in 60 games
Promote this thread!
wudis007
Pinkelwurst








Since: 18.2.04

Since last post: 3725 days
Last activity: 3724 days
#2 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.14
I don't really have anything to add to this but I respected your unbiased commentary so much that I thought I should at least say thank you.

It seems like anything that is Christian related gets thrown under the bus automatically these days.
OlFuzzyBastard
Knackwurst








Since: 28.4.02
From: Pittsburgh, PA

Since last post: 9 days
Last activity: 8 days
AIM:  
#3 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.27
Any movie about religion, from Life of Brian and Dogma to The Last Temptation of Christ and this one are going to be subject to intense criticism and scrutiny. That's just the way it works.

I do find it odd that the people screaming persecution over the possible concerns over this movie - which I can't possibly adress the validity of having not yet seen the movie* - are generally the ones trying to shut these other films down.

(Although, the sheer amount of hype pretty much has me resigned to the fact that I'm going to see it in the near future. You can't pay me enough to go anywhere near it this weekend, though, what with all the evangalisticals and traumatized youth groups that are sure to be packed in the theatre.)



*: Never really stopped anyone with Bowling For Columbine, though, did it? :)
BWT
Boerewors








Since: 27.1.04
From: Philly

Since last post: 3105 days
Last activity: 2709 days
AIM:  
#4 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.00
I have no words to describe what I saw today at 3:30 after school. The sight of 10 supposedly tough kids (My Friends) walking out in stunned silence along with the rest of a movie theater will be a moment i wont soon forget. I knew nothing of the great violence in the film until after Jesus began to get beat. I guess i was naive but it was not what I expected at all. I mean I wasn't expecting the Care Bears but it was gruesome. As far as the anti Semitic accusations I didn't really notice any but then again I didn't go out of my way to look for any as I was too stunned while watching it. Mel Gibson certainly moved me today, was it a good movie? I don't know, but it definitely has shock appeal.
AWArulz
Knackwurst








Since: 28.1.02
From: Louisville, KY

Since last post: 21 hours
Last activity: 8 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#5 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.58
BWT, I shared a similar experience tonight at 9, as I walked out. My whole church went, but it was a really personal experience movie - I didn't have much to say to anyone afterwards. I admit to still processing it.

I didn't think it was nearly as gore-filled as reviewers painted it, but obviously, a man getting scourged is pretty brutal.

I anticipate this being a classic - for the religious and for those who aren't. Maybe the best Jesus story ever on film. (Although, I am a Max Von Sydow man in "Greatest") It's certainly beautifully filmed and well-flowing.The last scene was incredibly awesome




Rasslin' republicans - visit it soon
fuelinjected
Banger








Since: 12.10.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 3176 days
Last activity: 3176 days
#6 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.15
How long is it?

I think, like Freeway, it's one of those movies that I want to go see just for the sake of seeing it.
AWArulz
Knackwurst








Since: 28.1.02
From: Louisville, KY

Since last post: 21 hours
Last activity: 8 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#7 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.58
    Originally posted by fuelinjected
    How long is it?

    I think, like Freeway, it's one of those movies that I want to go see just for the sake of seeing it.


Just over 2 hrs (like 126 or something)

http://www.thepassionofthechrist.com

But I couldn't find the run time at the site




Rasslin' republicans - visit it soon
fuelinjected
Banger








Since: 12.10.02
From: Canada

Since last post: 3176 days
Last activity: 3176 days
#8 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.15
Ok thanks. That's not bad at all. I was thinking it'd be like 3+ hours and there's no way I'm sitting in a movie theatre for that long for anything.
Ticamo
Boerewors








Since: 19.7.02
From: Trenton, NJ, USA

Since last post: 2709 days
Last activity: 2008 days
AIM:  
#9 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.03
I left work a little early to go see this movie and all I can say about this film was that it was truly amazing. Some critic some place said that this was the most violent movie he had ever seen and I find myself in agreement. I've never seen anything like this in my life. It was gripping.

I felt as if I was taken back to those days and was actually there watching this happen because it just seemed so real. I guess it's because I've never watched a movie quite like it.

Coming from a Christian family, I just cried as the torture went on and on and on. It was captivating; both fighting the urge to turn away, but not being able to. It just seemed so real.

It was silent when the movie ended and several people just cried in the lobby on their way out. People going into the theater were trying to read our faces and there's just no way to prepare anyone for this movie.

The only thing that bothered me a bit was that people insisted on bringing their young children to see it. This isn't a good movie for the kiddies.



"Yes, I rather like this God fellow. He's very theatrical, you know, a pestilence here, a plague there. Omnipotence. Gotta get me some of that." - Stewie Griffin
Freeway
Scrapple








Since: 3.1.02
From: Calgary

Since last post: 219 days
Last activity: 23 hours
#10 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.96
Equinox (Newmarket's Canadian distributor) made sure that we only put one trailer onto the film due to them wanting it to stand on it's own. Curtain to curtain, it runs just under 130 minutes (2:10).

I worked tonight and was impressed by the number of people sitting in stunned silence until the end of the credits. Now THAT is an impactful film. The last few films I sat until the end were Gangs of New York, The Lord of the Rings trilogy and Mystic River.



THE FLAMES: 31-23-5-3 for 70 points in 62 games
IGINLA WATCH: 30 goals and 24 assists for 54 points in 60 games
wudis007
Pinkelwurst








Since: 18.2.04

Since last post: 3725 days
Last activity: 3724 days
#11 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.14
    Originally posted by OlFuzzyBastard
    I do find it odd that the people screaming persecution over the possible concerns over this movie - which I can't possibly adress the validity of having not yet seen the movie* - are generally the ones trying to shut these other films down.



"Generally" being the key word, I hope. Maybe I live in the wrong place, but I never seem to hear any of the so-called "screams" crying persecution OR to shut down other films. I think maybe there is a noisy, vocal BUT small group of extremists that stomp around D.C and make a lot of waves. But I think 99.9% of the Christian people I know are very accepting and loving.

But it is ironic that most people who are willing to be tolerant of just about any other lifestyle, and in fact preach tolerance, just can't tolerate Christians.
DrDirt
Banger








Since: 8.10.03
From: flyover country

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 15 min.
#12 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.78
    Originally posted by wudis007
      Originally posted by OlFuzzyBastard
      I do find it odd that the people screaming persecution over the possible concerns over this movie - which I can't possibly adress the validity of having not yet seen the movie* - are generally the ones trying to shut these other films down.



    "Generally" being the key word, I hope. Maybe I live in the wrong place, but I never seem to hear any of the so-called "screams" crying persecution OR to shut down other films. I think maybe there is a noisy, vocal BUT small group of extremists that stomp around D.C and make a lot of waves. But I think 99.9% of the Christian people I know are very accepting and loving.

    But it is ironic that most people who are willing to be tolerant of just about any other lifestyle, and in fact preach tolerance, just can't tolerate Christians.


I don't know. I am a Christian and haven't felt persecuted. Most of the country really doesn't have this issue.



Perception is reality
Net Hack Slasher
Banger








Since: 6.1.02
From: Outer reaches of your mind

Since last post: 3503 days
Last activity: 1923 days
#13 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.59
Poor Gibson, having this film called anti-semitic is just so wrong. Sure he focused more on the Jewish Priests then Pontius Pilate but that was also interpretation I got when reading the bible. Not like I'm going to hold it against Jewish people after reading the bible or blame them after this film, I dare to say all level headed people wouldn't change after this film... The only people that will are going to leave this film with anti-semitic thoughts are people going into the film with them. Those people are lost causes anyways.

Unfortunately I get a feeling that from current Jewish leaders is actually giving fuel to anti-semitic way of hatred thinking then this film on it's own ever could.





smark/net attack wienerville advisory is lowered to BLUE alert - Guarded (Due to Eddie being WWE champ and facing Angle at WM, Benoit winning the Rumble in World title match in mania BUT Kliq members is still a threat - Vince you can save us from these threats) 2/17

Honors for Smartest thing ever written, 5th Horseman "When Victoria, Trish, Molly, and Lilian were in the ring.. I commented to my friends that all of the 4 ladies in the ring were hotter than the all 4 that are fighting over who is the hottest in the WWE"
Broncolanche
Sujuk








Since: 2.6.03
From: Littleton, CO

Since last post: 1078 days
Last activity: 330 days
#14 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.00
I had the opportunity to see this film today, and I don't think I'll ever have the same experience watching another film again--people exiting the theater in stunned silence (as someone else mentioned), the weeping in the audience. . .it was probably one of the most surreal experiences I've ever had watching a film. There were even ushers standing at the exits with tissue boxes.

This is one of those rare movies I had a hard time sitting through. I found the whipping scene much harder to take than the crucifixion itself, and I'll also admit I grew misty-eyed a few times throughout the film. This is one I'll be thinking about for a while.



THIS IS A TERRIBLE MISTAKE - I USED UP ALL MY ENGLISH
Torchslasher
Knackwurst








Since: 17.1.02
From: New F'n Jersey

Since last post: 293 days
Last activity: 260 days
#15 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.53
    Originally posted by Broncolanche
    I had the opportunity to see this film today, and I don't think I'll ever have the same experience watching another film again--people exiting the theater in stunned silence (as someone else mentioned), the weeping in the audience. . .it was probably one of the most surreal experiences I've ever had watching a film. There were even ushers standing at the exits with tissue boxes.

    This is one of those rare movies I had a hard time sitting through. I found the whipping scene much harder to take than the crucifixion itself, and I'll also admit I grew misty-eyed a few times throughout the film. This is one I'll be thinking about for a while.


I'm with you in that while I thought that this was one of the greatest movies I've ever seen, I don't think I ever want to see it again. It was so troubling and emotional that I don't want to put myself through this pain again. It was quite a film though, and I still might have to buy it for those days when I think that my petty personal problems are bad. I will remember that my worries are so insignificant in the big picture.

(edited by Torchslasher on 29.2.04 0352)


Loud dogs suck. Working overnight sucks. Working overnight and then coming home to loud dogs keeping me up?
PRICELESS!
Big Bad
Scrapple








Since: 4.1.02
From: Dorchester, Ontario

Since last post: 16 hours
Last activity: 21 min.
#16 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.54
Gee, thanks for giving away the ending guys! Spoiler tags anyone?!



Wait…if it’s MLK Jr. Day AND Pat Patterson’s Birthday…who gets the token win here?-- Matt "Excalibur05" Hocking on a match between Mark Henry and Rico

MH: What’s a clever way to say that I have a penis?
CJ: Uh…Mark, nobody’s going to buy that shirt.
MH: How about if I say that I’ve got…a…uh…?
CJ: Coming up with T-Shirt ideas is hard Mark, why not leave it to the WWE marketing department.
MH: I know! I’ve got it!
CJ: Got what?
MH: Stank! That’s Mah Stank! I’m gonna make a fortune!!
CJ: “That’s Mah Stank”?
MH: On the front it’ll say “Can You Smell It?” and on the back it’ll say “That’s Mah Stank”. Everybody’ll buy it because they’ll think it’s a Rock shirt.
CJ: You know…you might be on to something there, sad to say.
MH: I can’t wait to show mah stank to Trish.

You know, I have a feeling that Spanky didn’t quit, he was fired. Why? So they could repackage Mark Henry as “Stanky.” Think about THAT!
--Matt "Excalibur05" Hocking, 1/19/04 Raw Satire


AWArulz
Knackwurst








Since: 28.1.02
From: Louisville, KY

Since last post: 21 hours
Last activity: 8 hours
AIM:  
Y!:
#17 Posted on | Instant Rating: 6.60
    Originally posted by Big Bad
    Gee, thanks for giving away the ending guys! Spoiler tags anyone?!


It was in all the initial reviews (4 thumbs way up).

if you haven't seen the ending...

Spoiler Below: Highlight text to read
The burial clothes just settling down, as if someone had just seeped up out of them- then the pan up to Jesus standing there, then the look at his pirced hands

was pretty awesome. I thought it was the perfect ending.



Rasslin' republicans - visit it soon
vsp
Andouille








Since: 3.1.02
From: Philly

Since last post: 2947 days
Last activity: 161 days
#18 Posted on | Instant Rating: 0.00
    Originally posted by Big Bad
    Gee, thanks for giving away the ending guys! Spoiler tags anyone?!


Heh.

Don't worry, that's not the final ending, just the teaser for Passion of the Christ: The Two Towers.





"It looks like it was a larger dog with tighter skin, and then someone grabbed him by the anus and pulled him as hard as they could."
-- David St. Hubbins of Spinal Tap, explaining the Shar-Pei
The Amazing Salami
Sujuk








Since: 23.5.02
From: Oklahoma

Since last post: 3701 days
Last activity: 3701 days
#19 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.72
    Originally posted by Net Hack Slasher
    Poor Gibson, having this film called anti-semitic is just so wrong. Sure he focused more on the Jewish Priests then Pontius Pilate but that was also interpretation I got when reading the bible. Not like I'm going to hold it against Jewish people after reading the bible or blame them after this film, I dare to say all level headed people wouldn't change after this film... The only people that will are going to leave this film with anti-semitic thoughts are people going into the film with them. Those people are lost causes anyways.

    Unfortunately I get a feeling that from current Jewish leaders is actually giving fuel to anti-semitic way of hatred thinking then this film on it's own ever could.




I don't really get this either. I mean, even if this story is believed as true, it's a given that it happened 2000 years ago. So why would that affect Jews today?

I mean, we don't watch World War II films today and feel hatred toward modern-day Germans. Are people afraid the upcoming Alamo movie is going to foster anger toward the Mexican's of 2004?

I don't understand.



At least some day maybe I'll understand why some day maybe you never can. Or something like that.
DrDirt
Banger








Since: 8.10.03
From: flyover country

Since last post: 7 days
Last activity: 15 min.
#20 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.75
    Originally posted by The Amazing Salami
      Originally posted by Net Hack Slasher
      Poor Gibson, having this film called anti-semitic is just so wrong. Sure he focused more on the Jewish Priests then Pontius Pilate but that was also interpretation I got when reading the bible. Not like I'm going to hold it against Jewish people after reading the bible or blame them after this film, I dare to say all level headed people wouldn't change after this film... The only people that will are going to leave this film with anti-semitic thoughts are people going into the film with them. Those people are lost causes anyways.

      Unfortunately I get a feeling that from current Jewish leaders is actually giving fuel to anti-semitic way of hatred thinking then this film on it's own ever could.




    I don't really get this either. I mean, even if this story is believed as true, it's a given that it happened 2000 years ago. So why would that affect Jews today?

    I mean, we don't watch World War II films today and feel hatred toward modern-day Germans. Are people afraid the upcoming Alamo movie is going to foster anger toward the Mexican's of 2004?

    I don't understand.


From a Christian perspective, you can't blame the Jews or Pilate. This was God's will and it was going to happen. The high priest and Pilate were just pawns if you will in the whole event. Rmember anti-semitism first reared its ugly head about 2000 years ago because Jews and Christians were both seeking converts and the Jews were quite good at it. We really need to remember the early Church was Jewish, with Jewish adherents and leaders.




Perception is reality
Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread rated: 5.35
Pages: 1 2 Next
Thread ahead: IQs across America
Next thread: What x are you?
Previous thread: Oldman Joins Batman Begins Cast
(1736 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
Veteran B-Movie and Film Noir heavy Lawrence Tierney passed away Tuesday. He was 82. While he will be remembered for his work in the 40s and 50s, popular culture youngsters will recognize him as the old leader of the gang in Reservoir Dogs.
- odessasteps, Obit: Lawrence Tierney @ 82 (2002)
The W - Random - Freeway420's The Passion of The Christ reviewRegister and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.181 seconds.