The W
Views: 95785556
Main | FAQ | Search: Y! / G | Calendar | Color chart | Log in for more!
24.4.14 1326
The W - Random - [DVDVR BOOZE REVIEW #17] NEWCASTLE BROWN ALE; LAWSON CREEK VANILLA CREAM STOUT (Page 2)
This thread has 134 referrals leading to it
Register and log in to post!
Pages: Prev 1 2(3605 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
User
Post (29 total)
SmoovyG
Haggis








Since: 9.1.02
From: LA

Since last post: 4111 days
Last activity: 3935 days
AIM:  
#21 Posted on

    Originally posted by DrOp
    Most bars in B-more, specifically in Fells Point have a million beers on tap...


Ah, fond, fond memories of Max's on Broadway...

Out here in LA, the Costco gets the Guinness 15 packs in on a regular. The price tends to shift a bit, but it's always pretty cheap. Last week, I grabbed 4 cases for $12.99 a pop - economy rules!

Other than that, tho, CA's hard to find a good beer in, outside of a bar or restaurant. The old standbys of Pete's and Sam Adams are easy, but I haven't seen Saranac in years. I'd kill for a good Chocolate Amber.



Steve Gerding
--------------------
4-Color Review: The Comic Book Site for Comic Book READERS
http://4colorreview.com
DrOp
Frankfurter








Since: 2.1.02

Since last post: 2053 days
Last activity: 919 days
#22 Posted on

    Originally posted by SmoovyG

      Originally posted by DrOp
      Most bars in B-more, specifically in Fells Point have a million beers on tap...


    Ah, fond, fond memories of Max's on Broadway...

    Out here in LA, the Costco gets the Guinness 15 packs in on a regular. The price tends to shift a bit, but it's always pretty cheap. Last week, I grabbed 4 cases for $12.99 a pop - economy rules!

    Other than that, tho, CA's hard to find a good beer in, outside of a bar or restaurant. The old standbys of Pete's and Sam Adams are easy, but I haven't seen Saranac in years. I'd kill for a good Chocolate Amber.




When I taught elementary at a school nearby, we LIVED at Max's every Friday afternoon beginning at about 4:30 or 5. And if we weren't there, we were at Friend's or the Wharf Rat. Fell's Point has great watering holes.

Ahh, Saranac...Yum!



Move Along. There's Nothing to See Here.

...And Marking Out
Slashwrestling.com
pieman
As young as
he feels








Since: 11.12.01
From: China, Maine

Since last post: 6 days
Last activity: 4 hours
AIM:  
ICQ:  
Y!:
#23 Posted on | Instant Rating: 8.21

    Originally posted by PalpatineW

      Originally posted by Jubuki
      Guinness is something you just have to suck up and take, knowing it will put hair on your chest. I couldn't stand it the first couple of times I tried it, either, but that was true about beer in general for me. Now, it's one of the first couple of things I look for. What really sucks is having to settle for shit like Heineken. In that case, I suggest y'all do your best to hang with the stark.


    Aww, Heineken isn't that bad. For a mass-produced beer, I'll take it. It's better than your average American swill, at the least. Something that struck me as amusing when I was in Ireland was the amount of people drinking Heineken. I expected them all to be drinking lovely black pints, but the lager enjoys a degree of popularity.

    For some reason, one beer I really can't get into is the India pale ale. The Harpoon IPA, at least. (Is that a local thing? Pieman, maybe you know). It just seems too... one dimensional. Sharp, but not full.



I haven't seen the Harpoon up here, but I am a fan of some IPAs. Our really local brewery is called Oak Pond Brewery in Skowhegan. It's not distributed very far from Central Maine and I'm not sure I want to share either. Very nice selection of brews.



He's Rolie Polie Olie - and in his world of curves and curls, he's the swellest kid around.
Stephanie
Landjager








Since: 2.1.02
From: Madison, WI

Since last post: 339 days
Last activity: 3 days
#24 Posted on | Instant Rating: 5.22

    Originally posted by Jubuki
    Guinness is something you just have to suck up and take, knowing it will put hair on your chest. I couldn't stand it the first couple of times I tried it, either, but that was true about beer in general for me. Now, it's one of the first couple of things I look for. What really sucks is having to settle for shit like Heineken. In that case, I suggest y'all do your best to hang with the stark.


I've had Guinness before, and it never put hair on *my* chest.

Seriously, though I usually drink wine coolers, I've also liked Gray's Honey Ale (it's from a little brewery just south of Madison, in Janesville).

Steph



I'm going twenty-four hours a day...I can't seem to stop
- "Turn Up The Radio", Autograph
Lise
Mrs. Guru








Since: 11.12.01

Since last post: 237 days
Last activity: 127 days
#25 Posted on
I've never really liked the Guinness, its a wee too much like liquid cereal in a bottle for my taste.

Since I was just recently home and my little brother recently turned 21 he was still in a "let's try every beer in the import beer section" phase. So I ended up picking up something called "Delirium Tremens Belgian Ale" I haven't had a chance to try it out but I figured anything with pink elephants on the bottle couldn't be horrible.



I'm just here for the sweaty mens... pay no attention.
Dutchie
Boerewors
Moderator








Since: 29.1.02
From: PA

Since last post: 34 days
Last activity: 14 hours
#26 Posted on
Is it Guiness that has that little white ice-cube-shaped thing in the bottle? That thing freaked me out. I like Guiness, but I prefer it in the Black-n-Tan variety.

There's a bar up in Boston (Allston, actually) that has 112 beers on tap, and plenty more in bottles. That was the first place I'd ever had flavored brews. Their pumpkin pie lager was excellent, but I'd crave their chocolate brew -- tasted just like a Reisen candy. Just thinking about that place makes me miss all those flavors of Magic Hat. But on the plus side, I'm finally somewhere where they've *heard* of Yuengling and Pocono Lager. Vanilla cream stout sounds awesome though, I'm gonna have to look for it.



Let me tell you something, pendejo...
Jubuki
Kolbasz








Since: 16.7.02

Since last post: 4210 days
Last activity: 4194 days
#27 Posted on
Well, uh...the Guinness and hairy chest thing...uh...you have to have enough testosterone in your system for it to react with, so it really only works on guys, except for that one weird girl you'll see working in some fast food joint in West Virginia or something who's got the super dark arm hair, and she probably already had the chest hair anyway. So yeah. Are you sure you were looking close enough? If not, find someone who will...yeah.

(edited by Jubuki on 27.8.02 2244)


Chris
The AIR RAID CRASH
bigwavedave
Blutwurst








Since: 3.1.02
From: morro bay ca

Since last post: 4141 days
Last activity: 4141 days
#28 Posted on
Anchor porter is really yummy (but all Anchor beer is at the high end of the cost scale.) Firestone double barrel ale is great, though it isn't that dark. for a pale ale, Sierra Nevada is one of the best. Albertsons has been selling Redhook for $8.99 a 12 pack which is a fair price for good beer, especially with premiums going for about $7.49 a 6er nowadays. Don't buy beer at Ralphs unless it's an emergency because they cost more than the liquor store.



"My parents said I could be anything, so I became an ASSHOLE!"
SmoovyG
Haggis








Since: 9.1.02
From: LA

Since last post: 4111 days
Last activity: 3935 days
AIM:  
#29 Posted on

    Originally posted by StegDutchie
    Is it Guiness that has that little white ice-cube-shaped thing in the bottle? That thing freaked me out. I like Guiness, but I prefer it in the Black-n-Tan variety.

    There's a bar up in Boston (Allston, actually) that has 112 beers on tap, and plenty more in bottles. That was the first place I'd ever had flavored brews. Their pumpkin pie lager was excellent, but I'd crave their chocolate brew -- tasted just like a Reisen candy. Just thinking about that place makes me miss all those flavors of Magic Hat. But on the plus side, I'm finally somewhere where they've *heard* of Yuengling and Pocono Lager. Vanilla cream stout sounds awesome though, I'm gonna have to look for it.



Guiness does, indeed, have the ice-cube thing. It's a CO2 cartridge that airates the stout when you open the can. Good, good stuff, but don't believe them when they say you can drink it straight from the bottle - it's OK that way, but it still tastes better poured into a pint glass.

Man, I miss the Magic Hat, too, and they haven't heard of Yuengling out here, either. I've just started brewing my own beer again, so I'll have to get ahold of my old roomate and see if he has any recipes for that stuff. If I can't buy it, I'll just make my own!



Steve Gerding
--------------------
4-Color Review: The Comic Book Site for Comic Book READERS
http://4colorreview.com
Pages: Prev 1 2
Pages: Prev 1 2Thread ahead: If you thought Celebrity Boxing was bad
Next thread: Opie and Anthony Fired
Previous thread: NASCAR Anatomy Lesson:
(3605 newer) Next thread | Previous thread
The bastard never sent me my rings! I fear I am now destined to die as all other mortal men without magnetic life rings shall die. Oh well, Alex Chiu will know my wrath when the world comes to know me as the Messiah. (alexchiu.com)
The W - Random - [DVDVR BOOZE REVIEW #17] NEWCASTLE BROWN ALE; LAWSON CREEK VANILLA CREAM STOUT (Page 2)Register and log in to post!

The W™ message board

ZimBoard
©2001-2014 Brothers Zim

This old hunk of junk rendered your page in 0.17 seconds.