The W
Views: 97830750
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
31.7.14 0040
The W - Music - Eminem's Encore Reviewed (Page 2)
This thread has 1527 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Thread rated: 5.64
Pages: Prev 1 2
(2056 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (27 total)
LionJeetSingh
Chourico








Since: 3.3.03

Since last post: 3221 days
Last activity: 3048 days
#21 Posted on | Instant Rating: 1.60
Anyone notice that in Toy Soldiers, there is a name edited out in the first verse.


it wasn't my intention
my intentions were good
I went through my whole career without ever mentioning _____


Based on the lines following it, Eminem is obviously referring to Suge Knight.

that was just out of respect
for not running my mouth
and talking about something I kneww nothing about
plus Dre told me to stay out
it just wasn't my beef
so I did....

Since when was Em afraid to call out names? I guess the industry still is scared of the Deathrow CEO.


(edited by LionJeetSingh on 13.11.04 2122)


Vut Joo Talkin?
BWT
Boerewors








Since: 27.1.04
From: Philly

Since last post: 3107 days
Last activity: 2711 days
AIM:  
#22 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.32
Yeah I did. I think that was done for artistic purposes so that people would wonder who exactly he is talking about but I immediately thought of Suge too.
DJ FrostyFreeze
Knackwurst








Since: 2.1.02
From: Hawthorne, CA

Since last post: 93 days
Last activity: 1 hour
#23 Posted on | Instant Rating: 4.95

I think it was done because it is perfectly acceptable to be afraid of Suge Knight.

Actually, it's not hard to figure out who he is talking about, so maybe he was afraid of getting sued or something?

As far as the rest of the album goes, I like the "Just Lose It" video, but the song is trash. I sampled the rest of the songs on iTunes yesterday, and I'm suprised to say that I didnt hear anything I liked. I was REALLY looking forward to this album too. Color me disappointed :(



What's so good about goodbye?
What's so good about goodbye?
SeVen ™
Kishke








Since: 11.1.02
From: Japan

Since last post: 2366 days
Last activity: 2197 days
#24 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.13
    Originally posted by BWT
    Seven you said that Spend some time was like his 21 questions, were you serious? It just sounds like a bunch of angry guys bitching about the girls they lost. Any song with the lyric "I never would have thought I would see you out of control even though my penis was deep down in your hole.." Have you ever listened to Smile? Its a nice popish track. Spend some time comes off very dark and sad.



It is like Smile and 21 Questions as it will get radio play and the females will dig it. I have seen that song on quite a few female pages already. Women liked Superman and that had to be the most misogynist song ever. One of my fave Em tracks actually.




R.I.P. My Love for Wrestling
1984-2004
Until the next wrestling boom.

Jericholic53
Boerewors








Since: 18.3.03
From: Honolulu, HI

Since last post: 232 days
Last activity: 4 days
#25 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.00
    Originally posted by BWT
    To make that worst he then goes back to two more of his old crutches: His wife (who gets two tracks about her Crazy In Love and Mockingbird) and I just feel like I have heard everything already before.


I disagree. 'Mockingbird' is far and away the best song on the whole album. It actually has some content beyond him dissing people in poor fashion and I would almost consider it a better version of 'Haile's Song' from The Eminem Show. He actually shows some insight as well as using a great multi-sylable storytelling flow (two things he used to be the best at). And he doesn't diss Kim at all, in fact it's as though he's apologizing for *his* misdeeds as a parent. As far as 'Crazy In Love' though (and essentially the rest of the album), now *that* is garbage.

And the reason he doesn't outright mention Suge is because if you look at the lyrics LionJeetSingh posted, for him (Eminem) to drop Suge's name there would be to totally contradict what he's saying.

(edited by Jericholic53 on 14.11.04 1937)

(edited by Jericholic53 on 14.11.04 1938)

it says so right here in the wcw handbook!
Guru Zim
SQL Dejection
Administrator








Since: 9.12.01
From: Bay City, OR

Since last post: 2 hours
Last activity: 2 hours
AIM:  
#26 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.81
I got an AIM message on log-on that I could listen to the full album. I've got it going right now.... you can access it here:

http://channels.aimtoday.com/music/default.jsp

quality is low-ish but you can get a feel for it.



Willful ignorance of science is not commendable. Refusing to learn the difference between a credible source and a shill is criminally stupid.
Jericholic53
Boerewors








Since: 18.3.03
From: Honolulu, HI

Since last post: 232 days
Last activity: 4 days
#27 Posted on | Instant Rating: 7.00
Actually it's available in high quality from The Leak on the MTV website:

http://www.mtv.com/music/the_leak/eminem/encore/



it says so right here in the wcw handbook!
Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread rated: 5.64
Pages: Prev 1 2
Thread ahead: iTunes Top Downloads -- November 21, 2004
Next thread: iTunes Free Single of the Week -- "Push Me Off" by Drist
Previous thread: R.I.P. John/Jhonn Balance (Coil)
(2056 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
THIS WEEK'S TOTAL LISTINGS: 688 101 DISTRIBUTION Disciples of War Split (The W at Amazon) | Weregoat Elegy of the Archeonaut | Vassafor Goldenheart | Dawn Richard Paroxsihzem | Paroxsihzem 1-2-3-4-GO! 100 Flowers | 100 Flowers | (Vinyl)
The W - Music - Eminem's Encore Reviewed (Page 2)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.126 seconds.